$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
57 reviews
Great hotel and staff

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was amazing. See full review

  • B'Nard
  • Nov 1, 2014
Legacy Time

Javier is exceptional at his job as is Noella. I hope to revisit. Pura Vida See full review

  • GirlieJen
  • Oct 22, 2014
Beachfront resort for Costa Rica vacations and holidays
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Things to do
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solotravelchica
Business
Georgia
Jul 20, 2013

Good not Great

Overall I am satisfied with the hotel and the location for the value. The room was not cleaned thoroughly even after leaving a tip daily. The food was ok and served its purpose. I would return but there are other places to explore and experience .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling ed
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jul 5, 2013

Costa Rican family Getaway

The RIU Palace was a great place to rest after exploring the surrounding area. Staying at the Palace gives you access to the other RIU next door which has a nicer pool area, it has mature landscaping while the Palace is still too new. Staff was friendly and the food was great,, there was something for everyone so no fuss meals. Food and drinks available around the clock. we were there in the off season so it was not crowded. Look for Sergio on the beach from alex on the beach for trip destinations. dont forget to visit the monkey bar just off the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are adventurous, you can catch the bus to all the surrounding areas just at the end of the resort entrance. Bus fare is $1. example, shuttle to CoCo beach $15 per person, bus $1

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chercher
Business
new jersey
Jun 26, 2013

beautiful

the location and hotel were so beautiful!!!! the staff at the hotel were beyond words they were so friendly and happy!!!! while we were here we took a tour on a riverboat and thru some villages.... what a truly wonderful experince. there is nothing i can say but this was the perfect vacation. we honstly were sad our week was over and it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cooldudeinvegas
Business
las vegas
May 29, 2013

nice getaway

The hotel staff was great, the only bad thing I can really say is the restaurants the steak house is closed every other day..we had a group of four to go eat at the fushion restaurant we had a 2 hour waite and the food was not very good.. the buffet not to bad some days arebetter than others.... its was nice to have all the drinks Included the staff makes some good costa rica shots . I wanted to do the main zip line however it was 3 hours from hotel so we did another one closer...everything u want to do is going to take time getting there that's why we just did mosty water ocean stuff at the hotel ...overall was a good trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a resavation for the steak house a day before

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calgarynik
Business
Calgary, AB
Apr 25, 2013

Beautiful Resort!

We stayed at the Riu Palace with 2 other couples in April 2013. The resort itself is very beautiful, lots of space, lots of room at the pool and we never had to get up super early to reserve loungers. The pool(s) are very large and they had a decent mix of people and things to do. If you are there on a Saturday, be sure to go down and have the BBQ lunch by the pool, it was excellent! The food was decent, there was nothing overly special about any of the "specialty" restaurants though. The buffets were standard, but the quality of the food was higher than other all-inclusives I've been too (ask for milk with your morning coffee or tea and they serve it to you warm!). I wish that they served more "costa-rican" style food though. The rooms were very nice, clean and very modern. A little too modern for a hotel I think, but still overall nice, my only complaint is that toiletries weren't regularly filled and we had to ask for a couple of things a few times. Hotel staff was excellent no complaints. Skip the tour guides through the hotel and go down to the beach to find Cesar or Ariel and book with Costa Rica Best Trips. We had Alex as our tour guide, and had a private bus for 6 of us. It was spectacular, Alex truly made our excursions top notch with his knowledge of the area and of Costa Rica in general. He loves taking photographs, and with a friends dSLR, he went out of his way to take amazing shots of us as we were doing different things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on the beach to book your tours - Costa Rica Best Trips for the win!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traci and Kari
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Apr 21, 2013

Girls trip

Great hotel for the price! Food was good and staff was very friendly. The only 2 complaints that I have is that they need bathrooms closer to the swim up bar and some of the front desk staff did not speak very good English and did not know certain information about the hotel. Overall it was a great hotel and Costa Rica is a great place to vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Choose Jacamar when booking any excursions outside the hotel! Tour guides were excellent and the tours were very small and personalized!!! We did Buena Vista, day trip to Nicaragua and the Arenal Volcano/hot springs tour! All 3 were great and would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick99
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 14, 2013

A Very Nice Riu Experience Again

My wife and I have been in numerous RIUs over the years and the experience is always consistently excellent. A few comments on this hotel: The pool setup is quite different from the other RIUs we've been at. Instead of having the customary large pool, they have 5 smaller pools. The upside is that this gives the staff more flexibility for activities and such, but the down side is you can't always swim up to the bar from anywhere in the pool area without walking on the very hot tiles. Speaking of hot, I would love to talk to the guy who decided to make the tabletops in the swim-up area out of the same black quartz that's in the rooms. Enough nit-picking, all in all a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blass4
Business
Schaumburg Il
Apr 12, 2013

Excellent service very clean

Stayed 5 nights, had great time. One minor toilet problem, they took care of it right a way, offered a different room with better view, we declined, they send in a bottle of champagne as a nice gesture ! what else do you need ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJROCK
Business
CT
Apr 11, 2013

Relaxing Escape!!

From the minute we walked into the RIU Palace the customer service was excellent!!! Cannot complain about the rooms....the comfort and the cleanliness about the resort. The Food was great, except for the Krystal Restaurant, and the drinks were all premium, which we liked. The only downfall is that its on the Pacific side so the ocean is not clear blue and the beach was just ok, plus the resort if fairly new so the plants/flowers/trees are not grown in yet so its not as pretty as the RIU next door. I did like the feature at the RIU palace that you can utilize both RIU's that were side by side. Also, the rainforest is about 2 hours away so its a long day of traveling to see the sights!!! However, all and all we had a wonderful...relaxing time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sights are 2 hours away...kind of far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Breaker 1
Business
Hoboken , NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Love the Riu

I would go back to this hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive towards your needs. When I arrived the room was not cleaned. very quickly a maid was sent up to clean. The hotel is still new and does need more amenities on the hotel grounds. The beach looks exactly like the pictures online. The beach is small extremely hot and has murky ocean water due to the Pacific side the hotel is on. The pools are better! It was not very pretty to look at due to its dry season in April and was extremely hot. Bring lots of sunblock you will need it. The food was great and drinks were as well. I would return to this hotel when they have made more improvements. Souvenirs were very expensive no matter if you stayed on the resort or went into town. Bring lots of money. BTW! Costa Rica does not tell you until you leave that you will have to pay $29 to leave the country. so beware!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

do not use the package deals the hotel sells. I took a $25 trip to a beach and shopping that was an hour and a half away and was the worst trip of my life. Awful driver swerving around cliffs the beach was not pleasant. Drivers are very aggressive and they like to speed. very scary beware.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top