$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Hotel Mar De Luz

3 stars
Playa Jaco, Jaco, Jaco,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
8 reviews
This is THE FAMILY place to stay in Jaco

I had heard good things about Mar De Luz online and was not disappointed. The perfect place while... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 1, 2011
This is THE FAMILY place to stay in Jaco

I had heard good things about Mar De Luz online and was not disappointed. The perfect place while... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 1, 2011
Our family owned and operated three star hotel is located just 200 meters from the center of JACO BEACH in a quiet neighborhood abundant green areas with nature. We will be pleased to assist you in organizing trips over the central pacific coast or elsewhere in Costa Rica.We guarantee you a memorable stay and excellent value for your money.
International phone call and laundry are chargeable.

Hotel Mar De Luz Rooms

Standard
The bedding option for this room includes 2 queen beds with A/C, tub or shower, security box, kitchenette and hot water service.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Mar De Luz also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.6277 -84.6305
Area served
Jaco.
Nearby airports
150 km Juan Santa Maria Airport.
Area description
Jaco is the ideal place to start a tour, indeed we are located 1 hour from Manuel Antonio National Park and 20 minutes from Carara National Park. Crocodile safari, Canopy, Volcano Arenal are other spots to visit. We help you to organize your tours and work with the best tour operators in the area.If you would like some surf lessons, spanish lessons, to rent a car or a bike, we are delighted to help you.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Mar De Luz

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Keene, NH USA
Jul 1, 2011

This is THE FAMILY place to stay in Jaco

I had heard good things about Mar De Luz online and was not disappointed. The perfect place while traveling with my teen daughter...super friendly and upbeat staff, comfy room with AC, a couple of swimming pools, and a real nice common room where my daughter and I enjoyed evening games of Foos Ball. Breakfast was included and was terrific: Big plate of fresh fruit (papaya, pineapple, melon, mango, etc) and eggs, rice and beans, toast...whatever you like...and nice staff to help out. The front desk also set us up with a great side trip to Los Suenos to Zipline through the rainforest. To top it off, when the owner heard we were heading to San Jose after checkin out...he even gave us a ride right to our hotel in the center of the city (about a 3 hour drive). Jaco is an edgy place..sort of the Miami of Costa Rica (but much smaller) lots of shops, great waves for surfing or boogie boarding, and some good reasonably priced eats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Los Suenos for Ziplining (and Tsunami Sushi if you're up for a special eating treat).

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dejasaba
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Home away from home

This hotel surpassed my expectations when I first arrived in Costa Rica. From outside it doesn't appear to offer much but once you enter it's a private paradise. The rooms were very spacious and offered all the amentities a traveler might need including a microwave, fridge, eating utencils, a/c, and computer use and internet access. I would only adivse to bring your own soaps and shampoos. The breakfast served was delicious, you can opt for a traditional costa rician meal or you can order eggs, potatoes, etc. The staff was attentive to your every need, they went beyond my expectation when advising on transporation from one city to the next and taking care of all our future reservations. The hotel is a short walk from town and the beach so no need to stay at a huge resort to get a relaxing beach experience. Beautiful flowers and pools on premises. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on traveling around Costa Rica I advise taking the Grayline--they are a shuttle service that can take you to all the popular desinations in CR for $30-40 per person. This is especiall useful if you need to go a long distances and that taxi fare runs up to $180 as it does to go from Jaco to La Fortuna.

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Keene, NH USA
Jul 1, 2011

This is THE FAMILY place to stay in Jaco

I had heard good things about Mar De Luz online and was not disappointed. The perfect place while traveling with my teen daughter...super friendly and upbeat staff, comfy room with AC, a couple of swimming pools, and a real nice common room where my daughter and I enjoyed evening games of Foos Ball. Breakfast was included and was terrific: Big plate of fresh fruit (papaya, pineapple, melon, mango, etc) and eggs, rice and beans, toast...whatever you like...and nice staff to help out. The front desk also set us up with a great side trip to Los Suenos to Zipline through the rainforest. To top it off, when the owner heard we were heading to San Jose after checkin out...he even gave us a ride right to our hotel in the center of the city (about a 3 hour drive). Jaco is an edgy place..sort of the Miami of Costa Rica (but much smaller) lots of shops, great waves for surfing or boogie boarding, and some good reasonably priced eats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Los Suenos for Ziplining (and Tsunami Sushi if you're up for a special eating treat).

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dejasaba
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Home away from home

This hotel surpassed my expectations when I first arrived in Costa Rica. From outside it doesn't appear to offer much but once you enter it's a private paradise. The rooms were very spacious and offered all the amentities a traveler might need including a microwave, fridge, eating utencils, a/c, and computer use and internet access. I would only adivse to bring your own soaps and shampoos. The breakfast served was delicious, you can opt for a traditional costa rician meal or you can order eggs, potatoes, etc. The staff was attentive to your every need, they went beyond my expectation when advising on transporation from one city to the next and taking care of all our future reservations. The hotel is a short walk from town and the beach so no need to stay at a huge resort to get a relaxing beach experience. Beautiful flowers and pools on premises. I would love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on traveling around Costa Rica I advise taking the Grayline--they are a shuttle service that can take you to all the popular desinations in CR for $30-40 per person. This is especiall useful if you need to go a long distances and that taxi fare runs up to $180 as it does to go from Jaco to La Fortuna.

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gringuito
Raleigh, NC, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Good Location and Adequate Accomodations.

It had a good location in Jaco Beach. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. It is a good family oriented hotel for families traveling on a budget. Due to some hotel policies, this may not be a good hotel for a single male traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a short walk to all major night life venues on Jaco Beach.

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rich from Edmeston
Upstate NY
Mar 5, 2012

Buyer Beware

I would not take a family or girlfriend to this place. I was on my own for one night before the rest of my group showed up. So it was OK for me, for a night. Room and bed are low grade but acceptable for one night. Price should not be $100. There are two pools but it was like there was a latin family reunion or wedding - or something. The small pools were very crowded with kids and adults alike. As soon as I was checking in, after a long flight in from Upstate NY, a newly wed couple were at the front desk demanding their money back due to the condition (ants) and smell in their room. The guy was very ahtletic looking and VERY upset. The managers excuse, "your in the tropics...". I had no choice but to get some sleep and leave in the morning. Short walk to the main road. Stay there only in a pinch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was actually pretty good.

Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amands
los angeles ca
Aug 17, 2012

disgusting!!!!

Bugs lizards in the shower mold everywhere old dirty bed sheets and ants everywhere in the room. They wouldn't refund us our money so we told them just to keep it and left! You couldn't pay me to sleep there! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Mar De Luz

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ARJC
New York, NY, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Wouldn't stay there again...

The hotel is in a great location, block away from the main street. It has a nice pool and friendly staff. However, our room had a funky smell, it was almost unbearable to stay in. We opened all the windows, turned on the AC and the overhead fan. We were there for 2 days and couldn't shake the smell. We also didn't find it to be particularly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top