$291 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
51 reviews
Pura Vida Costa Rica!

The one thing I take away most from this trip is how happy and friendly the staff of this hotel is.... See full review

  • Greatest Husband
  • Sep 22, 2014
Amazing

This hotel is awesome! The food is great, really impressive for an all inclusive joint. There are... See full review

  • Edward Baby
  • Sep 11, 2014
Beachfront resort for Costa Rica vacations and holidays
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Things to do
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Hotel Map

10.5242 -85.7505
Area served
Guanacaste, Costa Rica.
Nearby airports
Liberia International airport (LIR) 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
The recent 5-star resort, Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, is located in Guanacaste, Costa Rica at the edge of the beach of Matapalo. Guanacaste is less tropical, humid and lush than the rest of the country. Its plains and dry forests sometimes remind African savanna landscapes. Inland you can see the savanna, local cowboys on their horses while driving their flocks, which are authentic figures of popular culture of this destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Jimenez
West Liberty, Iowa
Jun 24, 2014

Beest Vacation Ever!

We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this one is by far the best one yet! I want this review to be of good use to those that are reading it and help you out. I read so many reviews before going to this resort. My husband and I went from June 7th to the 14th. The time couldn’t have been better! Each day was sunny, accept one afternoon that it rained for about 20 min or so. We stayed in room 3015. This room was located facing the Riu Guanacaste resort. The Room size was perfect and in a good location. This is a large resort however by the second day you will know your way around pretty good. The food was good. I would say it was better than other all-inclusive resorts that we have stayed at but it wasn’t excellent. I’m not a picky eater at all. We used LAR transports that is located right outside the resort. They were waiting for us at the airport and we made arrangements to return with the same company on our way back home. They charge $50 for 2 people one way. They also have transportation to other areas like Coco Beach. We went to Coco Beach for about 1 ½ hours. Make sure you that you get your gifts for family and friends there. It’s so much cheaper than the resort. We did an excursion using the people at the resort. This one was to go to Congo trail and do zipline and ATVB riding in the mountains this is about 10 min ride from the resort. We paid $180 total for 2 people. The ATV part was the best. The same day we purchased that excursion was so travel agents in the lobby that we hadn’t seen before. We booked a mega combo tour with swiss travel in the lobby. This was worth every single penny. They picked us up at 7:30 am and got back to the hotel around 5:30 or so. This tour includes zipline, sliding down Costa Rica’s ¼ mile long water slide build into the mountains, horseback riding and the hot springs. They provide you with snacks and a lunch buffet. The spa at the resort was pricy. We ended up doing a couples massage on the beach where locals have tents set up. It was $65 for an hour. They did a great job and were very professional. We met other couples at the resort and recommended that they go there and they enjoyed it as well. At the desk outside the resort is where LAR transports is set up. I would recommended that you pay for your taxes there and not at the airport. It’s $32 per person. The line at the airport was really long and we are glad that we paid it at the resort. The nightly shows were ok. The comedy show was the best. All the other shows were average. The live band was great! We walked over to the Riu Guanacaste sister resort next door. The people that are staying at the Riu Palace can go next door but the people from the Riu Guanacaste can’t come to the Palace. The pool area was really packed full of people. The resort seemed more busier than the palace. We made a good choice staying at the Palace. It was quieter and less crowded. There was always an area to fine a lounge chair so you don’t need to get up early or anything. They have 5 pools and none of them were ever crowded. Over all this is the best vacation that I have been on. I think about it every day since I have been back and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vic1942
Business
New York, NY
Oct 13, 2014

disappointed

This was not a five star resort as was advertised. Food was below average even in special restaurants. Room was somewhat cleaned but getting extra towels is difficult never mind shampoo or anything else. I did enjoy pools and the beaches, staff is helpful, speaking Spanish helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling C
Business
Ny
Sep 29, 2014

Riu Palace

Very relaxing, remote location surrounded by a jungle. The room decor was modern and the balcony was definitely a plus. Great hotel for a quite getaway of complete relaxation. The entertainment was very limited and geared toward an older adult crowd. This is a great hotel for a weekend to curl up with a book by the pool and catch some rays. The healthy selection for food was limited. Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful country!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatest Husband
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Sep 22, 2014

Pura Vida Costa Rica!

The one thing I take away most from this trip is how happy and friendly the staff of this hotel is. Definately the friendlieast hotel staff i've ever encountered! From the bartenders to the wait staff in the restaurants to the housekeepers, everyone was your friend. Never had a problem getting a chair at the pool there are plenty. Didn't have to plan a time for dinner, there were always plenty of tables and food available. There are ample bars and tables in the bar areas to sit and have a drink, not to mention the able staff that made sure you didn't have an empty glass. Where ever you go there are staff cleaning and keeping the place looking great! If you need help with anything, it didn't matter whether it was their job or specialty or not, staff would stop what they are doing to assist you! I can't say enough good things about this hotel and it's staff, so i'll just say Loved it! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do your homework before you go as far as what excursions you would like to do. There are more than one company to book from, and they all offer close to the same thing, varying only on price. But depending on what you want to do, only certain excursions happen on certain days so look into booking them early when you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward Baby
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Amazing

This hotel is awesome! The food is great, really impressive for an all inclusive joint. There are lots of bars and restaurants within the resort. The room was beautiful and comes stocked with refridgerated drinks and booze in the room which is part of the all inclusive. The resort has amazing pools and is right on the beach if you're more into the ocean. I'll definitely be back. If you go, be sure to take a short stroll down the beach to see the wild monkey's near the monkey bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the wild monkeys near the monkey bar down the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest watches staff reneg
Business
Riu palace, Guanacaste
Aug 30, 2014

Smelly Room, Unpleasant Staff

The room was super smelly, and we still can't get the mildew smell out of our suitcases and clothes. The staff was pleasant to your face, but never followed through. And, there were so many bees outside at the pools and on our patio, it was unbearable. Would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce F
Business
North Potomac, MD
Aug 23, 2014

Fantastic getaway for all age groups

We stayed there in early Aug 2014 with our 2 teenage sons. The resort staff overall in all departments are very pleasant, helpful, polite, friendly, and attentive. This resort is managed very well. The adequate ratio of staff-to-guests during our stay meant a very nice and responsive service for the guests. There are various reputable tour operators in the lobby every day to book your excursions. This location can offer lot of excursion activities nearby if you want, or a quiet get a way to really relax. The beach is very nice, peaceful, and one mile long total that is great for morning walks (before the high tides). Even though the beach is “public” the resort staffs it well with security and bar service personnel. The bar service person at the beach comes by often to refresh your drinks so you can just relax. The spa/gym shared with the other RIU is adequate but the weight machines are old and need to be updated. The staff in RIU Palace generally are very professional and not looking for tips or handouts to do their jobs. The grounds are well maintained. Food and entertainment are high quality. The food services are excellent, very clean, good variety, refreshed frequently, and the kitchen staff are very polite and attentive. We travel internationally to many 5-star resorts and this resort is definitely among the best, and we will definitely revisit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book early as some excursions are not offered every day. Avoid long road trip tours as the roads are some times not paved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matty P
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2014

Excellent Resort For The Price

This is a beautiful hotel for the price. You cannot find a better value anywhere else. The staff is amazingly helpful and the rooms are beautiful.The only problem is that there are bees there especially near the pool bar in the summer months. We went in March and never saw a bee, but just went in July and there were many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Schedule a airport transfer with LAR and pay your departure tax with them with your credit card. The airport transfer is $50 for a private or $20 per person. The departure tax is 32 per person at LAR and it prevents you from having to drag your luggage at the airport and wait in a long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EasyMoney Jimmy
Business
Lake Forest, California
Aug 4, 2014

Great Contemporary Hotel

This was a nice hotel, the staff was very nice, the food was ok not great, possibly the best food was at the various buffets. If you are a smoker you may find this hotel not for you, it seemed to be a smoke free hotel. Sun screen is very expensive $38, also try to get you souvenirs away from the hotel as they are much cheaper. Also for the pool its awesome eduardo the bartender is amazing, but they have a large bee problem, you might think twice if your allergic. All in all our trip was amazing just a couple things to think about...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ceasars entertainment on the beach, the guys are awesome just make sure you get the guys with a red or white shirt and negotiate the price they WILL come down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globe Trotter MEL
Business
NYC
Jul 29, 2014

Excellent stay! Great atmosphere, loved it!

Overall great experience! Staff was very polite and attentive. HIGHLY recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A1234
Business
New Jersey
Jul 21, 2014

Nice Stay

our experience was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and polite. The hotel is perfectly located on the beach. It was very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Canopy Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top