$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

3 stars
6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica, La Fortuna,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Family trip to Arenal in Costa Rica

This was our family vacation for the year, and not having been to this place before I had my... See full review

  • TicoBamaTexan
  • Aug 29, 2014
Great place to stay for families

We loved our stay at this hotel! I was a bit hesitant to stay here because of some of the less than... See full review

  • NESJ
  • Aug 20, 2014
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants.
An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform canopy tours, horseback riding tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal volcano clay wrap.
At Los Lagos Resort we offer 8 different pools, 5 with natural hot springs and 4 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, international restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar, and free internet.

Hotel Map

10.486 -84.6883
Area served
Fortuna, San Carlos,
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport. El Tanque Airport.
Area description
6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort Rooms

The Villa
allow up to 9 people, located in section number 3. First floor: One bedroom with two queen beds, plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water, hair dryer and its amenities, air conditioned, closet, telephone and terrace with volcano and gardens view. TV Room, with Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker and sofa bed. Full kitchen, table with 6 chairs. Living room with Plasma TV Cable, sofa, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano. Parking Lot. Upstairs: The master room with a king bed and two rollaway, Plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water and its amenities, closet, telephone, air conditioned, security box, table with 4 chairs, coffee maker, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano.
Premium Room
Air conditioned, two Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, telephone, private bath with hot water and its amenities, security box, big terrace, living room with sofa bed with two twins beds, one bed room with two queen beds, closet, hair dryer, table with chairs. Volcano view located near to the pools.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers Double queen Bed or double and single bed along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, private bath room with hot water and its amenities and security box.

Standard rooms with one queen bed or two double beds, Some are located by the Jacuzzi and gardens; some are located by pool and gardens.

All standard rooms has air conditioned, terrace with volcano view
Superior Room
Superior Room offers 2 queen size beds with roll away along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, mini bar, security box, private bath tub, hot water and its amenities, some with 2 terrace and some with balcony.

Located in the section three surrounding by gardens and panoramic San Carlos Valley and Volcano View.

*Two rooms are handicap.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Palmas Restaurant
Located in the hotel. The cuisine is dishes from Costa Rica and around the world. Speciality is seafood and grilled meats with exotic and tropical shades in its different sauces.
Open from 6:30 AM to 10 AM for buffet breakfast.
From 12 PM to 3 PM for lunch.
From 6:30 PM to 9:30 for Dinner.
Between hours you can as for fast food, or visit the web bar for fast food. Casual dress, but no swimwear allowed.
Los Lagos Hotel, Spa and Resort
Is a full featured hot springs resort with exquisite natural outdoors and gardens to which people, couples or families can go for relaxation, fun and pleasure while you will have an amazing panoramic view of the San Carlos Valley and the Arenal volcano. The resort offers all that is needed for an unforgettable experience of Costa Rica at the Arenal volcano area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TicoBamaTexan
League City, TX
Aug 29, 2014

Family trip to Arenal in Costa Rica

This was our family vacation for the year, and not having been to this place before I had my reservations. I must say the location is absolutely spectacular! Right next to the Arenal Volcano the view from the rooms is beautiful. The complex (this is way more than just a room at a hotel) is excellent. Multiple large swimming pools (heated and unheated) are available to guests. There are many gardens / green areas / fish tanks around all kept in good shape. A canopy tour (not free) is built into the complex, and horse back riding tours (also not free) can be taken right at the hotel. The horse back riding tour takes you through the local rainforest from the hotel straight up a mountain, so you can relax and enjoy nature for a couple of hours (bring bug repellent!) Breakfast (included with the room) was the best I've had in just about anywhere, and the coffee, oh the coffee! If you have a family with kids ages 6 through 17 this is definitely an awesome place to visit on your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Swimming pools, horse back riding, canopy tour, awesome views, gardens.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NESJ
Connecticut
Aug 20, 2014

Great place to stay for families

We loved our stay at this hotel! I was a bit hesitant to stay here because of some of the less than positive reviews, but this was our favorite hotel of the whole trip! The pools are amazing with 2 large hot spring pools and 2 cool water pools. There are also many smaller hot springs to enjoy. The water is changed daily since no chlorine is used in the spring water (another plus). The kids loved the waterslides which were really fast! We stayed up the mountain near the volcano and we didn't mind the hike down to the pool (although at night we used the shuttle to get back to the room). The grounds are large and beautifully maintained. Around 8 am and 3 pm we caught the stampede of horses being herded to and from the pasture which the kids found exciting! The rooms were large and very clean. The maids created a new towel animal for the kids each day! The staff was responsive to all of our requests( xtra blankets and ice) and they came quickly to unlock our door when the kids locked the keys in the room! We took the ziplining tour which was run very professionally and had some amazing long lines (highly recommended).Talking with other guests during our stay they all agreed it was a great place to stay. For those of you traveling with families, do not hestitate to book this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scoup
Miami, fl
Aug 7, 2014

Ecotour of arenal

This hotel is definitely for the budget traveler. Very basic amenities, our phone in our room never worked. This is a necessity as the rooms are a good walking distance from the lobby and you need to call for the shuttle. Despite my daily report of it not working and the daily reply of it will be fixed, it never was. There are only two restaurants, one very basic by the pool and the main one by the lobby, the third is no longer in service. The food is fair at best and my daughter had a large bug in her lunch! The hotel is past it's prime and in desperate need of updating. The location and the lush landscaping is unbeatable! The staff were friendly and helpful. I guess you could say "you get what you pay for"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzy's not impressed
Florida
Aug 6, 2014

Los Lagos

The is absolutely the BEST hotel with kids. Lots of activities located on the property but the pools and slides are the big draw. Hotel is located about 5 minutes drive from town so away from everything (very quiet) but close to the action. Nothing fancy and certainly not romantic but so great for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzie032497
florida
Jul 29, 2014

Great Location

room was very clean food was excellent staff was very nice and friendly very private close to a nightclub awesome tours nearby beautiful wildlife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyQ
High Springs Fl
Jun 20, 2014

Los Lagos Hotel and Spa

Lovely location at the foot of the Arenal volcano. The area was beautiful, the people were friendly, the food was delicious and the rooms were really clean. The room furnishings were a bit dated but we were impressed with the layout and location of the resort. The kids were a little dismayed at not being able to flush toilet paper directly (the hotel asks that you deposit the used toilet paper in a bin under the sink instead of flushing it directly) but overall we were pretty happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

An extensive breakfast buffet was included in our stay. It really helped defray the cost of meals on our trip. And the food was amazing!

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baja Texan
Fort Worth , Texas
May 21, 2014

Nice Resort Stay in La Fortuna are

Los Lagos is a reasonably price resort in the Arenal Volcano area. It does not have the most impressive spring, but then again, it much more reasonably priced than the other resorts in the area which we have stayed in. If you have already been impressed by the expensive resorts, Los Lagos is a very impressive, well kept resort at a much lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leona Super Mom
Omaha, NE
May 18, 2014

Volcano Arenal

Overall good experience, minor issues were large property, needed to be shuttled to get to hot springs, front entrance, and restaurants which was a bit time consuming and inconvenient and there were a few instances of ants in our room. Staff is friendly and the landscape is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring mosquito repellant and rain jacket or poncho, Volcano Arenal does not sell

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALCKBC
Tulsa, Ok
Apr 15, 2014

Very pleased

This is a really great resort. The location is superb, the layout beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful. The pools are nice and the kids were having a ball while the adults were having a cocktail at the big pool. There is a lot to do there and the included breakfast was very good. We are supper at the restaurant and were pleased. The staff booked the "Hanging Bridge" tour for us and it was spectacular. They come and pick you up and guide you through the park. You will miss a lot if you don't use them. Wear good hiking or tennis shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama R
Traverse City, MI
Apr 7, 2014

Fun Time!

Our first impression was not good as the front desk staff was not very friendly, and that was not the experience we'd had anywhere else. The rooms are VERY plain vanilla, but the grounds are very nice. The rooms are a distance from everything, but there is shuttle. It was timely, most of the time. Lots of flowers, and the view of the volcano is great. The kids (and adults) had so much fun in the pools and on the slides! The pool bar was nice, where we enjoyed our pina coladas in pineapples. We went ziplining with their affiliated group and it was a great time for all of us. Our kids, ages 6 and 9, loved it. The guides were very friendly and fun. The breakfast buffet was good, and dinner was good as well. I didn't like the room, but we weren't in it very much. The amenities were definitely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search