Hotel Mountain Paradise

4 stars
View map of From la Fortuna downtown 7 Kms. road to Arenal volcano, from la Palma river 200 mts north and 750 mts, La Fortuna, 21007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Akak1771
Business
Bahrain
Apr 30, 2012

Location but not about the room

Room was huge qnd great view, but bugs and spiders in room (tropical so understoood). Bed as very uncomfortable but amenities made up for that. Great tours and food bit things are expensive here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
biglebowski
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Apr 3, 2012

Flintstones' cave

I have to say that Mountain Paradise resort looked pretty good and volcano views were amazing until we walked into our room and that's where magic ended. Room had a feel of Flintstones' cave. Shower was made of fake boulders with real plants hanging down. Room smelled like nobody has been there for few days and small spiderweb with spider on the bed was a clear evidence of that. Rustic beds were not very comfortable and even less so when caterpillar (2"x3/4") dropped from ceiling on my arm, landed on sheet and pooped green liquid. A/C wasn't working very good and randomly made squealing noises. It stopped working when we needed it the most. There wasn't enough storage space, just one little closet already half-filled with the safe and we didn't even bother to unpack our bags. Hotel staff used gas-engine shuttles, which made terrible smell all over the resort. We could smell them during the breakfast in open-space restaurant, yummy. I'm surprised they didn't use electric carts in middle of the amazing nature. Their restaurant was mediocre at best. 3 out of 4 in our company were disappointed. Pizza place 5 minutes away was much more satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT215
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Mar 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel with pricelss view

The room was amazing and beautiful with a view second to none. The gorgeous waterfall shower was the best until the hot water became room temp and we found out that was normal. Very nice staff with amazing free breakfast and awesome pool although over run with kids at times. Overall VERY happy and would def go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If renting a car def get GPS. Only $12/day from my agency but never would have made it without one

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike con familia
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Dec 26, 2011

Paradise it is

Just finished a family stay at this hotel and we were all thrilled with the staff's helpfulness, friendliness and professionalism. Alexandra and Abdrubal at the front desk organized and scheduled many trips for us and everything ran like clockwork. Everyone spoke English well enough that communication was never an issue. Just be prepared for a long drive from either of the airports. Don't rent a car, have the hotel organize a driver for you. You can rent a car in La Fortuna if you want but driving is a task better done by the locals...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the companies offers a white water raft tour that includes a visit to the owner's small, but working farm. Fantastic late lunch there and fun with sugar cane as your group makes juice out of one...

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 7, 2011

Helpful Staff, Tacky Rooms, Great View

We stayed here for a few nights during our trip to Costa Rica. The grounds of the hotel are very beautiful and have superb views of the volcano (when it's not covered by clouds...). The staff was friendly and helpful, though they all seemed to be kids...they were more than competent. The pool was nice, but not amazing. The restaurant was also nice, the food was good, but very expensive. I'd recommend eating in La Fortuna to save some money. The room itself was comfortable, but pretty tacky as far as the design...The bathroom had a waterfall shower, which was cool, but it got all over the floor and never drained properly! The room also had a jacuzzi tub on the porch, but it was only big enough for one person and was not at all private as anyone walking by could see you in the tub. All in all an average hotel, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudie
Business
Clarkston, MI
Apr 20, 2011

Fortuna Honeymoon

Very nice hotel with a relaxing atmosphere. Great pool and bathrooms! I would recommend this for any honeymooners looking for a relaxing setting that is close to everything that Fortuna has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to go see the national park. It is an amazing hike with great views of the volcano.

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jan 5, 2011

BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY, BEAUTIFUL CABINS

This is a spectacular property with beautiful views, extraordinary cabins, and I have to mention the unusual bathrooms with waterfall shower, separate massage shower, jacuzzi tub, and all in a rain forest atmosphere. You won't find anything like it anywhere. The view of the volcano is beyond words. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing that is lacking is the food. The breakfast buffet was inedible. What was supposed to be hot was cold and vice versa. They need a chef to oversee food operations. Everything else was so nice that I recommend the hotel, just don't eat there. Go into to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Jan 5, 2011

Gorgeous and unbelievably helpful

Beautiful rooms, staff amazing. My husband left his jacket with wallet in the pocket and by the time we got to Monteverde the staff had already sent in to us with a courier. Couldn't have asked for more. Check out the bathrooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eco-thermal hot springs

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DCS
Business
Dallas , Tx -USA
Nov 26, 2010

Very bad Stay not recomended at all

The hotel lacks any standard and should not be rated at all . They have 3 person staff that does everything and that also not properly. The front desk to bellmen to room service all are done by same person after long wait every time. My first visit to CR I would never go again to CR this has left a bad taste hotels like this should not be run or licensed. Showers take 30 mins to get hot water no internet working and no one can fix it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at this hotel if you happen to stay there. There food is not only horrible but it will not pass the food inspector . Breakfast , Lunch Dinner all total waste . The milk served was spoiled expired.

Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 26, 2010

aamzing location

if you like the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere, this is your hotel. you will have your peace & quiet with an amazing view. if you want excitement; canopy, canoeing & other adventures are near by. However, this hotel lacks in-room refrigerator & dressers. overall, this is my best trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great food & excellent service but expensive

Back to menu Return to top