$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Parador Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Parador Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jet Settler
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Nice location, but needs a facelift.

Positives: The view, shuttle service, monkey trail, and new pool in the suites section (which we found on our last day). We had an amazing time at Manuel Antonio, just not so much at the hotel. Negatives: The hotel appears to lack chef, general manager, property management. Examples: Chef: Food tastes like brown packing box cardboard. Specifically, the french fries and dinner rolls. Not worth gourmet dining prices they charge. Go into town (Raphael's) for amazing food. General Manager: Consistently unpredictable service. Sometimes they served drinks at the adult pool, more often not. Towels for the pool and beach were uncomfortably and unnecessarily hard to obtain. Property: Replace missing tiles when they fall off in the pool. Clean the moss off the swimming pool alligator. The suites pool seemed to be the only place properly maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants in town, all down the hill. Dinner and music on Tuesday and Friday at Raphael's is excellent. Cafe Milagro has excellent breakfast and lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmithGirls
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 21, 2013

Parador is Costa Rican Paradise

Paradise! Our ocean view room included a jacuzzi on the balcony! Sumptuous breakfast buffet included. We booked 7 rooms for family and friends, and everyone was very pleased. Easy access to the beach and town with the shuttle service. We'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

use the hotel shuttle to take you to the beach or anywhere in Manuel Antonio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jetlag717
Business
Austin
Dec 14, 2012

Very nice Hotel!

We really like this hotel for: -Great Location and view, -very nice staff! -Amenities Bed room did not have a view but was nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Writer Ted
Business
San Francisco
Dec 13, 2012

Parador

Fantastic place, even though it appeares to be tailored to the honeymoon crowd, older people or singles can still find plenty to do and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Buy soveniers on your way back in the airport. For some reason I found items cheaper, especially at the Brita store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dkdo
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 5, 2012

Heaven in the Hills

The best place we stayed in CR. Windy drive outside of Quepos into the hills. The hotel has old charm, even though we were told it is only 17 years old. Very intimate with beautiful grounds, pool, and very accommodating staff. Multiple infinity pools - one for adults only. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Dinner was good but only ate there once. Happy Hour from 6-7pm with cheaper drinks. I would not recommend the appetizers. We ordered multiple appetizers one evening thinking it would take the place of dinner but they were very small for the price and not all that filling. We had a car so we drove to all our activities. Don't miss the Manuel Antonio park with a guide for a good 1/2 day excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Complementary shuttle service with set times to/from Manuel Antonio park. Cab one way costs $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taurean n Libran
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 25, 2012

Honeymoon experience of a lifetime!

The resort is situated at the very end of a windy path at the edge of the Quepos peninsula. The location is ideal and very scenic with lots of activities such as jet skiing, canopy tours, zip lining, sport fishing, kayaking, para-sailing, etc. The public beach on Manuel Antonio is fairly clean and you pay $10 for chairs and umbrellas ($4 for parking). There are private more clean beaches at nearby hotels. The Jaco beach is about 70km and I would not recommend the place if you want a good beach experience. The resort serves great food in the $8-$15 range and their drinks are very reasonably priced $6-$9 and taste fantastic especially their mojitos and margaritas. Their spa is perfect after a long day of strenuous activity and though a bit expensive, definitely recommended. The staff are very friendly and their gift shops/store has most things you will need. If not, there is a mini-store nearby in Quepos town. They serve a great breakfast every morning. My wife and I stayed for a week and were completely impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For the most colons for your dollar, buy something at the gift shop or restaurant. A $20 bill for a $6 tab gives you the highest conversion rate (499 colones) for the remainder $14. Don't exchange your money at the airport, The hotel gave us 475 colones to the dollar while the airport gave us 430 on 11/22/2012 when the international rate was at roughly 500 colones for a dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth honeymooner
Business
London
Aug 14, 2012

Fantastic honeymoon destination

We loved our stay at Parador!It is possible to see so much wildlife just from within the hotel. We saw three different types of monkeys, three sloths, lots of birds, lots of iguanas and butterflies. Also recommend the free yoga overlooking the rainforest. It is not cheap to eat within the hotel but the food was great and you can catch the free shuttle bus into manuel antonio and get a taxi back up. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the spa was amazing too!Definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lalaleo
Business
Murrieta, CA, USA
Jul 7, 2012

Well worth it!

Gorgeous location, people are very nice. A bit tough to get too, located on a steep hill, makes for beautiful ocean views. Food is not great but pretty good, breakfast is excellent, poolside restaurant is very good, dinner not great. Very nice beach is close by but you have to be in excellent physical shape to reach, as it requires a walk down a steep hillside (no steps or railing, watch out for occasional human excrement. The place is beautifully furnished with numerous antiques and architectural accents, the gift shop above the restaurant has many unique hand-made local souvenirs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try kapi kapi restaurant, about 1.5 miles down the road. Excellent seafood dishes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Ann
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 20, 2012

Incredible 30th Birthday

We had an incredible stay at Parador. Myself and 2 friends spent 6 nights here. The staff was very friendly and helpful! All the facilities were clean and convenient. The breakfast buffet was amazing with all the fresh fruit and plenty of options. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamma Brock
Business
Idaho
Jun 6, 2012

Wonderful Vacation!

We absolutely loved our stay at the Parador Resort and Spa. We stayed for seven nights, and enjoyed every minute. It is a beautiful hotel, the food was great, and we were very impressed with the staff. Everyone we encountered was so helpful and friendly. Especially Eric, our waiter at breakfast, and Diego, our waiter at happy hour,and the man at the tour desk. These guys are so nice! They made our stay that much more enjoyable. We already have decided to return again someday. It was very hard to leave such a wonderful place. We highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A beautiful beach that is a short distance from the hotel. We snorkeled and swam, and saw monkeys each time we went there. It was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top