$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
41 reviews
Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this... See full review

  • Mrs. Jimenez
  • Jun 24, 2014
Awesome people and place!

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 wedding anniversary. This place and people who worked there... See full review

  • Fd1jackson
  • Jun 12, 2014
This new hotel, fully prepared to provide the best service to its customers, has four swimming pools (one with a wet bar), Jacuzzi, Gym, Sauna and a Wellness Center "Renova Spa" with different treatments and massages, you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.

Being on a privileged environment, the hotel offers a variety of activities on the beautiful beaches such as diving or fishing in the Pacific waters, Eco tourism in the volcanic areas and during the day several programs of entertainment for all ages, whether in family or friends.

All Inclusive 24 hours

All Meals and Snacks
* Full American Breakfast Buffet, on the Spot Cooking Stations, Fruits, Juices and Cava.
*Continental Breakfast /Snack.
Lunch
*Hot and Cold Buffet and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
*Pizzas, Pasta, Salads and Assorted Desserts.
Dinner (Arenal main restaurant) :
*Buffets and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
* Special Evenings: Theme Buffet (Twice at week).
Optional dining (reservations required in advance):
Krystal - Fusion restaurant |Tokio - Japanese restaurant
Anfora - Italian restaurant |Papagayo - Grill and steakhouse

Formal dress is required for dinner
Snacks 24 hours a day
Beverages :
*Unlimited local and imported beverages served 24 hours a day.
*Drinks service at the pool.
*Regularly restocked mini-bar and liquor dispenser.

Room service 24 hours a day.

Sports and activities:
Gym|Workout and Beach Volleyball|Tennis Court |Floodlit Hard Surface Tennis Court ( 300 m )|Steam Bath and Jacuzzi |Windsurfing|Sailing| Pedaloes| Kayaking and Snorkeling Equipment|One Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson in the Pool.

Entertainment:
Daytime Entertainment Programme for Adults (Daily)| Daytime Entertainment Programme for Children Ages 4 to 12 (Daily)| Live Music| Shows or Riu Evening Programme (Daily)| Pacha Night Club (Open 6 Nights a Week )| Complimentary Entrance to the Night Club and the Casino ( Drinks Not Included).

Other sports and facilities nearby (additional charge):
*Assorted water sports available.
*Golf course (65 Km).
*Horse riding.

All hotel guests are required to wear an "all inclusive" wristband for identification purposes.

The hotel also offers :
*Children's facilities.
*Lobby and Reception.

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5242 -85.7505
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport (LIR) 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
The recent 5-star resort, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, is located in Guanacaste, Costa Rica at the edge of the beach of Matapalo. Guanacaste is less tropical, humid and lush than the rest of the country. Its plains and dry forests sometimes remind African savanna landscapes. Inland you can see the savanna, local cowboys on their horses while driving their flocks, which are authentic figures of popular culture of this destination.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke Rhino
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2014

I guess if you are a "cruise ship" kind of person

Nice folks. Hotel is decent. Food sucks in my opinion. Typical below average buffet food. The drinks are all made with cheap liquor and taste extremely watered down and the beer might as well be water. TH night life was boring. Casino is smaller than my living room. The shows are very simple. Think "cruise ship".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed with trip
New Jersey
Aug 6, 2013

Interesting Trip

It was an overall good experience. The one thing that annoyed me was the restocking of supplies in the room. We received coffee for our coffee pot the first day and it was never restocked until day no. 5. The same went for the body moisturizer. I complained but it did little good. We also never got clean glasses which was disgusting. We stayed at the RIU in Paradise Island and had a much better experience. The beach at this hotel needs a lot of work. What's with the bathtub in the middle of the room? I never saw such a ridiculous design. Also, the restaurants need to be made larger to accommodate the number of people. Waiting an hour for a table is unnecessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the RIU Guancoste right next door. It is much cheaper and much nicer.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PeteNDeb
New York
Jan 22, 2013

40th birthday celebration

Had to wait in line every morning at 9am to book restaurant for the next day(not even the same day) . Wich really annoyed me and most people off! Food, not the best but edible. Alcohol beverages not so great. No top shelf like they claimed and if you were drinking a frozen drinks they were virgin unless you told them to put the booze in! Wait staff were amazing and personable. Rooms were cleaned and beds made and decorated everyday. Grounds were kept very clean. They were constantly cleaning wich is a plus in my book! Price was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book attractions from the locals at the beach. Cheaper and small groups! v

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solotravelchica
Georgia
Jul 20, 2013

Good not Great

Overall I am satisfied with the hotel and the location for the value. The room was not cleaned thoroughly even after leaving a tip daily. The food was ok and served its purpose. I would return but there are other places to explore and experience .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADF 225
New York
Feb 17, 2014

Great place

All around a great experience. A beautiful hotel with a first rate staff in ever area - waiters, bartenders, hospitality people, and staff from the tour companies that set up shop in the hotel lobby included. Roughly a 40 minute cab ride to/from the Liberia airport, so transportation is really easy. I was expecting bland and ordinary food - the norm of what I'd expect at an all inclusive place - but was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was, both in the restaurants and at the lunchtime poolside BBQs. Don't bother with the restaurants that require reservations - the food at the buffet (which does not require reservations) is great and you can come and go as you please. My ONLY knock on the hotel is the full size beds in the room. Would have preferred at least a queen size bed. My wife and I ended up sleeping on separate beds most nights because its a little uncomfortable sleeping two adults on a full, but that was ultimately just a minor complaint. Given how awesome Costa Rica is generally, and how easy it is to travel there, this place is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're going to Costa Rica, take advantage of the excursions available - zip lining, ATV riding, rain forest tours, horseback riding, water sports, whatever. Going there and just sitting by the pool the entire time - while beautiful and a lot of fun - would be a waste. Babysitting is available at the hotel for people traveling with kids. Also, don't worry about having any currency on you except for US dollars. Everyone there accepts (and wants) US dollars. Credit cards can be used most places. But where you need to use cash - including for tipping people, taxis and shops that don't take credit cards - USD is the way to go.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bremdds
Garden City, NY
Mar 1, 2014

RIU palace

Such a nice hotel. Staff was wonderful. I agree with other reviews that the pool area and grounds could use some more vegetation and shade. But we were happy to stay in a quieter less congested hotel than the RIU Guanacaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PABOO AND GIGI
STATEN ISLAND, NY 10308
Dec 19, 2013

GREAT VACATION AT THE RIU PALACE COSTA RICA

RIU IS A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. WE HAD AWESOME TIME. THE STAFF WAS EXCELENT. THE FOOD WAS GOOD. ENTERTAMENT WAS GREAT. IT DOSEN'T GET MUCH BETTER ! MY ONLY DISAPOINTMENT WAS THE QUALITY OF THE LIQUOR AWFUL. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO A FRIEND.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

RENT A CAR. TOURS & TAXI VERY EXPENSIVE.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calgarynik
Calgary, AB
Apr 25, 2013

Beautiful Resort!

We stayed at the Riu Palace with 2 other couples in April 2013. The resort itself is very beautiful, lots of space, lots of room at the pool and we never had to get up super early to reserve loungers. The pool(s) are very large and they had a decent mix of people and things to do. If you are there on a Saturday, be sure to go down and have the BBQ lunch by the pool, it was excellent! The food was decent, there was nothing overly special about any of the "specialty" restaurants though. The buffets were standard, but the quality of the food was higher than other all-inclusives I've been too (ask for milk with your morning coffee or tea and they serve it to you warm!). I wish that they served more "costa-rican" style food though. The rooms were very nice, clean and very modern. A little too modern for a hotel I think, but still overall nice, my only complaint is that toiletries weren't regularly filled and we had to ask for a couple of things a few times. Hotel staff was excellent no complaints. Skip the tour guides through the hotel and go down to the beach to find Cesar or Ariel and book with Costa Rica Best Trips. We had Alex as our tour guide, and had a private bus for 6 of us. It was spectacular, Alex truly made our excursions top notch with his knowledge of the area and of Costa Rica in general. He loves taking photographs, and with a friends dSLR, he went out of his way to take amazing shots of us as we were doing different things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on the beach to book your tours - Costa Rica Best Trips for the win!!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traci and Kari
Montgomery, Texas
Apr 21, 2013

Girls trip

Great hotel for the price! Food was good and staff was very friendly. The only 2 complaints that I have is that they need bathrooms closer to the swim up bar and some of the front desk staff did not speak very good English and did not know certain information about the hotel. Overall it was a great hotel and Costa Rica is a great place to vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Choose Jacamar when booking any excursions outside the hotel! Tour guides were excellent and the tours were very small and personalized!!! We did Buena Vista, day trip to Nicaragua and the Arenal Volcano/hot springs tour! All 3 were great and would highly recommend!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenssondamon
Red Deer, Alberta
May 22, 2014

Awesome staff who really care

It was the people who worked at the hotel who made this vacation an awesome experience. Gina Moro in the main restaurant was unbelievable and one of a kind a very special person. The hotel is very modern and new the food in the speciality restaurants needs work especially the Japanese it was terrible. The hotel pools and beach are nice but the hotel is a little remote and we really did not like the hotel allowing the local people to use the hotel on the weekend at a discounted price I felt we were subsidizing their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Frank with a walking stick on the beach!

Back to menu Return to top