$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
320 reviews
Honeymoon trip

We booked this trip for October which was right before tourist season. We had a great experience... See full review

  • Julianne D
  • Apr 6, 2015
Pura Vida

Most amazing time and resort. The beach and shopping was amazing. The staff was so friendly and... See full review

  • Veronica M.
  • Feb 22, 2015
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 320
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig G.
Business
Gillette
Jan 8, 2015

Family and friends

Hotel was great. Rooms were wonderful, food was good. Not much night life. Would be nice if pool had stayed open later. We were out on excursions during the daytime and pool would be closing when we got back so we did not get to use it much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Volcano/mud bath excursion, Coco Beach, zip line excursion, catamaran trip, jet ski trip--all wonderful. Friendly people, beautiful area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chelseakay
Business
Edmonton alberta
Nov 28, 2014

amazing

Food was great the keep the higher end alcohol hidden so you have to ask for it. Coco beach is about a 20 min drive but good shopping and great bars and resteraunts. We booked excursions through jacamar tours and they were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit up coco beach for souvenirs or maybe some drinks and lunch just to get out of the hotel "happy hours" are 11-7 all the restraints have good pina coladas for only $3

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singing sara
Business
Hayward, CA
Aug 15, 2014

great hotel

This hotel was very nice in a great location. The staff was extremely nice and were a good time. I've stayed with Riu before and this was my least favorite when it comes to the rooms and comfort. I'm not saying it's not a nice hotel, just saying that the others were even nicer when it comes to their rooms. The view and shows were amazing. Wish they had room service like the palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet and restaurant was good but sports bar food sucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler 3
Business
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

Couple's Getaway

The hotel was in a great location probably only about 30 or 40 minutes from the Liberia airport. We arrived and were greeted by the wonderful staff whom checked us in promptly. Being that it was only one our room was not ready so we then went to eat at the buffet which was delicious and an hour later are room was ready. The room was on the first floor with a jungle view which allowed us to see plenty of monkeys and wildlife. Being that we were on the first floor there was also a lot of bugs, but it was do able. While we were in Guanacaste we went on an excuersion to the rainforest, the volcano and zipling which was absolutely amazing. We also went to Cococ beach which was alot of fun. If we were to go back again we would go on an excursion or to a different beach everyday abecause Costa Rica is filled with fabulous things to do and see. The best part of our Costa Rican vacation was the excursion along with the entertainment. We made friends with the entertainment and they are absolutely amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the water taxi to Coco Beach so that you can see the views and then get souveneirs and some good food at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chevy2011
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 15, 2014

Pura Vida Costa Rica

Good hotel with beautiful surroundings. The biggest down fall is the buffet which is truly brutal. The actual beach the hotel is on is nothing special. Costa Rica is a beautiful country so be sure to get out of the resort and explore. The staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoopDee
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 14, 2014

Week away from the everyday stress.

I just returned from a week stay at Riu Guanacaste. Loved the resort. Great spot with a decent beach. The staff at the hotel are fabulous. The food and accommodations were pretty great too. I typically don't do all inclusive because i like to visit places where the locals frequent but after this trip i might only do all inclusive in the future! I lucked out. This is typically the "wet season" but the weather was amazing. Maybe an hour of rain one afternoon. I loved CR so much I am already planning my next trip there! One complaint,,,, it is nearly impossible to get a regular taxi to go out on your own. Everything has to be done through the hotel and their prices for transportation are not cheap!! DO NOT waste your time going to Coco beach. Its overpriced and the beach is terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a massage on the beach just outside the resort. I went to Marlen twice and she was AMAZING. Cant beat a $30 massage listening to the waves crash on the beach feet from where you are lying on a table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peedi
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2014

Gorgeous view

Beautiful scenery just wish the restaurants offered more local choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSIJ
Business
Sacramento, California
Dec 23, 2013

Pura Vida at RIU

The location is peacefully perfect! Waking up to the sounds of paradise very memorable. Unfortunately a few late nites got really loud by families have too much fun. The hotel overbooked so their staff was working extra hard to keep the facilities cleaned and orderly. Overall I would stay here again but not on a Saturday and Sunday when the locals bring out their families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phamtastic
Business
Edison, NJ, USA
Nov 18, 2013

Traveling with friends

Really not a bad place for the money you pay. Food was okay. Staff is very friendly. Huge pool. Wifi isn't that great - only free in the lobby - or you can pay for it. They let the locals come on the weekends and it gets VERY crowded - very hard to get a drink and all the dining places get very crowded. Went on some excursions from Alex on the Beach - recommended. I would def come back to Costa Rica - maybe not my first choice in hotel but I wouldn't complain if I stayed here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You have to admit, they really do try to entertain you at night - since there isn't much else to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamSam2323
Business
Chicago
Nov 12, 2013

Worst trip ever

I travel on 6-8 trips per year and staying at RIU Costa Rica was by far my worst trip in a long time. The room was a little damp at times and smell like sewer and we had to request a shower curtain. The servers became really nice when they discovered we tipped well, although the entire service staff spoke very limited English. Night shows were good if you could figure out what was going on, because they were in Spanish as well. The nightlife after the shows are nonexistent if English is your predominant language, because ALL the music at the club is also in Spanish and drinks are not included inside the club. The food was just ok, accept one restaurant which was pretty good. There were no late night snacks or room service and guess what, all the channels on the TV was also in Spanish. The only good thing about the entire trip was the Spa even though the prices were raised to accommodate the booking voucher. I usually don't leave reviews, this was my 6 time staying at a RIU resort in 5 countries and definitely my last RIU stay. I wish I knew all of this prior to booking at this resort, this was definitely a waste of money and a waste of a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top