$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

4 stars
View map of 943-1000, Jaco,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
15 reviews
First visit to Costa Rica

Hotel Pumilio helped to make our first trip to Costa Rica perfect! Laura (the owner) and Adrien... See full review

  • Two Traveling Texans
  • May 2, 2014
Great hotel with even better service!

We contacted the hotel by email about a week before our stay to ask about various tours we saw on... See full review

  • Alexi87
  • Apr 18, 2014
Located just 60 minutes from San Jose in one of the most tourist developed areas of the country: only 5 minutes (3 miles) from the beaches of Herradura and Jaco. At these beaches you can enjoy easy access to more than 80 restaurants, the best supermarkets in the country, biggest variety of tours and activities offered, golf course and the marina at Los Suenos and access to both the national parks - Manuel Antonio and Carara, as well as the diverse islands and beaches of the Central Pacific. Our location, away from the noise of downtown and the dangers of being right on the beach, has a spectacular view of the dense virgin mountain that constitutes a path for the macaws and toucans and allows you to enjoy versatile vacations filled with adventure, romance, family, relaxation and rest in a private atmosphere.

The hotel offers as a main product an .exclusive and customized lodging service that is unique in the zone. With a wine glass and a basket of snacks in the room and a customized Welcome card, (these details are very liked by the guests as something unexpected upon their arrival, we do not advertise it anywhere, but we request the collaboration of the names of the people who will be in the room to be able to make the card) we will welcome the guest to our facilities.

We offer something different along the lines of luxury, the attention paid to tourist sustainability and a highly customized service with care in detail. The guests will be able to enjoy our complete typical breakfast (fruits, cereals, breads, cheese, eggS, and our typical gallo pinto) in our thatched roof rancho or in their room without schedule or additional cost and will be received with details that demonstrate our commitment to quality. Also we offer free transport to the nearby beaches and a "food concierge" to resolve lunch or dinner needs, we can also go do their supermarket shopping if they so request.

Always thinking about their greater comfort and well-being, all our 10 luxury suites have their own terrace and a kitchen totally equipped for 6 people (with refrigerator, 2 disk electric stovetop, toaster oven, microwave, coffeemaker, pots, etc.) and in addition they will not have to worry about the basic things for the use about the kitchen such as coffee, sugar, Splenda, napkins, salt, pepper, dish soap, paper towels, etc.

Our large and luxurious suites with luxury furnishings, have 2 queen beds and a sofa bed, air conditioning, LCD T.V., 100% drinkable water throughout the hotel, mini bar, safe, hairdryers, laundry service. Our services also include WiFi without any additional cost and daily housekeeping.

Enjoy our professional SPA surrounded by vegetation and bordering the river, two cozy swimming pools with a waterslide, jacuzzi jets and waterfall surrounded by two decks of natural teak with comfortable chairs to sunbathe in. This is next to our thatched roof rancho and BBQ area, all at the disposal of the clients and with all the facilities for their convenience. Also they can relax by taking a long walk or taking a rest in the hiking trail in the Private Forest Reserve that surrounds the property.

We have information and sell tours to the National Parks, beaches, canopy, surf, volcanoes, islands, fishing, snorkeling and more that are offered in the area

.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel Rooms

STANDARD SUITE
Standard Suite offers two double bed & twin bed with amenities like Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Full Kitchen, Laundry service, Microwave oven, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Toaster.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Overall score

4.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 15
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChinaNoire
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 5, 2014

Not quite the ocean and more mountain

Its a wonderful boutique hotel. its not an ocean hotel and there is no ocean view but nestled in the jungle. Its very comfortable. hot water and strong showers. nice pool area with wildlife and decent breakfast. the staff are very nice and rooms are very spacious. comfy bed. its owned by americans so has american like amenities. you wont be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

get snacks and drinks at the market down the hill. there is not a restaurant on site so if you want something to eat you will need to drive pretty far unless you have stuff on hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Traveling Texans
Business
Houston, TX
May 2, 2014

First visit to Costa Rica

Hotel Pumilio helped to make our first trip to Costa Rica perfect! Laura (the owner) and Adrien (front desk) go above & beyond to help make their guests' stay in this quaint boutique hotel a memorable one. From the personal greeting and glasses of wine awaiting us upon arrival, to the fabulous breakfast each morning, lovely pool & spa areas, and extra efforts made to book day trips for us, we felt pampered and cared for every step of the way! Although downstairs suites open to the pool, we enjoyed the privacy of the 2nd floor and took advantage of the full outdoor kitchen that is on each suite's patio. Each suite (there are only 10 total; 5 up & 5 down) sleeps five comfortably. If you want a relaxing getaway, just a short taxi ride to Jaco (courtesy of Pumilio) and the beach, this is the place for you! We are already planning a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be sure to take time to enjoy sitting out back on your patio! Beautiful view of rain forest and so very relaxing. Over morning cups of coffee, we saw scarlet macaws, a toucan, kiskadee, and multiple reptiles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexi87
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Apr 18, 2014

Great hotel with even better service!

We contacted the hotel by email about a week before our stay to ask about various tours we saw on their website. Laura the owner and Milton in the front desk immediately responded and did a lot of research to find various suppliers offering what we were looking for and arranged everything for us. We were only in Costa Rica for 3 days and wanted to do a lot so were quite picky in the times of the tours to squeeze everything in and Laura and Milton did everything to accommodate us! As for the hotel itself, the rooms were quite large and comfortable each one with it's own terrace/balcony with a kitchen overlooking the pool area and beyond that the rain forest. There are only 10 rooms, so the pool and breakfast were never crowded. We used the hotels spa service for a massage which was in it's own little cabana type room outside which was really well decorated with views and sounds of the forest just outside. The hotel also offers a "gastronomy adventure" service with menus from many Jaco restaurants that can be delivered to the hotel where they then set up our table on our balcony which we really enjoyed. The hotel is only about a 5 minute drive from the center of Jaco, far away enough to avoid the noise and crowds, but close enough to visit easily and the hotel will even cover one roundtrip taxi fare a day to Jaco. Overall everything was excellent at good value, but the service and the people were really exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexi87
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Apr 15, 2014

Great hotel!

We contacted the hotel about a week before we arrived to ask about the tours and excursions that we wanted to do while we were in Costa Rica. Laura, the owner, and Milton in the front desk responded by email immediately with suggestions and did a lot of research to find different tour operators and give us comparisons and times that the tours were being offered as we were there for only 3 days and wanted to maximize our time. Their suggestions were great and we were very happy with the tours they arranged for us. As for the hotel itself, the rooms were very clean, large and comfortable with terraces that overlooked the pool area and rainforest outside. There are only 10 rooms, so breakfast and the pool never felt crowded. Pumilio also offered delivery from a lot of the Jaco restaurants and set up our table for dinner on our terrace. We also used their spa service where we got massages outside in a beautiful room from where you could see the forest and hear its sounds. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the center of Jaco, away from the noise and commotion but close enough to easily visit either with your own car or by taxi (which the hotel will pay for one round trip by taxi into the town per day). We would definitely recommend this hotel to a family or couple looking for great service and comfort at what we thought were pretty good rates for the level of service and comparing to other hotels in the same quality level in the area. Everyone in the hotel went out of their way to satisfy us and always with a smile!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're renting a car, check with someone who knows the areas in order to calculate the driving time as it can take significantly longer than what google maps will estimate due to the condition of the roads in many parts of the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Dec 27, 2013

Perfect Quiet Get Away

My wife and I stayed 8 days in December. The jungle-like setting is perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Activities and restaurants are plentiful. Overall this was an excellent choice for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of Restaurants in within a 2 or 3 mile drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dano11
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great place to stay with a beutiful view

Excellent location with great a great staff. Always willing to help with whatever you need or advise about the local community. Lots of scenery and wildlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of great restaurants in the area,and nightlife,excellent surfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 29, 2011

Great Place to spawn your activities

The resort was indeed a great place to stay. The staff was fantastic and was ready to help as needed. Pool and patio was great as was the views. Recommend if you want to get a central place around Jaco to kick off actives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The activities can all be booked from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesse P.
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 2, 2011

Great Jungle hideaway

My wife and I stayed here for six nights and it was very relaxing. I would recommend it for anyone who is looking to get away. If you want an adventure away from the B&B [...] is more than helpful in finding the perfect thing for you. [...], by the way, is the heart and soul of El Paso de las Lapas. Very clean, well run and very peaceful. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You will need a car, or the free taxi offered by the B&B to get into Jaco. About 5km.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jan 27, 2011

Great Boutique Hotel

Hotel was great. It is a bit removed from Jaco but the hotel pays for two round trip taxis a day, including those taken late at night. I was comfortable and secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pumilio Mountain and Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karisha
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff

The pictures of the hotel don't do it justice.....The hotel is located a 5 minute drive from Jaco (a very busy town)...as you enter the property you are surrounded by beautiful mountains and lots of flowers....The pool area is very nice and the rooms are top class.....The manager [...] ..was waiting for us at the door with wine...and was available all the time to help us with any questions we had . Th e breakfast was very tasty..and always included fresh fruit and a hot option. We were very happy with the hotel..its much needed change from large, loud chain hotels...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is located away from the town area..so you really need a car to get around....My suggestion is to get a car at the airport that will save you lots of time and also money.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top