$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Hotel Mountain Paradise

4 stars
From la Fortuna downtown 7 Kms. road to Arenal volcano, from la Palma river 200 mts north and 750 mts, La Fortuna, 21007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Home away from home

Very nice hotel... The pool was really good specially the sink in bar... See full review

  • POLY from Cali
  • Jun 24, 2014
Honeymoon trip across Costa Rica

We stopped in Fortuna and stayed at mountain paradise hotel for two nights. It was our favorite... See full review

  • Matt and Anna
  • Jun 3, 2013
Mountain Paradise Arenal Volcano Hotel, Invites you to enjoy a real paradise, with the perfect balance between nature, service, simplicity and the fashionable. This remarkable project has a totally Costa Rican environment as its main strength, united to the highest standards in service.The hotel currently has 40 bedrooms in three categories: Master Suite, Junior Suite, and Premiun Suite. It also has exclusive service areas such as, Deva's SPA, a gourmet- style restaurant, swimming pool with jacuzzi, with the added value of having warm water, a mini gym and laundry service. Among other conveniences for clients we could mention are wireless internet service in every bedroom, free transport service ti la fortuna and the thermal waters. The hotel also offers Airport transportation (surcharge) San Jose - $110, Ballroom, Barbecue area, Children's facilities, Dry cleaning, Lobby, Laundry service, Reception, On-site medical assistance available, Television in lobby, Wedding services, Complimentary breakfast.

Hotel Map

10.501 -84.6924
Area served
La Fortuna.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (San Jose) and Daniel Oduber Internation Aiport (Liberia)
Area description
Arenal Volcano National Park - 5.1 km / 3.2 mi The preferred airport for Mountain Paradise Hotel is San Jose (SJO-Juan Santamaria Intl.) - 79 km / 49.1 mi. Distances are calculated in a straight line from the property's location to the point of interest or airport and may not reflect actual travel distance. Distances are displayed to the nearest 0. 1 mile and kilometre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mountain Paradise also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Mountain Paradise Rooms

Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers 1 king bed and 1 queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kitchenette, Mini bar, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Plasma television and Shared bathroom with sink in room.
Premium Suite
Premium Suite offers 1 king bed and 1 single bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kitchenette, Mini bar, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Plasma television and Shared bathroom with sink in room.
Master Suite
Master Suite offers 1 king bed and 2 Single beds with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Kitchenette, Mini bar, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Plasma television and Shared bathroom with sink in room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DCS
Dallas , Tx -USA
Nov 26, 2010

Very bad Stay not recomended at all

The hotel lacks any standard and should not be rated at all . They have 3 person staff that does everything and that also not properly. The front desk to bellmen to room service all are done by same person after long wait every time. My first visit to CR I would never go again to CR this has left a bad taste hotels like this should not be run or licensed. Showers take 30 mins to get hot water no internet working and no one can fix it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at this hotel if you happen to stay there. There food is not only horrible but it will not pass the food inspector . Breakfast , Lunch Dinner all total waste . The milk served was spoiled expired.

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
biglebowski
Bethlehem, PA
Apr 3, 2012

Flintstones' cave

I have to say that Mountain Paradise resort looked pretty good and volcano views were amazing until we walked into our room and that's where magic ended. Room had a feel of Flintstones' cave. Shower was made of fake boulders with real plants hanging down. Room smelled like nobody has been there for few days and small spiderweb with spider on the bed was a clear evidence of that. Rustic beds were not very comfortable and even less so when caterpillar (2"x3/4") dropped from ceiling on my arm, landed on sheet and pooped green liquid. A/C wasn't working very good and randomly made squealing noises. It stopped working when we needed it the most. There wasn't enough storage space, just one little closet already half-filled with the safe and we didn't even bother to unpack our bags. Hotel staff used gas-engine shuttles, which made terrible smell all over the resort. We could smell them during the breakfast in open-space restaurant, yummy. I'm surprised they didn't use electric carts in middle of the amazing nature. Their restaurant was mediocre at best. 3 out of 4 in our company were disappointed. Pizza place 5 minutes away was much more satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaeZ
Colorado
Jun 22, 2012

Expected more

The waterfall shower did not have warm water, we had frogs inside the bathroom area, the air conditioner did not work very well and the toilet was also faulty. We had to keep taking off the toilet lid to plug the water. The pool is a hot springs pool, why would you want to swim in that in hot and humid costa rica?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zip lining tour with mundo adventura was amazing. A lot of bang for your buck

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Akak1771
Bahrain
Apr 30, 2012

Location but not about the room

Room was huge qnd great view, but bugs and spiders in room (tropical so understoood). Bed as very uncomfortable but amenities made up for that. Great tours and food bit things are expensive here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anjcanales
nyc
Jun 8, 2012

ac in room dont work at all

the hotel is very nice and the staff in front desk are very helpful and very nice but the roomcleaning lady dont like to change towels and give extra towels at all and the ac in the room dont work at all i had the staff come up and look at the ac 4 time and in my 5 day stay i never had ac in the room had to sleep in the living room were the ac work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 7, 2011

Helpful Staff, Tacky Rooms, Great View

We stayed here for a few nights during our trip to Costa Rica. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful and have superb views of the volcano (when it's not covered by clouds...). The staff was friendly and helpful, though they all seemed to be kids...they were more than competent. The pool was nice, but not amazing. The restaurant was also nice, the food was good, but very expensive. I'd recommend eating in La Fortuna to save some money. The room itself was comfortable, but pretty tacky as far as the design...The bathroom had a waterfall shower, which was cool, but it got all over the floor and never drained properly! The room also had a jacuzzi tub on the porch, but it was only big enough for one person and was not at all private as anyone walking by could see you in the tub. All in all an average hotel, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling marmot
Colorado
May 12, 2014

Staff detract from otherwise an amazing property

Pros: end of road seclusion, above avg room size w/ pvt patio; food was quite good compare to previous reviews, new chef Cons: rude receptionist, he told us he can x-ge our $ but failed to do so when we requested. He would not give me another room key card and ask me to meet the staff at my room to have it opened. I waited for 15 min & no one showed up; rude wet bartender who condescendingly disciplined me when I reach for a pool towel& said "u have to buy a ticket at the front desk to rent a towel". I have never heard of a hotel who charges for pool towels & make it inconvenience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tip: the restaurant "amorLoco" next door at Nayara is amazing, decorated as an opulent opium den,good food, amazing svc, they even x-ge $ for us when our hotel would not, svc far above what's available at Mtn paradise

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young travelers
Carson, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Fantastic

We checked in and the staff gave us cold towels and fresh fruit juice. We were escorted to our room and given all the details. I loved the location and the hotel offered a shuttle to town and back throughout the day. The room was great...a little villa with a california king, private jacuzzi tub and 2 waterfall showers. I agree with others about the restaurant. It is over priced and the food is not that great. Eating in town was much better. Overall, I loved Mountain Paradise and would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive into town or take the hotel shuttle because you can find tons of restaurants with great food for under $8 US a plate.

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 22, 2011

A wonderful stay

This hotel was truly a gem. When we arrived we were greeted with a nice drink and the staff was very friendly. It is truly a mountain paradise. The rooms were gorgeous and clean and the grounds were simply heavenly. We were taken on a golf cart to our room and the pool area and breakfast was more than anyone can expect. The staff at the restaurant were very friendly and always recognized us and waved when we passed. We felt part of a family. The internet service was great and when someone was on the internet, we were given a small apple mini laptop to check email, etc. The only negative thing was the toilet. It kept clogging up on us. Not sure what was the issue. The restaurant on the premises is WAYYYYYYY too pricey. For the food quality, they definitely should charge less. Eat there for their free breakfast buffet. Its delicious. But eat elsewhere for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on eating at the restaurant on the premises, be prepared to pay at least $50 per person. My friend and I went for dinner not expecting to pay over $100 for our meals combined and when the bill came. WOW. And the food wasn't that spectacular to be charging that much of crazy prices for it.

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT215
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Mar 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel with pricelss view

The room was amazing and beautiful with a view second to none. The gorgeous waterfall shower was the best until the hot water became room temp and we found out that was normal. Very nice staff with amazing free breakfast and awesome pool although over run with kids at times. Overall VERY happy and would def go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If renting a car def get GPS. Only $12/day from my agency but never would have made it without one

Back to menu Return to top

Change search