$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Volcano Lodge and Springs

3 stars
View map of (No P.O. Box) 50-4417, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Volcano Lodge and Springs

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pasadena, Ca
Jun 7, 2011

Great Place to Stay

The place was much more than we expected, great location, friendly staff and excellent morning breakfast.. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Roseville, CA
May 18, 2011

Fantastic!!! Best of everything!!

The Volcano Lodge is situated perfectly between the town of La Fortuna and Arenal (a very short drive to each). I found this place online and the price couldn't be beat, especially compared to its neighbor resorts. The staff was extremely friendly, and the property is beautiful! It is on a large plot of land that has a trail all the way around it. The pool is average-sized, and the hot tub is awesomely oversized! Both offer terrific views of Arenal. We were also able to get WiFi right at the pool while we enjoyed their daily 2-for-1 Happy Hour. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the largest we saw in all of our travels. The room was very clean, quiet, comfortable, and had an unbeatable view. The bathroom was also very large. Things we did while there included hiking from the Observatory Lodge (a 20min drive, but a must!) and visited Baldi Hot Springs (another must!...but buy your tickets from a hotel/tour place in town...they're cheaper and come with thte buffet). I would highly recommend The Volcano Lodge to others, and certainly plan on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

(See below)

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crv
Friends
jax, fl
May 5, 2011

great hotel

great place, great hotel, great personnel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
provo, Utah
Apr 15, 2011

Nice place for the family to stay!

the location of the hotel was central to our activities as well as a short distance to the town of La Fortuna. We were sad to find out that the volcano has been dormant for 6 months. No nighttime fireworks. The rooms were clean but small. The views of the volcano were excellent. The food at the restaurant was average. The staff were very nice and helpful with arranging tours. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Apr 6, 2011

Great!

We did the walk in the back of the hotel and the view of the waterfall was very nice. The birds can make quite a bit of noise to wake you up around 6AM, but we were in the type of area and I don't believe you could get away from it anyways, so we weren't going to complain. We got the in-room massage, which was really good and the restaurant had okay food, but it was close and convenient, so no complaining either. The employees there were very nice and helpful whenever we asked for help. Overall, a really enjoyable experience. The room was very close to town, ziplining, and waterfall rappelling, so we were in a good location. The ziplining and waterfall rappelling are highly recommended by the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Israel
Mar 14, 2011

Outstanding in every way-and beautiful.

The hotel and grounds are beauiful. The flowers are amazing. The service was excellent. We especially enjoyed the walk that surrounds the hotel as well as the pool and hot tub. Having breakfast in the open air area felt like the outside had come in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a professional guide through the hotel or someone in the city, not when you get to the National Park.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Miami,USA
Jan 31, 2011

fantastic resort. I will recomend it.

The best trip so far, all activities well planning and service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Money savers and excellent information.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R.Conklin
Friends
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2010

Volcano Lodge & Gardens - Amazing!

Was in Arena for 3 night and this was the PERFECT hotel. We paid less than $60 a night [...] and what a deal! The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and had a view of the volcano (which went off several times during our stay) and gardens. The gardens are huge, perfect for short walks and well maintained. The staff at the hotel is amazing as well. They helped us with booking day trips (horseback ride/zip line combo and rafting/rappelling combo) and with transportation (greyline or interbus). The downside to the hotel is that it is far away from town (about a $10 taxi ride each way). They do offer 2 restaurants on site with amazing food for OK prices (~$30 pp for fresh seafood). The portions were huge and I definitely could have split my meal with my friend. With no fridge or microwave you can't take it back to the room and eat it later, so either you try and eat it all there or let them take it away. DEFINITELY get the fresh seafood. One night I got tilapia, 4 GIANT shrimp, and veggies...AMAZING! The internet wouldn't work on my Mac (not sure why because it worked everywhere else) however they have 2 computers in the lobby to use at all times and were generally available. I also wished they offered coffee 24 hours a day in the lobby. Costa Rican coffee is amazing and I craved it at all hours. Overall, an amazing hotel, a great deal, definitely recommend, and definitely will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

DEFINITELY, without a doubt, do the rafting/rappelling tour, offered through Desafio Adventure Company. Whether you have the hotel book it or you go directly to the company, DEFINITELY don't miss out on it. The tour was amazing, the food was amazing, and the guides were amazing.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston
Dec 5, 2010

Volcano Lodge - fantastic find!

This was definitely a hidden gem of our trip. Fantastic place, we had a room with a volcano view. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. No matter how many questions or requests, they were always polite and ever ready to help. We did a bunch of activities-rainforest ziplining, ATV tour, Cano negro wildlife boat safari.. Although there are only 2 restaurants on the property, we were never bored and had a great culinary experience and it wasn't expensive either. I have only good things to say about this place, would definitely go back there and highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can book tours to all activities at the hotel desk (at short notice too!). All the companies have pick and drop off and often include a traditional Costa Rican meal.

Review of Volcano Lodge and Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington DC
Nov 15, 2010

Volcano Lodge

This hotel is very nice, great service, nice rooms, great view of volcano, beautiful grounds, excellent food, overall a great experience. The room rate was cheap and included breakfast so overall it was a great deal. There are several tours in the area and hot springs close by. Dinner at the hotel is very reasonable. My only complaints are that taxi rides into town are expensive and there is a cattle ranch next door. In the mornings the cows would moo starting at 6 am. Be sure to bring some bug spray. Not much nightlife in the area. We went to other hotels for dinner a couple of nights. The local hotels sent over a shuttle to pick us up so check with the hotel to see if they can arrange this, it will save you about 20 dollars on taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top