$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

4 stars
7 km west from fortuna town, La Fortuna,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
14 reviews
Best trip ever!!!!

Loved our stay at Nayara! Everything exceeded our expectations: the miniature house (room), the... See full review

  • HoneyDew2323
  • Oct 28, 2013
Amazing experience

This hotel was absolutely stunning. The rooms are exactly as they appear in the pictures, the views... See full review

  • TaraM
  • Aug 13, 2013
Located in the outskirts of the Arenal Volcano, Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens is an oasis of tranquility that provides a uniquely natural experience.

Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of the spacious casitas provide an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking view of the Imposing Volcano.
The hotel's deluxe tropical architecture mirrors the beauty of Costa Rica's natural wonders and gives the opportunity to enjoy the best of the authentic Costa Rica hospitality.

Its tropical grounds woven with rich gardens create the perfect setting to rest and enjoy nature. A large Jacuzzi with wet bar provides a place to rest after enjoying the various guided activities, including white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking, volcano treks, and hot springs.

Hotel Map

10.5044 -84.7041
Area served
Fortuna.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport.
Area description
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is located between the town of Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano National Park 7 kilometers from Fortuna. The hotel is within 20 minutes from the main attractions of the area, including hot springs, waterfalls and the National Park main entrance. The idyllic location allows guests to enjoy the most of the area and all its attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden Rooms

Casita Deluxe
Offers 1 king or 2 queen beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, cable / satellite TV, CD player, ceiling fan, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, Jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, laundry service, mini bar, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, telephone, video player, tea and coffee making facilities.
Privacy and luxurious comfort is the prime feature of this deluxe room. It is a free-standing, private casita which includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower. The casita also includes a beautiful front balcony with a Jacuzzi, a plasma 32" cable TV, DVD / CD player, iPod stand, safe box (laptop capacity), spacious modern bathroom and shower with full amenities and a coffee maker.
Hot breakfast buffet served daily in Altamira restaurant.
*Room service is available.
Nayara Suite
Offers one king size bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathrobe, cable / satellite TV, CD player, ceiling fan, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, Jacuzzi / whirlpool / spa bath, laundry service, mini bar, radio, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, shaver in bathroom, telephone, video player, tea and coffee making facilities.
The "One of a Kind" romantic Nayara Suites include a king size bed, a plasma 32" cable TV, DVD / CD player, iPod stand, high speed wireless internet access, safe box (laptop capacity), spacious modern bathroom and shower with full amenities, his-and-her vanities clad in marble and stone.
Hot breakfast buffet served daily in Altamira restaurant.
*Room service is available from 6:30 am to 10 pm.
Spring Villas
feature individual private pools fed by mineral springs, around-the-clock butler service, and other top-notch amenities. Overlooking the Arenal Volcano, Nayara Springs is an ultra-exclusive enclave set in the tropical rainforest. Adults Only

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Altamira Restaurant
Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner offers an unparalleled vista of the volcano from a hilltop. Altamira has been designed to provide an exclusive dining experience with open walls surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers. The restaurant houses a lounge area to enjoy a drink in a stylish and comfortable ambiance.
Guests can enjoy tropical cocktails, fresh fruit juices, and light snacks at the Kali-Kal wet bar located in the free shape Jacuzzi. Light lunches can be enjoyed at the deck area overlooking the volcano.
Nostalgia Wine Bar
Is an entirely new concept that lets you experience the best in wine, food and fine liquor all in an exquisitely decorated environment nestled in a natural paradise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
central america traveler
short hills, nj
Mar 20, 2014

beautiful trip

Hotel and staff was great. Problems with hot water, smell and missing laundry. But management was helpful in resolving the issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry Poof
New York
Mar 3, 2014

Birthday Vacation

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it was amazing. The rooms were cleaned twice a day with an evening gift of chocolates and a towel animal on your bed each night. The bridge between the villas and suites provided a wonderful view of magnificent trees. Breakfast was served each morning while you enjoyed a nice view of the volcano. All in all, this hotel is great. My only complaint is that the food was not superb, but it was still good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Consider booking your tours and other activities through tour guides in the local town of La Fortuna where you will be priced $25-$30 less.

Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HoneyDew2323
New York
Oct 28, 2013

Best trip ever!!!!

Loved our stay at Nayara! Everything exceeded our expectations: the miniature house (room), the food, the overall atmosphere (very secluded/private), the friendliness of the staff. Although we went during October (rainy season), it only rained in late afternoons and evenings. So we planned all our excursions in the morning time, which worked out great! Would definitely come back here again!! Thanks Nayara!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TaraM
Sydney, Australia
Aug 13, 2013

Amazing experience

This hotel was absolutely stunning. The rooms are exactly as they appear in the pictures, the views were incredible, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were there for our honeymoon, and they treated us like gold. I highly recommend (and have already recommended to friends) to stay here. Jonathan that works at the pool makes an awesome mojito, and the food is great, as well as very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiggercat
Jacksovnille, Florida
Jul 29, 2013

Great honeymoon!

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for privacy! Our room was fantastic!!! I would not receommend this resort to bring children to as it does not have activites or a large pool. Great for relaxing and seclusion! The location was good, near La Fortuna which had restaurants and also near zip lining, hanging bridges and hiking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London traveller
London
May 12, 2013

La Fortuna Resort

This is a nice hotel but it is a serious honeymooners resort. Although a happy couple ourselves, we felt really uncomfortable at this location. The other guests seemed overly inquisitive of new arrivals making us feel unwelcome. Although the staff seemed friendly, it did not seems sincere and did not reflect the normal costa rican nature. This hotel has great reviews but we felt it just didn't live up to expectation and did not have the luxury feel that we had been expecting. We were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy and Lynda
UK/USA
Feb 11, 2013

Almost as good as it gets

This hotel has a superb location. It is beautifully furnished and well laid out. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Indeed my wife left a piece of jewellery behind and it was delivered to our follow on hotel in another part of the country in a few days - and remember this is Costa Rica where travel can be difficult!!!! The rooms are kept spotless and then there are the 'towel sculptures'. Beats any cruise we've been on. Our only reservation was with the pool bar staff who always seemed more interested in themselves, needed lessons in making cocktails and weren't very happy. So come on Nayara that's all you have to fix!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are driving, a GPS is a must.

Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The new Mrs. Peele
Plantation, Florida
Jan 28, 2013

Best Honeymoon ever

Nayara is the the complete package. My husband and I went there for our honeymoon and truly felt like we were in paradise. The staff were extremely friendly and the room was 5 star. Very romantic hotel. We will be back again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirtbikefam
Santa Clarita, CA
Sep 17, 2012

Get treated like royalty in a beautiful setting

The best staff I've ever encountered. We had a fantastic time from the moment we stepped in until the moment we stepped out. A very romantic setting, perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary or just relaxation and getting away.Loved it!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The best free buffet style breakfast! Grab stuff for later if you need it and are going on an excursion later.

Review of Nayara Hotel Spa and Garden

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonoGirl2001
Alexandria, Virginia
Jul 17, 2012

Good, not great.

Stayed for a week in July. It was nice, but didn't quite meet expectations. First, realize that although their website says all Nayara Suites have a great view of the volcano, they don't. Our first room was newer/cleaner, but only had a view of the forrest. Our bell hop actually took initiative to arrange for us to move the second night to a room with a view - thanks Esteban! Our second room had a partial volcano view (half obscured by trees) - but it was better than the first room. The toilet room had something moldy looking growing along the wall behind the toilet. The walls had the miscellaneous dings/dents which made it look a little worn. The indoor shower is fabulous. The outdoor showers were nice but the two heads share the same water source so it was impossible to get both adjusted perfectly temperature-wise. We lost water one morning for about 30 minutes and lost significant water pressure a second morning. Not sure what happened there. The beds are a bit hard for my liking. Used the balcony jacuzzi three times - private and big enough for two. The breakfast buffet would be better if it had more variety or if you stayed for a shorter duration. It rotates between french toast and pancakes and the rest is typical Costa Rican food. Tried an omelette twice, which was ok. "Grill Night" at Altamira was great, the rest of the meals were ok. Didn't have sushi at Sushi Amor, but the Arroz Verde, coffee mouse and espresso were FANTASTIC. Everything is billed to your room, so I felt like a room number instead of a guest because we were constantly being asked which room we were staying in. This could be done better - just bring me a bill at the end of the meal and give me an option to pay outright or to place it on my room bill. I enjoyed trying the typical food, but I had to keep reminding myself that CR isn't known for great cuisine. After a week, I just wanted something from home. The pool is technically heated, but it's not warm. In fact, in July, I was cold in the pool. The pool had 3 small pipes with influxes of warm water, but it's just not enough to make the overall temperature comfortable. Also disappointing were the jacuzzis. Those were no warmer than the (cool) pool. The bartender at the swim up bar spoke very little english so ordering was done more by pointing rather than speaking. The staff generally was very friendly. Esteban (bell hop) and Jonathan (concierge) were great. Jonathan set up all of excursions which went off without a hitch. Jorge, the manager, hosted a happy hour one night at Sushi Amor. When he found out I don't eat seafood, he had the chef prepare me some chicken free of charge. It was a very nice gesture which was really appreciated. The two waitresses at Sushi Amor were my favorite of both restaurants. Didn't try the wine bar because we have something similar locally and we were at happy hour most nights at Sushi Amor (2 for 1 between 4-6). Had a combo treatment at the spa - exfoliation and 1 hour massage. The girls were very nice, but the exfoliation was actually painful because of the pressure and constant rubbing in the same spot. The massage lacked "technique" that I'm used to here in America. Maybe in CR you don't need to be trained/licensed via school? It was nice to have someone rubbing me, but it was nothing my husband couldn't do. I wish we hadn't spent that $300. The grounds are manicured beautifully. The environment is very quiet and romantic. We arranged transport from/to the airport via Nayara (they contract with a company) and both of our drivers were fantastic (Norman and Arnando?). The staff speaks great english. Not really a place for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There was a sloth in the trees near the parking lot for a few days!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search