$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Arenal Springs Resort

3 stars
View map of 99-4417, Off Arenal Volcano Road, La Fortuna,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arenal Springs Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelvy107
Business
Victorville, CA
Mar 23, 2013

Beautiful Place

It rained the whole time we were there unfortunately, (we were there during the dry season). But we made the most of it and had a great time! The grounds are beautiful, you have your own little bungalow, two rooms are attached but you can't see your neighbors if you don't want to the way it's designed. The pool has two sides, one warm and one cold, with a swim up bar in between. And then there are a couple of Spas as well. Beautiful setting very tropical. Even though it was raining we still hung out at the bar in the warm pool with many of the other guests. I Highly Recommend this hotel. The restaurant is a little pricey, but the food is excellent for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Choza de Laurel and Lava Lounge, Both excellent food places on the main st in La Fortuna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD Jimbo
Business
Maryland
Mar 1, 2013

Very Enjoyable

After a long drive we were welcomed with graceous hospitality and a very courteous and capable staff. The room was clean and neat with a wonderful view of Arenal. Great breakfast; somewhat spotty service, but still very acceptable. All around a wonderful stay. Would seek this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teri Southern Traveler
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 12, 2013

Arenal Springs Hotel is for old folks

The hotel might have been nice in it's day, but needs updating. This hotel is definitely geared for older people. The tour buses of old people arrive several times a week. Nothing for kids to do. The room key is required after entering the room for the electricity to come on, so the rooms get VERY hot during the day. The A/C isn't really air conditioning, as only cool air blows. The pool/hot springs are nice and look inviting, but very small for the number of rooms. The rooms are spread out which makes walking to the pools or restaurant quite a trek . Every room has a view of the volcano with lots of windows, but the sun sets on that side, which is the reason for the hot room. Food at the restaurant is fair with tourist prices. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurant in La Fortuna is Don Rufino's. Prices are not cheap, but the only upper scale restaurant in La Fortuna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bee3
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 7, 2013

Nice place to stay

A nice place to stay but if you really want very nice hot springs, Baldi is MUCH better. The rooms at Baldi are not as nice but the hot springs are the best. There's only a few small pools at Arenal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Baldi if you really like hot springs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Barnsley Ozzies
Business
Barnsley South Yorkshire England
Dec 18, 2012

Perfect relaxing end to our holiday in Costa Rica

From the moment you arrive, through being shown your room, having a meal at the restaurant, having a drink at the bar, and even checking out, the staff are so friendly, helpful and efficient. My husband and I have stayed in hotels throughout the world for over 20 years and this hotel will stand out amongst the few we continue to remember despite supposedly only being a 3 star. The hot springs and outdoor jacuzzi were wonderful, we enjoyed sitting on our terrace in the rocking chairs before dinner as a unique treat. The focus is on nature with gardens, ornamental fish pond complete with turtles, flowers that attract humming birds and so on. Sushi bar also accessed at the pool swim up bar was another unique feature, excellent food to boot! There was even an aromotherapy oil burner complete with matches in the bathroom. The only complaint is that I never saw the resident toucan (just kidding) Our shower cubicle had plants too tall to allow the small wsahing line to be of much use for drying swimsuits etc but its only a really small problem. Overall I would not hesitate to stay there again and will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NGMD
Business
Odenton, MD
Nov 4, 2012

Good family resort

Little away from La Fortuna town. Good resort with nice view of Arenal Volcano. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Afrodisiac26
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 23, 2012

Great Stay

This stay was fantastic. Out of the way, but close to the town. Nice assortment of activities. On site hot spring. Great food (although overpriced in comparison to the local fare). The only thing I would change is the mattress - hard for me, but comfortable for my travel companions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at a soda in La Fortuna - will save you money for food ($25 versus $7). Also, eat at restaurants where locals frequent. Make sure to ask driver the price to La Fortuna. Should be no more than $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmilan
Business
Boise, ID
Sep 20, 2012

Swim up sushi bar???

We decided to stay in the Arenal vicinity and looked into hotel options. This one came up as one with good reviews and close to most attractions we were interested in. Aside from beds that were a little too firm for our taste (and we like firm beds), the stay was amazing. Breakfast is spectacular and the hotel staff couldn't be more friendly. The sushi was tasty and we at it from the comfort of the swim up bar on the hot springs side of the pool. Every room has a fabulous view of the volcano and we saw it fuming both mornings we were there. If you like adventure, I would highly, highly, highly recommend the Balsa River Class 4 trip. It is amazing and won't be around much longer due to a hydro project. Alex was our guide and he's the best. Be prepared to pura vida! We also learned that the Tico way is to undersell and over deliver. Plan to tip accordingly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Balsa River Class 4 adventure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pharmacy business trip
Business
Denver, CO, USA
May 21, 2012

A Wonderful Place!!

This resort is beautiful. The hotsprings are wonderful and it is a treat to sit in the springs while sipping on a drink from the swim-up bar. The food and spa treatments are pricey, but if you are looking to treat yourself at a beautiful and peaceful place, I highly recommend this resort. It would make a great place for family reunions!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arenal Springs Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCanuck
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Apr 13, 2012

Good Subdued Experience

I have three boys, so I did not think this was a great pick for them and their activity level. However, we found ourselves so busy sightseeing, etc, that it wasn't really a concern. I would probably recommend this hotel for adults only, or for families with older children. The staff were all wonderful and very helpful, particularly Manuel, the bartender at the lobby bar, and Miguel who works at the front desk. However, Luis at the pool bar should be avoided, as he was often surly and downright scary some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top