$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan 'Da Man'
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2010

REALLY NICE HOTEL. YOU'LL LOVE IT

I had a nice time at the hotel. I booked a few tours but I would've been fine if I just stayed at the hotel (If you're looking for relaxation only, this is the place to go). When I went on tours, I would come back in the evening in time for dinner. The swim-up bar and mini-bar in the room were nice features. Every restaurant had a full-bar and the food was good. Some restaurants on the resort are not impressive but still good. Room service was super quick when I phoned in my order. They also offer laundry services (kinda expensive) and internet (a few dollars/day). Every now and then you'll see some small wildlife creatures wandering around at the resort. Also, if you're a coffee drinker you've got to try the different types of coffee at the coffee shop. The beach was awesome!!! When you go, you'll notice that there is NO SAND AT THE BEACH! 'Then what is there? A slab of concrete?' you might ask. When you go, you'll notice why I say there's no sand (Hint: It's called Playa Conchal for a reason). Also, I'm single but if and when I get married, this is where I'm taking my wife for a nice honeymoon. Definitely recommended for couples. For golfers, this resort has a nice area to play. I didn't get to play but just taking a look at the field: IT LOOKED GREAT! YOU'LL LOVE IT! If you're looking for lots of nightlife activity, there isn't much to do here. There are scheduled shows at 9pm but nothing to get really excited about (unless it's Spring Break or something like that). If you're looking to go shopping outside the resort, keep in mind that the resort is sort of in a secluded area. If you want to go shopping, you have to take a taxi somewhere else (the hotel has its own taxi service, too). If you're planning to stay in and do nothing all day and watch TV, tey have cable but many channels are b roadcast in Spanish. Also, they don't have a menu (like many other hotels around the world) where you can choose movies to rent and see in your room on the TV screen. However, if you don't mind Spanish cable, then you'll have nothing to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Hotel offers surfing and ski-doo watersports at its local beach. I'm sure you'd like these. In addition, if you want to go on tours it's best if you go through the hotel's agency (located at the resort) and book through them. If you book through another agency, they might not provide transportation and if that's the case you'll have to find your own way. On the other hand, the hotel's agency offers transportation to and fro the resort. There's plenty to do in Costa Rica so you'll have many things to choose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 2, 2010

Good for couples

Good for couples. Slow season and renovations so limited activities and dining options. Very nice golf course and facilities. Hoya 19 and the Gaby restaurant are the best. Good sushi and so so Italian. Nice, friendly staff. Clean, spacious rooms (note: King size beds are actually two queens put together). Royal service is worth the money. Overall - good place for couples looking for a quiet, low key, relaxing getaway. Families ok but not recommended for singles or those that are very active. Nothing else to see nearby really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcman
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Better to wait

The hotel room is average and though remodeled it does not show it. Three of the six resturants and under remodel for another month. Location is good. The pool is large and very nice, lots of animals and the ocean is fun to play in. The GM and head chief are new from the week I was there so things should get better. The shower / bath combo is not up to top resort standards. Most at this level have larger seperate units or at least a hand held shower. That said it was still a fun stay and resort personel are good. We enjoyed our stay mainly due to the pool and wildlige , mainly Cotes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you order roomservice do not put your left over dishes on your patio. The animals will get it. A lower room seems best and walk rather than raid the carts there as you will see more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDock
Business
Martinsburg, WV
Nov 14, 2011

Wonderful /Resort

We loved this resort! I would recommend this all inclusive resort to couples and families who value quality food, staff, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was top notch!! Everywhere we ate was incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bjames2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great service, great vacation for couples or friends

We stayed in the royal beach club area, so I can only comment on that experience. And if you are a couple it's definitely worth the upgrade. Quiet pool area and service always there for you. Everything you need is within a 5 minute walk, and it seems crazy to me that some people saw that as a negative. Ask questions about things to do, and you will find all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Erik on the beach, he has excursions for sale. Definitely do the sunset catamaran with snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicknamejane
Business
brooklyn
Mar 4, 2012

great staff and beautiful beach

my husband and i came here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. neither of us love all-inclusives generally and prefer to be a little more adventurous, but didn't have time to plan a vacation AND a wedding too... that said, this place was great, if you want to do nothing but lay by the pool and drink, the pool is clean and serene, the drinks are quality, don't bring a giant coffee mug please... if you want to go out and explore the area, there are tons of excursions offered by different groups associated with the hotel... also, rent a car with a GPS and getting around is pretty easy. the staff were very friendly and responsive to our (reasonable) requests. i'm not a snob, but i live in a big city known for it's food, and take advantage of that every chance i get... so given that, the food wasn't too bad at all, the french onion soup was delicious, the minestrone left something to be desired... all in all, i left satisfied and probably a little fatter than when i came. speaking of which, the gym had new equipment and there was never a wait for a machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1234none
Business
LA
Apr 5, 2012

Great

Great time, good food and helpful staff. I would recommend the staff to better explain the package in more details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie810
Business
United States
Jul 14, 2012

Great family trip

We went for eight nights in July and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the area is beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Change in my pocket
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 16, 2012

Great value

The Westin Resort at Playa Conchal was a terrific place for my wife and me to spend our honeymoon. The trip from the airport was about a one hour cab ride to the resort, and cost $100 US. Although we exchanged some dollars for Colones, it was unnecessary, as everyone in Costa Rica takes American money. The staff at the resort was friendly and professional, the food was quite good, and the variety of six or seven restaurants helped ensure we did not get sick of the menu choices over our two week stay. The resort is located right next to the public beach, which was nice except for the incessant harassment you are subjected to from locals trying to sell you trinkets or day trips. We booked excursions both through the company located on the Westin grounds as well as through a local on the beach, and both were reasonably priced and well organized. The resort never felt crowded, although we were there in October, which is part of the low season. We did not upgrade to the premiere package, and we are glad we did not. It costs quite a bit more than the traditional all-inclusive package, and you don't get much for your money. The basic package included all you can eat and drink, including room service and mini bar. The booze was good, and the bar at the pool proved very convenient. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mismissy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Great Staff

Staff always courteous and seemed that they really wanted to be helpful. Food was average but better than at typical al inclusive resorts. We upgraded to royal beach lb. Really worth the money as you have a private pool area with fantastic staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

"Let's Explore Costa Rica" fabulous tour guides!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top