$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

3 stars
View map of 6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
great for the kids and grow ups

we had a fun couple of days with two families. The kids loved all the pools and the adults enjoyed... See full review

  • Jonathan L.
  • Jul 29, 2015
Awesome location and great onsite hot spring pools

I would recommend this hotel as a great place in Arenal. The hot spring pools were awesome. We had... See full review

  • Kathyleen Super Mom
  • May 24, 2015
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants.
An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform canopy tours, horseback riding tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal volcano clay wrap.
At Los Lagos Resort we offer 8 different pools, 5 with natural hot springs and 4 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, international restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar, and free internet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$93
4.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$128
4.6 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$75
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$58
3.8 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$70
4.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$120
3.8 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$134
4.5 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$73
3.5 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$81
3.5 / 5 22 reviews

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort Rooms

The Villa
allow up to 9 people, located in section number 3. First floor: One bedroom with two queen beds, plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water, hair dryer and its amenities, air conditioned, closet, telephone and terrace with volcano and gardens view. TV Room, with Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker and sofa bed. Full kitchen, table with 6 chairs. Living room with Plasma TV Cable, sofa, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano. Parking Lot. Upstairs: The master room with a king bed and two rollaway, Plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water and its amenities, closet, telephone, air conditioned, security box, table with 4 chairs, coffee maker, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano.
Premium Room
Air conditioned, two Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, telephone, private bath with hot water and its amenities, security box, big terrace, living room with sofa bed with two twins beds, one bed room with two queen beds, closet, hair dryer, table with chairs. Volcano view located near to the pools.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers Double queen Bed or double and single bed along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, private bath room with hot water and its amenities and security box.

Standard rooms with one queen bed or two double beds, Some are located by the Jacuzzi and gardens; some are located by pool and gardens.

All standard rooms has air conditioned, terrace with volcano view
Superior Room
Superior Room offers 2 queen size beds with roll away along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, mini bar, security box, private bath tub, hot water and its amenities, some with 2 terrace and some with balcony.

Located in the section three surrounding by gardens and panoramic San Carlos Valley and Volcano View.

*Two rooms are handicap.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Las Palmas Restaurant
Located in the hotel. The cuisine is dishes from Costa Rica and around the world. Speciality is seafood and grilled meats with exotic and tropical shades in its different sauces.
Open from 6:30 AM to 10 AM for buffet breakfast.
From 12 PM to 3 PM for lunch.
From 6:30 PM to 9:30 for Dinner.
Between hours you can as for fast food, or visit the web bar for fast food. Casual dress, but no swimwear allowed.
Los Lagos Hotel, Spa and Resort
Is a full featured hot springs resort with exquisite natural outdoors and gardens to which people, couples or families can go for relaxation, fun and pleasure while you will have an amazing panoramic view of the San Carlos Valley and the Arenal volcano. The resort offers all that is needed for an unforgettable experience of Costa Rica at the Arenal volcano area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria
Couples
N/A
May 26, 2015

Awesome trip for explorers

The hotel was beautiful and very quiet. Not many guests staying when we went to visit. Many guided tours picked up from the hotel which was a plus. Also a taxi ride into town made it easily accessible. (One thing to keep in mind, do not store any $$ in the hotel room)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vilius K.
Couples
Freehold
Apr 29, 2015

Incredible stay at Los Lagos!

Perhaps I enjoyed this trip so much because of the incredible beauty of Costa Rica itself, but this hotel certainly made our trip more awesome. Every night and day, we would walk out of our rooms and witness the majestic Arenal volcano. We came during the rainy reason, which was actually pretty awesome. The resort was not too crowded and we had the best time of our life. The pools are fantastic and even have a water slide. The staff are super friendly and you get shuttled around to your rooms. I highly recommend taking a free hike up to see the Arenal volcano up close and also doing ziplining in the rainforest! I've been to many countries and hotels, but Los Lagos in Costa Rica will remain my favorite for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Mama
Couples
Salt Lake, UT
Nov 25, 2014

Night Stay in La Fortuna

When we arrived there were many youth standing outside, hard to get into the lobby. We were disappointed in the room itself. Outdated, and the bed was awful! A hard boxspring....then next morning we noticed a pull out matress under the bed, we should have slept there. LIstened to a crying baby for several hours, cars coming and going since our room right next to the entrance. The mineral pools were the highlight of the property. Many beautiful pools, and enjoyable for young and old. The buffet was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the "Soda's" they are local owed and had amazing traditional Costa Rican food.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arturo Expert Traveler
Couples
Lawrenceville, GA
Nov 12, 2014

What a view!!!!!!

The staff at the hotel was really friendly and helpful. Remember, good attitude is everything!!! Be polite, courteous and respectful, always. It helps too that I speak Spanish although some of the staff spoke English too. Out of all the hotel/resorts in this area, this one has the best view. You can't put a price on the view. Trust me. The volcano is fully visible from 6 AM thru 8:30 AM. I went on their winter season (raining season) during October. The complimentary breakfast buffet was really good and it had a good variety. The main restaurant next to the hotel reception and our room were really clean. Wi-fi on main restaurant is decent. Expect the wi-fi to slow down when it rains. Our room was pretty big with two beds and a rolling bed. Some areas of the resort are showing their age and it will be a good idea if they start investing some money to maintain the hotel. The thermal pools as well as the regular pools including the water slides, are excellent! There is a swim up to bar in the main thermal pool and the drinks are really good. Now, some not good news. This resort advertises the butterflies, frogs, cutter ants and caiman as an attraction. Do yourself a favor, these attractions are non existent when it comes to the butterflies, frogs and cutter ants. And the caiman exhibit is depressing. I quite don't understand why the hotel will advertise these exhibit because the quality of whatever is left on these exhibits is deplorable. My ratings: Animal exhibits - 1 out of 10 Room size - 10 out of 10 Room cleanness - 10 out of 10 Food quality - 10 out of 10 Staff friendliness - 9 out of 10 Thermal Springs - 10 out of 10 Volcano view - 100 out of 10 Property age - 6 out of 10 Property upkeep - 5 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the Caño Ne gro wildlife tour. You can book it at the hotel and believe me, you will see wildlife. We had a great time and saw monkeys (howlers and spider ) caimans, herons, lizards, all kind of birds, sloth, bats, etc.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SleepyBear
Couples
Mishawaka, Indiana
Sep 16, 2014

Refreshing Weekend

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. We got there and were extremely impressed with what they had to offer. They have multiple pools that are fed by the hot springs. There were several water slides that we didn't think we would use but ended up enjoying them and using then often. The staff was very friendly. This is a great place for not only families but couples as well. Don't hesitate to ask for transportation from your room to anyplace at the resort as some rooms are very secluded. The staff was more than willing to shuttle my wife and I around the resort. The excursions they offer we slightly more expensive than what we saw in town but it was worth it to us as we knew we would be well taken care of and was very convenient. We will definitely be back at this resort if we are ever back in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Horseback riding was outstanding. The company they use has awesome guides that make it fun and enjoyable!

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cherkohn
Couples
illinois
Jul 28, 2014

ok,expensive, good view

Hot springs but could have been landscaped better. Breakfast was mediocre. Dinner was ok. Staff was extremely helpful in booking tours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol Fun Loving
Couples
Grand Ridge, Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Great for fun and relaxation

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The springs were a great experience! We were looking for a time if relaxation and rejuvenation and we foun that. We enjoyed the zip line experience very much. The breakfast bar was exceptional every morning and the servers were very helpful and friendly. This is a great place for families and couples alike. Go and enjoy yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greenpoint Girl
Couples
Brooklyn
Feb 25, 2014

Dated and rude staff

The rooms have not been updated since the 1970s. The pools are overcrowded. There are so many other places to stay in the area don't choose this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYOB
Couples
Austin, Texas
Feb 9, 2014

Good all inclusive resort

It rained the whole time we were there so we didn't get to do several things we wanted to do, but it is rainforest, so there you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at local sodas in La Fortuna. They are less expensive and very good quality.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey Moon Ers
Couples
USA
Jan 27, 2014

Nice Place

We stayed at Los Lagos for two days, and I think we could have done one or two more before running out of activities. The food and services (spa, hot springs, pools, etc...) were great, but prices can add up quick. We did zip lining while there and the guides for it were great. We did a self-guided walk up to their volcano view point as well and got a good look at it. Unfortunately, the volcano was enveloped by clouds most of the time we were there, but it was still beautiful and they warned us that may be the case. The pools and hot springs are included in the price and all the staff were very friendly, and it also wasn't far away from local culture while still letting you feel very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring some easy to carry snacks with you if you are on a budget. They are a great supplement for what could otherwise be a pretty expensive lunch.

Back to menu Return to top