$330 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
70 reviews
Perfect vacation beach weather

We were here in Feb of 2014. Love the laid back vibe from the everyone. Weather was sunny 90's... See full review

  • Sai Ho C.
  • May 14, 2015
Great for couple

Nice location and great service from staff. Hotel with nice view and garden with local flowers,. We... See full review

  • victor o.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
Rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Nearby attractions
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jimenez
West Liberty, Iowa
Jun 24, 2014

Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this review to be of good use to those that are reading it and help you out. I read so many reviews before going to this resort. My husband and I went from June 7th to the 14th. The time couldn’t have been better! Each day was sunny, accept one afternoon that it rained for about 20 min or so. We stayed in room 3015. This room was located facing the Riu Guanacaste resort. The Room size was perfect and in a good location. This is a large resort however by the second day you will know your way around pretty good. The food was good. I would say it was better than other all-inclusive resorts that we have stayed at but it wasn’t excellent. I’m not a picky eater at all. We used LAR transports that is located right outside the resort. They were waiting for us at the airport and we made arrangements to return with the same company on our way back home. They charge $50 for 2 people one way. They also have transportation to other areas like Coco Beach. We went to Coco Beach for about 1 ½ hours. Make sure you that you get your gifts for family and friends there. It’s so much cheaper than the resort. We did an excursion using the people at the resort. This one was to go to Congo trail and do zipline and ATVB riding in the mountains this is about 10 min ride from the resort. We paid $180 total for 2 people. The ATV part was the best. The same day we purchased that excursion was so travel agents in the lobby that we hadn’t seen before. We booked a mega combo tour with swiss travel in the lobby. This was worth every single penny. They picked us up at 7:30 am and got back to the hotel around 5:30 or so. This tour includes zipline, sliding down Costa Rica’s ¼ mile long water slide build into the mountains, horseback riding and the hot springs. They provide you with snacks and a lunch buffet. The spa at the resort was pricy. We ended up doing a couples massage on the beach where locals have tents set up. It was $65 for an hour. They did a great job and were very professional. We met other couples at the resort and recommended that they go there and they enjoyed it as well. At the desk outside the resort is where LAR transports is set up. I would recommended that you pay for your taxes there and not at the airport. It’s $32 per person. The line at the airport was really long and we are glad that we paid it at the resort. The nightly shows were ok. The comedy show was the best. All the other shows were average. The live band was great! We walked over to the Riu Guanacaste sister resort next door. The people that are staying at the Riu Palace can go next door but the people from the Riu Guanacaste can’t come to the Palace. The pool area was really packed full of people. The resort seemed more busier than the palace. We made a good choice staying at the Palace. It was quieter and less crowded. There was always an area to fine a lounge chair so you don’t need to get up early or anything. They have 5 pools and none of them were ever crowded. Over all this is the best vacation that I have been on. I think about it every day since I have been back and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica D.
Business
Staten Island
May 21, 2015

Awesome Friends Trip

Traveled with 7 girls for a fun, relaxing vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel was beautiful and we had a great time drinking and lounging poolside during the day. The staff was friendly and they had a lot of fun activities throughout the day at the pool. At night after dinner there were shows and also a nightclub. The nightclub drinks are not included in the all inclusive package. Would recommend booking a tour and going zip lining and the hot water springs. We enjoyed this very much. Great trip for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sai Ho C.
Business
Ramsey
May 14, 2015

Perfect vacation beach weather

We were here in Feb of 2014. Love the laid back vibe from the everyone. Weather was sunny 90's everyday. Beach is ok, darker sand than typical Carribean beach. We went elsewhere for snorkeling. We did a ATV / zip line, which highly recommended. Very dry section of Costa Rica. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley B.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Fantastic Solo Trip!

The hotel was great, the pool was awesome, and very close walk to the beach. Hotel Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great getaway

Amazing getaway. Would definitely go back. Riu staff was excellent and resort was very nice And clean. Worth extra to stay in a suite with jacuzzis overlooking the pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan
Business
Somerset
Apr 6, 2015

belated honeymoon

Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was plentiful, fresh, and diverse. Location was great and had many options for excursions. Only complaints were that the hallways were loud and echoed into the rooms and the maids were under staffed on busy checkout days and our room didnt get cleaned in a timely fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victor o.
Business
ALHAMBRA
Mar 26, 2015

Great for couple

Nice location and great service from staff. Hotel with nice view and garden with local flowers,. We experienced excursion with good price, nice country ,nice people , I would highly recommend this place to my friends and relatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kayaker77
Business
St. George
Feb 15, 2015

Would not recommend

The hotel staff were very rude, the food was horrible, the entertainment was so cheesy and repetitive every night not to mention loud. The beach left something to be desired. do not get a massage by the ladies on the beach, smelly dog laying underneath the table, horrible Mosquitos. The grounds are very nice as well as the pools but that is about it. We went to Arenal and stayed a few days at some really nice hotels with excellent food, drinks and relaxation. Definitely would visit that area again and strongly recommend. There was very little to do at the RIU but recommend the snorkeling trip and take the short boat ride over to the neighboring town to get your souvenirs. We absolutely loved Costa Rica but not this hotel. We travel a lot and after this experience we will not stay at a RIU again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshanna B.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Birthday Vacation

I really enjoyed the riu palace. The hotel was beautiful. The only thing I wish I could change was the food.. It could have been a little better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mecka
Business
Bronx
Feb 4, 2015

Summer Trip to Costa Rica

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Costa Rica for the first time together for his birthday. It is a beautiful Island with very nice people. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was always kept clean and their food selection was good. I would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer G.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Amazing vacation!!

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The food was really good and the entertainment was great. The 1st day my room was cleaned it was poorly cleaned however, following cleanings were very well done. I would definitely recommend the hotel, as well as, the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top