$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Hotel La Mariposa

3 stars
125 metros al Sureste de Cafe Milagro, Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Aguirre, Manuel Antonio,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Loved it

Staff is amazing, view is to die for and overall a great value!! See full review

  • Lakrchic834
  • Aug 17, 2014
can't beat the view

The view was awesome! The hotel is lovely and the staff as friendly as can be. They stored our bags... See full review

  • TimDaisy
  • Jul 31, 2014
Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is magnificently perched on an elevation, overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, the city of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The scenery of ocean, rainforest and sky is stunning. It is just part of the special mix of energy and magic that has enchanted and made Hotel La Mariposa such a beloved place to thousands of guests throughout the years.

Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically atop the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, Quepos, and Manuel Antonio National Park. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Ricas abundant plant and wildlife.

Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at Sunset Bar and Lounge, while dining in the world-class international restaurant, or from the comfort and privacy of your personal terrace or balcony.

With over 30 years experience, hotel's personalized service and unforgettable views have made Manuel Antonio hotel La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travelers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. The hotel also offers Reception and Daily Shuttle service to the beach.

Hotel Map

9.4097 -84.1553
Area served
Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamara Airport (SJO).
Area description
Hotel La Mariposa is located in beautiful Manuel Antonio beach in Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. The Manuel Antonio, Quepos area is one of Costa Ricas top destinations. Known for its long stretches of white sand, dense tropical rainforest and abundant wildlife, this region is popular with sun lovers, nature enthusiasts, adrenaline seekers and deep sea fishing anglers. While Manuel Antonio remains an eco-friendly area, the roads, dining and nightlife are among the best of any beach destination in Costa Rica. An abundance of nearby tours and activities can keep you busy every day of your stay if you so desire.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Mariposa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel La Mariposa Rooms

Standard room with partial Ocean View
Standard room with partial Ocean View offers One queen size bed plus a single bed (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. Your own private terrace offers a partial ocean and forest views.
Full Ocean View Room
Standard room with partial Ocean View offers Two Queen size beds (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. From your private balcony relax and listen the sounds of the surf or gaze at the breathtaking panoramic ocean views. From here you will experience some of the most incredible sunsets in the world.
Premier Ocean View Room
Premier Ocean View Room offers One queen or king size bed plus a single futon (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. Some units also feature a kitchenette. Situated at the highest point in Manuel Antonio, the Premier rooms boast incredible panoramic ocean views of Manuel Antonio beaches and National Park.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Mariposa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 16
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lakrchic834
Macungie pa
Aug 17, 2014

Loved it

Staff is amazing, view is to die for and overall a great value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TimDaisy
fort lauderdale
Jul 31, 2014

can't beat the view

The view was awesome! The hotel is lovely and the staff as friendly as can be. They stored our bags after we checked out, gave us towels and use of all facilities on that day as well. Super nice. Pool bar was great. The only downside was that the "hot tub" isn't actually a hot tub but a pool that is heated by solar power. It's warm for certain but the water will not be hot if that matters to you. It didn't matter to us because the place was beautiful. Easy access to food, beach, etc. Recommend without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the beach through the jungle was all downhill through rough terrain but well worth it. If you take a cab back to the hotel, get the price before you get in the cab!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGREENE
Virginia Beach
Nov 18, 2012

Heaven in Manuel Antonio

My wife and I stayed a week at Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio. The partial ocean view/jungle view rooms are very nice with an enclosed balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful with booking tours. Activities include jungle canopy zip lines, white water rafting, horseback riding, off shore fishing, surfing school, etc. Several good restaurants in Manuel Antonio and also a very good one in Quepos. Ask Maria for recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a beautiful small beach right near Hotel La Mariposa. Park your car on the street and give the local man $3.00 to watch it. The beach is just a short walk through the forest. There is a pretty steep uphill climb if you decide to walk instead of driving your car. Kayaking and snorkeling are available for a small rental fee. Bring drinks and snacks and stay the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Woodmere, New York
May 24, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Views

We had a great stay at this hotel from the minute we arrived. the staff were very pleasant and helpful with local tours and restaurant reservations. We would definitely go back to la Mariposa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Woodmere, New York
Apr 30, 2012

Romantic Location

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and assured we had made the right decision in choosing this hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in recommending and arranging local activities and restaurant reservations. We would absolutely return to this hotel in the future. The views of the area were magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cocoagirl
Cocoa, FL, USA
Mar 29, 2012

overpriced!!!!!!

only thing going for this hotel is the view. Very dated, needs renovation soon!!!! I felt like I overpaid the whole time. There were too many hotels around to charge that much just for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davegkugler
Washington, DC
Aug 19, 2010

Absolutely wonderful hotel and staff

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Costa Rica, with 3 days in Manuel Antonio and another 3 in Monteverde. The Mariposa in Manuel Antonio was exceptional. The staff was the nicest we encountered of the three hotels we stayed at on our trip. The pool and view were both stunning, and it is an easy shuttle ride (and long walk! -- we did it) down to the beach/park. The hotel staff recommended numerous activities to do while we were in the area, and helped arrange them when we asked. The rooms themselves were very nice. The beds were a little firm, but very clean, and the ocean view was incredible. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice, an omelet station and traditional fare and was included with the stay. We ate a couple other meals at the hotel restaurant and the fish was exceptionally fresh and moderately priced ($15-20 USD/plate). The hotel wasn't an eco-lodge, nor was it one of the 5-star resorts, but we couldn't recommend it more. It was our favorite stay on the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While the hotel coffee was great, we had a better (and less expensive) latte across the street at Cafe Milagro. Many other restaurants are close in the area also and should be explored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search