$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Hotel Magic Mountain

4 stars
View map of 41-4417 Fortuna- San Carlos, 3 Kilometres Norwest of the Catholic Church in Downtown, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Travelers TS
Business
Temecula, CA
Jun 12, 2011

Adventures in La Fortuna

While in La Fortuna, we rode horses, ATVs and we ziplined. The hotel is in a great location, just minutes away from the small center of town and near a supermarket. All of the rooms face the Arenal Volcano - you can't go wrong with any of the room selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wareham,Ma USA
Jun 1, 2011

Hotel

The Hotel was nice and clean. Swimming pool was enjoyable,nice garden and location. comfortabls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 23, 2011

Great Hotel

I love the hotel. You have a great view of the Arenal mountain on your balcony. Nice pool on the back with a swimm in bar seating. Great location close to La Fortuna without being in the city and half an hour away from Arenal Observatory. Great Receptionist that helps out on everything. The receptionists are very knowledgeable of the excursion around town. Able to help us find a tour group for rappelling on the last minute request(same day request). The complimentary breakfast and welcome drink were great. The thing I love them the most was that they were able to give me the same online price for an additional day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheValueSeeker
Business
Miami, FL
May 13, 2011

Could use a tiny bit more

I chose this property because it came up as 4 stars and I wanted to pamper my parents with a nice place. When I arrived and tried to check in, apparently my reservation came up for 2 instead of 3 people (may have been a typo on my part not sure) However, when researching rates, adding a 3rd person made the price go up by just $10 They wanted to charge me an additional $30 USD! I felt that to be a ripoff since I had already paid $106 for the room and breakfast (the price was $66 + Tax adding breakfast made the price go up an additional $30). I stood up for myself and told them that it should not be more than $10. They allowed me to check in 2 hours earlier and pay just the $10 USD. So that was cool in my book. While there at the reception desk I noticed they had a special at their Spa for 2 massages for $70!! I made reservations for that. They also gave us coupons for a welcome beverage, non alcoholic but very tropical and delicious, sort of like a creamy frozen fruit punch with a cherry on top. We got a standard room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a straight view to the Arenal Volcano. The pool was gorgeous and had a wet bar but no one attending it =( Their Spa was very nice with all the calming effects and decor a Spa should have. Very pleased with the service here. As for breakfast, I was expecting more since again the price went up significantly when I added breakfast. I would have preferred a buffet rather than the preset menu they had. Food wasn't altogether terrible, but again I would have preferred choices that would have made the price justifiable. The hotel is very quiet and I guess since its low season there weren't many people and no "hustle and bustle" activities wise. I would have liked a little music at the pool area. They have a sports bar with pool tables again completely empty. Location wise it is great. It's about a 3 minute drive to the Hot Water Springs and about 15 minutes from the hanging bridges. There are a lot of Canopy and Canyoning options in the area as well. I also saw an ATV tour that seemed to be popular. Did not eat at the Hotel's restaurant so I can't comment there. However, there are planty of food options around and a quite reasonable steakhouse not to far away. Would I stay there again? Maybe.. But there are so many other lodging options to choose from around the Arenal Volcano that include breakfast and other amenities that I may go another route next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Water Springs are really close and The Arenal Volcano is just 10 minutes away, although if you're in this area you can see the Volcano any where you stand!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Brunswick NJ
Jan 26, 2011

Nice Place

The hotel had very nice grounds but not extensive for walking around a lot. You do see the volcano and the hotel is conveniently located. We had a car so we were able to go into La Fortuna. This is a small town with some nice shops and restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel was ok. The bar upstairs was ok, a couple of pool tables and tables and chairs. We watched the NFL finals there. The only problem was that they are constructing another part of the hotel and the hammering begins at 6:30 AM. It's not terrible but just enough for you to have to get up.We were sight seeing anyway, but this is an annoyance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In La Fortuna, there are more stores on the streets behind the park and it's safe to walk around during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking for fun
Business
Santa Cruz, CA.
Aug 7, 2010

htel magic mountain

the stay at magic mountain was very good, it had very helpful and friendly staff except for one gentlemen at the reception who had a really strong personality. the rooms were very nice and the view to the volcano was a huge plus!! we were able to see some activity while relaxing on the patio. The food at the restaurant was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

town is not too far away it is about a 10-20 minute walk (depending on how fast you normally walk) but you could take a taxi to town for a little less then 3 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Larchmont, NY
Jul 21, 2010

BAD

Upon arrival at this hotel they had no room for us. After a long and winding road trip we arrived with our 10, 8 and 4 month old to find out we had no room to stay in. Our reservation with Orbitz was confirmed!! They simply gave the room away to someone who paid more I guess? They did make arrangements for us to stay at another hotel "mountain paradise". I just advise you to go there straight away. This hotel doesn't deserve your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top