$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

3 stars
View map of 6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Family trip to Arenal in Costa Rica

This was our family vacation for the year, and not having been to this place before I had my... See full review

  • TicoBamaTexan
  • Aug 29, 2014
Great place to stay for families

We loved our stay at this hotel! I was a bit hesitant to stay here because of some of the less than... See full review

  • NESJ
  • Aug 20, 2014
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants.
An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform canopy tours, horseback riding tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal volcano clay wrap.
At Los Lagos Resort we offer 8 different pools, 5 with natural hot springs and 4 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, international restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar, and free internet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort Rooms

Superior Room
Superior Room offers 2 queen size beds with roll away along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, mini bar, security box, private bath tub, hot water and its amenities, some with 2 terrace and some with balcony.

Located in the section three surrounding by gardens and panoramic San Carlos Valley and Volcano View.

*Two rooms are handicap.
The Villa
allow up to 9 people, located in section number 3. First floor: One bedroom with two queen beds, plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water, hair dryer and its amenities, air conditioned, closet, telephone and terrace with volcano and gardens view. TV Room, with Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker and sofa bed. Full kitchen, table with 6 chairs. Living room with Plasma TV Cable, sofa, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano. Parking Lot. Upstairs: The master room with a king bed and two rollaway, Plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water and its amenities, closet, telephone, air conditioned, security box, table with 4 chairs, coffee maker, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano.
Premium Room
Air conditioned, two Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, telephone, private bath with hot water and its amenities, security box, big terrace, living room with sofa bed with two twins beds, one bed room with two queen beds, closet, hair dryer, table with chairs. Volcano view located near to the pools.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers Double queen Bed or double and single bed along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, private bath room with hot water and its amenities and security box.

Standard rooms with one queen bed or two double beds, Some are located by the Jacuzzi and gardens; some are located by pool and gardens.

All standard rooms has air conditioned, terrace with volcano view

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Palmas Restaurant
Located in the hotel. The cuisine is dishes from Costa Rica and around the world. Speciality is seafood and grilled meats with exotic and tropical shades in its different sauces.
Open from 6:30 AM to 10 AM for buffet breakfast.
From 12 PM to 3 PM for lunch.
From 6:30 PM to 9:30 for Dinner.
Between hours you can as for fast food, or visit the web bar for fast food. Casual dress, but no swimwear allowed.
Los Lagos Hotel, Spa and Resort
Is a full featured hot springs resort with exquisite natural outdoors and gardens to which people, couples or families can go for relaxation, fun and pleasure while you will have an amazing panoramic view of the San Carlos Valley and the Arenal volcano. The resort offers all that is needed for an unforgettable experience of Costa Rica at the Arenal volcano area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 52
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Mama
Business
Salt Lake, UT
Nov 25, 2014

Night Stay in La Fortuna

When we arrived there were many youth standing outside, hard to get into the lobby. We were disappointed in the room itself. Outdated, and the bed was awful! A hard boxspring....then next morning we noticed a pull out matress under the bed, we should have slept there. LIstened to a crying baby for several hours, cars coming and going since our room right next to the entrance. The mineral pools were the highlight of the property. Many beautiful pools, and enjoyable for young and old. The buffet was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the "Soda's" they are local owed and had amazing traditional Costa Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arturo Expert Traveler
Business
Lawrenceville, GA
Nov 12, 2014

What a view!!!!!!

The staff at the hotel was really friendly and helpful. Remember, good attitude is everything!!! Be polite, courteous and respectful, always. It helps too that I speak Spanish although some of the staff spoke English too. Out of all the hotel/resorts in this area, this one has the best view. You can't put a price on the view. Trust me. The volcano is fully visible from 6 AM thru 8:30 AM. I went on their winter season (raining season) during October. The complimentary breakfast buffet was really good and it had a good variety. The main restaurant next to the hotel reception and our room were really clean. Wi-fi on main restaurant is decent. Expect the wi-fi to slow down when it rains. Our room was pretty big with two beds and a rolling bed. Some areas of the resort are showing their age and it will be a good idea if they start investing some money to maintain the hotel. The thermal pools as well as the regular pools including the water slides, are excellent! There is a swim up to bar in the main thermal pool and the drinks are really good. Now, some not good news. This resort advertises the butterflies, frogs, cutter ants and caiman as an attraction. Do yourself a favor, these attractions are non existent when it comes to the butterflies, frogs and cutter ants. And the caiman exhibit is depressing. I quite don't understand why the hotel will advertise these exhibit because the quality of whatever is left on these exhibits is deplorable. My ratings: Animal exhibits - 1 out of 10 Room size - 10 out of 10 Room cleanness - 10 out of 10 Food quality - 10 out of 10 Staff friendliness - 9 out of 10 Thermal Springs - 10 out of 10 Volcano view - 100 out of 10 Property age - 6 out of 10 Property upkeep - 5 out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the Caño Ne gro wildlife tour. You can book it at the hotel and believe me, you will see wildlife. We had a great time and saw monkeys (howlers and spider ) caimans, herons, lizards, all kind of birds, sloth, bats, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cherkohn
Business
illinois
Jul 28, 2014

ok,expensive, good view

Hot springs but could have been landscaped better. Breakfast was mediocre. Dinner was ok. Staff was extremely helpful in booking tours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol Fun Loving
Business
Grand Ridge, Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Great for fun and relaxation

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The springs were a great experience! We were looking for a time if relaxation and rejuvenation and we foun that. We enjoyed the zip line experience very much. The breakfast bar was exceptional every morning and the servers were very helpful and friendly. This is a great place for families and couples alike. Go and enjoy yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greenpoint Girl
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 25, 2014

Dated and rude staff

The rooms have not been updated since the 1970s. The pools are overcrowded. There are so many other places to stay in the area don't choose this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYOB
Business
Austin, Texas
Feb 9, 2014

Good all inclusive resort

It rained the whole time we were there so we didn't get to do several things we wanted to do, but it is rainforest, so there you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at local sodas in La Fortuna. They are less expensive and very good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey Moon Ers
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2014

Nice Place

We stayed at Los Lagos for two days, and I think we could have done one or two more before running out of activities. The food and services (spa, hot springs, pools, etc...) were great, but prices can add up quick. We did zip lining while there and the guides for it were great. We did a self-guided walk up to their volcano view point as well and got a good look at it. Unfortunately, the volcano was enveloped by clouds most of the time we were there, but it was still beautiful and they warned us that may be the case. The pools and hot springs are included in the price and all the staff were very friendly, and it also wasn't far away from local culture while still letting you feel very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring some easy to carry snacks with you if you are on a budget. They are a great supplement for what could otherwise be a pretty expensive lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catracho Neal
Business
Austin Texa
Jan 27, 2014

Los Lagos Resort

very positive experience. would return again. the grounds offer a variety of plant life of rich colors that please the eyes. Birds of all sizes and colors enrich the scenery that is dominated by the towering Arenal Volcano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foukser
Business
Arkansas
Mar 10, 2013

Great time at Los Lagos

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. the view of the volcanoe was awesome. The grounds were spectacular. We enjoyed all the trails and the wildlife and birds. Pools were great. Our room was very nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good eating places in LaFortuna. We took a very scenic drive along Lake Arenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelers SC DM
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 30, 2013

A Unique Experience

Los Lagos was like nothing I had ever experienced before - a cross between Disneyland and a resort. Nearly everything you came to Costa Rica to find was on the grounds of the hotel. There was horseback riding, a hanging bridge, a small zip line, beautiful gardens, a small butterfly enclosure, an amazing ant exhibit, caged crocodiles, turtles, and frogs. There was even a dazzling display of actual wild and uncaged birds that we enjoyed during the bountiful breakfast buffet on the terrace. The hot tubs are not natural thermal pools in any sense of the word. The water is artificially heated and each well designed pool is surrounded by faux rocks. In fact, getting used to the manufactured rocks, trees, and logs and the generally kitschy atmosphere was something that took a little time. Once we embraced Los Lagos for what it was we had a wonderful time and if you walked around the expansive property you could find plenty of real nature. The rooms were spacious and adequately furnished, but poorly designed. The same can be said for the lobby. They both felt cavernous. However, our room had a back door to a horse pasture with a stream running through it and a sitting area where we watched the horses play and the moon and sun rise. The views of Arenal from the property are spectacular. Los Lagos sells admission as a day spa as well as a hotel. Unfortunately when we arrived, on a Saturday afternoon, the property was packed and finding quiet time in one of the hot pools was difficult if not impossible until later in the night. If I was traveling with children I would definitely consider going back to Los Lagos - the water slides were incredible. Otherwise, I would probably find something a little more peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top