$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenssondamon
Business
Red Deer, Alberta
May 22, 2014

Awesome staff who really care

It was the people who worked at the hotel who made this vacation an awesome experience. Gina Moro in the main restaurant was unbelievable and one of a kind a very special person. The hotel is very modern and new the food in the speciality restaurants needs work especially the Japanese it was terrible. The hotel pools and beach are nice but the hotel is a little remote and we really did not like the hotel allowing the local people to use the hotel on the weekend at a discounted price I felt we were subsidizing their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Frank with a walking stick on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke Rhino
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2014

I guess if you are a "cruise ship" kind of person

Nice folks. Hotel is decent. Food sucks in my opinion. Typical below average buffet food. The drinks are all made with cheap liquor and taste extremely watered down and the beer might as well be water. TH night life was boring. Casino is smaller than my living room. The shows are very simple. Think "cruise ship".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Head turtle
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
May 15, 2014

A Slice of Paradise

RIU PalaceHotel in Costa Rica was amazing. When I arrived to Liberia airport my Grey Line shuttle services was waiting. Driver told us about Costa Rica from history to climate. It was like having a tour guide. When we arrived at hotel the staff met us and got us all registered. Are luggage was taken to room during registration while we where given a tropical fruit drink. When we got to the room I was so impressed that I took pictures and put on my facebook page. This room and ocean view just blew me away. The buffet was the best one I have ever been at. The Staff at buffet treated me like a Queen. The pools to the entertainment was excellent. I would like to mention that Melissa and Yesney at front desk and Monica Hernandez and Mauricio Diaz at buffet need to be Commend for the quality of service they give at the RIU Palace. To other trips this one was the best and worth every penny. If you want to be spoiled in paradise this is definitely the place to go. Definitely the best! The buffet and rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use Grey line Shuttle service. Affordable and like having a private tour guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpikeSheridan
Business
Melbourne, FL
May 13, 2014

Three words: SWIM UP BAR

Great resort. Fantastic time. Highly recommended. Food very good. Shows good. Service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tfourv
Business
Nyc
May 6, 2014

Nice will go again

I have travelled to many Riu resorts. The beach is okay but the resort is outstanding. The pool is clean, the staff super nice even with 96 degrees of pure sun. The rooms are clean and modern. The only thing is you have to ask for them to clean your room than they do an excellent job. Th food was great. Depending on your length of stay Riu is a great base to explore the northern coast of CR. I enjoyed my 4 days in the resort. The people there were always happy and willingly to help u!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Shop around for attractions like buena vista tours are great , Ricon de la Veija,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lori from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Apr 27, 2014

Great experience for a young couple

The pros: A beautiful resort with a great staff who was very friendly and helpful.The food was incredible (the breakfast buffet was out of this world!) and the service was always speedy. The variety of excursions was nice (extra costs usually between $80 - $190 per person depending on what activities you want to do - zip lining, hiking, horseback riding, hot springs, etc.): the different companies set up in the lobby and have books and lists of their offered excursions and what days they're offered on. You can haggle the price down. The cons: The souvenir shops on the grounds were extremely expensive and there is no way to get off the resort without a car rental or on an excursion. On the resort a stamp should have been one dollar but the store charged two (American) each, just because he could. A bottle of SPF 30 was $37, flip flops were $23, and (cheap flimsy) sunglasses were close to $40. Avoid buying souvenirs on the resort if possible! Also, if you use the Riu airport shuttle to and from the airport it's an additional $25 per person you need to arrange it before hand. In general: The area of Guanacaste is very dry and not at all a reflection of the "rainforest environment" Costa Rica is known for. The rainforest is over 3 hours away, so don't expect much "green space" other than the grass and a small section of trees on the resort grounds (the surrounding neighborhoods are all part of the Dry Forest and during the dry season the plants don't have leaves on them). If you are looking for the green space, the areas around Arenal and Monteverde are great alternatives. As guests of the Riu Palace we were able to walk over to the Riu Guanacaste, and we enjoyed their pool a LOT. Beautiful amenities, more pool bar space/seats, it's more visually in line with my idea of a tropical destination - and it felt like you were in Costa Rica. The Palace is much more modern looking with bold color palates (the rooms are all pink and purple in the Palace, and the lobby and restaurants looks more modern) and there are a lot less tress/foliage at the Palace, while the Guanacaste reflects more of the typical tropical architecture. There is a lot more vegetation on the Guanacaste as well. We definitely would have enjoyed staying at either the Palace or the Guanacaste - but it's nice to have the option to go back and forth between the two. The Palace was definitely quieter and more peaceful, but the Guanacaste had a lot more life throughout the day and evening. And one more side note: when leaving the country from the Liberia airport plan to pay twenty-nine dollars per person in an exit tax. No one had mentioned that to us before, even though I thought "all taxes and fees" were paid for in the package, but the Costa Rican taxes apparently were not included in that cost. Otherwise, it was a great all inclusive resort that had absolutely everything a couple could need to enjoy a relaxing vacation in Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book more than one tour with the same company and they'll take more money off the initial price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Massey Travels
Business
Charleston, WV
Apr 22, 2014

Honest Review from Experienced Riu Traveler

Check in Staff was not nearly as attentive. This is the first Riu experience that I have never been welcomed with a drink or cool towel. In addition, they tried to give me 1 double bed and 2 cots, not happening when I paid for 2 doubles on ocean view. Finally, they found a room. The food average, nothing to rave about . The steak is cooked very well…. the Japanese is just okay and the Italian was probably the best aside from the buffet. The poor bar was slow, and the wait staff did an okay job. The maid and bar service was horrible. I had to call anytime I needed something, like towels or more soda. They were quick to respond. The major negative which will keep me from going back is the black sand beach and the distance from the hotel to the actual beach. It took forever to get anywhere. RIU's in Punta Cana, Jamaica and Mexico are far more friendly in my opinion. The best part of the trip was the breakfast buffet and the entertainment staff and lobby bar staff. They did a great .. and I mean great job. You will be impressed for the first few days.. but after 6 or 7 days you are ready to leave. It is hot hot hot…but we traveled during the dry season. It was a last minute trip, so i could have done a better job with my homework about the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left from the hotel to beach walkway and go up about 5 minutes to left you will see a walkway… go out dirt road and monkey bar on right. Great Drinks… highlight of the trip and you may see monkeys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anniversary vac
Business
Chicago
Apr 4, 2014

Relaxing vac!

Great food! Great service! Only issue I had was that they did not allow us to use our RIU member points for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bremdds
Business
Garden City, NY
Mar 1, 2014

RIU palace

Such a nice hotel. Staff was wonderful. I agree with other reviews that the pool area and grounds could use some more vegetation and shade. But we were happy to stay in a quieter less congested hotel than the RIU Guanacaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
riurocks
Business
costa rica
Feb 26, 2014

relaxing

great hotel, not overly crowded. very relaxing. Close to airport. Staff very friendly. Very clean hotel. Food was wonderful. Beach was clean and big. Weather couldnt have been better. Several different pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top