$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Hotel Magic Mountain

4 stars
View map of 41-4417 Fortuna- San Carlos, 3 Kilometres Norwest of the Catholic Church in Downtown, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
16 reviews
Hotel with a view

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal... See full review

  • Ray De Jesus
  • Feb 23, 2015
Great views

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The... See full review

  • Aterry2008
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hotel Magic Mountain is situated facing Arenal Volcano. The scenic location provides visitors with a stunning view of the giant colossus known as Arenal Volcano.

The hotel is only 5 minutes away from la Fortuna Town with its shops, restaurants and other points of interest as well as the "Hot Springs".

The hotel will always strive to make the guests Hotel Magic Mountain experience unforgettable with comfortable rooms, stunning vistas, access to numerous pools, elevators with panoramic view and excellent personal bilingual service. The Staff will do their best to make your stay a most memorable one. Hotel offers Barbecue area, Billiards, Children's facilities, Lobby and Reception.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Magic Mountain also booked these hotels.

★★★
$100
4.0 / 5 51 reviews
★★★★
$120
3.8 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$128
4.6 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$75
4.2 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$273
4.0 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$223
4.6 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$129
4.2 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★
$93
4.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$84
3.5 / 5 15 reviews

Hotel Magic Mountain Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 King Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas,Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suites Rooms
Junior Suites Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 king Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color plama TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas, Jacuzzi/Whirlpool/Spa bath, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Room of Hotel Magic Mountain is the right place to make Conferences, Commercial Presentations, Meetings of directors and all type of Company acts, that need great quality facilities. The capacity is able for 200 or more people.

Dining

Restaurant
The great food variety that the hotel counts with allows to offer you a matchless delight of natural flavors. Choosing your favorites plates will be a "Charming Dilemma". The Expert Chefs would know how to please your taste, offering an exquisite variety of dishes and flavors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 16
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3
Sort by:
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray De Jesus
Family
New York
Feb 23, 2015

Hotel with a view

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal Volcano from our hotel balcony. Even though we arrived late to check-in, all provisions were left to the security guard so we could access our room. The restaurant manager even left his commitment at the function hall to open the kitchen for us and be served for dinner. The staff members were very consistent in accommodating all our daily needs to ensure that our vacation would be memorable and exciting. If I will go back to this part of Costa Rica, I will not have second thought of staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Enjoying Costa Rica
Family
San Rafael, CA
Jul 8, 2012

Just so we're clear

This was a clean hotel but we needed wifi in the room, not just in the lobby. Breakfast okay each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheValueSeeker
Family
Miami, FL
May 13, 2011

Could use a tiny bit more

I chose this property because it came up as 4 stars and I wanted to pamper my parents with a nice place. When I arrived and tried to check in, apparently my reservation came up for 2 instead of 3 people (may have been a typo on my part not sure) However, when researching rates, adding a 3rd person made the price go up by just $10 They wanted to charge me an additional $30 USD! I felt that to be a ripoff since I had already paid $106 for the room and breakfast (the price was $66 + Tax adding breakfast made the price go up an additional $30). I stood up for myself and told them that it should not be more than $10. They allowed me to check in 2 hours earlier and pay just the $10 USD. So that was cool in my book. While there at the reception desk I noticed they had a special at their Spa for 2 massages for $70!! I made reservations for that. They also gave us coupons for a welcome beverage, non alcoholic but very tropical and delicious, sort of like a creamy frozen fruit punch with a cherry on top. We got a standard room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a straight view to the Arenal Volcano. The pool was gorgeous and had a wet bar but no one attending it =( Their Spa was very nice with all the calming effects and decor a Spa should have. Very pleased with the service here. As for breakfast, I was expecting more since again the price went up significantly when I added breakfast. I would have preferred a buffet rather than the preset menu they had. Food wasn't altogether terrible, but again I would have preferred choices that would have made the price justifiable. The hotel is very quiet and I guess since its low season there weren't many people and no "hustle and bustle" activities wise. I would have liked a little music at the pool area. They have a sports bar with pool tables again completely empty. Location wise it is great. It's about a 3 minute drive to the Hot Water Springs and about 15 minutes from the hanging bridges. There are a lot of Canopy and Canyoning options in the area as well. I also saw an ATV tour that seemed to be popular. Did not eat at the Hotel's restaurant so I can't comment there. However, there are planty of food options around and a quite reasonable steakhouse not to far away. Would I stay there again? Maybe.. But there are so many other lodging options to choose from around the Arenal Volcano that include breakfast and other amenities that I may go another route next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Water Springs are really close and The Arenal Volcano is just 10 minutes away, although if you're in this area you can see the Volcano any where you stand!

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Larchmont, NY
Jul 21, 2010

BAD

Upon arrival at this hotel they had no room for us. After a long and winding road trip we arrived with our 10, 8 and 4 month old to find out we had no room to stay in. Our reservation with Orbitz was confirmed!! They simply gave the room away to someone who paid more I guess? They did make arrangements for us to stay at another hotel "mountain paradise". I just advise you to go there straight away. This hotel doesn't deserve your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top