$268 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
46 reviews
Excellent Resort For The Price

This is a beautiful hotel for the price. You cannot find a better value anywhere else. The staff is... See full review

  • Matty P
  • Aug 8, 2014
Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this... See full review

  • Mrs. Jimenez
  • Jun 24, 2014
This new hotel, fully prepared to provide the best service to its customers, has four swimming pools (one with a wet bar), Jacuzzi, Gym, Sauna and a Wellness Center "Renova Spa" with different treatments and massages, you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.

Being on a privileged environment, the hotel offers a variety of activities on the beautiful beaches such as diving or fishing in the Pacific waters, Eco tourism in the volcanic areas and during the day several programs of entertainment for all ages, whether in family or friends.

All Inclusive 24 hours

All Meals and Snacks
* Full American Breakfast Buffet, on the Spot Cooking Stations, Fruits, Juices and Cava.
*Continental Breakfast /Snack.
Lunch
*Hot and Cold Buffet and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
*Pizzas, Pasta, Salads and Assorted Desserts.
Dinner (Arenal main restaurant) :
*Buffets and on the Spot Cooking Stations.
* Special Evenings: Theme Buffet (Twice at week).
Optional dining (reservations required in advance):
Krystal - Fusion restaurant |Tokio - Japanese restaurant
Anfora - Italian restaurant |Papagayo - Grill and steakhouse

Formal dress is required for dinner
Snacks 24 hours a day
Beverages :
*Unlimited local and imported beverages served 24 hours a day.
*Drinks service at the pool.
*Regularly restocked mini-bar and liquor dispenser.

Room service 24 hours a day.

Sports and activities:
Gym|Workout and Beach Volleyball|Tennis Court |Floodlit Hard Surface Tennis Court ( 300 m )|Steam Bath and Jacuzzi |Windsurfing|Sailing| Pedaloes| Kayaking and Snorkeling Equipment|One Introductory Scuba Diving Lesson in the Pool.

Entertainment:
Daytime Entertainment Programme for Adults (Daily)| Daytime Entertainment Programme for Children Ages 4 to 12 (Daily)| Live Music| Shows or Riu Evening Programme (Daily)| Pacha Night Club (Open 6 Nights a Week )| Complimentary Entrance to the Night Club and the Casino ( Drinks Not Included).

Other sports and facilities nearby (additional charge):
*Assorted water sports available.
*Golf course (65 Km).
*Horse riding.

All hotel guests are required to wear an "all inclusive" wristband for identification purposes.

The hotel also offers :
*Children's facilities.
*Lobby and Reception.

Hotel Map

10.5242 -85.7505
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport (LIR) 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
The recent 5-star resort, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, is located in Guanacaste, Costa Rica at the edge of the beach of Matapalo. Guanacaste is less tropical, humid and lush than the rest of the country. Its plains and dry forests sometimes remind African savanna landscapes. Inland you can see the savanna, local cowboys on their horses while driving their flocks, which are authentic figures of popular culture of this destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anniversary vac
Chicago
Apr 4, 2014

Relaxing vac!

Great food! Great service! Only issue I had was that they did not allow us to use our RIU member points for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori from NYC
New York, NY
Apr 27, 2014

Great experience for a young couple

The pros: A beautiful resort with a great staff who was very friendly and helpful.The food was incredible (the breakfast buffet was out of this world!) and the service was always speedy. The variety of excursions was nice (extra costs usually between $80 - $190 per person depending on what activities you want to do - zip lining, hiking, horseback riding, hot springs, etc.): the different companies set up in the lobby and have books and lists of their offered excursions and what days they're offered on. You can haggle the price down. The cons: The souvenir shops on the grounds were extremely expensive and there is no way to get off the resort without a car rental or on an excursion. On the resort a stamp should have been one dollar but the store charged two (American) each, just because he could. A bottle of SPF 30 was $37, flip flops were $23, and (cheap flimsy) sunglasses were close to $40. Avoid buying souvenirs on the resort if possible! Also, if you use the Riu airport shuttle to and from the airport it's an additional $25 per person you need to arrange it before hand. In general: The area of Guanacaste is very dry and not at all a reflection of the "rainforest environment" Costa Rica is known for. The rainforest is over 3 hours away, so don't expect much "green space" other than the grass and a small section of trees on the resort grounds (the surrounding neighborhoods are all part of the Dry Forest and during the dry season the plants don't have leaves on them). If you are looking for the green space, the areas around Arenal and Monteverde are great alternatives. As guests of the Riu Palace we were able to walk over to the Riu Guanacaste, and we enjoyed their pool a LOT. Beautiful amenities, more pool bar space/seats, it's more visually in line with my idea of a tropical destination - and it felt like you were in Costa Rica. The Palace is much more modern looking with bold color palates (the rooms are all pink and purple in the Palace, and the lobby and restaurants looks more modern) and there are a lot less tress/foliage at the Palace, while the Guanacaste reflects more of the typical tropical architecture. There is a lot more vegetation on the Guanacaste as well. We definitely would have enjoyed staying at either the Palace or the Guanacaste - but it's nice to have the option to go back and forth between the two. The Palace was definitely quieter and more peaceful, but the Guanacaste had a lot more life throughout the day and evening. And one more side note: when leaving the country from the Liberia airport plan to pay twenty-nine dollars per person in an exit tax. No one had mentioned that to us before, even though I thought "all taxes and fees" were paid for in the package, but the Costa Rican taxes apparently were not included in that cost. Otherwise, it was a great all inclusive resort that had absolutely everything a couple could need to enjoy a relaxing vacation in Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book more than one tour with the same company and they'll take more money off the initial price.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bossman5
Canton, MI
Nov 24, 2012

Fantastic family getaway- Family friendly

Hotel was great, it just opened and it need to work few things out other then it was great, as for food it need to have little more variety, it was same food everyday, other then that every thing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to book your attraction before.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vandara
Gloucester , ma
Jan 13, 2013

Relaxing and adventurous

Very clean outstanding food and entertainment they a nice shopping area between both hotels in front of the casino. They also have a nice coffee bar. We always try to stay at a rio hotel when we travel. We have always been pleased with service and food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In the hotel lobby book day trip to the vandals hot springs and adventure with jacamar naturalist tours The web site is www.arenaltours.com. We went horse back riding up to we're we went on canopy tour thru the forest. Wild!!! Then we walk to the hot spring were we put hot mud from the volcano all over our bodies and rinsed off in the hot spring. Then we had a delicious lunch and drinks and went swimming in a pool that had a natural hot spring running that keep the pool filled. Oh we also did a wAter slide. Very scary. Fast!!!!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qzgirl
San Antonio, TX
Mar 8, 2013

Great Anniversary

Once you manage to find your way to the resort (we'd rented a car and street signs don't seem to be a big deal here), you'll be thrilled. The hotel is fairly new and it's beautiful. Our room was immaculate and there were fresh petals on the bed every night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We didn't have any difficulties getting into any of the restaurants that require reservations and the food was great. Plenty of chairs on the beach and willing staff to take. your drink orders. It was pretty windy a couple of the days we were there and the waves were choppy, so we couldn't partake of some of the free water activities like snorkeling or go on the sunset tour. The casino ATM ran out of cash and it doesn't get refilled daily. The next closest one is about 20 miles away in Coco. We really enjoyed our Valentine's Day anniversary at the Palace and will probably go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations the day before if you're not going to eat at the buffet.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin Toohey
Salvo, NC
Mar 13, 2013

“Fantastic vacation”

I have traveled extensively all over the world for the past 20 years and this hotel hands-down is one of the nicest and most beautiful. Loved this hote!l Staff went above and beyond to help with all my needs. The hotel was extremely clean! Everyone was very friendly. Just a short walk to the beach, the pool was a blast with a swim up bar and activities.The supervisor at the bar was Edwin, who was very professional, and always happy to see me. Luis, one of the bartenders was the same way. There was always something… to do if you wanted activities or plenty of chairs to read or nap by the pool. Be sure to get massage on the beach! . Will definitely go back! This is a beautiful place. Be sure to look for the monkeys!! You can see them in the trees right next to the grounds. The food at the buffet was good. They also have Japanese rest, steak house and Italian. I personally like the buffet best. There's something for everyone. Everyone was truly nice and welcoming, made me feel as if I was home. I would go back again. Great for all ages... The hotel was great, from the staff to the people who were visiting. I went alone for seven days and never felt as if I was alone. Everyone was truly nice and welcoming, made me feel as if I was home. I would go back again. Great for all ages...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chercher
new jersey
Jun 26, 2013

beautiful

the location and hotel were so beautiful!!!! the staff at the hotel were beyond words they were so friendly and happy!!!! while we were here we took a tour on a riverboat and thru some villages.... what a truly wonderful experince. there is nothing i can say but this was the perfect vacation. we honstly were sad our week was over and it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sigal
new York
Aug 21, 2013

great vacation destination

The hotel is immaculate . Beautifully situated in a scenic area. The hotel is clean, the rooms are perfect. The staff are very pleasant and friendly, always very helpful. The food was average, don't have high hopes here. Some days the food was better then the other, but always in abundance. We wish they will open the restaurants for longer times during the night. If the htel is full and you come to eat dinner around 8pm, they will turn you down sometimes. The beach sand is black , in the pictures they dhow white sand. The beach is undevolped, in it's nutural state. Try to book excursions during your stay, there are lots of acrivities, like ziplining, white water rafting, horse riding, hiking ect. The entertainment shows were preaty good. In all we had a great time, we enjoyed every moment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to coco beach for sovenir shopping, you can also seat there at bar restaurants and eat good food, have good drinks. You can go there for dinner too. You can take water taxi ftom the beach at the water sport club, its cheap 15$ for round trip and its a geat expirience, the view from the boat is amazing. You can also take car service from the hotel if you prefer.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marc1961
New York
Dec 11, 2013

Great vacation

Costa Rica is a great place. The Riu Palace was also great. The hotel is beutiful. The staff was very attentive and happy. The food was very good. I highly recomend it for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Demarcopolo
Atlanta, ga
Jun 2, 2014

Great location!

The ability to go to both locations next door to one another was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO all inclusive.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search