$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Lomas del Volcan

3 stars
View map of 4 Km over the Main Street to the Volcano, La Fortuna, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
16 reviews
Great Affordable Hotel

We loved our stay at this hotel. The rooms were large and clean. The porch was great for relaxing.... See full review

  • Bianca R.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Wonderful....Eonderful

Wonderful experience. The wait staff was great, extremely helpful. The accommodation was great... See full review

  • Denise F.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Lomas del Volcan Hotel is a warm Mountain Hotel that maintains its rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest.

It was founded in the year 2000, on top of a hill inside of a cattle farm property of 150 hectares, away from the everyday noises and immerse in a silence that is only broken by the singing of the birds. This makes it a special place for nature and Eco-Tourism lovers, since inside of the property you can observe a big diversity of plants and animals from the region.

Lomas del Volcan Hotel is a gentle place to enjoy the nature and the magnificent views of the Arenal Volcano, it's construction allows the observation of the volcano from all cabins, what will make your stay unforgettable.

Highlights
  • FREE Continental Breakfast
  • FREE Internet Access
  • FREE Parking

  • Rooms
    The hotel has 47 cabin-style rooms, which have been recently remodeled to maximize the comfort of our guest.
    We offer rooms for people with restricted physical ability for the convenience of all of our guests whom would like to visit us. All rooms are wood cabins with rustic style, which have fine finishes.
    Each one has two terraces with unique views of both the Arenal Volcano and the rainforest.

    All Cabins are equipped with:
  • 2 Queen Beds
  • 32" LCD TV with Cable
  • Refrigerator
  • Bathroom witt Hot Shower ans Toilet
  • Telephone access for international calls
  • Coffee Maker
  • Free Safety Box
  • WiFi

  • Features
    There is Lomas Restaurant with a capacity for 80 people, in which local and international dishes are offered, that comply with the expectations of the most demanding palates.

    Also, we have a El Volcano Bar where you will be able to delight yourself with a drink or cocktail, while observing the Arenal Volcano. Finally, the hotel offers a meeting room for 50 people.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Lomas del Volcan also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

    Lomas del Volcan Rooms

    DOUBLE BUNGALOW

    Standard Chalet features 2 Double Beds.
    Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests.
    All rooms are wood cabins with rustic style, that have fine finishes. Each on them have two terraces with unique views of both the Arenal Volcano and the rainforest.

    In Room Amenities:
  • 2 Queen Beds
  • 32in LCD TV with cable
  • Accessing 76 channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Bathroom with Hot Shower and Bidet
  • Telephone access for international calls
  • Coffee Maker
  • Free Safety Box
  • Wi-Fi
  • Room Service
  • .
    The terraces are comfortably designed so that you can enjoy a great book with the company of the primary rainforest. You can order room service and enjoy a delicious private dinner at the deck, with a view to the Arenal Volcano.

    Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    We have available a meeting room where guests may enjoy our hospitable and friendly staff, as well as a projection screen, video beam, telephone service and Internet Wi-Fi access.

    This room has a capacity for 50 people and offers an ideal atmosphere for business meetings.

    We also have sufficient green spaces and wide outdoor spaces to make your open-air events.

    Dining

    LOMAS RESTAURANT

    As a reference, our restaurant has been listed as one of the best restaurants at the region. Where the excellent feedback shows the preference of our already established customers, such as:
  • High-Level Executives
  • Professional
  • Businessmen
  • National and International Tourists.

  • The hotel offers full breakfast included in the rate, where the options usually include fresh fruit which is characteristic of our country, the famous gallo pinto (mixed rice and beans), which is part of our traditional food, plus a range of food for all tastes.

    The restaurant is open every day from 6:30am until 9:30p.m.
    EL VOLCAN BAR

    Our bar menu includes a range of natural drinks and "Tico" style "moonshine mojito" made with moonshine liqueur, which is a typical Costa Rican Sugar-Cane based drink. Also we have other local drinks that you can enjoy at El Volcan Bar.

    Costa Rica is known for its tasty fruits and therefore our our cocktails are made of special flavors, therefore you can delight yourself with excellent "Pinas Coladas", Fruit Punch, among others.

    While enjoying a selection of wines from Argentina, Chile, etc., you can see the Arenal Volcano from a very convenient location of the bar.

    There is also a big screen to feel the excitement of sports, news or events in the world. Join us and spend a great time, where our bartenders are waiting to serve you with their characteristic Costa-rican enthusiasm.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    2:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Lomas del Volcan

    Overall score

    4.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    10 out of 16
    Amenities:
    4.7
    Cleanliness:
    4.8
    Hotel staff:
    4.7
    Comfort:
    4.7
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4.7

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Denise F.
    Business
    N/A
    Dec 29, 2014

    Wonderful....Eonderful

    Wonderful experience. The wait staff was great, extremely helpful. The accommodation was great rooms very clean, and the grounds impeccible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Denise F.
    Business
    N/A
    Dec 22, 2014

    Wonderful....Eonderful

    Wonderful experience. The wait staff was great, extremely helpful. The accommodation was great rooms very clean, and the grounds impeccible.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Roseann
    Business
    Reno, NV, USA
    Sep 18, 2014

    Beautiful views of Arenal

    Very nice cabin,awesome scenery,good breakfast. Loved the pool and jacuzzi.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    First time in Costa Rica
    Business
    San Francisco, California
    Sep 15, 2014

    Private cabins next to the volcano

    Lomas del Volcan is located off of the busy highway offering a serene place next to nature but close enough to town (and nearby hot springs). The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained with a prime view of the volcano. The private cabins are quite spacious and very charming with its front and back porches perfect for a bit of relaxation. Breakfast is included: pancakes, toast, rice & beans, fruit, sausage. Restaurant and activity options are on the pricey "touristy" side. You can probably find better deals but paying a premium for convenience is available if desired.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Agronoman
    Business
    Mansfield, Ohio
    Sep 10, 2014

    Wonderful location and facilities

    This place is wonderful! The staff was extremely helpful and attentive and spoke good English. The rooms have amazing views of the volcano. The back porch had chairs and a table with a full view of the volcano. The cabins were very clean and comfortable. The "free continental breakfast" was a full breakfast with omelettes and eggs to order, pancakes, rice and beans, fresh fruit and lots of other hot items. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. We hiked back in the pasture toward the volcano and could hear the howler monkeys in the jungle. We highly recommend this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Kazan had great prices and excellent food. Highly recommend. Red Lava tours handled our activities and did a great job and got us good prices. Highly recommend. Las Nenes was recommended in comments we read prior to our trip, but was a big disappointment. Their prices have gone up a lot. The locals said when their popularity rose, so did their prices. Most of the prices were in the $20 range, so when my wife ordered the tilapia special we assumed it would be in that price range. We got nailed with a $45 per meal charge with no drinks! I ordered the steak, but the waiter thought I said "the same" as my wife ordered, so I got fish instead of steak. I went ahead and ate the meal, but when we got the check, I was very unhappy. The fish was supposed to be boned, which it mostly was, but had the head, skin and tail which was not particularly appetizing to me. We would NOT RECOMMEND Las Nenes to anyone. According to our Costa Rican hosts on the trip, we got ripped off by Las Nenes.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    J Kenny
    Business
    New York
    Jun 23, 2014

    Amazing

    Beautiful location with a great view of the volcano, we only stayed here for 2 nights because we couldn't get a room for the 3rd, wish we could have stayed longer. The cabins are spacious and private, the gardens lovely! Staff are helpful, they helped organise our excursions.. Kayaking, river rafting and a Rainforest walk!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    San Diego minivacation
    Business
    Port Angeles wa
    Mar 25, 2014

    Eden in Costa Rica

    Delightful individual "casitas" allowing "alone time" that is enhanced by dips in a nice cool pool, the most delightful service providers in the restaurant and at the desk, and finally the incredibly beautiful and pristine volcano ever present.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    2chix
    Business
    California
    Feb 23, 2014

    Perfect honeymoon villa

    We stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful experience here. We like private, natural settings and this was perfect! You get your own villa with a front and back porch and a shower large enough for a party of 10! The staff is honest and very helpful and the free breakfast buffet is better than any continental breakfast you can find in the states. The restaurant is reasonably priced and good as well. I will say that if you're a light sleeper and/or like to sleep late bring ear plugs. You are in a jungle and the nocturnal birds chirp at all hours especially during a full moon. I would definitely stay here again! It's right by the town yet far enough from the road that you NEVER hear traffic. Everything is VERY clean and well maintained and you get maid service every day. ¡Pura Vida!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dorly
    Business
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Dec 19, 2013

    gorgeous place to stay

    The hotel is situated in a wonderful, lush garden environment. Pleasant to relax in a friendly atmosphere.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    D.S.S
    Business
    San Francisco, California
    Aug 26, 2013

    Private Bungalows

    This place was fantastic situated in the rain forest right at the base of Volcan Arenal it is an amazing location. All rooms are private bungalows so you feel all alone in the forest well still having the luxury of a hotel

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    The walk up to the Cerro Chato crater is strenuous but well worth it you can even swim in the crater lake. Its cheaper to access from the Observatory lodge than from the path at the La Fortuna waterfall

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top