$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

3 stars
6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica, La Fortuna,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
42 reviews
Great for fun and relaxation

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The springs were a great experience! We were looking for a... See full review

  • Carol Fun Loving
  • Jun 23, 2014
Los Lagos was great for our family!

Just returned from a 2 week trip to Costa Rica. Started in La Fortuna (note: volcano is no longer... See full review

  • Tico Tourist
  • Jan 13, 2014
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants.
An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform canopy tours, horseback riding tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal volcano clay wrap.
At Los Lagos Resort we offer 8 different pools, 5 with natural hot springs and 4 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, international restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar, and free internet.

Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort Rooms

The Villa
allow up to 9 people, located in section number 3. First floor: One bedroom with two queen beds, plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water, hair dryer and its amenities, air conditioned, closet, telephone and terrace with volcano and gardens view. TV Room, with Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker and sofa bed. Full kitchen, table with 6 chairs. Living room with Plasma TV Cable, sofa, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano. Parking Lot. Upstairs: The master room with a king bed and two rollaway, Plasma TV cable, bathroom with hot water and its amenities, closet, telephone, air conditioned, security box, table with 4 chairs, coffee maker, and terrace with panoramic view of San Carlos Valley and the volcano.
Premium Room
Air conditioned, two Plasma TV Cable, coffee maker, refrigerator, telephone, private bath with hot water and its amenities, security box, big terrace, living room with sofa bed with two twins beds, one bed room with two queen beds, closet, hair dryer, table with chairs. Volcano view located near to the pools.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers Double queen Bed or double and single bed along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, private bath room with hot water and its amenities and security box.

Standard rooms with one queen bed or two double beds, Some are located by the Jacuzzi and gardens; some are located by pool and gardens.

All standard rooms has air conditioned, terrace with volcano view
Superior Room
Superior Room offers 2 queen size beds with roll away along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, mini bar, security box, private bath tub, hot water and its amenities, some with 2 terrace and some with balcony.

Located in the section three surrounding by gardens and panoramic San Carlos Valley and Volcano View.

*Two rooms are handicap.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.486 -84.6883
Area served
Fortuna, San Carlos,
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport. El Tanque Airport.
Area description
6 KM west of La Fortuna Central Park, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica.

Dining

Las Palmas Restaurant
Located in the hotel. The cuisine is dishes from Costa Rica and around the world. Speciality is seafood and grilled meats with exotic and tropical shades in its different sauces.
Open from 6:30 AM to 10 AM for buffet breakfast.
From 12 PM to 3 PM for lunch.
From 6:30 PM to 9:30 for Dinner.
Between hours you can as for fast food, or visit the web bar for fast food. Casual dress, but no swimwear allowed.
Los Lagos Hotel, Spa and Resort
Is a full featured hot springs resort with exquisite natural outdoors and gardens to which people, couples or families can go for relaxation, fun and pleasure while you will have an amazing panoramic view of the San Carlos Valley and the Arenal volcano. The resort offers all that is needed for an unforgettable experience of Costa Rica at the Arenal volcano area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 42
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol Fun Loving
Grand Ridge, Florida
Jun 23, 2014

Great for fun and relaxation

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The springs were a great experience! We were looking for a time if relaxation and rejuvenation and we foun that. We enjoyed the zip line experience very much. The breakfast bar was exceptional every morning and the servers were very helpful and friendly. This is a great place for families and couples alike. Go and enjoy yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greenpoint Girl
Brooklyn
Feb 25, 2014

Dated and rude staff

The rooms have not been updated since the 1970s. The pools are overcrowded. There are so many other places to stay in the area don't choose this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYOB
Austin, Texas
Feb 9, 2014

Good all inclusive resort

It rained the whole time we were there so we didn't get to do several things we wanted to do, but it is rainforest, so there you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at local sodas in La Fortuna. They are less expensive and very good quality.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catracho Neal
Austin Texa
Jan 27, 2014

Los Lagos Resort

very positive experience. would return again. the grounds offer a variety of plant life of rich colors that please the eyes. Birds of all sizes and colors enrich the scenery that is dominated by the towering Arenal Volcano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honey Moon Ers
USA
Jan 27, 2014

Nice Place

We stayed at Los Lagos for two days, and I think we could have done one or two more before running out of activities. The food and services (spa, hot springs, pools, etc...) were great, but prices can add up quick. We did zip lining while there and the guides for it were great. We did a self-guided walk up to their volcano view point as well and got a good look at it. Unfortunately, the volcano was enveloped by clouds most of the time we were there, but it was still beautiful and they warned us that may be the case. The pools and hot springs are included in the price and all the staff were very friendly, and it also wasn't far away from local culture while still letting you feel very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring some easy to carry snacks with you if you are on a budget. They are a great supplement for what could otherwise be a pretty expensive lunch.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foukser
Arkansas
Mar 10, 2013

Great time at Los Lagos

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. the view of the volcanoe was awesome. The grounds were spectacular. We enjoyed all the trails and the wildlife and birds. Pools were great. Our room was very nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good eating places in LaFortuna. We took a very scenic drive along Lake Arenal.

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelers SC DM
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 30, 2013

A Unique Experience

Los Lagos was like nothing I had ever experienced before - a cross between Disneyland and a resort. Nearly everything you came to Costa Rica to find was on the grounds of the hotel. There was horseback riding, a hanging bridge, a small zip line, beautiful gardens, a small butterfly enclosure, an amazing ant exhibit, caged crocodiles, turtles, and frogs. There was even a dazzling display of actual wild and uncaged birds that we enjoyed during the bountiful breakfast buffet on the terrace. The hot tubs are not natural thermal pools in any sense of the word. The water is artificially heated and each well designed pool is surrounded by faux rocks. In fact, getting used to the manufactured rocks, trees, and logs and the generally kitschy atmosphere was something that took a little time. Once we embraced Los Lagos for what it was we had a wonderful time and if you walked around the expansive property you could find plenty of real nature. The rooms were spacious and adequately furnished, but poorly designed. The same can be said for the lobby. They both felt cavernous. However, our room had a back door to a horse pasture with a stream running through it and a sitting area where we watched the horses play and the moon and sun rise. The views of Arenal from the property are spectacular. Los Lagos sells admission as a day spa as well as a hotel. Unfortunately when we arrived, on a Saturday afternoon, the property was packed and finding quiet time in one of the hot pools was difficult if not impossible until later in the night. If I was traveling with children I would definitely consider going back to Los Lagos - the water slides were incredible. Otherwise, I would probably find something a little more peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dejasaba1
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 13, 2012

Rude Staff - Do not stay here!

From the outside and the website pictures this hotel seems like a beautiful place to stay but beware, looks can be decieveing. The hotel staff was rude from day 1 of a 3 days stay. Instead of making the guests feel welcome and trying to accomodate our needs it seemed like we had to bend over backward just so that they would help us. There is a hotel shuttle that takes you to your room (and our room was the absolute farthest on the property) and it felt like we had to beg the driver to take us there, we were...after all..inconveniencing him. The location of the hotel is far from town, which is good if you do not plan on going to town much-- you will be out 8-10 dollars each way using a taxi. This hotel does not offer a van service to town like other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Probably only good thing about this hotel is that is has a very good complimentary breakfast buffet and decent restaurant (if you can't make it to town). Bon Appetit!

Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maui ann
maui hawaii
Nov 14, 2012

cool costa rica resort

We were extremely pleased with our choice to stay at Los Lagos! The superior room as truly superior and although there were only two of us, it would have accommodated 4 adults very comfortably! The hot springs were such a treat! Especially the slide with warm water from the springs was a unique and unexpected delight! The resort had everything we would have needed right on property, although we were very happy with the one outside activity we booked. We did have an incident which was a miscommunication on our booking website end (a free facial was advertised on the website and the reason why we chose to book on this website vs other websites) but the hotel handled the situation very graciously. We thought the resort was great for couples and families alike. We ended up eating almost every meal in the hotel and Roberto took care of us each time. He was friendly and efficient - a real pro!! The only thing that irritated us, and it seems to be a common practice in the country - is that they were doing some work on property (construction-type improvements) that seemed to start at 6:30 a.m. I know the sun rises early, but geez. It being wet season, we were trying to make the most of each day but it was still not a pleasant sound to wake up to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules
Denver, CO
May 31, 2012

Wonder views, pools and landscaping!!

This was really a cool place. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL, with many native plants, birds, and even monkeys! Also the views were awesome with the volcano out our front porch and the valleys below out our back porch. Definitely get a room way up at the top of the hill, it's worth it, but make sure you have a car to get you there as the hill is long and steep. The spa is great, and the pools: romantic natural hot springs at the top of the hill, and larger swimming pools with water slides at the bottom. The swim-up bar is pretty expensive though. Also, their crocodile, frog, butterfly and ant exhibits are SO cool. You are walking right IN their environment (except the crocodiles!). The only thing is that the staff could be friendlier as they were kind of cold at the reception desk, and the rooms need updating. There were cracks in the sink and the decor was lacking. But who's spending that much time inside anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely grab dinner at the Lava Lounge in town. Prices are way more reasonable and EXCELLENT food, drinks and atmosphere!

Back to menu Return to top