$472 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Villa
1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access included, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning,Non-smoking only.
Royal Beach Club Room
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.
Deluxe Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters, In-room safe (accommodates laptop), 32-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Free movie channels, Pay movies, Wireless high-speed Internet access ($15.00 daily surcharge), Phone, Makeup/shaving mirror, Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead, Air conditioning, Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
Faisanela
Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
Bamboo
Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
Mediterra
Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
Las Candelas
Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
Mitra
International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Caracola
Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
Spirula
Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Days
Business
Utah
Aug 14, 2010

Greta place to stay in Costa Rica

Costa Rica is a fabulous destination. Wonderful flora and fauna- many exotic animals. I highly recommend taking the boat tour where you can see monjkey, crocodiles, birds of all varities- it was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Golden Shrimp one night for dinner- very over priced! ould not recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
t238
Business
Omaha
Aug 14, 2010

Didn't want to Leave

I am thrilled that my husband and I chose this resort. Everything was lovely, from check-in to check-out. Some people say Royal Service isn't worth it, I couldn't disagree more. We had full service check-in with cocktails, an exclusive, kid-free restaurant, pool, and swim-up bar, no "towel issues", concierges to make suggestions and reservations, butlers to get us anything and everything (not to mention pick us up and drive us places). The day before we left, our concierges and butlers handled our departure taxes, airline check-in, and confirmation of our transportation. No hassles with the resort, everyone in Royal Service is amazing. For a change, we stopped by the bar at the main pool for a drink one afternoon, we immediately realized what a great decision Royal Service was! They offer a ton of activities on site, many included, and there are tour companies in two spots on the resort, not to mention the guys on the beach who offer tours. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the back exit to the beach, stay on the road/path (the one the ATV's and horses use), and head right. Over a hill and through some trees, you will end up on the other side of the beach (dark sand, rolling, big waves, beautiful). Keep walking for ten minutes or so, and you will end up in Brasilito, right in an area with several open air bars and restaurants that are a lot of fun to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 13, 2010

Amazing Trip to Costa Rica

We arrived at the hotel and we treated to the excellent service right away. We booked the Royal Service package that was offered and they immediately made us feel relaxed with a local cocktail. They sat down with us and explained all the available options. Our butlers were extremely helpful in making us feel welcome and providing anything that we needed. They offered to make reservations for dinner and brought us anything that we felt you make our stay more comfortable. The service around the pool was excellent. The man who passed out the towels also served as our waiter and all of the bartenders were very helpful and polite. Very talkative and friendly. The service at the Royal Service lounge helped us book day trips and off-site restaurant reservations. We booked a ATV / Canopy Trip through Hightide Tours in Tamarindo, which was wonderful and exciting. We also had dinner at a local seafood restaurant (The Golden Shrimp), which was very good. Also, we took advantage of the golf course and spa that were available (however, not included in the all-inclusive package). It was fun and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The people in the Royal Service lounge are very helpful and will help you make your trip enjoyable. Talk with them and let them know what you would like to experience while you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJScott
Business
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2010

Great Resort, Friendly People

Amazing time - everyone there focuses on making sure you, the guest, have a great experience. This was clearly not America. No attitude. Nothing too much hassle. They just aim to please. Rooms were great - spacious and clean. Activities kept you busy if you wanted to keep busy. Otherwise, the pool and beach are there for your relaxation. Food and drink was great. Not a complaint. The Asian Fusion, Italian, and Mexican restaurants were great. Mitra, the buffet, was good as well with a lot of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excusrions can be booked through the hotel or through vendors on the beach. Difference between resort sponsored excusrions and beach vendor excursions - the beach vendor excursions are about the same price but PRIVATE for your party of 2-12+. The resport sponsored excusrions are for groups of 20, 30 or more. Private is better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surfside Beach, SC
Jul 29, 2010

had great time but location remote

had great time but resort is remote and no night life for single folks. Was really disappointed in the beach. I stayed at the Paradisus in Domincan Republic and the one in Costa Rica is just not as good as that one. They really promoted the beach and there were not even chairs in Costa Rica

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

no nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ERaeJK
Business
Eastland,TX
Jul 25, 2010

Loved it!

It was awesome we totally loved it very friendly people and good drinks! If I'm being very picky the only thing I'd say is I would've liked an ocean view from the room but everything was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan 'Da Man'
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2010

REALLY NICE HOTEL. YOU'LL LOVE IT

I had a nice time at the hotel. I booked a few tours but I would've been fine if I just stayed at the hotel (If you're looking for relaxation only, this is the place to go). When I went on tours, I would come back in the evening in time for dinner. The swim-up bar and mini-bar in the room were nice features. Every restaurant had a full-bar and the food was good. Some restaurants on the resort are not impressive but still good. Room service was super quick when I phoned in my order. They also offer laundry services (kinda expensive) and internet (a few dollars/day). Every now and then you'll see some small wildlife creatures wandering around at the resort. Also, if you're a coffee drinker you've got to try the different types of coffee at the coffee shop. The beach was awesome!!! When you go, you'll notice that there is NO SAND AT THE BEACH! 'Then what is there? A slab of concrete?' you might ask. When you go, you'll notice why I say there's no sand (Hint: It's called Playa Conchal for a reason). Also, I'm single but if and when I get married, this is where I'm taking my wife for a nice honeymoon. Definitely recommended for couples. For golfers, this resort has a nice area to play. I didn't get to play but just taking a look at the field: IT LOOKED GREAT! YOU'LL LOVE IT! If you're looking for lots of nightlife activity, there isn't much to do here. There are scheduled shows at 9pm but nothing to get really excited about (unless it's Spring Break or something like that). If you're looking to go shopping outside the resort, keep in mind that the resort is sort of in a secluded area. If you want to go shopping, you have to take a taxi somewhere else (the hotel has its own taxi service, too). If you're planning to stay in and do nothing all day and watch TV, tey have cable but many channels are b roadcast in Spanish. Also, they don't have a menu (like many other hotels around the world) where you can choose movies to rent and see in your room on the TV screen. However, if you don't mind Spanish cable, then you'll have nothing to worry about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Hotel offers surfing and ski-doo watersports at its local beach. I'm sure you'd like these. In addition, if you want to go on tours it's best if you go through the hotel's agency (located at the resort) and book through them. If you book through another agency, they might not provide transportation and if that's the case you'll have to find your own way. On the other hand, the hotel's agency offers transportation to and fro the resort. There's plenty to do in Costa Rica so you'll have many things to choose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Being Married
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 15, 2010

25th Anniversary Getaway

The Paradisus was very clean and the hotel staff was extremely friendly. We thought maybe their "niceness" would wear off after a while, but the longer we were there the nicer they got! The hotel is also very clean and the grounds are very well kept. Lots of trees with some monkeys, and a lot of big iguanas lounging around. While I'm not particularly fond of lizards, they pretty much stayed in their own areas, like around the pond and on the golf course. We did our excursions thru John out on the beach, just outside the hotel. We rode horses one day and took ATV's to the zip line another day. We never paid any money until we showed up for the excursion. One morning when we were scheduled to go to the zipline it was raining. They didn't even hesitate to let us re-schedule for the next day. The restaurants were all quite good, but our favorites were the Italian and Spices. One thing we enjoyed (after eating at the buffet the 1st couple days) was ordering food from the bar and having it brought to us poolside. The menu was limited, but the cheeseburgers were amazing! We aren't sure if Royal Service was a necessary upgrade, but we did LOVE having the private pool and also the attention of the butler and other hotel staff. We stayed in the Imperial Romance Bali Suite, which was really nice, but thought that the rooms overlooking the Royal Service pool would have been just as nice due to their location...but either way, you can't go wrong! One negative thing was the a/c in our room didn't work well, but only at night. We think there may have been a pre-programmed temperature because it would stay at the temp we put it at during the day but would always rise to 22c at night. This was WAY TOO WARM and made for some sleepless nights. If this happens to you speak up about it right away. If you like the coffee (as we did) you can order it in the gift shop. Any order of 10 pkgs. of coffee or more gets mailed to your address free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We got the same excursions thru John on the beach as you can get thru the hotel, however the price was much lower. We read on other reviews about someone named Aaron...probably the same company, just a different representative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howler monkey
Business
philadelphia, pa
Jul 11, 2010

Cool Costa Rica

great place! clean, great food and service, and very nice staff. wouldn't hesitate going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug K
Business
Hempstead TX
Jul 8, 2010

All Inclusive Great Beware of Excursions

Hotel was great,food 5 star better than cruise lines, could live there year round..Beware of transportation costs..We booked a canopy zip line adventure through [...] for around $40 only to find out transportation was not included and was $150 round trip...Stay clear of Grayline Costa Rica..hard to get on phone then transferred to non answered line. Voucher was taken by driver from Airport to hotel and then became a problem producing one for return trip to airport.Told us to take taxi to zip line because Grayline cost more...Zip line adventure was booked through Grayline and [...]...There were plenty of Taxi`s at the airport looking for fares.avoid Grayline if you can.Make dinner reservations every night. The entertainment was excellant (be sure and catch the Michael Jackson number)..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book activities on the beach outside of the complex for a better deal..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top