$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 10, 2010

Service at its best

Great staff. Not crowded. Great food. Loved the villa (jr suite) rather than a regular hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Palo verde boat trip by Swiss Travel was great. The hike through the National Park was good for seeing the volcano steam vents but not much wildlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A happy wife.
Business
Raleigh, N.C.
Apr 1, 2010

Paradise!

What a beautiful place to vacation! Lots of activities, beautiful beaches and gorgeous pool. Everyone is so nice and always helpful. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. Fantastic food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris and Murats excellent adventures
Business
Tarpon Springs FL
Mar 25, 2010

Spoiled Rotten!

My Husband and I needed a relaxing week away and thats what we got. The Royal service was the best. The resort is beautiful. Food was Fantastic. Definetly not your typical resort food. We went Zip lining and scuba diving both were fun. We would Love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Bragg, CA
Mar 22, 2010

Great Honeymoon

Best all inclusive resort we've stayed at. The customer service isn't the greatest-but it was fine. Prepare to do a lot of walking as the transportation buses aren't always available or around. Check out the nightly shows-the performers are awesome. Food was pretty good-do't forget to make reservations! Pool was massive. Took a tour with Xplore Costa Rica with Shawn-he was great-taught us alot about the area and we went horseback riding, zip lining, mud bathing and went down the longest waterslide. Definetly would recommend them to book a tour. Also at the resort you must do the sunset cruise (complimentary)-it's breath taking. Overall we had a blast of adventure and relaxation....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a massage on the beach for a fraction of the price the hotel charges at the Spa-best massage I've had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bev & Family
Business
Sullivan, Ohio
Feb 7, 2010

Great Resort With Friendly Staff

We found everyone at this resort to be friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speak English very well. The rooms are wonderful and everything from the rooms to the outside restrooms are very clean. The food was quite good everywhere we ate on the resort and there was usually something open somewhere if you were hungry. You should, however, make reservatons at the restaurants at least a couple of days in advance. The pool was wonderful. If you didn't want to walk, they had pickup and drop-off service everywhere. There is always something to do and you could pack your days full of fun if you wanted to or you can just laze by the pool or the beach. I can't say enough good things about this resort and would highly recommend it to anyone. We latched onto one driver early on [...] who was always able to get us where we wanted to go on time and even got us into one of the booked-up restaurants when we forgot to make reservations. Would recommend reserving a pickup vehicle from the airport and the resort can do that also. Also had an excellent golf course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hartford CT
Dec 18, 2009

A Fabulous Destination!!

My wife and I have decided that our trip to Paradisus Playa Conchal has been our favorite trip to anywhere as a couple. There was something to be said for a vacation the week before Christmas because the resort was at 40 % capacity and at one point I have the giant pool to myself while everyone else was enjoying siesta. The friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff would not be diminished by the addition of new guests. Everyone was willing to hlep out and deal with any minor issues that might arise during your trip. While we chose to spend our first two days relaxing beside the pool, an included sunset cruise was a nice end to our second day. This is something you will not find in the usual Mexican resorts on the Caribbean (one asset of a Pacific resort). The dry season (December - May) is definitely the time to go as we did not see a speck of rain at the resort, although there is definitely rain in the cloud forests around the nearby volcanoes. Recommend a trip to Arenal even if you do not see the volcano! Tabacon Hot Springs is worth the trip alone. A cost savings might be to rent a car (in main lobby) and plan a trip to Arenal by yourself. Costa Rica is easy enough to get around if you can follow the road signs. HOWEVER, I would not recommend a trip to the Palo Verde National Park by yourself because it requires the use of secondary stone/dirt roads relatively unmarked. Recommend that trip be booked through Conchal Adventures on beach because they seem to go early in the morning which allows you to see more of the wildlife (monkeys, birds and crocodiles). No complaints at all about our service either in the resort or excursions. Unlike in other locales I have traveled in, the tours did not dump us off at some "tourist site" which was in reality a factory/factory store where you were given a high-pressure sales job. Yes we did stop at restaurants on the way or on return but this was more to provide opportunity for meals/bathroom breaks and there was indeed no pressure to purchase anything. We would definitely return to this resort (perhaps even with children!) but might try exploring the rest of Costa Rica first now that this resort provided such a nice introduction to the country. Airport serving the resort is Liberia and is very easy to use and gets multiple flights on American, Continental and Delta daily. Note that transfer to resort is not included but price is good for up to 5 persons in a vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While you can pay for the High Tide excursions/spa treatments which are right inside the resort, a short step out onto the public beach reveals [...] who gives a 1 hour massage for $45 (great!) and Conchal Adventures which does similar excursions for less (ask for [...]). Yes, the massage table is set up on the beach, but you can't beat the price or the sound of the surf. And while Conchal Adventures does not give you the newest transportation, the price and friendliness of the staff cannot be beat (but a High Tide all-day excursion was great too).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 17, 2009

Great place to escape for a week

This was my first time staying at an all-inclusive hotel. This visit makes me want to try out more all-inclusive resorts. The service was the best part of the resort. Free room service 24/7 was very convenient, especially if you don't feel like going out for dinner. The specialty restuarant was 5 stars all the way and was much better than the buffet. The room was very spacious and well decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Binghamton, NY
Nov 9, 2009

Fair but not as nice as advertised...

We upgraded the the royal service which was well worth it at the time. At first the service was amazing but each day the service became worse. We reserved a honeymoon package months before we came, when we got to the hotel I asked the front desk about it and they seemed very annoyed. We were there for about a week and never got the package. We had one bottle of champagne delivered but nothing else we were promised. I was really disappointed about that. I also was disappointed with the grounds. Don't get me wrong, it was beautiful but certainly not 5 star quality. I've stayed at much nicer places with less of a rating. There is not much of a beach to relax on, no lounge furniture. It is very short and rocky. The place to relax is at the pool. Most of the staff was great and spoke great English but some didn't like to be bothered. The food was amazing!!!!! Be prepared to come home fat!!!! I can't say enough about how good that was!!! Overall, I did have a good time but I wouldn't come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to upgrade to royal service wait until you get to the resort it is much cheaper and definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koskers
Business
Midland, MI
Oct 15, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!

The hotel was amazing. We visited from September 28 - October 4th and we were basically the only people there. We decided to go with the royal service - which I would strongly suggest to couples traveling for their honeymoon or a get-away. We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off at the main check in. Once we got out of the taxi we got into a cart that took us to the royal service check in where they had drinks waiting for us. We relaxed and got to know the grounds a bit (everything is spread out). We booked two travel excursions. One included zip lines, rock climbing, free fall, horse back ride, white water tubing, mud bath, and hot springs - all in one day! The other excursion was to the Arenal Volcano. We booked through High Tide with Cris in the royal service lounge and although the excursions were both a little pricey, it was well worth the money. The only bad things that we found were the transportation carts were not very responsive when we asked to be picked up and the restaurants were not very big. As I said before, we were basically the only people at the resort - so I would hate to see the transportation and restaurants when the resort is full. All in all, it was a picture perfect vacation and I think it was well worth the price we paid for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Arenal Volcano is a 4 hour car ride away, but SO worth it. The views are breath-taking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siena's Mom
Business
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Oct 15, 2009

Parisus Hotel was GREAT!

The Hotel was great! The amenities were more than we can ask more! The food was beyond delicous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top