$369 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
61 reviews
Birthday Vacation

I really enjoyed the riu palace. The hotel was beautiful. The only thing I wish I could change was... See full review

  • Joshanna B.
  • Feb 4, 2015
Amazing vacation!!

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The food was really good and the entertainment was great.... See full review

  • Jennifer G.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Beachfront resort for Costa Rica vacations and holidays
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Things to do
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rum and Coke Amigo
Business
minn
Jun 29, 2014

Great trip for adults

The resort was very contemporary and had a modern feel. Our room was better than expected and the service was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask individuals on the beach to guide you nearby where you can view monkeys up close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jimenez
Business
West Liberty, Iowa
Jun 24, 2014

Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this review to be of good use to those that are reading it and help you out. I read so many reviews before going to this resort. My husband and I went from June 7th to the 14th. The time couldn’t have been better! Each day was sunny, accept one afternoon that it rained for about 20 min or so. We stayed in room 3015. This room was located facing the Riu Guanacaste resort. The Room size was perfect and in a good location. This is a large resort however by the second day you will know your way around pretty good. The food was good. I would say it was better than other all-inclusive resorts that we have stayed at but it wasn’t excellent. I’m not a picky eater at all. We used LAR transports that is located right outside the resort. They were waiting for us at the airport and we made arrangements to return with the same company on our way back home. They charge $50 for 2 people one way. They also have transportation to other areas like Coco Beach. We went to Coco Beach for about 1 ½ hours. Make sure you that you get your gifts for family and friends there. It’s so much cheaper than the resort. We did an excursion using the people at the resort. This one was to go to Congo trail and do zipline and ATVB riding in the mountains this is about 10 min ride from the resort. We paid $180 total for 2 people. The ATV part was the best. The same day we purchased that excursion was so travel agents in the lobby that we hadn’t seen before. We booked a mega combo tour with swiss travel in the lobby. This was worth every single penny. They picked us up at 7:30 am and got back to the hotel around 5:30 or so. This tour includes zipline, sliding down Costa Rica’s ¼ mile long water slide build into the mountains, horseback riding and the hot springs. They provide you with snacks and a lunch buffet. The spa at the resort was pricy. We ended up doing a couples massage on the beach where locals have tents set up. It was $65 for an hour. They did a great job and were very professional. We met other couples at the resort and recommended that they go there and they enjoyed it as well. At the desk outside the resort is where LAR transports is set up. I would recommended that you pay for your taxes there and not at the airport. It’s $32 per person. The line at the airport was really long and we are glad that we paid it at the resort. The nightly shows were ok. The comedy show was the best. All the other shows were average. The live band was great! We walked over to the Riu Guanacaste sister resort next door. The people that are staying at the Riu Palace can go next door but the people from the Riu Guanacaste can’t come to the Palace. The pool area was really packed full of people. The resort seemed more busier than the palace. We made a good choice staying at the Palace. It was quieter and less crowded. There was always an area to fine a lounge chair so you don’t need to get up early or anything. They have 5 pools and none of them were ever crowded. Over all this is the best vacation that I have been on. I think about it every day since I have been back and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribbean guy 27
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 22, 2014

RIU Palace

I have stayed at about 8 different Riu's. (Yet this is the first Palace#. The amenities where average for the typical Riu. I have not stayed in a Palace before, yet I also visit them just to check them out. There was nothing special compared to the other #regular Riu's# I have stayed in the past. The location is far from most attractions. There are other hotels closer to main activities. Guanacaste understands that because of there black sand #Due too volcanic activity, don't worry no active volcanos in the area) the beach is not their main attraction. That being said if want to go to Costa Rica and not just drink at the pool, just know that this location is at a minimum of 30 Mins away from any entertainment location. Room comfort was superb. Day to day cleanliness could have elevate a bit. I mentioned that I have been to 8 Riu's. By far this was the most friendly, attentive, and beyond ones needs. If you need a reason to tip the scale it makes the decision of coming here or not; the staff is well worth it. If nature is what you look for Guanacaste is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

About a 30 Min drive from the hotel. Playa del Coco has cheap gifts for your loved ones, good reasonably priced food, and a local vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fd1jackson
Business
Kansas
Jun 12, 2014

Awesome people and place!

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 wedding anniversary. This place and people who worked there really made our vacation top notch. There was so much to enjoy, the rooms were nice, the grounds well kept, the beach was awesome. We really enjoyed the buffet, but we did also try Krystal and Tokyo. Good food at all places if you like to try new things. The BBQ by the pool was very good to. We booked a day trip with GeckoTico, the green polo shirt guy on the beach. Our guide, Alex was great. We also fished with Fishing Adventures CR. Great fishing and we took our catch back to the kitchen and they made us a great dinner. The bars were great and made awesome drinks. I found $1-$5 tips to be gratefully accepted by all the staff. They worked really hard to keep us happy and deserved every penny. This place will not let you down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book with GeckoTico on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The ever ready explorer
Business
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Jun 3, 2014

A week in Costa Rica

This resort is absolutely perfect...if all you want to do is sit by the beach and sip a tasty tropical cocktail. If, on the other hand, you want to see everything else Costa Rica has to offer, I would suggest exploring other options. While the hotel does offer many excursions to the jungles, volcanoes, waterfalls, etc., most of these are at least one hour driving distance away and will cost anywhere from $80-150. You are equally far away from any worthwhile cities like Tamarindo or San Jose (the closest main city, Liberia, doesn't have many activities). That said, Riu Palace strives hard to be a wonderful all-inclusive resort that caters to the "sit back and relax" style of most of its guests. The food is superb, the drinks limitless, and the beaches/pools excellent. So if you're in the mood for poolside massages and buffet dinners, this is the best place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring a waterproof camera for any water-related activities, and come during the wet season (May onwards). There are far fewer people and the rain only lasts for an hour at most during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peden
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 2, 2014

Vacation Husband and Wife

Problem: Pool closes at 6pm, and I mean totally shut down. The pool is cleaned at 8pm, that means no one in pool after that. Hotel is long way from town. Location to pool and entrance are not convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Demarcopolo
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jun 2, 2014

Great location!

The ability to go to both locations next door to one another was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allenssondamon
Business
Red Deer, Alberta
May 22, 2014

Awesome staff who really care

It was the people who worked at the hotel who made this vacation an awesome experience. Gina Moro in the main restaurant was unbelievable and one of a kind a very special person. The hotel is very modern and new the food in the speciality restaurants needs work especially the Japanese it was terrible. The hotel pools and beach are nice but the hotel is a little remote and we really did not like the hotel allowing the local people to use the hotel on the weekend at a discounted price I felt we were subsidizing their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See Frank with a walking stick on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIke Rhino
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2014

I guess if you are a "cruise ship" kind of person

Nice folks. Hotel is decent. Food sucks in my opinion. Typical below average buffet food. The drinks are all made with cheap liquor and taste extremely watered down and the beer might as well be water. TH night life was boring. Casino is smaller than my living room. The shows are very simple. Think "cruise ship".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpikeSheridan
Business
Melbourne, FL
May 13, 2014

Three words: SWIM UP BAR

Great resort. Fantastic time. Highly recommended. Food very good. Shows good. Service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top