$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Volcano Lodge and Springs

3 stars
View map of (No P.O. Box) 50-4417, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
46 reviews
volcano beauty

every room gets a volcano view and it is spectacular. Staff is mucho friendly and help is on the... See full review

  • Mon Vises
  • Nov 2, 2013
Volcano Lodge ..great location and service

Location is great. View of valcano is perfect. This hotel is maintained. Hot springs are great... See full review

  • Texan from Frisco
  • Nov 12, 2014
Located in front of the Volcano and knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge's team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home.

All our 64 superior rooms have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace.
They also offer:
4 rooms for handicap.
Two swimming pools for adults.
Two swimming pools for children.
Two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.
Laundry service
Private parking
Internet Access / Wireless Free in Public areas.
Tour's information.
Gift Shop.
Massages Service in the room.
All the rooms are non-smoking.

Please note that Credit Card & ID will be required at check in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Volcano Lodge and Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Volcano Lodge and Springs Rooms

Superior Room
Room with 2 Full beds or one king bed including facilities like Air conditioning, Room service, Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Ceiling fan, Telephone, Disabled facilities, All rooms are Non-smoking, Private bathroom and Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sura Restaurant
120 people capacity. Breakfast is served here. Also, available for lunch and dinner. National and International food. Open Restaurant with great view to the Volcano. You can ask for room service too. Open from 7 am to 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Volcano Lodge and Springs

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chipwich
Business
Belleville, NJ, USA
Aug 4, 2012

Experience in Arenal

Overall, it was a decent experience. The positive aspects included the buffet breakfast which included rice and beans that were quite delicious. Also, regardless of whatever we brought into our rooms with our shoes (dirt, rainwater, etc), it was always clean the next day. We also appreciated that the bathrooms had a covered wastebasket. The reason for this is that they don't want you throwing toilet paper down the toilet, thus the cover is pretty crtical for the garbage can. The beds were comfortable enough, but at night, another blanket would have been nice since it would get cold. Something that wasn't so great were the ants that would come out from under the bed, specifically in the evening and at night when we would return and turn the lights on. I'm not just talking 1 or 2 ants, so we would kill them and the next day the staff would clean them up. Showering at night was no isse, but in the morning, the hot water would run out by the second person. We even tried to rush our showers, but the water would quickly become lukewarm which was manageable. They have liquid soap next to the sink and in the shower which is nice. The lotion, shampoo, and conditioner provided are not so great, but get the job done. While we were at this place we went to Tobacon Thermal Springs at night which was not that far away. We ate at La Choza del Laurel which had great food and nice protions. As far as other things we did, we drove to La Fortuna falls and went for a 2.5km hike at the Arenal National Park. The location of the Volcano Lode and Gardens was actually very good in terms of going to all of these places. In a way, it was equidistant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soda de Hormiga has great typical food for cheap and the people are very pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Afweezy
Business
New York City
Aug 20, 2013

Great family spot

Very accommodating staff. A great hotel if you have children. Short taxi cab away from all spots you wish to travel to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tabacon hot springs is the best place to enjoy the hot springs of Arenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2010

Breakfast with a view

Key card problems on the way in gave us some trouble and caused us to drive back to the office for a new key. Room was clean and had a patio with views of Arenal volcano. Bathroom was clean and shower had a steady flow of hot water. Wi-Fi in the room was a little flaky though it worked great in the nearby hotel restaurant. The restaurant breakfast buffet was delicious and the hotel grounds were lush and green. Not much of a pool, unless there's more than one. The hotel had a hiking trail though we didn't try it. We used this hotel for a quick rest before moving on with our trip and it served its purpose well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Volcán Look W/F/Sa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in 20 years with no kids.
Business
Moreno valley, ca
Jul 26, 2010

great location

The rooms are very quiet and private. there is a back door that takes you to a little private patio facing the garden. The parking spot for our car was conviniently close to the room. The hotel has a great location, close to main attractions in the area. It has a beautiful botanical garden with a trail and a waterfall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a private hiking trail to Arenal volcano, long loop. This is the closest you can get to hiking through the jungle forest. Make sure to bring a walking stick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hercios
Business
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
May 7, 2012

good hotel for a couple of days

This hotel feels more like an apartment complex, with rooms in separate buildings. You can walk to the restaurant and swimming pool through nicely cared gardens. I could see humminbirds through my window when I woke up in the morning, and if you're lucky and the sky is clear you will see the arenal volcano from pretty much anywhere in the property. I found the restaurant a bit expensive for dinner, you may want to explore around La Fortuna town for a place to eat, but the breakfast buffet was free and tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David kephart
Business
Reno nv
Aug 15, 2012

First trip to costa rica

The hotel was nice, rooms are set in small buildings, 3 or 4 rooms per building. The pool and hot tub were nice as was the restaurant. There's a swim up bar and the hot tub is huge. The hotel is a ways from town so be prepared to pay $10 per taxi ride regardless of how far or close you want to go. Baldi was less than a kilometer away and it was still $10. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the view is great if the clouds clear up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarkeebaloff Montefiortro
Business
La Fortuna
Feb 20, 2013

Nice place to visit to relax and enjoy the scenery

The room was comfortable, clean and well kept. The views of the volcano were stupendous (when it didn't cloud over). The staff were courteous and helpful. The grounds were beautifully groomed. We enjoyed the trail around the property, I swam laps in the pool and the food was quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1happycustomer
Business
Chicago, il
May 21, 2013

Great Stay!!

Great time at a great hotel! Nice clean room with a beautiful view of the gardens and volcano. Breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dollyd
Business
Nicaragua
Jun 30, 2013

Visa run

We went there for a 6 month visa run for Nicaragua and we were pleased with the location and overall amenities of this hotel. Breakfast buffet is average but you can get an omelet to order. Nice clean pool and Jacuzzi area and clean rooms. The towel art is great. Bartender tended to taste drinks with a spoon and double dip the spoon for a second taste. A bit gross. That was the only thing that really turned us off. All the rest is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benedictus Restaurant right across the street and up a long drive. Beautiful view, awesome food. Pricey but great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Easy glider
Business
Saskatoon, canada
May 24, 2014

Very nice

Nice location if you have a car. Hot springs are shallow pools with warm water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top