$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Volcano Lodge and Springs

3 stars
(No P.O. Box) 50-4417, La Fortuna,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
50 reviews
volcano beauty

every room gets a volcano view and it is spectacular. Staff is mucho friendly and help is on the... See full review

  • Mon Vises
  • Nov 2, 2013
A quick adventure

Very good value...Great buffet breakfast....Enjoyed a complimentary drink by the pool. Staff was... See full review

  • A fun adventure
  • Aug 24, 2013
Located in front of the Volcano and knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge's team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home.

All our 64 superior rooms have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace.
They also offer:
4 rooms for handicap.
Two swimming pools for adults.
Two swimming pools for children.
Two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.
Laundry service
Private parking
Internet Access / Wireless Free in Public areas.
Tour's information.
Gift Shop.
Massages Service in the room.
All the rooms are non-smoking.

Please note that Credit Card & ID will be required at check in.

Hotel Map

10.4984 -84.6879
Area served
Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San Jose)
Area description
VOLCANO LODGE is located in La Palma de la Fortuna de San Carlos, at the north side of the country. This beautiful area offers a panoramic view to the Arenal Volcano and the rainy tropical forest, characteristic of the area, where you can find great variety of flora and fauna species. The hotel is built in an area of wide natural scenarios.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Volcano Lodge and Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Volcano Lodge and Springs Rooms

Superior Room
Room with 2 Full beds or one king bed including facilities like Air conditioning, Room service, Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Ceiling fan, Telephone, Disabled facilities, All rooms are Non-smoking, Private bathroom and Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Sura Restaurant
120 people capacity. Breakfast is served here. Also, available for lunch and dinner. National and International food. Open Restaurant with great view to the Volcano. You can ask for room service too. Open from 7 am to 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Volcano Lodge and Springs

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami,USA
Jan 31, 2011

fantastic resort. I will recomend it.

The best trip so far, all activities well planning and service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Money savers and excellent information.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R.Conklin
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2010

Volcano Lodge & Gardens - Amazing!

Was in Arena for 3 night and this was the PERFECT hotel. We paid less than $60 a night [...] and what a deal! The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and had a view of the volcano (which went off several times during our stay) and gardens. The gardens are huge, perfect for short walks and well maintained. The staff at the hotel is amazing as well. They helped us with booking day trips (horseback ride/zip line combo and rafting/rappelling combo) and with transportation (greyline or interbus). The downside to the hotel is that it is far away from town (about a $10 taxi ride each way). They do offer 2 restaurants on site with amazing food for OK prices (~$30 pp for fresh seafood). The portions were huge and I definitely could have split my meal with my friend. With no fridge or microwave you can't take it back to the room and eat it later, so either you try and eat it all there or let them take it away. DEFINITELY get the fresh seafood. One night I got tilapia, 4 GIANT shrimp, and veggies...AMAZING! The internet wouldn't work on my Mac (not sure why because it worked everywhere else) however they have 2 computers in the lobby to use at all times and were generally available. I also wished they offered coffee 24 hours a day in the lobby. Costa Rican coffee is amazing and I craved it at all hours. Overall, an amazing hotel, a great deal, definitely recommend, and definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

DEFINITELY, without a doubt, do the rafting/rappelling tour, offered through Desafio Adventure Company. Whether you have the hotel book it or you go directly to the company, DEFINITELY don't miss out on it. The tour was amazing, the food was amazing, and the guides were amazing.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Dec 5, 2010

Volcano Lodge - fantastic find!

This was definitely a hidden gem of our trip. Fantastic place, we had a room with a volcano view. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. No matter how many questions or requests, they were always polite and ever ready to help. We did a bunch of activities-rainforest ziplining, ATV tour, Cano negro wildlife boat safari.. Although there are only 2 restaurants on the property, we were never bored and had a great culinary experience and it wasn't expensive either. I have only good things to say about this place, would definitely go back there and highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can book tours to all activities at the hotel desk (at short notice too!). All the companies have pick and drop off and often include a traditional Costa Rican meal.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Nov 15, 2010

Volcano Lodge

This hotel is very nice, great service, nice rooms, great view of volcano, beautiful grounds, excellent food, overall a great experience. The room rate was cheap and included breakfast so overall it was a great deal. There are several tours in the area and hot springs close by. Dinner at the hotel is very reasonable. My only complaints are that taxi rides into town are expensive and there is a cattle ranch next door. In the mornings the cows would moo starting at 6 am. Be sure to bring some bug spray. Not much nightlife in the area. We went to other hotels for dinner a couple of nights. The local hotels sent over a shuttle to pick us up so check with the hotel to see if they can arrange this, it will save you about 20 dollars on taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Golden, Colorado
Nov 2, 2010

Amazingly beautiful grounds!

I don't know if it was that we were there at the end of the rainy season but the grounds of this hotel host beautiful, exotic tropical plants that rival Hobby Lobby! (ha! - I have a brown thumb.) The rooms were very clean and adequately spacious. Our room looked out to the volcano but because it was foggy, we didn't see the top of it. A nice buffet breakfast was included, too. The hotel is close to Monteverde, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the Monteverde SkyTrek and zip line. The platforms and lines are built really well and the experience is very cool! The roads on the western side of the country (we didn't go east) are really bad. Be sure to borrow hotel pillows to sit on before you venture.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobWSA
Tampa, Florida USA
Oct 24, 2010

Outstanding

Better than described on hotel web site. Great service and ideal location outside of Fortuna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

booked the canyoning at the hotel - great time

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Sep 26, 2010

Great hotel with great view

The hotel was a great value and the service was very good. We had an extra friend join us, and the hotel staff immediately brought an extra cot to the room. The grounds are well-kept and lush -- there is even a short nature trail out back. We had a perfect view of Arenal Volcano from our patio, as well as from the inside of this room, since we had floor to ceiling windows. The included breakfast was excellent -- hot food as well as the usual continental items. There was even an omelette station. My only criticism is that the free wi-fi didn't actually work - no one could connect (I spoke to other guests about that). However, one of the hotel's restaurants, Sura, had their own router, so I wound up going there to get online. Like all places in La Fortuna, you will need to drive to see any of the attractions, and to go into town to eat and shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of all the activities offered -- we went rappelling/canyoneering, white water rafting, ziplining and hiking.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix AZ
Sep 11, 2010

Arenal Volcano Lodge

The hotel was beautiful, friendly staff. Rooms were very clean. Large Breakfast buffet was included, food was very good. I would highly reccommend this hotel when visiting Arenal, it was an excellent value. The grounds were full of native plants and flowers and maintained wonderfully. Sitting outside our room on our own private patio with a full view of the valcano was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Nene's in La Fortuna,the food was very good the service was great.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in 20 years with no kids.
Moreno valley, ca
Jul 26, 2010

great location

The rooms are very quiet and private. there is a back door that takes you to a little private patio facing the garden. The parking spot for our car was conviniently close to the room. The hotel has a great location, close to main attractions in the area. It has a beautiful botanical garden with a trail and a waterfall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a private hiking trail to Arenal volcano, long loop. This is the closest you can get to hiking through the jungle forest. Make sure to bring a walking stick.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time to Costa Rica
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 3, 2010

Excellent!

The hotel was awesome. The staff was quick and friendly. The rooms are very stylish and well-kept. The view was excellent--the Arenal Volcano looked like it was in our backyard. The pool areas were gorgeous. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent---an all you can eat buffet, including great Costa Rican and American food. The location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search