$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Hotel La Mariposa

3 stars
125 metros al Sureste de Cafe Milagro, Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Aguirre, Manuel Antonio,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
18 reviews
Fantastic view,

View from room and pool make this a fantastic experience. Breakfast buffet is average Costa Rica... See full review

  • Rob I.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Loved it

Staff is amazing, view is to die for and overall a great value!! See full review

  • Lakrchic834
  • Aug 17, 2014
Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica is magnificently perched on an elevation, overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, the city of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The scenery of ocean, rainforest and sky is stunning. It is just part of the special mix of energy and magic that has enchanted and made Hotel La Mariposa such a beloved place to thousands of guests throughout the years.

Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically atop the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean, Quepos, and Manuel Antonio National Park. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Ricas abundant plant and wildlife.

Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at Sunset Bar and Lounge, while dining in the world-class international restaurant, or from the comfort and privacy of your personal terrace or balcony.

With over 30 years experience, hotel's personalized service and unforgettable views have made Manuel Antonio hotel La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travelers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. The hotel also offers Reception and Daily Shuttle service to the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Mariposa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel La Mariposa Rooms

Standard room with partial Ocean View
Standard room with partial Ocean View offers One queen size bed plus a single bed (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. Your own private terrace offers a partial ocean and forest views.
Full Ocean View Room
Standard room with partial Ocean View offers Two Queen size beds (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. From your private balcony relax and listen the sounds of the surf or gaze at the breathtaking panoramic ocean views. From here you will experience some of the most incredible sunsets in the world.
Premier Ocean View Room
Premier Ocean View Room offers One queen or king size bed plus a single futon (rollaway bed optional) along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone. Some units also feature a kitchenette. Situated at the highest point in Manuel Antonio, the Premier rooms boast incredible panoramic ocean views of Manuel Antonio beaches and National Park.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Mariposa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGREENE
Business
Virginia Beach
Nov 18, 2012

Heaven in Manuel Antonio

My wife and I stayed a week at Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio. The partial ocean view/jungle view rooms are very nice with an enclosed balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful with booking tours. Activities include jungle canopy zip lines, white water rafting, horseback riding, off shore fishing, surfing school, etc. Several good restaurants in Manuel Antonio and also a very good one in Quepos. Ask Maria for recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a beautiful small beach right near Hotel La Mariposa. Park your car on the street and give the local man $3.00 to watch it. The beach is just a short walk through the forest. There is a pretty steep uphill climb if you decide to walk instead of driving your car. Kayaking and snorkeling are available for a small rental fee. Bring drinks and snacks and stay the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Business
Woodmere, New York
May 24, 2012

Great Hotel, Great Views

We had a great stay at this hotel from the minute we arrived. the staff were very pleasant and helpful with local tours and restaurant reservations. We would definitely go back to la Mariposa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chef scotty
Business
Royal Oak MI
May 9, 2012

la mariposa

This place was great. No words to describe the beauty and amazing view of the ocean! Staff was great and very helpful with info on how to get around and things to do in the area. Pools were great and food was great too. I would go back for sure and would suggest to anyone going to Costa Rica that it's a must! thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to La Milagra cafe for coffe,food,dessert. awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Awesome Vacation
Business
Woodmere, New York
Apr 30, 2012

Romantic Location

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and assured we had made the right decision in choosing this hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful in recommending and arranging local activities and restaurant reservations. We would absolutely return to this hotel in the future. The views of the area were magnificent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cocoagirl
Business
Cocoa, FL, USA
Mar 29, 2012

overpriced!!!!!!

only thing going for this hotel is the view. Very dated, needs renovation soon!!!! I felt like I overpaid the whole time. There were too many hotels around to charge that much just for location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leellabear
Business
Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great Place!

The views were wonderful. The wildlife was so fun to watch. The staff was sooo pleasant, friendly and helpful. The room was huge. It was a suite, bedroom, sitting area, and balcony. The bathroom was a jungle in itself. Great stay and will not soon be forgotten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elms
Business
Midwest, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Good for the legs!!

Enjoyed the stay! Monkeys, birds, iguanas, and butterflies added a touch of realism to the beauty. Walking from the street to the hotel would be hard for elderly or limited walking mobility (pretty steep). Patio and pools near eating spaces were simply wonderful. Loved the ocean view and many beach spots, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Gift shop was near, reasonable and seems to be good quality stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davegkugler
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 19, 2010

Absolutely wonderful hotel and staff

My girlfriend and I spent a week in Costa Rica, with 3 days in Manuel Antonio and another 3 in Monteverde. The Mariposa in Manuel Antonio was exceptional. The staff was the nicest we encountered of the three hotels we stayed at on our trip. The pool and view were both stunning, and it is an easy shuttle ride (and long walk! -- we did it) down to the beach/park. The hotel staff recommended numerous activities to do while we were in the area, and helped arrange them when we asked. The rooms themselves were very nice. The beds were a little firm, but very clean, and the ocean view was incredible. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice, an omelet station and traditional fare and was included with the stay. We ate a couple other meals at the hotel restaurant and the fish was exceptionally fresh and moderately priced ($15-20 USD/plate). The hotel wasn't an eco-lodge, nor was it one of the 5-star resorts, but we couldn't recommend it more. It was our favorite stay on the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While the hotel coffee was great, we had a better (and less expensive) latte across the street at Cafe Milagro. Many other restaurants are close in the area also and should be explored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top