$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Hotel Magic Mountain

4 stars
41-4417 Fortuna- San Carlos, 3 Kilometres Norwest of the Catholic Church in Downtown, La Fortuna,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
15 reviews
Great views

Overall this hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and every room had a view of the volcano. The... See full review

  • Aterry2008
  • Jun 15, 2014
Nice view of Arenal volcano

Overall the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and polite, the food at the free... See full review

  • Felix and Angie
  • Aug 25, 2012
Hotel Magic Mountain is situated facing Arenal Volcano. The scenic location provides visitors with a stunning view of the giant colossus known as Arenal Volcano.

The hotel is only 5 minutes away from la Fortuna Town with its shops, restaurants and other points of interest as well as the "Hot Springs".

The hotel will always strive to make the guests Hotel Magic Mountain experience unforgettable with comfortable rooms, stunning vistas, access to numerous pools, elevators with panoramic view and excellent personal bilingual service. The Staff will do their best to make your stay a most memorable one. Hotel offers Barbecue area, Billiards, Children's facilities, Lobby and Reception.

Hotel Map

10.4682 -84.6658
Area served
La Fortuna-Arenal.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located 3 km northwest of the Catholic Church in the town of La Fortuna. The location provides you with an excellent view of Arenal Volcano, whose eruptions offer one of the most natural and extraordinary panoramas in the world.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Magic Mountain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Magic Mountain Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 King Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan,Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas,Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.
Junior Suites Rooms
Junior Suites Rooms offer Two double beds or 1 king Size bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color plama TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access in common areas, Jacuzzi/Whirlpool/Spa bath, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The great food variety that the hotel counts with allows to offer you a matchless delight of natural flavors. Choosing your favorites plates will be a "Charming Dilemma". The Expert Chefs would know how to please your taste, offering an exquisite variety of dishes and flavors.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Room of Hotel Magic Mountain is the right place to make Conferences, Commercial Presentations, Meetings of directors and all type of Company acts, that need great quality facilities. The capacity is able for 200 or more people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
May 23, 2011

Great Hotel

I love the hotel. You have a great view of the Arenal mountain on your balcony. Nice pool on the back with a swimm in bar seating. Great location close to La Fortuna without being in the city and half an hour away from Arenal Observatory. Great Receptionist that helps out on everything. The receptionists are very knowledgeable of the excursion around town. Able to help us find a tour group for rappelling on the last minute request(same day request). The complimentary breakfast and welcome drink were great. The thing I love them the most was that they were able to give me the same online price for an additional day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheValueSeeker
Miami, FL
May 13, 2011

Could use a tiny bit more

I chose this property because it came up as 4 stars and I wanted to pamper my parents with a nice place. When I arrived and tried to check in, apparently my reservation came up for 2 instead of 3 people (may have been a typo on my part not sure) However, when researching rates, adding a 3rd person made the price go up by just $10 They wanted to charge me an additional $30 USD! I felt that to be a ripoff since I had already paid $106 for the room and breakfast (the price was $66 + Tax adding breakfast made the price go up an additional $30). I stood up for myself and told them that it should not be more than $10. They allowed me to check in 2 hours earlier and pay just the $10 USD. So that was cool in my book. While there at the reception desk I noticed they had a special at their Spa for 2 massages for $70!! I made reservations for that. They also gave us coupons for a welcome beverage, non alcoholic but very tropical and delicious, sort of like a creamy frozen fruit punch with a cherry on top. We got a standard room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and a straight view to the Arenal Volcano. The pool was gorgeous and had a wet bar but no one attending it =( Their Spa was very nice with all the calming effects and decor a Spa should have. Very pleased with the service here. As for breakfast, I was expecting more since again the price went up significantly when I added breakfast. I would have preferred a buffet rather than the preset menu they had. Food wasn't altogether terrible, but again I would have preferred choices that would have made the price justifiable. The hotel is very quiet and I guess since its low season there weren't many people and no "hustle and bustle" activities wise. I would have liked a little music at the pool area. They have a sports bar with pool tables again completely empty. Location wise it is great. It's about a 3 minute drive to the Hot Water Springs and about 15 minutes from the hanging bridges. There are a lot of Canopy and Canyoning options in the area as well. I also saw an ATV tour that seemed to be popular. Did not eat at the Hotel's restaurant so I can't comment there. However, there are planty of food options around and a quite reasonable steakhouse not to far away. Would I stay there again? Maybe.. But there are so many other lodging options to choose from around the Arenal Volcano that include breakfast and other amenities that I may go another route next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hot Water Springs are really close and The Arenal Volcano is just 10 minutes away, although if you're in this area you can see the Volcano any where you stand!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Brunswick NJ
Jan 26, 2011

Nice Place

The hotel had very nice grounds but not extensive for walking around a lot. You do see the volcano and the hotel is conveniently located. We had a car so we were able to go into La Fortuna. This is a small town with some nice shops and restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel was ok. The bar upstairs was ok, a couple of pool tables and tables and chairs. We watched the NFL finals there. The only problem was that they are constructing another part of the hotel and the hammering begins at 6:30 AM. It's not terrible but just enough for you to have to get up.We were sight seeing anyway, but this is an annoyance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

In La Fortuna, there are more stores on the streets behind the park and it's safe to walk around during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking for fun
Santa Cruz, CA.
Aug 7, 2010

htel magic mountain

the stay at magic mountain was very good, it had very helpful and friendly staff except for one gentlemen at the reception who had a really strong personality. the rooms were very nice and the view to the volcano was a huge plus!! we were able to see some activity while relaxing on the patio. The food at the restaurant was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

town is not too far away it is about a 10-20 minute walk (depending on how fast you normally walk) but you could take a taxi to town for a little less then 3 dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Larchmont, NY
Jul 21, 2010

BAD

Upon arrival at this hotel they had no room for us. After a long and winding road trip we arrived with our 10, 8 and 4 month old to find out we had no room to stay in. Our reservation with Orbitz was confirmed!! They simply gave the room away to someone who paid more I guess? They did make arrangements for us to stay at another hotel "mountain paradise". I just advise you to go there straight away. This hotel doesn't deserve your business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search