$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
41 reviews
Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this... See full review

  • Mrs. Jimenez
  • Jun 24, 2014
Awesome people and place!

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 wedding anniversary. This place and people who worked there... See full review

  • Fd1jackson
  • Jun 12, 2014
This new hotel, fully prepared to provide the best service to its customers, has four swimming pools (one with a wet bar), Jacuzzi, Gym, Sauna and a Wellness Center "Renova Spa" with different treatments and massages, you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.

Being on a privileged environment, the hotel offers a variety of activities on the beautiful beaches such as diving or fishing in the Pacific waters, Eco tourism in the volcanic areas and during the day several programs of entertainment for all ages, whether in family or friends.

All Inclusive 24 hours

All Meals and Snacks
* Full American Breakfast Buffet, on the Spot Cooking Stations, Fruits, Juices and Cava.
*Continental Breakfast /Snack.
Lunch
*Hot and Cold Buffet and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
*Pizzas, Pasta, Salads and Assorted Desserts.
Dinner (Arenal main restaurant) :
*Buffets and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
* Special Evenings: Theme Buffet (Twice at week).
Optional dining (reservations required in advance):
Krystal - Fusion restaurant |Tokio - Japanese restaurant
Anfora - Italian restaurant |Papagayo - Grill and steakhouse

Formal dress is required for dinner
Snacks 24 hours a day
Beverages :
*Unlimited local and imported beverages served 24 hours a day.
*Drinks service at the pool.
*Regularly restocked mini-bar and liquor dispenser.

Room service 24 hours a day.

Sports and activities:
Gym|Workout and Beach Volleyball|Tennis Court |Floodlit Hard Surface Tennis Court ( 300 m )|Steam Bath and Jacuzzi |Windsurfing|Sailing| Pedaloes| Kayaking and Snorkeling Equipment|One Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson in the Pool.

Entertainment:
Daytime Entertainment Programme for Adults (Daily)| Daytime Entertainment Programme for Children Ages 4 to 12 (Daily)| Live Music| Shows or Riu Evening Programme (Daily)| Pacha Night Club (Open 6 Nights a Week )| Complimentary Entrance to the Night Club and the Casino ( Drinks Not Included).

Other sports and facilities nearby (additional charge):
*Assorted water sports available.
*Golf course (65 Km).
*Horse riding.

All hotel guests are required to wear an "all inclusive" wristband for identification purposes.

The hotel also offers :
*Children's facilities.
*Lobby and Reception.

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5242 -85.7505
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport (LIR) 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
The recent 5-star resort, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, is located in Guanacaste, Costa Rica at the edge of the beach of Matapalo. Guanacaste is less tropical, humid and lush than the rest of the country. Its plains and dry forests sometimes remind African savanna landscapes. Inland you can see the savanna, local cowboys on their horses while driving their flocks, which are authentic figures of popular culture of this destination.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jimenez
West Liberty, Iowa
Jun 24, 2014

Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this review to be of good use to those that are reading it and help you out. I read so many reviews before going to this resort. My husband and I went from June 7th to the 14th. The time couldn’t have been better! Each day was sunny, accept one afternoon that it rained for about 20 min or so. We stayed in room 3015. This room was located facing the Riu Guanacaste resort. The Room size was perfect and in a good location. This is a large resort however by the second day you will know your way around pretty good. The food was good. I would say it was better than other all-inclusive resorts that we have stayed at but it wasn’t excellent. I’m not a picky eater at all. We used LAR transports that is located right outside the resort. They were waiting for us at the airport and we made arrangements to return with the same company on our way back home. They charge $50 for 2 people one way. They also have transportation to other areas like Coco Beach. We went to Coco Beach for about 1 ½ hours. Make sure you that you get your gifts for family and friends there. It’s so much cheaper than the resort. We did an excursion using the people at the resort. This one was to go to Congo trail and do zipline and ATVB riding in the mountains this is about 10 min ride from the resort. We paid $180 total for 2 people. The ATV part was the best. The same day we purchased that excursion was so travel agents in the lobby that we hadn’t seen before. We booked a mega combo tour with swiss travel in the lobby. This was worth every single penny. They picked us up at 7:30 am and got back to the hotel around 5:30 or so. This tour includes zipline, sliding down Costa Rica’s ¼ mile long water slide build into the mountains, horseback riding and the hot springs. They provide you with snacks and a lunch buffet. The spa at the resort was pricy. We ended up doing a couples massage on the beach where locals have tents set up. It was $65 for an hour. They did a great job and were very professional. We met other couples at the resort and recommended that they go there and they enjoyed it as well. At the desk outside the resort is where LAR transports is set up. I would recommended that you pay for your taxes there and not at the airport. It’s $32 per person. The line at the airport was really long and we are glad that we paid it at the resort. The nightly shows were ok. The comedy show was the best. All the other shows were average. The live band was great! We walked over to the Riu Guanacaste sister resort next door. The people that are staying at the Riu Palace can go next door but the people from the Riu Guanacaste can’t come to the Palace. The pool area was really packed full of people. The resort seemed more busier than the palace. We made a good choice staying at the Palace. It was quieter and less crowded. There was always an area to fine a lounge chair so you don’t need to get up early or anything. They have 5 pools and none of them were ever crowded. Over all this is the best vacation that I have been on. I think about it every day since I have been back and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribbean guy 27
Lancaster, PA
Jun 22, 2014

RIU Palace

I have stayed at about 8 different Riu's. (Yet this is the first Palace#. The amenities where average for the typical Riu. I have not stayed in a Palace before, yet I also visit them just to check them out. There was nothing special compared to the other #regular Riu's# I have stayed in the past. The location is far from most attractions. There are other hotels closer to main activities. Guanacaste understands that because of there black sand #Due too volcanic activity, don't worry no active volcanos in the area) the beach is not their main attraction. That being said if want to go to Costa Rica and not just drink at the pool, just know that this location is at a minimum of 30 Mins away from any entertainment location. Room comfort was superb. Day to day cleanliness could have elevate a bit. I mentioned that I have been to 8 Riu's. By far this was the most friendly, attentive, and beyond ones needs. If you need a reason to tip the scale it makes the decision of coming here or not; the staff is well worth it. If nature is what you look for Guanacaste is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

About a 30 Min drive from the hotel. Playa del Coco has cheap gifts for your loved ones, good reasonably priced food, and a local vibe.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd1jackson
Kansas
Jun 12, 2014

Awesome people and place!

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 wedding anniversary. This place and people who worked there really made our vacation top notch. There was so much to enjoy, the rooms were nice, the grounds well kept, the beach was awesome. We really enjoyed the buffet, but we did also try Krystal and Tokyo. Good food at all places if you like to try new things. The BBQ by the pool was very good to. We booked a day trip with GeckoTico, the green polo shirt guy on the beach. Our guide, Alex was great. We also fished with Fishing Adventures CR. Great fishing and we took our catch back to the kitchen and they made us a great dinner. The bars were great and made awesome drinks. I found $1-$5 tips to be gratefully accepted by all the staff. They worked really hard to keep us happy and deserved every penny. This place will not let you down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book with GeckoTico on the beach!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peden
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2014

Vacation Husband and Wife

Problem: Pool closes at 6pm, and I mean totally shut down. The pool is cleaned at 8pm, that means no one in pool after that. Hotel is long way from town. Location to pool and entrance are not convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Demarcopolo
Atlanta, ga
Jun 2, 2014

Great location!

The ability to go to both locations next door to one another was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO all inclusive.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenssondamon
Red Deer, Alberta
May 22, 2014

Awesome staff who really care

It was the people who worked at the hotel who made this vacation an awesome experience. Gina Moro in the main restaurant was unbelievable and one of a kind a very special person. The hotel is very modern and new the food in the speciality restaurants needs work especially the Japanese it was terrible. The hotel pools and beach are nice but the hotel is a little remote and we really did not like the hotel allowing the local people to use the hotel on the weekend at a discounted price I felt we were subsidizing their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Frank with a walking stick on the beach!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke Rhino
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2014

I guess if you are a "cruise ship" kind of person

Nice folks. Hotel is decent. Food sucks in my opinion. Typical below average buffet food. The drinks are all made with cheap liquor and taste extremely watered down and the beer might as well be water. TH night life was boring. Casino is smaller than my living room. The shows are very simple. Think "cruise ship".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori from NYC
New York, NY
Apr 27, 2014

Great experience for a young couple

The pros: A beautiful resort with a great staff who was very friendly and helpful.The food was incredible (the breakfast buffet was out of this world!) and the service was always speedy. The variety of excursions was nice (extra costs usually between $80 - $190 per person depending on what activities you want to do - zip lining, hiking, horseback riding, hot springs, etc.): the different companies set up in the lobby and have books and lists of their offered excursions and what days they're offered on. You can haggle the price down. The cons: The souvenir shops on the grounds were extremely expensive and there is no way to get off the resort without a car rental or on an excursion. On the resort a stamp should have been one dollar but the store charged two (American) each, just because he could. A bottle of SPF 30 was $37, flip flops were $23, and (cheap flimsy) sunglasses were close to $40. Avoid buying souvenirs on the resort if possible! Also, if you use the Riu airport shuttle to and from the airport it's an additional $25 per person you need to arrange it before hand. In general: The area of Guanacaste is very dry and not at all a reflection of the "rainforest environment" Costa Rica is known for. The rainforest is over 3 hours away, so don't expect much "green space" other than the grass and a small section of trees on the resort grounds (the surrounding neighborhoods are all part of the Dry Forest and during the dry season the plants don't have leaves on them). If you are looking for the green space, the areas around Arenal and Monteverde are great alternatives. As guests of the Riu Palace we were able to walk over to the Riu Guanacaste, and we enjoyed their pool a LOT. Beautiful amenities, more pool bar space/seats, it's more visually in line with my idea of a tropical destination - and it felt like you were in Costa Rica. The Palace is much more modern looking with bold color palates (the rooms are all pink and purple in the Palace, and the lobby and restaurants looks more modern) and there are a lot less tress/foliage at the Palace, while the Guanacaste reflects more of the typical tropical architecture. There is a lot more vegetation on the Guanacaste as well. We definitely would have enjoyed staying at either the Palace or the Guanacaste - but it's nice to have the option to go back and forth between the two. The Palace was definitely quieter and more peaceful, but the Guanacaste had a lot more life throughout the day and evening. And one more side note: when leaving the country from the Liberia airport plan to pay twenty-nine dollars per person in an exit tax. No one had mentioned that to us before, even though I thought "all taxes and fees" were paid for in the package, but the Costa Rican taxes apparently were not included in that cost. Otherwise, it was a great all inclusive resort that had absolutely everything a couple could need to enjoy a relaxing vacation in Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book more than one tour with the same company and they'll take more money off the initial price.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anniversary vac
Chicago
Apr 4, 2014

Relaxing vac!

Great food! Great service! Only issue I had was that they did not allow us to use our RIU member points for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
riurocks
costa rica
Feb 26, 2014

relaxing

great hotel, not overly crowded. very relaxing. Close to airport. Staff very friendly. Very clean hotel. Food was wonderful. Beach was clean and big. Weather couldnt have been better. Several different pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top