$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Arenal Springs Resort

3 stars
View map of 99-4417, Off Arenal Volcano Road, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arenal Springs Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCanuck
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Apr 13, 2012

Good Subdued Experience

I have three boys, so I did not think this was a great pick for them and their activity level. However, we found ourselves so busy sightseeing, etc, that it wasn't really a concern. I would probably recommend this hotel for adults only, or for families with older children. The staff were all wonderful and very helpful, particularly Manuel, the bartender at the lobby bar, and Miguel who works at the front desk. However, Luis at the pool bar should be avoided, as he was often surly and downright scary some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cpotster
Business
Tooele, UT, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Great Location . . . The bugs think so too

PROS: Staff is incredibly friendly. Hot springs/pool have great view of the volcano. Free drinks in room fridge. Free breakfast. CONS: Bathroom crawling with bugs, rooms in serious need of an update (imagine the look and smell of your grandma's house), beds not very comfortable, hotel layout requires a cart ride or a long walk between your room and any other location on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
perryclp
Business
Colorado
Jan 27, 2012

Spotless and friendly with perfect view

Arenal Springs was a delight! Exquisite landscaping. Generous rooms with garden-like bathrooms. The beds were comfy and had a ton of pillows. There is no charge for the beverages in the minifridge. My only regret is that I would have liked one less bed and some soft seating inside the room as we stayed for a full 8 days. The rockers on the patio were wonderful though and we sat, having a perfect view of the puffing volcano nearby. The assortment of pools at varying temperatures made soaking a joy as one could select the level of warmth. Edward at the concierge desk knows everything! Make use of him if you go there! John in the restaurant will pour your morning coffee and give you a quick and changing Spanish lesson each morning. Be careful if you fly into San Jose and need to drive to Arenal Springs. Unless you have an early morning landing, it is not possible to drive yourself to La Fortuna in the dark as the road there is winding and rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

At the swim up bar in the pool area they will make you a terrific nacho platter with black beans, veggies and cheese. It makes for a light supper for two if you have eaten heavily earlier in the day.

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roxywaves
Business
North Hollywood, Los Ángeles, California, EEUU
Dec 5, 2011

Fantastic getaway

really enjoy staying in the hot spring arenal. it was lovely place!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
codushlaine
Business
Boston
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice place

Very relaxing. Nice and quiet. Very polite staff. Pools were lovely and the swim up bar was a real treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Getting Around
Business
Texas, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Arenal Springs Resort & Spa

From the moment you arrive when you are greeted with wet towels to refresh yourself after a long drive & a wonderful fresh fruit drink to revive yourself, you know you are in the right place. The staff is wonderful, the grounds are beautiful & the hot springs very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many tours are offered by the hotel. A bus will pick you up & the drive to most of the sites are a short distance away. Get out & enjoy yourself.

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ginitabella
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2011

wonderful view and very affordable!

We arrived to La Fortuna after a long and tiring six hour flight and 3 hour drive from San Jose. Upon arrival to the Arenal Spring Hotel we were immediately greeted by a friendly staff who brought us a very tasty pineapple drink. Because the rooms are bungalow style and a short walk from the lobby it was nice to have us and our luggage transported to our room. The three days at this hotel was exactly was we hoped for, the view was breathtaking and the price was reasonable. Having breakfast was nice, and the selection was okay. The only thing that was missing was wireless access in the bungalows. The hotel is located right outside of the town but nothing was really more then a 8-10 dollar cab ride away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although a little touristy, check out the La Choza de Laurel. The food at this restaurant is delicious!

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yauco, PR
Apr 19, 2011

Excellent Hotel

Very clean, affordable, friendly staff and great location. Very confortable beds. Our stay was so good, that we returned a two days later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums, Shopping Marts

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TamStar
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2011

We Love Arenal!

From the moment we checked in we felt right at home. The lady at the reception desk was very helpful with information about the resort and the activities in the areas. We came specifically to see the volcano and do zip lining along with horseback riding and were successful thanks to Arenal Springs. We did a last minute booking and drove from a place we were vacation at in Malpais so we were surprised that we got a pretty great rate. The rooms are side by side cabins which give you the illusion of privacy. The garden area isn't that expansive, however if you drive in, you get a personal parking spot right in front of your cabin. The bellhop helped us with our bags and gave us tons of info about our room. My favorite part aside from the vaulted ceiling was the skylight feature above the shower along with the plants in the shower that made you feel as if you were outside. We had a free daily breakfast which was the best buffet we had in all of our resort stays in Costa Rica. While my favorite is always the Gallo Pinto, my fiance was in love with the fact that he could special order eggs at the buffet. We had dinner there as well and were in love with our waiter who helped us expand our Spanish vocabulary. Mine was rusty and my fiance's was non-existent so it was nice to learn some new phrases. The rooms were great for sleeping and it seems all the cabins look out onto the volcano. It was super cloudy while we were there so we couldn't see the top, however, the relaxing atmosphere more than made up for it. We took the opportunity instead to schedule horse back riding through the volcanoes national park which we were able to do through the hotel. We weren't aware but fair warning to anyone booking horseback riding, wear long pants, no matter how hot it is, and some type of boot or high shoe. We enjoyed the entire trip but were thoroughly sore the next day. As exhausting as the horseback riding was, we couldn't help but book zip lining for the same day through the hotel. It was well worth the money and a great ride. I definitely wanted to go again, but didn't have ample time. We ended the day with a trip to the city where we had dinner at a soda and did some light souvenir shopping before heading back to the resort. The staff was helpful from the front desk to the restaurant to the bar to the bellhop to the store cashier. Getting great service was just the cherry on the top of our stay here. They do have a hot spring at the resort which we didn't have time to take part of, but for the value and experience, we would definitely stay there again just to try it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jun 26, 2010

Enjoyable, Comfortable Stay

The room was spacious, immaculate and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food in dining room very good, the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Only drawback ws the rooms are spread out on the property, so the walk to the lobby and dining areas took 5 minutes, not much...unless it is raining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the volcano tour and the hot springs; the volcano tour was very informative and the hike was a bit strenuous (we are in our 60s, but doable).

Back to menu Return to top