$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rum and Coke Amigo
Business
minn
Jun 29, 2014

Great trip for adults

The resort was very contemporary and had a modern feel. Our room was better than expected and the service was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask individuals on the beach to guide you nearby where you can view monkeys up close.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribbean guy 27
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 22, 2014

RIU Palace

I have stayed at about 8 different Riu's. (Yet this is the first Palace#. The amenities where average for the typical Riu. I have not stayed in a Palace before, yet I also visit them just to check them out. There was nothing special compared to the other #regular Riu's# I have stayed in the past. The location is far from most attractions. There are other hotels closer to main activities. Guanacaste understands that because of there black sand #Due too volcanic activity, don't worry no active volcanos in the area) the beach is not their main attraction. That being said if want to go to Costa Rica and not just drink at the pool, just know that this location is at a minimum of 30 Mins away from any entertainment location. Room comfort was superb. Day to day cleanliness could have elevate a bit. I mentioned that I have been to 8 Riu's. By far this was the most friendly, attentive, and beyond ones needs. If you need a reason to tip the scale it makes the decision of coming here or not; the staff is well worth it. If nature is what you look for Guanacaste is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

About a 30 Min drive from the hotel. Playa del Coco has cheap gifts for your loved ones, good reasonably priced food, and a local vibe.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd1jackson
Business
Kansas
Jun 12, 2014

Awesome people and place!

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 wedding anniversary. This place and people who worked there really made our vacation top notch. There was so much to enjoy, the rooms were nice, the grounds well kept, the beach was awesome. We really enjoyed the buffet, but we did also try Krystal and Tokyo. Good food at all places if you like to try new things. The BBQ by the pool was very good to. We booked a day trip with GeckoTico, the green polo shirt guy on the beach. Our guide, Alex was great. We also fished with Fishing Adventures CR. Great fishing and we took our catch back to the kitchen and they made us a great dinner. The bars were great and made awesome drinks. I found $1-$5 tips to be gratefully accepted by all the staff. They worked really hard to keep us happy and deserved every penny. This place will not let you down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book with GeckoTico on the beach!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The ever ready explorer
Business
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Jun 3, 2014

A week in Costa Rica

This resort is absolutely perfect...if all you want to do is sit by the beach and sip a tasty tropical cocktail. If, on the other hand, you want to see everything else Costa Rica has to offer, I would suggest exploring other options. While the hotel does offer many excursions to the jungles, volcanoes, waterfalls, etc., most of these are at least one hour driving distance away and will cost anywhere from $80-150. You are equally far away from any worthwhile cities like Tamarindo or San Jose (the closest main city, Liberia, doesn't have many activities). That said, Riu Palace strives hard to be a wonderful all-inclusive resort that caters to the "sit back and relax" style of most of its guests. The food is superb, the drinks limitless, and the beaches/pools excellent. So if you're in the mood for poolside massages and buffet dinners, this is the best place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring a waterproof camera for any water-related activities, and come during the wet season (May onwards). There are far fewer people and the rain only lasts for an hour at most during the day.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peden
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2014

Vacation Husband and Wife

Problem: Pool closes at 6pm, and I mean totally shut down. The pool is cleaned at 8pm, that means no one in pool after that. Hotel is long way from town. Location to pool and entrance are not convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Demarcopolo
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jun 2, 2014

Great location!

The ability to go to both locations next door to one another was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO all inclusive.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenssondamon
Business
Red Deer, Alberta
May 22, 2014

Awesome staff who really care

It was the people who worked at the hotel who made this vacation an awesome experience. Gina Moro in the main restaurant was unbelievable and one of a kind a very special person. The hotel is very modern and new the food in the speciality restaurants needs work especially the Japanese it was terrible. The hotel pools and beach are nice but the hotel is a little remote and we really did not like the hotel allowing the local people to use the hotel on the weekend at a discounted price I felt we were subsidizing their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Frank with a walking stick on the beach!

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke Rhino
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2014

I guess if you are a "cruise ship" kind of person

Nice folks. Hotel is decent. Food sucks in my opinion. Typical below average buffet food. The drinks are all made with cheap liquor and taste extremely watered down and the beer might as well be water. TH night life was boring. Casino is smaller than my living room. The shows are very simple. Think "cruise ship".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Head turtle
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
May 15, 2014

A Slice of Paradise

RIU PalaceHotel in Costa Rica was amazing. When I arrived to Liberia airport my Grey Line shuttle services was waiting. Driver told us about Costa Rica from history to climate. It was like having a tour guide. When we arrived at hotel the staff met us and got us all registered. Are luggage was taken to room during registration while we where given a tropical fruit drink. When we got to the room I was so impressed that I took pictures and put on my facebook page. This room and ocean view just blew me away. The buffet was the best one I have ever been at. The Staff at buffet treated me like a Queen. The pools to the entertainment was excellent. I would like to mention that Melissa and Yesney at front desk and Monica Hernandez and Mauricio Diaz at buffet need to be Commend for the quality of service they give at the RIU Palace. To other trips this one was the best and worth every penny. If you want to be spoiled in paradise this is definitely the place to go. Definitely the best! The buffet and rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use Grey line Shuttle service. Affordable and like having a private tour guide.

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpikeSheridan
Business
Melbourne, FL
May 13, 2014

Three words: SWIM UP BAR

Great resort. Fantastic time. Highly recommended. Food very good. Shows good. Service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top