$400 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surfside Beach, SC
Jul 29, 2010

had great time but location remote

had great time but resort is remote and no night life for single folks. Was really disappointed in the beach. I stayed at the Paradisus in Domincan Republic and the one in Costa Rica is just not as good as that one. They really promoted the beach and there were not even chairs in Costa Rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

no nightlife

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ERaeJK
Business
Eastland,TX
Jul 25, 2010

Loved it!

It was awesome we totally loved it very friendly people and good drinks! If I'm being very picky the only thing I'd say is I would've liked an ocean view from the room but everything was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan 'Da Man'
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2010

REALLY NICE HOTEL. YOU'LL LOVE IT

I had a nice time at the hotel. I booked a few tours but I would've been fine if I just stayed at the hotel (If you're looking for relaxation only, this is the place to go). When I went on tours, I would come back in the evening in time for dinner. The swim-up bar and mini-bar in the room were nice features. Every restaurant had a full-bar and the food was good. Some restaurants on the resort are not impressive but still good. Room service was super quick when I phoned in my order. They also offer laundry services (kinda expensive) and internet (a few dollars/day). Every now and then you'll see some small wildlife creatures wandering around at the resort. Also, if you're a coffee drinker you've got to try the different types of coffee at the coffee shop. The beach was awesome!!! When you go, you'll notice that there is NO SAND AT THE BEACH! 'Then what is there? A slab of concrete?' you might ask. When you go, you'll notice why I say there's no sand (Hint: It's called Playa Conchal for a reason). Also, I'm single but if and when I get married, this is where I'm taking my wife for a nice honeymoon. Definitely recommended for couples. For golfers, this resort has a nice area to play. I didn't get to play but just taking a look at the field: IT LOOKED GREAT! YOU'LL LOVE IT! If you're looking for lots of nightlife activity, there isn't much to do here. There are scheduled shows at 9pm but nothing to get really excited about (unless it's Spring Break or something like that). If you're looking to go shopping outside the resort, keep in mind that the resort is sort of in a secluded area. If you want to go shopping, you have to take a taxi somewhere else (the hotel has its own taxi service, too). If you're planning to stay in and do nothing all day and watch TV, tey have cable but many channels are b roadcast in Spanish. Also, they don't have a menu (like many other hotels around the world) where you can choose movies to rent and see in your room on the TV screen. However, if you don't mind Spanish cable, then you'll have nothing to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Hotel offers surfing and ski-doo watersports at its local beach. I'm sure you'd like these. In addition, if you want to go on tours it's best if you go through the hotel's agency (located at the resort) and book through them. If you book through another agency, they might not provide transportation and if that's the case you'll have to find your own way. On the other hand, the hotel's agency offers transportation to and fro the resort. There's plenty to do in Costa Rica so you'll have many things to choose from

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan 'Da Man'
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2010

REALLY NICE HOTEL. YOU'LL LOVE IT

I had a nice time at the hotel. I booked a few tours but I would've been fine if I just stayed at the hotel (If you're looking for relaxation only, this is the place to go). When I went on tours, I would come back in the evening in time for dinner. The swim-up bar and mini-bar in the room were nice features. Every restaurant had a full-bar and the food was good. Some restaurants on the resort are not impressive but still good. Room service was super quick when I phoned in my order. They also offer laundry services (kinda expensive) and internet (a few dollars/day). Every now and then you'll see some small wildlife creatures wandering around at the resort. Also, if you're a coffee drinker you've got to try the different types of coffee at the coffee shop. The beach was awesome!!! When you go, you'll notice that there is NO SAND AT THE BEACH! 'Then what is there? A slab of concrete?' you might ask. When you go, you'll notice why I say there's no sand (Hint: It's called Playa Conchal for a reason). Also, I'm single but if and when I get married, this is where I'm taking my wife for a nice honeymoon. Definitely recommended for couples. For golfers, this resort has a nice area to play. I didn't get to play but just taking a look at the field: IT LOOKED GREAT! YOU'LL LOVE IT! If you're looking for lots of nightlife activity, there isn't much to do here. There are scheduled shows at 9pm but nothing to get really excited about (unless it's Spring Break or something like that). If you're looking to go shopping outside the resort, keep in mind that the resort is sort of in a secluded area. If you want to go shopping, you have to take a taxi somewhere else (the hotel has its own taxi service, too). If you're planning to stay in and do nothing all day and watch TV, tey have cable but many channels are b roadcast in Spanish. Also, they don't have a menu (like many other hotels around the world) where you can choose movies to rent and see in your room on the TV screen. However, if you don't mind Spanish cable, then you'll have nothing to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Hotel offers surfing and ski-doo watersports at its local beach. I'm sure you'd like these. In addition, if you want to go on tours it's best if you go through the hotel's agency (located at the resort) and book through them. If you book through another agency, they might not provide transportation and if that's the case you'll have to find your own way. On the other hand, the hotel's agency offers transportation to and fro the resort. There's plenty to do in Costa Rica so you'll have many things to choose from

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Being Married
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 15, 2010

25th Anniversary Getaway

The Paradisus was very clean and the hotel staff was extremely friendly. We thought maybe their "niceness" would wear off after a while, but the longer we were there the nicer they got! The hotel is also very clean and the grounds are very well kept. Lots of trees with some monkeys, and a lot of big iguanas lounging around. While I'm not particularly fond of lizards, they pretty much stayed in their own areas, like around the pond and on the golf course. We did our excursions thru John out on the beach, just outside the hotel. We rode horses one day and took ATV's to the zip line another day. We never paid any money until we showed up for the excursion. One morning when we were scheduled to go to the zipline it was raining. They didn't even hesitate to let us re-schedule for the next day. The restaurants were all quite good, but our favorites were the Italian and Spices. One thing we enjoyed (after eating at the buffet the 1st couple days) was ordering food from the bar and having it brought to us poolside. The menu was limited, but the cheeseburgers were amazing! We aren't sure if Royal Service was a necessary upgrade, but we did LOVE having the private pool and also the attention of the butler and other hotel staff. We stayed in the Imperial Romance Bali Suite, which was really nice, but thought that the rooms overlooking the Royal Service pool would have been just as nice due to their location...but either way, you can't go wrong! One negative thing was the a/c in our room didn't work well, but only at night. We think there may have been a pre-programmed temperature because it would stay at the temp we put it at during the day but would always rise to 22c at night. This was WAY TOO WARM and made for some sleepless nights. If this happens to you speak up about it right away. If you like the coffee (as we did) you can order it in the gift shop. Any order of 10 pkgs. of coffee or more gets mailed to your address free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We got the same excursions thru John on the beach as you can get thru the hotel, however the price was much lower. We read on other reviews about someone named Aaron...probably the same company, just a different representative.

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug K
Business
Hempstead TX
Jul 8, 2010

All Inclusive Great Beware of Excursions

Hotel was great,food 5 star better than cruise lines, could live there year round..Beware of transportation costs..We booked a canopy zip line adventure through [...] for around $40 only to find out transportation was not included and was $150 round trip...Stay clear of Grayline Costa Rica..hard to get on phone then transferred to non answered line. Voucher was taken by driver from Airport to hotel and then became a problem producing one for return trip to airport.Told us to take taxi to zip line because Grayline cost more...Zip line adventure was booked through Grayline and [...]...There were plenty of Taxi`s at the airport looking for fares.avoid Grayline if you can.Make dinner reservations every night. The entertainment was excellant (be sure and catch the Michael Jackson number)..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book activities on the beach outside of the complex for a better deal..

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug K
Business
Hempstead TX
Jul 8, 2010

All Inclusive Great Beware of Excursions

Hotel was great,food 5 star better than cruise lines, could live there year round..Beware of transportation costs..We booked a canopy zip line adventure through [...] for around $40 only to find out transportation was not included and was $150 round trip...Stay clear of Grayline Costa Rica..hard to get on phone then transferred to non answered line. Voucher was taken by driver from Airport to hotel and then became a problem producing one for return trip to airport.Told us to take taxi to zip line because Grayline cost more...Zip line adventure was booked through Grayline and [...]...There were plenty of Taxi`s at the airport looking for fares.avoid Grayline if you can.Make dinner reservations every night. The entertainment was excellant (be sure and catch the Michael Jackson number)..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book activities on the beach outside of the complex for a better deal..

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed teacher
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2010

We found paradise

We were able to enjoy the resort and the local culture. It was important to us to be able to leave the resort and feel safe; we rented a car and went to different villiages and met extremely friendly local people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book excursions locally when you arrive

Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Jul 4, 2010

Great Resort

The staff at Paradisus Playa Conchal is GREAT! We found them to be very helpful and friendly. The restaurants were good. The pool is large and nice. The resort offers many activities, dining options, shopping, etc. There is a nightly show at the theater. Great place for families with young children, couples, or just about anyone. We didn't stay in Royal Service but have been told it was very nice. Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top