$374 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Preserve at Los Altos

4 stars
Kilometer 4 road to manuel Antonio, adjacent to Barba Roja Restaurant, Manuel Antonio,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
9 reviews
yearly vacation

the best staff ever at any hotel I have ever stayed at, friendly and helpful. when we left we went... See full review

  • Tito the traveler
  • Dec 15, 2012
Beautiful and spacious condo/hotel

This condo is well maintained, modern and very spacious! See full review

  • LoriAnn
  • Jul 7, 2012
Los Altos Beach Resort and Spa is casual elegance at its finest. Luxury without the attitude.

Our guests enjoy travel, adventure and the comforts of home in a casual comfortable accessible and safe atmosphere. Los Altos calls out to the adventure seeking traveler as well as those just looking to unwind.

Here you can appreciate nature coupled with 4 star amenities. Our location is one of the most beautiful natural surroundings in the Central Pacific.

The resort encompasses 21 acres of lush rain forest with views of the ocean. Take the trail down the magnificent hill where your journey will transport you to our exclusive gem of a beach.

Our resort design is modern Balinese emphasizing nature and comfort. Situated in a privileged location our accommodations boast 2400 Sq. ft of exotic furnishings-3 bedrooms-multiple baths- 3 balconies-full kitchens- separate living / dining areas. Your suite is accessed by direct private elevator. We combined the most exquisite elements that nature offers; breathtaking ocean views and beautiful sunsets over the Pacific Ocean.

Each suite offers such a view. Our home is Manuel Antonio - world renown for the absolute natural beauty of its namesake national park. This magical area is home to; exotic wildlife- various species of birds-multiple nature trails leading to the most spectacular white sand beaches of Costa Rica noted as some of the best in the world.

We are proud to be a family-oriented resort. For the active and adventurous there is; horseback riding-surfing-parasailing-ziplining- white-water rafting-kayaking-hiking-ATV tours-mountain biking-snorkeling. Those on a journey of exploration and relaxation will enjoy; watching the squirrel monkeys-grazing the beaches-enjoying the decadent food by our infinity pool or in our open-air restaurant- or receiving a world class massage at our Spa. Keep fit in our gym or just relax on one of your suite balconies - one can do as much or as little as one wishes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Preserve at Los Altos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5

The Preserve at Los Altos Rooms

Rain Forest Ocean View Suite
Located on the 2nd and 3rd floors, this 3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom Suite can be rented out for different rates as a 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom with a minimum occupancy of 2 persons and a maximum occupancy of 6 persons.
The Master Bedroom includes a King Sized Bed, Private Bathroom with Rainfall shower and Private Balcony. The two Guest Bedrooms include a Queen Sized Bed and 2 Twin Sized Beds.
Room amenities include Egyptian-cotton sheets, Down comforter, In-room safe, Mood Lighting, and Private Balcony with Garden view. Living Room with floor-to-ceiling windows and Ocean View Balcony. Dining Room. Full Service Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and evening turndown service.
Complimentary WIFI. Flat Screen LCD Television with Satellite Cable. Air conditioning. Minibar. Direct-dial phone. Direct elevator access. Wheelchair accessible. Non-smoking only. Parking and Gym available
Tree Top Ocean View Suites
Located on the 4th and 5th floors, this 3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom suite can be rented out for different rates as a 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom with a minimum occupancy of 2 persons and a maximum occupancy of 6 persons.
The Master Bedroom includes a King Sized Bed, Private Bathroom with Rainfall shower and Private Balcony. The two Guest Bedrooms include a Queen Sized Bed and 2 Twin Sized Beds.
Room amenities include Egyptian-cotton sheets, Down comforter, In-room safe, Mood Lighting, and Private Balcony with Garden view. Living Room with floor-to-ceiling windows and Ocean View Balcony. Dining Room. Full Service Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and evening turndown service. Complimentary WIFI. Flat Screen LCD Television with Satellite Cable. Air conditioning. Minibar. Direct-dial phone. Direct elevator access. Wheelchair accessible. Non-smoking only. Parking and Gym available
Panoramic Ocean View Suite
Located on the 6th and 7th floors, this 3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bathroom suite can be rented out for different rates as a 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom with a minimum occupancy of 2 persons and a maximum occupancy of 6 persons. The Master Bedroom includes a King Sized Bed, Private Bathroom with Rainfall shower and Private Balcony.
The two Guest Bedrooms include a Queen Sized Bed and 2 Twin Sized Beds. Room amenities include Egyptian-cotton sheets, Down comforter, In-room safe, Mood Lighting, and Private Balcony with Garden view. Living Room with floor-to-ceiling windows and Ocean View Balcony. Dining Room. Full Service Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and evening turndown service. Complimentary WIFI. Flat Screen LCD Television with Satellite Cable. Air conditioning. Minibar. Direct-dial phone. Direct elevator access. Wheelchair accessible. Non-smoking only. Parking and Gym available
Penthouse w/Ocean View and Manuel Antonio National Park View
Located on the 8th, the 4 Bedroom, 3.5 Bathroom Penthouse can be rented out for different rates as a 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom and 4 bedroom
The Master Suite Bedroom includes a King Sized Bed and Private Bathroom with Rain fall shower and access to a Jacuzzi Terrace.
The Master Bedroom includes a King Sized Bed, Private Bathroom with Rainfall shower, and Private Balcony. The two Guest Bedrooms include a Queen Sized Bed and 2 Twin Sized Beds. Room amenities include Egyptian-cotton sheets, In-room safe, Mood Lighting, and Private Balcony with Manuel Antonio National Park View. Living Room with floor-to-ceiling windows and Ocean View Balcony. Dining Room. Full Service Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and evening turndown service. Complimentary WIFI. Flat Screen LCD Television with Satellite Cable. Air conditioning. Minibar. Direct-dial phone. Direct elevator access. Wheelchair accessible. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Karolas Restaurant
The gourmet restaurant and bar at Los Altos is on the right side of the mountain, and by right, we clearly mean the most pleasant and gorgeous. Situated so as to capture the most resplendent, uninterrupted view of the Pacific Ocean, simple, yet stylish design offers patrons a full five sense dining experience, appealing profoundly to sight, sound, smell, taste and texture. Open on all sides to the soothing presence of exotic flora and lilting sounds of wildlife, this is no ordinary eating experience. It's kid-friendly, adult-sophisticated menu presents a flavorful combination of comidas tipicas (local meals) and an eclectic range of tropical inspired dishes and drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Offering breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean as well as of the natural beauty spread across the resort, Los Altos is very proud to offer a state-of-the-art conference room and event hall. Equipped with a powerful surround sound system and projector, our versatile space is as ideal for the getaway business excursion as it is for the most romantic of weddings or family reunions. With 1,500 square feet of space we expect you to work closely with us to ensure that no aspect of your event is overlooked. For intimate board meetings to incentive trips to executive retreats, Los Altos offers the flexibility and technical capabilities needed to address your business at hand in an original and refreshing natural setting. Whether you are interested in mixing business with pleasure or pleasure with even more pleasure, contact us today for further details regarding how Los Altos can become your tropical event destination!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for The Preserve at Los Altos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 9
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of The Preserve at Los Altos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Citygirlsf
Business
San Francisco
Apr 9, 2014

Wanted to love it, but didn't...

There is nothing wrong with this hotel, per se, but it just wasn't the experience we were looking for..The very spacious suites (2500 sf) looked rather cold and corporate in the photos, and when I got there, it was just as I expected. It wasn't quite American luxury, and it wasn't an authentic Costa Rican experience...it was an awkward blending that didn't really work. The reason you stay in Manuel Antonio is for the wildlife, and because this is a high rise building, you don't get the cute experience of moneys on your balcony, iguanas on your doorstep...and it was expensive! I overpaid, about $450/night...which would be fine if you had three couples, but for just our family of four, it was too big. Also, we found that the beach was not really a swimming beach and not really accessible. Pool was nice & staff was helpful...just wasn't my cup of tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Preserve at Los Altos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crocodile woman
Business
NJ
Aug 12, 2012

Great Place to stay!!

Since we have 2 teenagers, we need a space. So I found Los Altos Beach Resort/Condo Hotel. It was just perfect for us. When the elevator door opened, we could not believe our eyes, because we had a penthouse. We didn't have to look for a room, when the elevator arrived it was our room. A huge living room and dining room and 3 spacious bedrooms!!! The view was amazing too.We could not expect more. My husband and kids were very happy. The hotel stuffs were very nice. The food in the restaurant was good but expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Preserve at Los Altos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoriAnn
Business
California
Jul 7, 2012

Beautiful and spacious condo/hotel

This condo is well maintained, modern and very spacious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great taco restauant right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Preserve at Los Altos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
privado
Business
NY
Apr 16, 2012

Best place to stay

This was our first visit to Manuel Antonio (2nd time in Costa Rica). This condo/hotel is the nicest place in the area, hands down. The hotel is at a high elevation, located on the main road-- however, from the entrance on the main road, the property slopes downward toward the ocean paralleling the road toward the Parador. There are several good places to eat within walking distance. We rented a car, however, taking the bus from this hotel is very convenient (we did it one day). It stops near the entrance of Los Altos and takes you to Espadilla Beach (the public beach), the National Park or even all the way to Quepos for 150 colones (about 40 cents). There is a small grocery store not far away. The accommodations are fantastic. If you want a lot of space, you'll have it: three beautifully appointed bedrooms and bathrooms. The living area and kitchen were well-appointed. The kitchen could have used more utensils, but for having snacks or light meals it is adequate. The restaurant "Karolas" on site is open-air and has a lovely hilltop view of the ocean over the pool area. The breakfast included in our room rate was great (eggs, rice/beans, pancakes, fruit, juice, coffee). We had dinner one evening and the food was good and the service very good. The pool is clean and a good size with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. There are two hot-tub-like pools, as well as a shallow pool suitable for little children. There is a bar at the pool and you can also order food from the restaurant. For the best view, request a room in the side of the building away from the road and purchase the highest floor you can afford. We were satisfied with the location of our room third floor in the building closer to the road (we could see the ocean over the parking area), however a prettier view would have been from a higher floor or from the other side of the building. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sancho's restaurant across from the entrance has great fish tacos (and other food)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top