$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Parador Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
69 reviews
Fabulous hotel had a great stay

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! It has a wonderful view and beautiful surroundings. The... See full review

  • John H.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Nice hotel at the bottom of a steep hill

Welcome was great. Room was big and always clean. Cleaning lady very kind. Shower worked well,... See full review

  • Dutchie solo traveler
  • Jul 28, 2014
Perched high above the sweeping Central Pacific coastline on twelve acres of tropical rainforest once inhabited by the Quepoa Indians, Hotel Parador is a secluded luxury beach hotel adjacent to the stunning sheltered cove of Playa Biezanz and just minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park, the neighboring fishing village of Quepos, and the local airport.

A multiple World Travel Awards recipient, Hotel Parador is distinguished by its commitment to sustainability, world-class amenities, European-inspired ambience and Costa Rican "Pura Vida" hospitality in an unparalleled natural setting teeming with wildlife.
From our majestically situated property you might witness the awesome spectacle of migrating whales while just a bit further the unspoiled beach of Matapalo plays host to another of nature's miracles: the annual nesting of turtles, which usually occurs between July and December.

Evoking the old world charm of a traditional Spanish "parador," Hotel Parador offers the outstanding facilities and personal service expected by our discerning and deserving guests, including world-class restaurants, three pools, wi-fi, spa, small fitness center, on-site activities, and experienced concierge to assist with tours, reservations and any other holiday need.

Our selection of garden, jungle or ocean-view rooms and lavish suites dot the sprawling grounds, affording both family-friendly and couples-only romantic options. Scenic jungle trails shared by frolicking titi, whiteface and howler monkeys, lazing sloths and slithering giant iguanas lead to jagged panoramic cliffs and many hidden enclaves and intimate niches allowing for further privacy.
You need never leave the property, but if you so choose, the hotel's regular shuttles will have you back in "civilization" in no time.
Close enough to the Manuel Antonio's renowned beaches, adventure activities and local flavor of Quepos, yet isolated from the bustle of the main drag, Hotel Parador in Costa Rica provides the perfect antidote to life's chaos with every imaginable amenity defining a first-class resort.So whether you're planning a honeymoon, romantic getaway, active family holiday - or are seeking an enchanting site for your wedding - Parador Resort & Spa offers infinite possibilities to fulfill your fantasy.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Parador Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Parador Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden room
Room offers Queen bed or king bed (under availability). The main feature of the Garden rooms are the beautiful sights to the green and colorful gardens that surround them, and their key location to main facilities like swimming pool area, spa and restaurants. All rooms have terraces with direct access to the gardens making these ideal rooms for families with children.
Garden Plus
Room offers Queen or King bed (under availability) with adjoining doors.This rooms are ideal for families and parties of four or more.
Tropical
Room offers Queen or King bed (under availability). This is a great choice for families and anyone who wishes proximity to the pool area. The Superior rooms building is located below the Premium building, yet still provide beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and the islands of the Manuel Antonio National Park.
Premium
The Premium rooms offer an incredible 180 degree views of the ocean and the jungle. These rooms are ideal for couples looking for peace and quiet while taking in the endless views of the landscapes. The panoramic elevator afford guests an incredible view of the mountains, Ocean and the resort, while making their way to their rooms. All Premium rooms are equipped with 2 queen size beds and bathtub
Premium Plus
Located on the top of a majestic rock, with views of the most impressive Costa Rican coastline, our newly remodeled premium plus rooms are everyone's dream. You could sit for hours on your balcony gazing at the amazing views and observing the surrounding wildlife. All rooms are luxuriously detailed for your comfort with king size beds (pillow top mattresses) , plushy duvets, and bathrobes, bathtub and two lavatories.
Vista Suites
Opened in December 2008, "Las suites" are the newest addition to the Parador Resort. Surrounded by the incredible rainforest canopy of Punta Quepos, and with views to the Ocean and islands of Manuel Antonio National park, "Las Suites" are absolutely stunning. From the corridors of your Suite you will observe all species of flora and fauna, including the howler monkey, cari blancos, titis, sloths, and tucans. All suites have an elegant design with warm tropical touches and contemporary amenities which include a spacious living area, 1 king size bed, private balcony with jaccuzzi, separate bathtub and shower, 2 sinks with granite counter ,sofa bed, mini bar with sink and granite counter, safety deposit box, 42" tv plasma, table clock with I-pod deck, and tropical hand painted artwork by famous Costa Rican artist, Victor Chavarria.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Galeria
Enjoy exceptional fine dining with live piano music in an elegant romantic setting overlooking the gardens, the Ocean and the pools. The wide selection of dishes, named after famous International painters, prepared by the finest of chefs combine both the Costa Rican fusion flavors as well as the Mediterranean cuisine. The breakfast buffet (included in your room rate) is served daily in La Galeria. The buffet includes everything from an omelets station, to fresh home baked goods, cereals, local favorite "Gallo Pinto" and fresh tropical fruits and juices. Opening hours: Breakfast: 6:00am-10:30am / Lunch: 11:30am-4:30pm (Quijote restaurant menu) / Dinner: 6:30pm-10:00pm.
El Quijote
A casual restaurant, with spectacular views and a relaxing ambiance , here you will be sure to find your favorite dish with extensive international a la carte menu. Opening hours: 6:30pm-10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Parador Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dutchie solo traveler
Chicago
Jul 28, 2014

Nice hotel at the bottom of a steep hill

Welcome was great. Room was big and always clean. Cleaning lady very kind. Shower worked well, drainage good. Internet worked on the balcony, not always IN the room. The generators turn in when there's an outage due to heavy storms. Amenities were good; 1 adult pool (relaxing!), and one for adults +kids. The gym has all that one needs: yoga, eliptical, treadmill, free weights, balls eyc. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The staff took a personal interest in making sure I felt comfortable. Food was good. High (too high?) security. Two negatives: the hotel is at the very end of a steep hill. There's a shuttle but only 1x hour and it stops at 5:10. This means that you either need to pay 2x $10 to get in/out town or eat dinner at the resort, which can make the stay pricey. I'm an athletic person and walked every morning up the hill bc the shuttle doesn't start until 8:30., but it's a steep 20 min walk. There's no bus on the 2K road to get to town. Once on the main road there's a bus to the park/quepos. Another negative: I stayed alone in the hotel. I knew the security was tough and I appreciate it up to when it interferes with hospitality, so when I wanted to invite my colleagues to the hotel for a work lunch, I asked permission in advance. I was told we could do a lunch and prepare for a big presentation if I would give the names in advance and IDs were needed. We had no problem with that; security is important and appreciated. My colleagues were friendly greeted at the gate. However, the reaction of the young lady congierge was rude. We were told about the rules: don't do this, don't do that, you can't go anywhere else but the restaurant etc. we weren't planning on a dip in the pool or walking around; I cleared it in advance that we wanted to have lunch and do work. The line between hospitality and security was crossed and we felt in a prison. I didn't invite coworkers over for dinners or a drink on other nights. Instead, I spend my money in town where we were welcomed in a more friendly way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John H.
Business
Richmond
Feb 13, 2015

Fabulous hotel had a great stay

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! It has a wonderful view and beautiful surroundings. The price was a bit high, but it was really worth it for me. It has several pools to choose from. It has some very nice decorations and paintings around the hotel. The restaurant food was very good and surprisingly affordably priced. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jordan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Watch out for the pool!

The Parador Resort is a great place to stay if you are visiting Manuel Antonio. The rooms are very nice and the grounds are very well maintained. The food is great as well. My one complaint would be the pool. It completely ruined our swim suits. I talked to the hotel manager and she assured me it was my sunscreen. However, we've used the same sunscreen for years with no problems. So, if you stay here make sure to wear swimsuits that are older or inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel about cheap Mexican restaurants around the hotel. We went to one about a mile and half away from the hotel and it was awesome. It's ran by an American guy and they make great burritos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelika L.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Not what we expected

For the price of the room, we expected a modern, updated Westin meets W hotel room. We were in for a treat. The room hasn't been updated since the hotel first opened. It was in an 1970's time warp. My boyfriend felt like he was stuck in Cuba in the 70's. Our "oceanfront hotel" room had obstructed views with a tree. The shower made me feel so claustrophobic. There was chipped tile in the shower and paint on the mirror. The dresser had so many scratches it looked like it was passed down four generations. There were little bugs anytime we had a drink or a snack. However, they had happy hour from 6-7pm with reduced prices. Margaritas were eighteen dollars. The restaurant was VERY expensive. Think NYC prices for dinner. The presentation of the meals were nice and everything we ordered was tasty. I just didn't expect to pay NYC prices in Central America. The staff was exceptionally nice, albeit, some could barely speak English. The hotel is VERY isolated. You need to take a shuttle to the beach and to the downtown area. Luckily they provide a free shuttle. The beach near the hotel looks like a dump. It's not even worth the 20-minute walk. You can't see the sunset from the hotel which means you have to take a shuttle/cab to the little strip 10-minutes away to watch the sunset from a bar. The breakfast was included and was pretty tasty. They have lots of lounge chairs to lay out. The gym was very nice at the hotel, the pools were awesome. Overall, I would never come back and stay some place else. The price was NOT worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dutchie solo traveler
Business
Chicago
Jul 28, 2014

Nice hotel at the bottom of a steep hill

Welcome was great. Room was big and always clean. Cleaning lady very kind. Shower worked well, drainage good. Internet worked on the balcony, not always IN the room. The generators turn in when there's an outage due to heavy storms. Amenities were good; 1 adult pool (relaxing!), and one for adults +kids. The gym has all that one needs: yoga, eliptical, treadmill, free weights, balls eyc. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The staff took a personal interest in making sure I felt comfortable. Food was good. High (too high?) security. Two negatives: the hotel is at the very end of a steep hill. There's a shuttle but only 1x hour and it stops at 5:10. This means that you either need to pay 2x $10 to get in/out town or eat dinner at the resort, which can make the stay pricey. I'm an athletic person and walked every morning up the hill bc the shuttle doesn't start until 8:30., but it's a steep 20 min walk. There's no bus on the 2K road to get to town. Once on the main road there's a bus to the park/quepos. Another negative: I stayed alone in the hotel. I knew the security was tough and I appreciate it up to when it interferes with hospitality, so when I wanted to invite my colleagues to the hotel for a work lunch, I asked permission in advance. I was told we could do a lunch and prepare for a big presentation if I would give the names in advance and IDs were needed. We had no problem with that; security is important and appreciated. My colleagues were friendly greeted at the gate. However, the reaction of the young lady congierge was rude. We were told about the rules: don't do this, don't do that, you can't go anywhere else but the restaurant etc. we weren't planning on a dip in the pool or walking around; I cleared it in advance that we wanted to have lunch and do work. The line between hospitality and security was crossed and we felt in a prison. I didn't invite coworkers over for dinners or a drink on other nights. Instead, I spend my money in town where we were welcomed in a more friendly way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Badpuppy
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 10, 2014

I love this resort and the people who work there!

From start to finish it was fantastic. This is a most beautiful place on earth. Eco friendly and the grounds are fantastic lots of wild life and plant life to observe. The staff do everything they can to exceed your expectations. I really didn't want to leave. The food is delicious and the complimentary breakfast is outstanding. I highly recommend the Parador Resort and Spa!!! While I was in Costa Rica I took the guided tour through the Manuel Antonio National Forest and I tried zip lining. All fantastic and arranged through the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajun Abroad
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 18, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, but out of the way

The resort stay was great. The service was tops. Staff was always helpful and went the extra mile. I guess my only gripe is the resort is too far out of the way. If you wanted to experience the local cuisine, a cab was necessary. There's no walking to the local shops or restaurants. I guess that's a good thing if you're looking to hide from it all. Also, the drinks are a little steeply priced averaging between $8 and $9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Either eat at the restaurants at the resort or be ready to hop a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dash2719
Business
florida
Mar 13, 2014

vacation

great hotel. wonderful staff. Food could stand to be a little cheaper and we might have eaten there more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farheen
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Mar 8, 2014

Perfect Resort

We loved this resort. It is a beautiful property with friendly staff and a sumptuous complimentary breakfast to start your day. They have a free shuttle service to the beach and Manuel Antonio state park. The tour reservation guide is very helpful and helped us book various activities. The property sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean and is nestled amongst wild natural habitat. We saw monkeys, iguanas, sloths, various birds & butterflies sitting in the hotel. There are trails and plenty to do if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. Food is good and pretty reasonable for a hotel of this caliber. We would go back again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Parasailing, jetski, banana boat are all available on the beach and easy to book through hotel or just take the shuttle and decide later. Catamaran Sunset tours on Tomcat 2 is amazing. We saw dolphins by the dozen and the food and staff were amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josto
Business
New jersey
Feb 27, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the Parador. The staff were eager to please and the hotel was clean and had great views of the ocean. I especially liked the adult only pool. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant . I would say the food was average, The pool area and views are spectacular! Take the path to the beach...and call for golf cart service if walking is too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at marina is a must do. $10 cab ride to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Parador Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Ballotelli
Business
London
Feb 23, 2014

Great hotel

We had a lovely time . Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, very friendly staff and in beautiful surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top