$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Lomas del Volcan

3 stars
4 Km over the Main Street to the Volcano, La Fortuna, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
7 reviews
Amazing

Beautiful location with a great view of the volcano, we only stayed here for 2 nights because we... See full review

  • J Kenny
  • Jun 23, 2014
Eden in Costa Rica

Delightful individual "casitas" allowing "alone time" that is enhanced by dips in a nice cool pool,... See full review

  • San Diego minivacation
  • Mar 25, 2014
Lomas del Volcan Hotel is a warm Mountain Hotel that maintains its rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest.

It was founded in the year 2000, on top of a hill inside of a cattle farm property of 150 hectares, away from the everyday noises and immerse in a silence that is only broken by the singing of the birds. This makes it a special place for nature and Eco-Tourism lovers, since inside of the property you can observe a big diversity of plants and animals from the region.

Lomas del Volcan Hotel is a gentle place to enjoy the nature and the magnificent views of the Arenal Volcano, it's construction allows the observation of the volcano from all cabins, what will make your stay unforgettable.

Highlights
  • FREE Continental Breakfast
  • FREE Internet Access
  • FREE Parking

  • Rooms
    The hotel has 47 cabin-style rooms, which have been recently remodeled to maximize the comfort of our guest.
    We offer rooms for people with restricted physical ability for the convenience of all of our guests whom would like to visit us. All rooms are wood cabins with rustic style, which have fine finishes.
    Each one has two terraces with unique views of both the Arenal Volcano and the rainforest.

    All Cabins are equipped with:
  • 2 Queen Beds
  • 32" LCD TV with Cable
  • Refrigerator
  • Bathroom witt Hot Shower ans Toilet
  • Telephone access for international calls
  • Coffee Maker
  • Free Safety Box
  • WiFi

  • Features
    There is Lomas Restaurant with a capacity for 80 people, in which local and international dishes are offered, that comply with the expectations of the most demanding palates.

    Also, we have a El Volcano Bar where you will be able to delight yourself with a drink or cocktail, while observing the Arenal Volcano. Finally, the hotel offers a meeting room for 50 people.

    Hotel Map

    10.4599 -84.6737
    Area served
    La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano Area, Costa Rica.
    Nearby airports
  • Juan Santamarina International Airport (SJO) 2.5 hrs
  • Area description
    At the foothills of the Arenal Volcano is located one of the most important touristic regions of Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos; where Lomas del Volcan Hotel is located. Only 2.5 hours away from San Jose.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Lomas del Volcan also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Lomas del Volcan Rooms

    DOUBLE BUNGALOW

    Standard Chalet features 2 Double Beds.
    Maximum Capacity: 4 Guests.
    All rooms are wood cabins with rustic style, that have fine finishes. Each on them have two terraces with unique views of both the Arenal Volcano and the rainforest.

    In Room Amenities:
  • 2 Queen Beds
  • 32in LCD TV with cable
  • Accessing 76 channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Bathroom with Hot Shower and Bidet
  • Telephone access for international calls
  • Coffee Maker
  • Free Safety Box
  • Wi-Fi
  • Room Service
  • .
    The terraces are comfortably designed so that you can enjoy a great book with the company of the primary rainforest. You can order room service and enjoy a delicious private dinner at the deck, with a view to the Arenal Volcano.

    Amenities

    • Free continental breakfast
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Spa
    Dining
    Free continental breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Gift shop
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    LOMAS RESTAURANT

    As a reference, our restaurant has been listed as one of the best restaurants at the region. Where the excellent feedback shows the preference of our already established customers, such as:
  • High-Level Executives
  • Professional
  • Businessmen
  • National and International Tourists.

  • The hotel offers full breakfast included in the rate, where the options usually include fresh fruit which is characteristic of our country, the famous gallo pinto (mixed rice and beans), which is part of our traditional food, plus a range of food for all tastes.

    The restaurant is open every day from 6:30am until 9:30p.m.
    EL VOLCAN BAR

    Our bar menu includes a range of natural drinks and "Tico" style "moonshine mojito" made with moonshine liqueur, which is a typical Costa Rican Sugar-Cane based drink. Also we have other local drinks that you can enjoy at El Volcan Bar.

    Costa Rica is known for its tasty fruits and therefore our our cocktails are made of special flavors, therefore you can delight yourself with excellent "Pinas Coladas", Fruit Punch, among others.

    While enjoying a selection of wines from Argentina, Chile, etc., you can see the Arenal Volcano from a very convenient location of the bar.

    There is also a big screen to feel the excitement of sports, news or events in the world. Join us and spend a great time, where our bartenders are waiting to serve you with their characteristic Costa-rican enthusiasm.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    We have available a meeting room where guests may enjoy our hospitable and friendly staff, as well as a projection screen, video beam, telephone service and Internet Wi-Fi access.

    This room has a capacity for 50 people and offers an ideal atmosphere for business meetings.

    We also have sufficient green spaces and wide outdoor spaces to make your open-air events.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (7)

    Ratings and reviews for Lomas del Volcan

    Overall score

    4.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    7 out of 7
    Amenities:
    4.7
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4.9
    Room comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.9
    Value:
    4.9

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    San Diego minivacation
    Port Angeles wa
    Mar 25, 2014

    Eden in Costa Rica

    Delightful individual "casitas" allowing "alone time" that is enhanced by dips in a nice cool pool, the most delightful service providers in the restaurant and at the desk, and finally the incredibly beautiful and pristine volcano ever present.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    sumanuta
    Houston, TX
    Jul 1, 2014

    nice place to stay

    Good location although little of the road. The drive to the hotel of the main road is very bumpy due to unpaved dirt road. Still the hotel is nice and the surroundings is beautiful. Room could use a little kitchenette. Also, complimentary water bottles would have been nice instead of mini bottles that cost $2 a piece. The floor is cover with tiles that get very slippery when it's wet outside (like now, since it's rainy season). Breakfast was nice and staff warming. Overall good experience but it would have been even better with these improvements.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Los nenes in downtown La Fortuna, four streets down from the church.

    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    J Kenny
    New York
    Jun 23, 2014

    Amazing

    Beautiful location with a great view of the volcano, we only stayed here for 2 nights because we couldn't get a room for the 3rd, wish we could have stayed longer. The cabins are spacious and private, the gardens lovely! Staff are helpful, they helped organise our excursions.. Kayaking, river rafting and a Rainforest walk!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    San Diego minivacation
    Port Angeles wa
    Mar 25, 2014

    Eden in Costa Rica

    Delightful individual "casitas" allowing "alone time" that is enhanced by dips in a nice cool pool, the most delightful service providers in the restaurant and at the desk, and finally the incredibly beautiful and pristine volcano ever present.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    2chix
    California
    Feb 23, 2014

    Perfect honeymoon villa

    We stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful experience here. We like private, natural settings and this was perfect! You get your own villa with a front and back porch and a shower large enough for a party of 10! The staff is honest and very helpful and the free breakfast buffet is better than any continental breakfast you can find in the states. The restaurant is reasonably priced and good as well. I will say that if you're a light sleeper and/or like to sleep late bring ear plugs. You are in a jungle and the nocturnal birds chirp at all hours especially during a full moon. I would definitely stay here again! It's right by the town yet far enough from the road that you NEVER hear traffic. Everything is VERY clean and well maintained and you get maid service every day. ¡Pura Vida!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dorly
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    Dec 19, 2013

    gorgeous place to stay

    The hotel is situated in a wonderful, lush garden environment. Pleasant to relax in a friendly atmosphere.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    D.S.S
    San Francisco, California
    Aug 26, 2013

    Private Bungalows

    This place was fantastic situated in the rain forest right at the base of Volcan Arenal it is an amazing location. All rooms are private bungalows so you feel all alone in the forest well still having the luxury of a hotel

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    The walk up to the Cerro Chato crater is strenuous but well worth it you can even swim in the crater lake. Its cheaper to access from the Observatory lodge than from the path at the La Fortuna waterfall

    Review of Lomas del Volcan

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    avimanu
    Michigan
    Jul 20, 2013

    Stunning Views

    This hotel has individual cabins facing Arenal volcano. The views are simply stunning. Everytime you look at Arenal there is a different view -- sometime you see all the way to the top, sometimes completely drenched in clouds. Plenty of birds to see early in the morning. Restaurant in hotel is also pretty good. This was our favorite place during our 7 nights in Costa Rica.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Back to menu Return to top