$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Arenal Springs Resort

3 stars
View map of 99-4417, Off Arenal Volcano Road, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Great trip

Our entire trip was amazing and the food was AWESOME! See full review

  • Sara K.
  • May 21, 2015
Great Escape!

Great hotel. Fabulous location and spectacular view of the volcano. Staff were lovely, friendly and... See full review

  • Jane W.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town way to the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are between town and the Arenal Lake. And is a hotel near to the most popular Arenal hot springs.
The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suite with direct view to the active side of the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer two queens beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.
Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker ( free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace.
Also the hotel offers you 2 swimming pools whit HOT SPRINGS 1 for adults and 1 for kids, Both with handicapped access and Volcano View. You can enjoy a lot of kind of drinks and cocktails and the wet bar next to the pool area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arenal Springs Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$120
3.8 / 5 22 reviews
★★★★
$73
3.5 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$93
4.3 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$100
4.0 / 5 51 reviews
★★
$49
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$223
4.6 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$150
3.3 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$117
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★★
$81
3.5 / 5 22 reviews

Arenal Springs Resort Rooms

Junior Suite
This Junior suite Volcano View offers two double bed or one king bed with terrace, air conditioning, cable TV, ceiling fan, refrigerator, telephone, security box, private bathroom, hair dryer, and lush tropical gardens, Mini bar, Telephone, Tea and coffee making facilities, en suite/Private bathroom, Ceiling fan,Color TV and Refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Restaurant
TI-CAIN Restaurant with international and National Cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Arenal Springs Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cpotster
Couples
Tooele, UT, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Great Location . . . The bugs think so too

PROS: Staff is incredibly friendly. Hot springs/pool have great view of the volcano. Free drinks in room fridge. Free breakfast. CONS: Bathroom crawling with bugs, rooms in serious need of an update (imagine the look and smell of your grandma's house), beds not very comfortable, hotel layout requires a cart ride or a long walk between your room and any other location on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teri Southern Traveler
Couples
Nashville, TN
Feb 12, 2013

Arenal Springs Hotel is for old folks

The hotel might have been nice in it's day, but needs updating. This hotel is definitely geared for older people. The tour buses of old people arrive several times a week. Nothing for kids to do. The room key is required after entering the room for the electricity to come on, so the rooms get VERY hot during the day. The A/C isn't really air conditioning, as only cool air blows. The pool/hot springs are nice and look inviting, but very small for the number of rooms. The rooms are spread out which makes walking to the pools or restaurant quite a trek . Every room has a view of the volcano with lots of windows, but the sun sets on that side, which is the reason for the hot room. Food at the restaurant is fair with tourist prices. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant in La Fortuna is Don Rufino's. Prices are not cheap, but the only upper scale restaurant in La Fortuna.

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bee3
Single
Portland, OR
Jan 7, 2013

Nice place to stay

A nice place to stay but if you really want very nice hot springs, Baldi is MUCH better. The rooms at Baldi are not as nice but the hot springs are the best. There's only a few small pools at Arenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Baldi if you really like hot springs.

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Court Summer Traveler
Single
NYC
Jun 14, 2013

Good grounds, rude staff.

Good grounds because of the springs, but it is far from town. Rude unhelpful staff. Saw cockroaches in the room. Overall was expecting more from this hotel at its price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Greenhouse on grounds

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lookingtoretire
Single
pensacola,fl.
Sep 13, 2009

fantastic for relaxing w/fam, not alone

I just stayed there 1 night by myself on my way to Liberia from San Jose.It is more a couples resort or family place.Would definately stay there again with my wife/family.Not for a single.Food is OK but pricey for what you get.Staff is nice and it is very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to town (5-10 min.)for dinner

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
CT
Jul 13, 2009

La Fortuna

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
codushlaine
Friends
Boston
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice place

Very relaxing. Nice and quiet. Very polite staff. Pools were lovely and the swim up bar was a real treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryclp
Couples
Colorado
Jan 27, 2012

Spotless and friendly with perfect view

Arenal Springs was a delight! Exquisite landscaping. Generous rooms with garden-like bathrooms. The beds were comfy and had a ton of pillows. There is no charge for the beverages in the minifridge. My only regret is that I would have liked one less bed and some soft seating inside the room as we stayed for a full 8 days. The rockers on the patio were wonderful though and we sat, having a perfect view of the puffing volcano nearby. The assortment of pools at varying temperatures made soaking a joy as one could select the level of warmth. Edward at the concierge desk knows everything! Make use of him if you go there! John in the restaurant will pour your morning coffee and give you a quick and changing Spanish lesson each morning. Be careful if you fly into San Jose and need to drive to Arenal Springs. Unless you have an early morning landing, it is not possible to drive yourself to La Fortuna in the dark as the road there is winding and rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

At the swim up bar in the pool area they will make you a terrific nacho platter with black beans, veggies and cheese. It makes for a light supper for two if you have eaten heavily earlier in the day.

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCanuck
Family
Calgary, AB, Canada
Apr 13, 2012

Good Subdued Experience

I have three boys, so I did not think this was a great pick for them and their activity level. However, we found ourselves so busy sightseeing, etc, that it wasn't really a concern. I would probably recommend this hotel for adults only, or for families with older children. The staff were all wonderful and very helpful, particularly Manuel, the bartender at the lobby bar, and Miguel who works at the front desk. However, Luis at the pool bar should be avoided, as he was often surly and downright scary some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmilan
Couples
Boise, ID
Sep 20, 2012

Swim up sushi bar???

We decided to stay in the Arenal vicinity and looked into hotel options. This one came up as one with good reviews and close to most attractions we were interested in. Aside from beds that were a little too firm for our taste (and we like firm beds), the stay was amazing. Breakfast is spectacular and the hotel staff couldn't be more friendly. The sushi was tasty and we at it from the comfort of the swim up bar on the hot springs side of the pool. Every room has a fabulous view of the volcano and we saw it fuming both mornings we were there. If you like adventure, I would highly, highly, highly recommend the Balsa River Class 4 trip. It is amazing and won't be around much longer due to a hydro project. Alex was our guide and he's the best. Be prepared to pura vida! We also learned that the Tico way is to undersell and over deliver. Plan to tip accordingly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Balsa River Class 4 adventure.

Back to menu Return to top