$370 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koskers
Business
Midland, MI
Oct 15, 2009

BEAUTIFUL!

The hotel was amazing. We visited from September 28 - October 4th and we were basically the only people there. We decided to go with the royal service - which I would strongly suggest to couples traveling for their honeymoon or a get-away. We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off at the main check in. Once we got out of the taxi we got into a cart that took us to the royal service check in where they had drinks waiting for us. We relaxed and got to know the grounds a bit (everything is spread out). We booked two travel excursions. One included zip lines, rock climbing, free fall, horse back ride, white water tubing, mud bath, and hot springs - all in one day! The other excursion was to the Arenal Volcano. We booked through High Tide with Cris in the royal service lounge and although the excursions were both a little pricey, it was well worth the money. The only bad things that we found were the transportation carts were not very responsive when we asked to be picked up and the restaurants were not very big. As I said before, we were basically the only people at the resort - so I would hate to see the transportation and restaurants when the resort is full. All in all, it was a picture perfect vacation and I think it was well worth the price we paid for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Arenal Volcano is a 4 hour car ride away, but SO worth it. The views are breath-taking!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siena's Mom
Business
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Oct 15, 2009

Parisus Hotel was GREAT!

The Hotel was great! The amenities were more than we can ask more! The food was beyond delicous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 13, 2009

Paradisus Playa Conchal

We stayed at the Paradisus Playa Conchal from October 3 through October 9, 2009. This was during the rainy season which we knew and so afternoon/evening showers were expected. Despite the rain, the weather is still warm and activities are not really impaired. The resort was nearly vacant and I'm sure the time of year contributed to this. I would not be afraid to visit during the rainy season for these reasons. We upgraded to Royal Service and the Bali Romance Suite. Since the resort was rather uninhabited and other restaurants were under construction, the Royal Service restaurant was open to all guests. We did enjoy exclusive use of the Royal Service pool and lounge, though this was really unimportant given the few other guests on property. The upgrade to the Bali Suite did provide us with a very convenient room location near the ocean and major activities. Unfortunately, these rooms are not near the Royal Service amenities. Having a butler that knew your name and would check in with personal notes was nice. We had rose pedals and candles provided to us, together with flower arrangements and other customized services. My husband and I still can't agree on whether we would spend the additional money for the Bali Suite or Royal Service in the future. Based upon the time of year we went, it probably wasn't worth it. If it was high-season and there were children around, it probably would be worthwhile. We did not receive the hat/t-shirts/chocolates that are included with the room, despite having asked our butler twice. Butlers were hit or miss, with one being first-class and the other forgetting to bring the umbrella we requested twice. The food was high quality and unlike most all inclusives. Not all restaurants were open every night but we did manage to eat at all places while we were there. Dinner reservations were never an issue and there is no line to stand in like many all inclusives. The food was quite good, though portions small as is typical of finer dining. The evening entertainment was also much more enjoyable than a typical all inclusive. This group was very talented and provided much more than most in terms of a stage show. The in-room minibar consisted of very few airplane size bottles, providing just a few drinks per day. If you want variety or a good drink, you will have to go to one of several bars. The spa is small but the massage was first-class. I enjoyed the 80 minute aromatherapy massage and can say it was the best I ever had. We took a day trip into Nicaragua with Swiss Travel that has an office on premise. I would recommend the trip to others. It makes for a long day (5:30 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.) but is worthwhile. The geography, history, culture, and exposure to how others live is worth the diversion from relaxing by the pool. We learned a lot about the two different countries and experienced the Masaya volcano as well. Even crossing the border and experiencing the public restroom at immigration in Nicaragua was something we won't soon forget. The casino at the resort is a nice outlet for something to do in the evening but is not for the hard-core gambler. We are gamblers and would typically spend a lot of time in the casino. Unfortunately, the casino here leaves much to be desired for the slot player, offering only quarter machines and few of them. There are no games with bonus rounds, though quarter keno is available in case my mom is reading this:) Many times, we were the only ones in the casino. At night, a few card games would get going but this just wasn't a spot many people took in. There is no bar in the casino, though you may bring drinks in from other bars. The night life is also better than most resorts, offering a dance club and a few other bars. Room service is available 24 hours a day which makes the evenings also more enjoyable, knowing you can eat dinner at any time of the day. Breakfast options are much more limited, with one restaurant available...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel provides a free sunset cruise. We got some great shots of the sunset and had an enjoyable evening on the water. You should absolutely check this out! Hint: Drinks are not served on the cruise but you are encouraged to bring cups/drinks from your in-room minibar on the shuttle and on board the boat.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La
Oct 11, 2009

Robbed in Paradisus

The resort was a great disappiontmnet. My husband and I went there to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. Upon arrival our room was not ready. When given our room it was registered to someone else. The next day was the worst of all. The resort recommended to schedule excursions with Hightide which are supposed to be all included in our package. Needless to say that is not the case. They will not allow you to schedule the free actvities ahead of time, you must schedule them that morining. Therefore if leaving for an all day paid excursion you can not schedule the sunset cruise. After trying to schedule our week, we decided to go to the pool. After a quick swim we went to out room to change for a brief snack at the Mexican patio. We were out of the room for no more than 30 minutes. Upon entering the room the closet and the safe was wide open. We had been ROBBED! My husbands watch(an anniversary gift), cell phone and $700 was taken. You are told to keep all valuables in the safe. Who knew that these people have a master code to the safe. My husband immediately called the front desk three times before we got a response.It took another 30 minutes and another 20 for the security gaurds. To our disbelief they offered no help,no apology and no offer to recover our belongings. On the 4th day we heard about a newlywed couple from New York whose safe was robbed the night before. I did not feel safe the entire week. My husband checked with 3 different managers and was only stared at with a blank look. This is not the professional way to run a business. Arriving at the airport in Libera a couple from Tampa,Fl.told us when they were checking out they over heard 2 European couples complaining to the manager that thier safe had been robbed. This is a vacation that I will never forget and not in a good way. How can anyone recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Oct 7, 2009

Great place to relax

Royal Service is the way to go. The staff is very attentive. The food is some of the best you will find at an all-inclusive resort. The beach is just okay, and most people hang out at the pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calpr
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 19, 2009

WOW!!!

The entire staff at the resort was very helpful, friendly and professional. We mainly relaxed, relaxed and relaxed. I must say this vacation rates on the top of my list, the very top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on staying at this hotel, make sure the airport transfer is included with your package.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Great Tropical Forest resort

This resort was great. We upgraded to the Royal Service which was well worth the extra money. The staff was super accomidating doing as much as possible to make our stay special. I would classify this resort as a tropical Forest resort vs. a beach resort. But either way it was amazing. The only thing not super was the food. Although it was good it wasnt Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all your reservations for the week the day that you get there.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
Sep 1, 2009

Simply the best!

The staff and service were simply beyond what we expected. I would think great value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, Illinois
Aug 7, 2009

Amazing!

Better than we imagined. The pictures don't do the rooms justice. The hotel workers were so friendly and went WAY out of their way to make our stay special. The food was always excellent at every restaurant. The pool was gorgeous and the hotel grounds were breathtaking. We felt like royalty the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother looking for a shuttle from the airport to the hotel unless perhaps you've paid for royal service. You need to get your own taxi, but know that you can bargain for way cheaper than the original price. The driver offered us 80 and we got it down to sixty. Don't pay 90 dollars or something ridiculous!

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilbit23
Business
Farmington, AR
Aug 6, 2009

Beautiful Would Definately go again!

The resort was beautiful, our room was very nice and the food was delicious. The staff were all very nice and accomodating. There were lots of things to do in the area. We did white water rafting, took a zip-line across the rain forrest and just layed out by the pool it was all wonderful. We would definately come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We dined in the resort and the best foods in the evenings were at the restaurants where you needed to make the reservations. The room service food was delicious.

Back to menu Return to top