$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Hotel La Mariposa

3 stars
View map of 125 metros al Sureste de Cafe Milagro, Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Aguirre, Manuel Antonio,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Mariposa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Nature Lover
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 1, 2013

Highly Recommend

The hotel location was perfect. Breathtaking ocean views from the room and throughout the property. From my balcony, I saw a troupe of capuchin monkeys chase each other through the trees. The last day I was able to videotape them as they played within 10 feet of me. Very friendly and helpful staff. Maria in particular went out of her way to assist on several occasions. Thanks Maria!!! I'd return to La Mariposa in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Manuel Antonio National Park was amazing and our guide was so knowledgeable. Best latte ever at Café Milagro right across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGREENE
Business
Virginia Beach
Nov 18, 2012

Heaven in Manuel Antonio

My wife and I stayed a week at Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio. The partial ocean view/jungle view rooms are very nice with an enclosed balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful with booking tours. Activities include jungle canopy zip lines, white water rafting, horseback riding, off shore fishing, surfing school, etc. Several good restaurants in Manuel Antonio and also a very good one in Quepos. Ask Maria for recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a beautiful small beach right near Hotel La Mariposa. Park your car on the street and give the local man $3.00 to watch it. The beach is just a short walk through the forest. There is a pretty steep uphill climb if you decide to walk instead of driving your car. Kayaking and snorkeling are available for a small rental fee. Bring drinks and snacks and stay the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Business
Woodmere, New York
May 24, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Views

We had a great stay at this hotel from the minute we arrived. the staff were very pleasant and helpful with local tours and restaurant reservations. We would definitely go back to la Mariposa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chef scotty
Business
Royal Oak MI
May 9, 2012

la mariposa

This place was great. No words to describe the beauty and amazing view of the ocean! Staff was great and very helpful with info on how to get around and things to do in the area. Pools were great and food was great too. I would go back for sure and would suggest to anyone going to Costa Rica that it's a must! thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to La Milagra cafe for coffe,food,dessert. awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Business
Woodmere, New York
Apr 30, 2012

Romantic Location

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and assured we had made the right decision in choosing this hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in recommending and arranging local activities and restaurant reservations. We would absolutely return to this hotel in the future. The views of the area were magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cocoagirl
Business
Cocoa, FL, USA
Mar 29, 2012

overpriced!!!!!!

only thing going for this hotel is the view. Very dated, needs renovation soon!!!! I felt like I overpaid the whole time. There were too many hotels around to charge that much just for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leellabear
Business
Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great Place!

The views were wonderful. The wildlife was so fun to watch. The staff was sooo pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room was huge. It was a suite, bedroom, sitting area, and balcony. The bathroom was a jungle in itself. Great stay and will not soon be forgotten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elms
Business
Midwest, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Good for the legs!!

Enjoyed the stay! Monkeys, birds, iguanas, and butterflies added a touch of realism to the beauty. Walking from the street to the hotel would be hard for elderly or limited walking mobility (pretty steep). Patio and pools near eating spaces were simply wonderful. Loved the ocean view and many beach spots, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Gift shop was near, reasonable and seems to be good quality stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davegkugler
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 19, 2010

Absolutely wonderful hotel and staff

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Costa Rica, with 3 days in Manuel Antonio and another 3 in Monteverde. The Mariposa in Manuel Antonio was exceptional. The staff was the nicest we encountered of the three hotels we stayed at on our trip. The pool and view were both stunning, and it is an easy shuttle ride (and long walk! -- we did it) down to the beach/park. The hotel staff recommended numerous activities to do while we were in the area, and helped arrange them when we asked. The rooms themselves were very nice. The beds were a little firm, but very clean, and the ocean view was incredible. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice, an omelet station and traditional fare and was included with the stay. We ate a couple other meals at the hotel restaurant and the fish was exceptionally fresh and moderately priced ($15-20 USD/plate). The hotel wasn't an eco-lodge, nor was it one of the 5-star resorts, but we couldn't recommend it more. It was our favorite stay on the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While the hotel coffee was great, we had a better (and less expensive) latte across the street at Cafe Milagro. Many other restaurants are close in the area also and should be explored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top