$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

3 stars
View map of 6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
59 reviews
Awesome location and great onsite hot spring pools

I would recommend this hotel as a great place in Arenal. The hot spring pools were awesome. We had... See full review

  • Kathyleen Super Mom
  • May 24, 2015
Incredible stay at Los Lagos!

Perhaps I enjoyed this trip so much because of the incredible beauty of Costa Rica itself, but this... See full review

  • Vilius K.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants.
An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform canopy tours, horseback riding tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal volcano clay wrap.
At Los Lagos Resort we offer 8 different pools, 5 with natural hot springs and 4 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, international restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar, and free internet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort Rooms

The Villa
allow up to 9 people, located in section number 3. First floor: One bedroom with two queen beds, plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water, hair dryer and its amenities, air conditioned, closet, telephone and terrace with volcano and gardens view. TV Room, with Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker and sofa bed. Full kitchen, table with 6 chairs. Living room with Plasma TV Cable, sofa, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano. Parking Lot. Upstairs: The master room with a king bed and two rollaway, Plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water and its amenities, closet, telephone, air conditioned, security box, table with 4 chairs, coffee maker, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano.
Premium Room
Air conditioned, two Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, telephone, private bath with hot water and its amenities, security box, big terrace, living room with sofa bed with two twins beds, one bed room with two queen beds, closet, hair dryer, table with chairs. Volcano view located near to the pools.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers Double queen Bed or double and single bed along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, private bath room with hot water and its amenities and security box.

Standard rooms with one queen bed or two double beds, Some are located by the Jacuzzi and gardens; some are located by pool and gardens.

All standard rooms has air conditioned, terrace with volcano view
Superior Room
Superior Room offers 2 queen size beds with roll away along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, mini bar, security box, private bath tub, hot water and its amenities, some with 2 terrace and some with balcony.

Located in the section three surrounding by gardens and panoramic San Carlos Valley and Volcano View.

*Two rooms are handicap.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Palmas Restaurant
Located in the hotel. The cuisine is dishes from Costa Rica and around the world. Speciality is seafood and grilled meats with exotic and tropical shades in its different sauces.
Open from 6:30 AM to 10 AM for buffet breakfast.
From 12 PM to 3 PM for lunch.
From 6:30 PM to 9:30 for Dinner.
Between hours you can as for fast food, or visit the web bar for fast food. Casual dress, but no swimwear allowed.
Los Lagos Hotel, Spa and Resort
Is a full featured hot springs resort with exquisite natural outdoors and gardens to which people, couples or families can go for relaxation, fun and pleasure while you will have an amazing panoramic view of the San Carlos Valley and the Arenal volcano. The resort offers all that is needed for an unforgettable experience of Costa Rica at the Arenal volcano area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Awesome trip for explorers

The hotel was beautiful and very quiet. Not many guests staying when we went to visit. Many guided tours picked up from the hotel which was a plus. Also a taxi ride into town made it easily accessible. (One thing to keep in mind, do not store any $$ in the hotel room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathyleen Super Mom
Business
Carlsbad
May 24, 2015

Awesome location and great onsite hot spring pools

I would recommend this hotel as a great place in Arenal. The hot spring pools were awesome. We had so much fun night swimming. The free buffet breakfast had a great selection. Good value for your $

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matthew0306
Business
heredia
May 6, 2015

weekend getaway

it clean and economical we enjoy the hot water swimming pool and the breakfast is ok , this is not a place for tourist we are residence and we go there for only a night there is nothing in town for tourist to enjoy its a dead city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vilius K.
Business
Freehold
Apr 29, 2015

Incredible stay at Los Lagos!

Perhaps I enjoyed this trip so much because of the incredible beauty of Costa Rica itself, but this hotel certainly made our trip more awesome. Every night and day, we would walk out of our rooms and witness the majestic Arenal volcano. We came during the rainy reason, which was actually pretty awesome. The resort was not too crowded and we had the best time of our life. The pools are fantastic and even have a water slide. The staff are super friendly and you get shuttled around to your rooms. I highly recommend taking a free hike up to see the Arenal volcano up close and also doing ziplining in the rainforest! I've been to many countries and hotels, but Los Lagos in Costa Rica will remain my favorite for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danielle C.
Business
N/A
Apr 23, 2015

Great Place to Stay

This hotel was fabulous! The staff was helpful when booking excursions and there was plenty to do on-site. The view from our room was breathtaking! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eugenio G.
Business
San jose
Mar 4, 2015

Family trip

It just ok, it is not an fancy or elegant hotel, but it has some many water part for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim
Business
Lawrenceville
Feb 25, 2015

Not all its cracked up to be...

bedsheets smelled nasty and overall room feel was gloomy and old... THIS WAS FOR A SUITE!!! staff was friendly... hot springs were underwhelming... just like a big heated pool not worth all the hype

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starry Girl
Business
Whittier, CA
Nov 28, 2014

Thanksgiving Get-A-Away!

Overall, this was an incredible place. I would come again. The front desk staff definitely needs improvement with their English knowledge. It was a good thing I knew Spanish, yet having that skill didn't matter because they were unfriendly to me. The tour desk lady was very friendly though and so were the shuttle drivers and cleaning ladies. The food was expensive and not very good except for the breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is no night life except if you rented a car or take a taxi to the town center. I was so tired of getting ripped off by the Costa Rican taxi that we didn't even try to venture outside the resort. Taxi's are so expensive and we got ripped off in San Jose! :(

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Mama
Business
Salt Lake, UT
Nov 25, 2014

Night Stay in La Fortuna

When we arrived there were many youth standing outside, hard to get into the lobby. We were disappointed in the room itself. Outdated, and the bed was awful! A hard boxspring....then next morning we noticed a pull out matress under the bed, we should have slept there. LIstened to a crying baby for several hours, cars coming and going since our room right next to the entrance. The mineral pools were the highlight of the property. Many beautiful pools, and enjoyable for young and old. The buffet was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the "Soda's" they are local owed and had amazing traditional Costa Rican food.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nildib
Business
Casselberry, Florida
Nov 19, 2014

Loved it!

This hotel had plenty for us to do and enjoy ourselves for our short stay... We booked Water Rapids with Desafio, through this hotel. That was a disaster! It was our first time, doing water rapids, I researched it and class 2/3 thought would not be a bad ride where anybody would get hurt but to make a long story short, my husband fell out of the raft and hit against the rocks! Being it was our first tour, it ruined our rest of our plans, for this 3 day short trip, to do anything else. I was so glad, I was staying in this hotel! It offered so many other things where my son and I, took my time, to enjoy and take pics of their crocodile farm, butterfly observation, frog area, even a very well structured site of the ants that cut leaves! Yes all this was included in the price of the hotel and on their property! They have even their own zip lines on property (which they do charge extra)! We wanted to do the SKY but after what happened, our wild side was depleted but was able to be close to my husband, who stayed inside most of the time, trying to rest to recover and have his leg wounds heal. The beds were very comfortable with FLUFFY pillows! I mention this because I have gerd and need many pillows, to sleep with, I have gone a lot of places in Costa Rica where most pillows are FLAT. I stayed in the rooms offering 2 Queen beds with not 2 but 4 pillows (btw underneath beds there are roll out beds). The AC worked great! There are long walks/hikes to every where on the property, great for the healthy, being the gardens are very beautiful to look at but for the faint of heart like me (to not say out of shape), there are shuttles you can call and who were right away to your room or you flag them down any where on the roads, to take you anywhere on the property. Mind you, I stayed in Low Season, I can't imagine HIGH season how they can manage it? The buffet breakfast included was great, plenty to choose from and a few things different on other days. But the pools were practically empty, they have many different thermal pools, one with a swim up bar! I don't know why this is rated a 3 star hotel. I would at least rate it a 4 star! But would rate it a 5 star if not for being a little run down... Here are the negatives: AC was missing a flange that goes up and down, like a fan piece, the coffee pot in the room was burning the plastic tray, it was sitting on but they bought as another one, pools don't use chlorine (which is the only reason I go in them because I can't take chlorine) but that could be the reason for grout lines being a little black in some areas. Some areas of the grounds showed a pile of debris (even though they are still building other pools and would obviously show debris of construction), the area I saw was not under any construction. Their check in and check out process is slow but it's Costa Rica, everywhere you go, they serve slow... There is no WiFi in the rooms, only at front desk area. I still Loved it and would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Their Shuttle Services

Back to menu Return to top