$456 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal, Playa Conchal, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Honeymoon

Amazing place for any type of vacation. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The... See full review

  • DV2427
  • Aug 24, 2014
Fun in Costa Rica

For an all inclusive resort The Westin was a great place to stay. The hotel was beautiful and... See full review

  • M and L in PA
  • Aug 20, 2014
Eco-friendly resort tucked in lush forest
Offering deluxe spaces nestled in verdant forests near the Pacific Ocean, The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive creates a suitable retreat in the hidden paradise of Matapolo, Guanacaste in Costa Rica. Vacationers engage in nautical activities like snorkeling and surfing at the neighboring Conchal Beach and check out wildlife refuges and national parks, few kilometers from the property. At The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive, patrons relish Asian dishes at Bamboo restaurant, Italian specialties at Faisanela, Latin American favorites at Las Candelas and international cuisines at Mitra. Sip cocktails and other drinks at Abalone Bar & Lounge. Guests swim in the freshwater lagoon-style pool, work out at the fitness center, have pampering treatments at the spa or play at the tennis courts on site. Holidaymakers can also tee off at Reserva Conchal Golf Course, an 18-hole championship course on site. This all-inclusive resort also features nine meeting spaces, shopping center, airport transfer and Wi-Fi access in public areas.
3 Reasons To Stay

  • Freshwater lagoon-style pool
  • Championship golf course and tennis courts
  • Fitness center and spa

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms
All spacious rooms and suites at The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive are furnished with balcony/terrace, LCD TV, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), safety deposit box, coffee maker, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. Select suites come with glass-enclosed terrace with whirlpool.
Things To Do

  • Reserva Conchal Golf Club (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Sugar Beach (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Barcelo Langosta Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course (10.5mi/17 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive Rooms

Royal Beach Club Junior Suite
1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters 1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite Golf view
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 full long Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Furnished balcony, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.g>.
    Royal Beach Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed, Furnished balcony, 990 square feet / 92 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Villa
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed, adults only, access to the Royal Beach Club Lounge and to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool, private Jacuzzi in the terrace, separate living area, 1163 square feet / 108 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Royal Beach Club Room
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, adults only, access to the adult-only Royal Beach Club Pool and to the Royal Beach Club Lounge with private check-in and check out area, Wireless high-speed Internet access(Complimentary), Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 474 square feet / 44 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Junior Suite
    1 king Westin Heavenly bed or 2 double Westin Heavenly beds, Sofa bed (in some rooms), Balcony, Furnished balcony, Garden view, 538 square feet / 50 square meters.
    Amenities
  • In-room safe (accommodates laptop)
  • LCD TV
  • Premium television channel(s)
  • iPod docking station
  • Hairdryer and iron/ironing board
  • Coffe maker
  • Makeup/shaving mirror
  • Heavenly Bath with Rainfall showerhead
  • Air conditioning
  • Non-smoking only.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Golf
    Game room
    Solarium
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    Cauri Lobby Bar & Bistro
    Light Fare Cuisine, perfect for a light lunch to reenergize for the rest of the day.
    Open from 12pm to 4 pm.
    Faisanela
    Italian Cuisine, offering breakfast and lunch for the Royal Beach Club guests and dinner for all guest.
    Bamboo
    Asian Fusion, open for dinner.
    Mediterra
    Mediterranean Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Las Candelas
    Latin American Cuisine, open for dinner.
    Mitra
    International buffet, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Caracola
    Poolside restaurant open for lunch and dinner(seasonal)
    Spirula
    Snack bar and Pizzas, open for lunch

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    192 out of 192
    Amenities:
    4.5
    Cleanliness:
    4.7
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    World Traveler 0000000013
    Business
    Seattle Washington
    Dec 3, 2013

    Like a cheap Vegas buffet

    I was expecting a lot more considering the brand, and based upon the information. I would have given it zero stars if I could as by the 3rd day, I just wanted to leave. If you have ever stayed at a nice hotel and have any level of expectation, you better give this place a wide berth. I guess I didn't pick up from the information that it was all inclusive in regards to food. All I can say is the food was really bad. The beach it is located on is really nice; however, since the beach is public property, you have to navigate a gauntlet of "buzzards" circling outside the gate of the hotel to get use it. The room was not comfortable. They don't have the real heavenly bed and it was not comfortable at all. Additionally, the air conditioning does not cool the room down. We fought with the hotel for 2 days as they "fixed" the AC in the first room, then they moved us to another room where it was as bad or worse. We must have interacted with hotel staff more almost 10 times, and we kept getting different people, we would have to restate everything that had occurred and never were satisfied. The worst of it was that they didn't even understand why we were frustrated over the issue. The only friendly staff person was "Sergio", the guy that filled the minibar daily. Everyone else seemed to be disinterested except if they were getting a tip. I guess value is in the eye of the beholder, but I would have left early if I could have got a flight and walked away from the prepayment I made for the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    traveler 90000000000
    Business
    Kansas
    Feb 5, 2014

    Don,t stay here

    If I could give The Westin a -10 I would. From things being stolen from my room (there is a pass code for the safes in the room and employees know it) to the rooms being run down. The food is horrible and you can't get reservation so u end up ordering room service or going to the buffet which is the worst buffet ever. Don't take there shuttle service anywhere they may forget to come pick u up. it happened to 5 of use we finally took a taxi back to the resort and then had to fight to get a refund. Service at meals needs work when u ask for coffee and water at breakfast 5 times and don't get it till your done eating. something is wrong. that happened 4 times we started getting our own coffee and we got dirty looks. Please don't think im the only one who felt this way about the westin I witnessed a lot of people screaming at employees at the pool 5 time and at meals every single day. Service and conditions r really bad. Don't spend your hard earned money here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Lafayette, La
    Oct 11, 2009

    Robbed in Paradisus

    The resort was a great disappiontmnet. My husband and I went there to celebrate our 36 wedding anniversary. Upon arrival our room was not ready. When given our room it was registered to someone else. The next day was the worst of all. The resort recommended to schedule excursions with Hightide which are supposed to be all included in our package. Needless to say that is not the case. They will not allow you to schedule the free actvities ahead of time, you must schedule them that morining. Therefore if leaving for an all day paid excursion you can not schedule the sunset cruise. After trying to schedule our week, we decided to go to the pool. After a quick swim we went to out room to change for a brief snack at the Mexican patio. We were out of the room for no more than 30 minutes. Upon entering the room the closet and the safe was wide open. We had been ROBBED! My husbands watch(an anniversary gift), cell phone and $700 was taken. You are told to keep all valuables in the safe. Who knew that these people have a master code to the safe. My husband immediately called the front desk three times before we got a response.It took another 30 minutes and another 20 for the security gaurds. To our disbelief they offered no help,no apology and no offer to recover our belongings. On the 4th day we heard about a newlywed couple from New York whose safe was robbed the night before. I did not feel safe the entire week. My husband checked with 3 different managers and was only stared at with a blank look. This is not the professional way to run a business. Arriving at the airport in Libera a couple from Tampa,Fl.told us when they were checking out they over heard 2 European couples complaining to the manager that thier safe had been robbed. This is a vacation that I will never forget and not in a good way. How can anyone recommend this resort.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    ReneeC
    Business
    Chelsea
    Oct 14, 2011

    Bad experience

    food is awful, over half the restaurants are closed, every room service order has been wrong then they don't understand you when you try to send it back and complain. The only good service here we have had are the bartenders and those poor guys don't even get tips most of the time!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    NaughtyPines
    Business
    Boston, MA
    Feb 4, 2013

    Couldn't Have Been More Disappointed with Food/Service

    Rooms in the "Royal Beach Club" are older, and similarly equipped to Standard Room. Food is awful, everywhere. Food poisoning from the buffet, and met other couples with same issue on the same evening in the SAME restaurant. Management does NOT care. All they try to do is up-sell. Beach is nearly unswimmable due to riptide. Enjoy getting mobbed by vendors coming to/from the the beach entrance. Avoid like the plague. The Westin should be ashamed to put their name on this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Hendersonville, NC
    Aug 3, 2007

    Reservations Needed

    We were very disappointed in the restaurants. The food was sub par and you had to stand in line every morning for dinner reservations. The only good restaurant was the Italian restaurant. We stood in line each morning for about 45 minutes and many of the days the restaurant was already booked. They saved half of the reservations for the guests who had Royal Service. It looks like they are expanding the property, but I hope that they expand their restaurants and change the way they do reservations. The drinks were always good, the room was clean and the grounds were beautiful. We loved our trip, but we were disappointed in the food.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Skip the trip into nearby Tamarindo for shopping. All the shops are the same. If you are a surfer then you will like Tamarindo as it is known as a Surf City. If you are looking for good shopping, you can buy the same things in the booths that are set up on the beach.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Go to other hotel
    Business
    Orlando, Florida
    Aug 17, 2010

    BAD customer service and not friendly

    The wedding planner did not plan for family and guest to be close to each other. Front Desk was not friendly or helpful. The wedding planner to the bride that wedding on the beach is $$ cost on the wedding day, change the dinner memu with out notice, and serve the bride and groom food last on their wedding day. The set-up for the wedding was cheap looking for the $$ the hotel charge. The excursion the to expensive and their is nothing near by in a walking distance. Wedding and vacation is Mexico the much better the this place 100%. Spider problem in the rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Sushiyummy
    Business
    Pennsylvanya
    Jul 18, 2014

    Expect more for 4 star resort, 21 people in my group agree will not come back.

    Pro: -Room clean, resort landscape is nice, employee tried to make you happy but(read cons) -Italian restaurant is very good (read Cons) Cons: -Employee need to train a lot more to be 4 start Hotel( right now they equal to 2 start hotel employee). It took 1 hour 45 min to check in 5 rooms. -Only 4 restaurant for dinner and they are small. Two Italian are good but only 1 of it have AC, Asian restaurant is OK and the worse is Latin American both food and service. -Pool and Pool Bar stop service at 7 pm

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    Make reservation ASAP, avoid Latin American restaurant.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Educator in Mexico City
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Oct 29, 2014

    Not impressed...

    I was not at all impressed by this hotel. For the price of an all-inclusive hotel ($250/night), I would have expected free wifi and working digital cable. My room was clean but there were dead flies on both beds and mosquitoes flying around. The air conditioning system did not work well either. Laundry was extremely expensive, too. The staff, however, was exceptional. I will not stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Westin Golf Resort and Spa, Playa Conchal - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    jskrad
    Business
    Stone Harbor, NJ, USA
    Mar 18, 2012

    all inclusive

    I'm not an all inclusive fan. I went to the westin to attend a work related conference. I didn't feel like this hotel gave you a true experience of how beautiful Costa Rica is. The food was good but not the traditional Costa Rican fare that can be found elsewhere. The staff was outstanding. The people of Costa Rica are friendly, helpful and genuine.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top