$397 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
61 reviews
Birthday Vacation

I really enjoyed the riu palace. The hotel was beautiful. The only thing I wish I could change was... See full review

  • Joshanna B.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Amazing vacation!!

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The food was really good and the entertainment was great.... See full review

  • Jennifer G.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Beachfront resort for Costa Rica vacations and holidays
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Things to do
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 61
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling Gurl
Business
Toronto, Canada
Nov 22, 2014

Would not stay here again

On the first night I came in there was leftover food in the nightstand drawer from the previous guest. I asked the hotel to clean and they said they would send someone. No one came for hours. When I called again, they advised me that I should clean the drawer myself. I emailed Riu headquarters as well and no one has gotten back to me. Floors were sticky. Showers were moldy and cold - I froze everytime even though it was at the hottest point on the dial. Sinks were dirty. Pillows had stains. Food service staff were nice but serving tang mixed drinks as orange juice doesn't quite work. Drinks themselves were weak. Got bitten by a cockroach the size of my thumb in the stairwell one night. For the price you pay to stay at this resort it certainly isn't worth it in my opinion. I've paid for much better elsewhere. Entertainment is awful unless you enjoy cheesy uncoordinated performances. It was hard to watch. Only saving part was the view was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward Baby
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Amazing

This hotel is awesome! The food is great, really impressive for an all inclusive joint. There are lots of bars and restaurants within the resort. The room was beautiful and comes stocked with refridgerated drinks and booze in the room which is part of the all inclusive. The resort has amazing pools and is right on the beach if you're more into the ocean. I'll definitely be back. If you go, be sure to take a short stroll down the beach to see the wild monkey's near the monkey bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the wild monkeys near the monkey bar down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globe Trotter MEL
Business
NYC
Jul 29, 2014

Excellent stay! Great atmosphere, loved it!

Overall great experience! Staff was very polite and attentive. HIGHLY recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solotravelchica
Business
Georgia
Jul 20, 2013

Good not Great

Overall I am satisfied with the hotel and the location for the value. The room was not cleaned thoroughly even after leaving a tip daily. The food was ok and served its purpose. I would return but there are other places to explore and experience .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traci and Kari
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Apr 21, 2013

Girls trip

Great hotel for the price! Food was good and staff was very friendly. The only 2 complaints that I have is that they need bathrooms closer to the swim up bar and some of the front desk staff did not speak very good English and did not know certain information about the hotel. Overall it was a great hotel and Costa Rica is a great place to vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Choose Jacamar when booking any excursions outside the hotel! Tour guides were excellent and the tours were very small and personalized!!! We did Buena Vista, day trip to Nicaragua and the Arenal Volcano/hot springs tour! All 3 were great and would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin Toohey
Business
Salvo, NC
Mar 13, 2013

“Fantastic vacation”

I have traveled extensively all over the world for the past 20 years and this hotel hands-down is one of the nicest and most beautiful. Loved this hote!l Staff went above and beyond to help with all my needs. The hotel was extremely clean! Everyone was very friendly. Just a short walk to the beach, the pool was a blast with a swim up bar and activities.The supervisor at the bar was Edwin, who was very professional, and always happy to see me. Luis, one of the bartenders was the same way. There was always something… to do if you wanted activities or plenty of chairs to read or nap by the pool. Be sure to get massage on the beach! . Will definitely go back! This is a beautiful place. Be sure to look for the monkeys!! You can see them in the trees right next to the grounds. The food at the buffet was good. They also have Japanese rest, steak house and Italian. I personally like the buffet best. There's something for everyone. Everyone was truly nice and welcoming, made me feel as if I was home. I would go back again. Great for all ages... The hotel was great, from the staff to the people who were visiting. I went alone for seven days and never felt as if I was alone. Everyone was truly nice and welcoming, made me feel as if I was home. I would go back again. Great for all ages...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top