$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Parador Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
71 reviews
Fabulous hotel had a great stay

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! It has a wonderful view and beautiful surroundings. The... See full review

  • John H.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Nice hotel at the bottom of a steep hill

Welcome was great. Room was big and always clean. Cleaning lady very kind. Shower worked well,... See full review

  • Dutchie solo traveler
  • Jul 28, 2014
Perched high above the sweeping Central Pacific coastline on twelve acres of tropical rainforest once inhabited by the Quepoa Indians, Hotel Parador is a secluded luxury beach hotel adjacent to the stunning sheltered cove of Playa Biezanz and just minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park, the neighboring fishing village of Quepos, and the local airport.

A multiple World Travel Awards recipient, Hotel Parador is distinguished by its commitment to sustainability, world-class amenities, European-inspired ambience and Costa Rican "Pura Vida" hospitality in an unparalleled natural setting teeming with wildlife.
From our majestically situated property you might witness the awesome spectacle of migrating whales while just a bit further the unspoiled beach of Matapalo plays host to another of nature's miracles: the annual nesting of turtles, which usually occurs between July and December.

Evoking the old world charm of a traditional Spanish "parador," Hotel Parador offers the outstanding facilities and personal service expected by our discerning and deserving guests, including world-class restaurants, three pools, wi-fi, spa, small fitness center, on-site activities, and experienced concierge to assist with tours, reservations and any other holiday need.

Our selection of garden, jungle or ocean-view rooms and lavish suites dot the sprawling grounds, affording both family-friendly and couples-only romantic options. Scenic jungle trails shared by frolicking titi, whiteface and howler monkeys, lazing sloths and slithering giant iguanas lead to jagged panoramic cliffs and many hidden enclaves and intimate niches allowing for further privacy.
You need never leave the property, but if you so choose, the hotel's regular shuttles will have you back in "civilization" in no time.
Close enough to the Manuel Antonio's renowned beaches, adventure activities and local flavor of Quepos, yet isolated from the bustle of the main drag, Hotel Parador in Costa Rica provides the perfect antidote to life's chaos with every imaginable amenity defining a first-class resort.So whether you're planning a honeymoon, romantic getaway, active family holiday - or are seeking an enchanting site for your wedding - Parador Resort & Spa offers infinite possibilities to fulfill your fantasy.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parador Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Parador Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden room
Room offers Queen bed or king bed (under availability). The main feature of the Garden rooms are the beautiful sights to the green and colorful gardens that surround them, and their key location to main facilities like swimming pool area, spa and restaurants. All rooms have terraces with direct access to the gardens making these ideal rooms for families with children.
Garden Plus
Room offers Queen or King bed (under availability) with adjoining doors.This rooms are ideal for families and parties of four or more.
Tropical
Room offers Queen or King bed (under availability). This is a great choice for families and anyone who wishes proximity to the pool area. The Superior rooms building is located below the Premium building, yet still provide beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and the islands of the Manuel Antonio National Park.
Premium
The Premium rooms offer an incredible 180 degree views of the ocean and the jungle. These rooms are ideal for couples looking for peace and quiet while taking in the endless views of the landscapes. The panoramic elevator afford guests an incredible view of the mountains, Ocean and the resort, while making their way to their rooms. All Premium rooms are equipped with 2 queen size beds and bathtub
Premium Plus
Located on the top of a majestic rock, with views of the most impressive Costa Rican coastline, our newly remodeled premium plus rooms are everyone's dream. You could sit for hours on your balcony gazing at the amazing views and observing the surrounding wildlife. All rooms are luxuriously detailed for your comfort with king size beds (pillow top mattresses) , plushy duvets, and bathrobes, bathtub and two lavatories.
Vista Suites
Opened in December 2008, "Las suites" are the newest addition to the Parador Resort. Surrounded by the incredible rainforest canopy of Punta Quepos, and with views to the Ocean and islands of Manuel Antonio National park, "Las Suites" are absolutely stunning. From the corridors of your Suite you will observe all species of flora and fauna, including the howler monkey, cari blancos, titis, sloths, and tucans. All suites have an elegant design with warm tropical touches and contemporary amenities which include a spacious living area, 1 king size bed, private balcony with jaccuzzi, separate bathtub and shower, 2 sinks with granite counter ,sofa bed, mini bar with sink and granite counter, safety deposit box, 42" tv plasma, table clock with I-pod deck, and tropical hand painted artwork by famous Costa Rican artist, Victor Chavarria.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Galeria
Enjoy exceptional fine dining with live piano music in an elegant romantic setting overlooking the gardens, the Ocean and the pools. The wide selection of dishes, named after famous International painters, prepared by the finest of chefs combine both the Costa Rican fusion flavors as well as the Mediterranean cuisine. The breakfast buffet (included in your room rate) is served daily in La Galeria. The buffet includes everything from an omelets station, to fresh home baked goods, cereals, local favorite "Gallo Pinto" and fresh tropical fruits and juices. Opening hours: Breakfast: 6:00am-10:30am / Lunch: 11:30am-4:30pm (Quijote restaurant menu) / Dinner: 6:30pm-10:00pm.
El Quijote
A casual restaurant, with spectacular views and a relaxing ambiance , here you will be sure to find your favorite dish with extensive international a la carte menu. Opening hours: 6:30pm-10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Parador Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Everitas
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 21, 2011

Overpriced and Deceptively Described Rms

Beautiful setting in lush tropical vegetation at the end of a narrow, winding and steep road leading to the end of a peninsula. Common areas are very nice, but our room was very mediocre. [...] No internet access in the room. Ants throughout and particularly bad in the bathroom. Toilet leaked then broke requiring immediate plumbing repair (which was thankfully done promptly.The highlight of the stay was the very helpful tour coordinator. Without his influence this would have been a terrible experience.All in all this hotel was a disappointment considering the price of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at El Avion, a restaurant built into a salvaged relic of the Iran-Contra debacle of the Reagan administration. A C-123 cargo plan shot down over Nicaragua was relocated near Quepos and now serves as the entrance and bar to a restaurant. The setting is unique, the view great and the food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jet Settler
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Nice location, but needs a facelift.

Positives: The view, shuttle service, monkey trail, and new pool in the suites section (which we found on our last day). We had an amazing time at Manuel Antonio, just not so much at the hotel. Negatives: The hotel appears to lack chef, general manager, property management. Examples: Chef: Food tastes like brown packing box cardboard. Specifically, the french fries and dinner rolls. Not worth gourmet dining prices they charge. Go into town (Raphael's) for amazing food. General Manager: Consistently unpredictable service. Sometimes they served drinks at the adult pool, more often not. Towels for the pool and beach were uncomfortably and unnecessarily hard to obtain. Property: Replace missing tiles when they fall off in the pool. Clean the moss off the swimming pool alligator. The suites pool seemed to be the only place properly maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants in town, all down the hill. Dinner and music on Tuesday and Friday at Raphael's is excellent. Cafe Milagro has excellent breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota,FL
Jul 31, 2011

vacation

I've been traveling for over 25 years.that was first time I wasn't happy about my stay. OVERPRICED. Room smells like mold,took forever to get maid,breakfast was good,but dinner... you can get much better anywhere else and a lot cheaper.if you get stuck if hotel because of rain it's absolutely nothing to do there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelika L.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Not what we expected

For the price of the room, we expected a modern, updated Westin meets W hotel room. We were in for a treat. The room hasn't been updated since the hotel first opened. It was in an 1970's time warp. My boyfriend felt like he was stuck in Cuba in the 70's. Our "oceanfront hotel" room had obstructed views with a tree. The shower made me feel so claustrophobic. There was chipped tile in the shower and paint on the mirror. The dresser had so many scratches it looked like it was passed down four generations. There were little bugs anytime we had a drink or a snack. However, they had happy hour from 6-7pm with reduced prices. Margaritas were eighteen dollars. The restaurant was VERY expensive. Think NYC prices for dinner. The presentation of the meals were nice and everything we ordered was tasty. I just didn't expect to pay NYC prices in Central America. The staff was exceptionally nice, albeit, some could barely speak English. The hotel is VERY isolated. You need to take a shuttle to the beach and to the downtown area. Luckily they provide a free shuttle. The beach near the hotel looks like a dump. It's not even worth the 20-minute walk. You can't see the sunset from the hotel which means you have to take a shuttle/cab to the little strip 10-minutes away to watch the sunset from a bar. The breakfast was included and was pretty tasty. They have lots of lounge chairs to lay out. The gym was very nice at the hotel, the pools were awesome. Overall, I would never come back and stay some place else. The price was NOT worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unimama
Business
Toledo, OH
Feb 16, 2014

Clean and so beautiful

We took several excursions with help from the wonderful travel tour staff. The parasailing and catamaran were two of my favorites. We actually saw several dolphins pointed out by our boat driver. It was amazing. The howler monkeys could be heard about the same time every day. They sound like something from a horror film but it was exciting to see them on the grounds of the monkey trail. The complimentary breakfast buffets and free bus shuttles to the beach and park was a nice bonus. The staff of the Parador were all friendly and helpful with anything asked of them. My only suggestion would be to have some sort of entertainment on site. For example, a game room, pool table or live music. There was not much to do after dark unless you left the resort. Overall, we had an amazing vacation and would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a lot of sun and fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Marlin Restaurant had the best seafood lunch I have ever had. Free shuttle to the beach and a short walk. Our lunch was a special. It included the freshest Mahi Mahi, Ahi Tuna & Jumbo shrimp which were all grilled. Then a mound of lightly breaded calamari that topped it off. Of course there were sides of potatoes and veggies but I didn't bother with those. It was a bit pricy for lunch at about $50 for , but it was so worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Ballotelli
Business
London
Feb 23, 2014

Great hotel

We had a lovely time . Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, very friendly staff and in beautiful surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josto
Business
New jersey
Feb 27, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the Parador. The staff were eager to please and the hotel was clean and had great views of the ocean. I especially liked the adult only pool. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant . I would say the food was average, The pool area and views are spectacular! Take the path to the beach...and call for golf cart service if walking is too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at marina is a must do. $10 cab ride to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dash2719
Business
florida
Mar 13, 2014

vacation

great hotel. wonderful staff. Food could stand to be a little cheaper and we might have eaten there more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajun Abroad
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 18, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, but out of the way

The resort stay was great. The service was tops. Staff was always helpful and went the extra mile. I guess my only gripe is the resort is too far out of the way. If you wanted to experience the local cuisine, a cab was necessary. There's no walking to the local shops or restaurants. I guess that's a good thing if you're looking to hide from it all. Also, the drinks are a little steeply priced averaging between $8 and $9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Either eat at the restaurants at the resort or be ready to hop a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Jun 4, 2009

Great jungle location

Beautiful location, very close to Manuel Antonio Park, but, not a lot of other interesting tours offered from the hotel. Great hotel for a few days but would not recommend staying their your entire vacation as there are lots of things to see in locations to far to go on day trips from here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top