$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal del Carrilllo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste, -

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
69 reviews
Perfect vacation beach weather

We were here in Feb of 2014. Love the laid back vibe from the everyone. Weather was sunny 90's... See full review

  • Sai Ho C.
  • May 14, 2015
Great for couple

Nice location and great service from staff. Hotel with nice view and garden with local flowers,. We... See full review

  • victor o.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Beachfront resort for Costa Rica vacations and holidays
Beach lovers and holidaymakers seeking for a vibrant getaway in the province of Guanacaste in Costa Rica find ideal base at the luxurious accommodations and beachfront setting of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive. This all-inclusive resort is situated a few steps to the white sands of Playa Matapalo in the canton of Carrillo. Aside from frolicking on the sands of the beach, visitors can exercise at the fitness center, take a dip in one of four outdoor pools, relax in the whirlpool and steam bath, unwind with relaxing treatments at Renova Spa, and play beach volleyball and billiards at the sports facilities at this resort. Vacationers can also play card/slot games at the casino on site.

Patrons at Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive wake up to a full American buffet breakfast before sampling a variety of delicious international specialties at Arenal, Krystal, Tokio, L'Anfora, and Papagayo Grill and Steakhouse. Guests can also sit back and chill out with tasty treats and drinks at six bars and one ice cream parlor on site. The plush resort also has five conference rooms for social and corporate events.  Medical service (at cost), and Wi-Fi access in the lobby are available for convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • All-inclusive beachfront resort with casino
  • Four outdoor pools, whirlpool and Renova Spa
  • Five restaurants, six bars and one ice cream parlor
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive rooms
Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive provides 538 sleek and elegant rooms and suites that are furnished with central air conditioning, Wi-Fi access, telephone, ceiling fan, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, liquor dispenser, safe deposit box, satellite TV, iron/ironing board, and private balcony. Junior Suites have sofa or sofa bed, while Family suites come with hydro massage bathtub. Whirlpool bath suites are appointed with Jacuzzi. Room and turndown services are available.
Things to do
  • Playa Matapalo (nearby)
  • Papagayo Golf and Country Club (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Hidden Garden Art Gallery (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • Las Baulas National Marine Park (15.6 mi/25 km)
  • Santa Rosa National Park (21.7 mi/35 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
Junior Suite Courtyard View
Junior Suite Courtyard View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Two Bedroom Family Suite
Two Bedroom Family Suite offers offers two double or one king like Bathroom amenities, Cable / Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 bedroom with 1 king size bed, 2nd bedroom with 2 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat- screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Two bathrooms first one equiped with hydromassage bathtub, by door separate toilet and bidet double sink, hairdryer and amenities kit, second bathroom equiped with shower, one sink. Balcony or terrace.
Suite with Jacuzzi Ocean View
Suite offers one king and sofa bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Internet access, Room service, Safe in room, Tea making facilities and Telephone. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, daily replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, coffee maker, satellite flat-screen TV, radio, alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydro-massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, by door separate toilet and bidet, doublesink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with private jacuzzi.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference and Events centre with 5 conference and meeting rooms.

Dining

Restaurant
The quality of the cuisine offered at the different restaurants of the hotel is exceptional thanks to their chefs, who prepare a variety of dishes, from classic to the most exotic. You'll want to to try each of their menus and thanks to the All Inclusive service; you will be able to enjoy the buffet restaurant or the four different theme restaurants of the hotel.
Arenal
Main Restaurant with terrace.
Krystal
Fusion Restaurant
Tokio
Japanese Restaurant
L'Anfora
Italian Restaurant
Papagayo
Poolside Restaurant/Grill and Steakhouse
Daiquiri
Lobby bar
Capuchino
Ptisserie & Ice Cream Parlor
Tico Tico
Lounge Bar with Terrace
Flora
Plaza Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sigal
new York
Aug 21, 2013

great vacation destination

The hotel is immaculate . Beautifully situated in a scenic area. The hotel is clean, the rooms are perfect. The staff are very pleasant and friendly, always very helpful. The food was average, don't have high hopes here. Some days the food was better then the other, but always in abundance. We wish they will open the restaurants for longer times during the night. If the htel is full and you come to eat dinner around 8pm, they will turn you down sometimes. The beach sand is black , in the pictures they dhow white sand. The beach is undevolped, in it's nutural state. Try to book excursions during your stay, there are lots of acrivities, like ziplining, white water rafting, horse riding, hiking ect. The entertainment shows were preaty good. In all we had a great time, we enjoyed every moment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to coco beach for sovenir shopping, you can also seat there at bar restaurants and eat good food, have good drinks. You can go there for dinner too. You can take water taxi ftom the beach at the water sport club, its cheap 15$ for round trip and its a geat expirience, the view from the boat is amazing. You can also take car service from the hotel if you prefer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sai Ho C.
Business
Ramsey
May 14, 2015

Perfect vacation beach weather

We were here in Feb of 2014. Love the laid back vibe from the everyone. Weather was sunny 90's everyday. Beach is ok, darker sand than typical Carribean beach. We went elsewhere for snorkeling. We did a ATV / zip line, which highly recommended. Very dry section of Costa Rica. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley B.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Fantastic Solo Trip!

The hotel was great, the pool was awesome, and very close walk to the beach. Hotel Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great getaway

Amazing getaway. Would definitely go back. Riu staff was excellent and resort was very nice And clean. Worth extra to stay in a suite with jacuzzis overlooking the pool and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan
Business
Somerset
Apr 6, 2015

belated honeymoon

Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was plentiful, fresh, and diverse. Location was great and had many options for excursions. Only complaints were that the hallways were loud and echoed into the rooms and the maids were under staffed on busy checkout days and our room didnt get cleaned in a timely fashion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victor o.
Business
ALHAMBRA
Mar 26, 2015

Great for couple

Nice location and great service from staff. Hotel with nice view and garden with local flowers,. We experienced excursion with good price, nice country ,nice people , I would highly recommend this place to my friends and relatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kayaker77
Business
St. George
Feb 15, 2015

Would not recommend

The hotel staff were very rude, the food was horrible, the entertainment was so cheesy and repetitive every night not to mention loud. The beach left something to be desired. do not get a massage by the ladies on the beach, smelly dog laying underneath the table, horrible Mosquitos. The grounds are very nice as well as the pools but that is about it. We went to Arenal and stayed a few days at some really nice hotels with excellent food, drinks and relaxation. Definitely would visit that area again and strongly recommend. There was very little to do at the RIU but recommend the snorkeling trip and take the short boat ride over to the neighboring town to get your souvenirs. We absolutely loved Costa Rica but not this hotel. We travel a lot and after this experience we will not stay at a RIU again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshanna B.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Birthday Vacation

I really enjoyed the riu palace. The hotel was beautiful. The only thing I wish I could change was the food.. It could have been a little better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mecka
Business
Bronx
Feb 4, 2015

Summer Trip to Costa Rica

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Costa Rica for the first time together for his birthday. It is a beautiful Island with very nice people. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was always kept clean and their food selection was good. I would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer G.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Amazing vacation!!

The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The food was really good and the entertainment was great. The 1st day my room was cleaned it was poorly cleaned however, following cleanings were very well done. I would definitely recommend the hotel, as well as, the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Costa Rica - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OmegaGold
Business
Fairfield, CT
Nov 29, 2014

Very Disappointed

I had stayed at the Riu Palace in Cancun, which is why I chose this hotel. I had a very positive experience at the Cancun hotel, great food, and great ambiance. I would rate the Riu Palace Guanacaste with 1 star. Upon check-in we were given all of a 5 minute overview of the hotel and sent on our way. Our resort credit in the form of "coupons" was not what was promised. The casino was closed, which was not disclosed upon check-in either. The food was terrible and other hotel guests agreed. In fact, many people were going next door to the older Riu for better food. None of the food was "hot" and the same food was served everyday, no variety. For a hotel that was built only two years ago, I felt like I was in a hotel built 10 years ago. It was run down with tile missing, grout missing, a broken liquor dispenser, etc. When we arrived, all of our pillow shams were hanging outside on the balcony, exposing the nastiness of what lies beneath. Our sheets were pilled - something that may be okay when you are home, but not in a "4 star" hotel. The so called minibar is nothing more than a few sodas, water, and two cans of bear. The 4 liquor dispensers they have in the room are not things the average person would drink. Having grown up in 5 star hotels due to my Father's occupation, I know what to look for when it comes to a clean room, starting with the glasses and coffee mugs. The coffee mugs which are supposedly cleaned and replaced when you use them, had crusted coffee on the bottom of a "clean" mug. Disgusting. Several days in a row we were left with fresh towels that were ripped, ragged, and some had DIRT on them! What kind of place is this? The beach is nothing to rave about, not to mention, Riu owns the beach property; therefore, if I am paying to stay in a "4 star" resort, I should not be panhandled on the beach by locals and so called masseuses. The "24-hour" snacks that are available are nothing more than disgusting hard hot dogs, over-done hamburgers, and unlabeled sandwiches (not good for those with food allergies). This is a country abundant with several dozen tropical fruit varieties, yet every day the same fruit is available - bananas, pineapple, watermelon, soursop, and oranges. Not to mention they taste like they were picked weeks ago and haven't ripened. The desserts are flavorless and the same every night and in every location at the resort. Our ocean view room was overlooking the main courtyard and pool. It was close to the stage where they have entertainment at night. If you want to go to bed at 9 or 10 PM because you have been out on an all day excursion, bring noise-cancelling headphones - it is that LOUD. Our room was vibrating one night from the sound. We had the deep massage at the spa, which not only was a rip off, but I get a better massage at my nail salon at home. I left there wondering what I had just spent my money on. I am a very well traveled individual an I usually stay in Sheratons and Westins - I am sad that I chose the Riu Guanacaste over the Westin all-inclusive. I will neither stay at nor recommend Riu in the future. If I could do it over again, I would have booked different hotels and rented a car so that I could properly explore Costa Rica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top