$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Hotel Magic Mountain

4 stars
View map of 41-4417 Fortuna- San Carlos, 3 Kilometres Norwest of the Catholic Church in Downtown, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
16 reviews
Hotel with a view

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal... See full review

  • Ray De Jesus
  • Feb 23, 2015
Great views

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The... See full review

  • Aterry2008
  • Jun 15, 2014
Hotel Magic Mountain is situated facing Arenal Volcano. The scenic location provides visitors with a stunning view of the giant colossus known as Arenal Volcano.

The hotel is only 5 minutes away from la Fortuna Town with its shops, restaurants and other points of interest as well as the "Hot Springs".

The hotel will always strive to make the guests Hotel Magic Mountain experience unforgettable with comfortable rooms, stunning vistas, access to numerous pools, elevators with panoramic view and excellent personal bilingual service. The Staff will do their best to make your stay a most memorable one. Hotel offers Barbecue area, Billiards, Children's facilities, Lobby and Reception.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Magic Mountain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Magic Mountain Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 King Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas,Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suites Rooms
Junior Suites Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 king Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color plama TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas, Jacuzzi/Whirlpool/Spa bath, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The great food variety that the hotel counts with allows to offer you a matchless delight of natural flavors. Choosing your favorites plates will be a "Charming Dilemma". The Expert Chefs would know how to please your taste, offering an exquisite variety of dishes and flavors.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Room of Hotel Magic Mountain is the right place to make Conferences, Commercial Presentations, Meetings of directors and all type of Company acts, that need great quality facilities. The capacity is able for 200 or more people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray De Jesus
Business
New York
Feb 23, 2015

Hotel with a view

My family and I were so amazed about the location of this hotel. We had a good view of the Arenal Volcano from our hotel balcony. Even though we arrived late to check-in, all provisions were left to the security guard so we could access our room. The restaurant manager even left his commitment at the function hall to open the kitchen for us and be served for dinner. The staff members were very consistent in accommodating all our daily needs to ensure that our vacation would be memorable and exciting. If I will go back to this part of Costa Rica, I will not have second thought of staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickwhowenttocostarica
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Great Spot, Great Value

I don't know how, but 0rbitz managed to get us a room here for about half the hotel's regular rate. The room was clean and comfortable, and the view from our balcony was absolutely stunning: it overlooked the pool, a sloping meadow with cows, and then Arenal Volcano itself. It looked like almost all the hotel's rooms have similar views. The staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was actually really good! Overall, we had a terrific trip and would definitely stay here again (or go camping/backpacking).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Desafio tours in La Fortuna are wonderful. Also, a fun place to eat there is the Lava Lounge. Cheesy in a good way. Friendly dogs, too. Watch out for the Sangria though...

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sokersurf
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Nice place to stay

We very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Magic Mountain while we were hiking the rainforests and the Arenal Volcano area. It's very close to all the attractions and was easy to find. The room was super clean and our only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortably hard and the pillows were like pancakes. We never saw the volcano while were were there because of cloud cover but I'm told by other visitors that we would see it from our balcony if it were clear. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely lovely. The quantity and variety of flowers is wonderful. I really enjoyed all the hummingbirds buzzing around. The pool looked nice but we never got in it as it rained the entire time we were there, but it is in the rainforest region so I guess you have to expect that! The staff there was very friendly and helpful. They were especially prompt whenever you requested assistance. Overall, a nice place to stay and I would recommend it to travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did an all day excursion which included Hanging Bridges (fabulous), Waterfall (very beautiful and you get to swim), Arenal Volcano (we did get to see a glimpse of the slopes but never the top) and the Thermal Springs Spa (I enjoyed this but my husband did not). The tours included lunch and dinner. The lunch was at a local diner and the food was great! The dinner was at the buffet for the hotel where the hot springs were located and the food was horrible there. Our guide was a wealth of information and the driver never made me feel nervous as I have while on other trips. Absolutely recommend this excursion which we booked through our hotel!!

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John F B
Business
Oxford, England
Mar 1, 2012

It is all about the view

The experience at the Magic Mountain is all about the view. Booked a mountain view room and was not disappointed, we were lucky that we able to glimse the whole mountain on the first day but not again until we left 3days later. The room was very comfortable and very clean, there were a lot of tour groups passing through but the swimming area was very quiet. The breakfast food was average at best but overall value for money and the location were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascaral
Business
Connecticut, USA
Mar 15, 2012

nascaral

My first time there, the staff was excellent they went out of there way to make sure everthing including our excurisions was the best experiences.This hotel is centurally located you can walk to town to enjoy some truly amazing resteraunts.Zip Lining is a must, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

my favorite was zip lining, but any excursion the helpful staff will set you up with...Rose at the front desk was the BEST.

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felix and Angie
Business
Cerritos, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Nice view of Arenal volcano

Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, the food at the free buffett was excellent, however, their should be more daily variety. The hotel was kind of far from downtown but taxis are available for $3. The front desk is not open 24 hr, so if you need to checkout you have to wait untill 6 am. Our room kind was very difficult to work with, tried several times before you can open the door. The room was nice and so with bed. The safe storage was very useful. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dont miss the water rafting and the zipline adventure.

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheValueSeeker
Business
Miami, FL
May 13, 2011

Could use a tiny bit more

I chose this property because it came up as 4 stars and I wanted to pamper my parents with a nice place. When I arrived and tried to check in, apparently my reservation came up for 2 instead of 3 people (may have been a typo on my part not sure) However, when researching rates, adding a 3rd person made the price go up by just $10 They wanted to charge me an additional $30 USD! I felt that to be a ripoff since I had already paid $106 for the room and breakfast (the price was $66 + Tax adding breakfast made the price go up an additional $30). I stood up for myself and told them that it should not be more than $10. They allowed me to check in 2 hours earlier and pay just the $10 USD. So that was cool in my book. While there at the reception desk I noticed they had a special at their Spa for 2 massages for $70!! I made reservations for that. They also gave us coupons for a welcome beverage, non alcoholic but very tropical and delicious, sort of like a creamy frozen fruit punch with a cherry on top. We got a standard room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a straight view to the Arenal Volcano. The pool was gorgeous and had a wet bar but no one attending it =( Their Spa was very nice with all the calming effects and decor a Spa should have. Very pleased with the service here. As for breakfast, I was expecting more since again the price went up significantly when I added breakfast. I would have preferred a buffet rather than the preset menu they had. Food wasn't altogether terrible, but again I would have preferred choices that would have made the price justifiable. The hotel is very quiet and I guess since its low season there weren't many people and no "hustle and bustle" activities wise. I would have liked a little music at the pool area. They have a sports bar with pool tables again completely empty. Location wise it is great. It's about a 3 minute drive to the Hot Water Springs and about 15 minutes from the hanging bridges. There are a lot of Canopy and Canyoning options in the area as well. I also saw an ATV tour that seemed to be popular. Did not eat at the Hotel's restaurant so I can't comment there. However, there are planty of food options around and a quite reasonable steakhouse not to far away. Would I stay there again? Maybe.. But there are so many other lodging options to choose from around the Arenal Volcano that include breakfast and other amenities that I may go another route next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Water Springs are really close and The Arenal Volcano is just 10 minutes away, although if you're in this area you can see the Volcano any where you stand!

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 23, 2011

Great Hotel

I love the hotel. You have a great view of the Arenal mountain on your balcony. Nice pool on the back with a swimm in bar seating. Great location close to La Fortuna without being in the city and half an hour away from Arenal Observatory. Great Receptionist that helps out on everything. The receptionists are very knowledgeable of the excursion around town. Able to help us find a tour group for rappelling on the last minute request(same day request). The complimentary breakfast and welcome drink were great. The thing I love them the most was that they were able to give me the same online price for an additional day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wareham,Ma USA
Jun 1, 2011

Hotel

The Hotel was nice and clean. Swimming pool was enjoyable,nice garden and location. comfortabls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Travelers TS
Business
Temecula, CA
Jun 12, 2011

Adventures in La Fortuna

While in La Fortuna, we rode horses, ATVs and we ziplined. The hotel is in a great location, just minutes away from the small center of town and near a supermarket. All of the rooms face the Arenal Volcano - you can't go wrong with any of the room selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top