$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
303 reviews
Great hotel value in Costa Rica!

The Riu is a great hotel in Costa Rica! Excellent pool with lots of seats, very friendly staff... See full review

  • Lance and Linh
  • Oct 8, 2014
Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept. See full review

  • Adamko
  • Aug 17, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (303)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yani
Business
Yonkers, New York
Jan 9, 2014

Fantastic Couple Vacation

My experience was beautiful. My fiancee and I had an awesome time at RIU Guanacaste. The food was awesome. The hotel activities were lots of fun. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Also, I will definitely go back and stay in RIU Guanacaste. Thanks for everything!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Principal
Business
Missouri
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect Trip!

Very clean. Good food for all inclusive. Fantastic pool. Great entertainment team! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Set up transportation through LAR services through the hotel. $50 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya from the Big Apple
Business
New York, New York
Mar 16, 2014

Can't Wait To Go Back!

From the front desk to the gardeners everyone my boyfriend and myself came into contact with was amazingly nice and helpful. The food was actually better than typical all-inclusive mediocre foods. I am from New York, so I can be very much picky with everything. But there wasn't anything to nit pick about. The resort is HUGE and it can take you a while to get back to your room, but you will get use to it. We were so happy we chose this resort and not the Palace, both were nice but Guanacaste had more character and shade from the sun lol. I can only say that I didn't like the sheets on the bed because they seemed itchy and the bed wasn't as soft as I would like. But it didn't cause any pain, so I'm happy. Great choice. Can't wait to go back! Oh yea, don't waste your time for the Casino!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cowboys0831
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect Vacation

The resort was in the perfect location!! Absolutely beautiful! The staff was amazing! Always ready to entertain and help with whatever you need. The snorkeling tour the hotel offered was also amazing. Clear water and tons of fish! All in all I would recommend this resort to EVERYONE!!! The price can't be beat, especially since it includes everything. Great vacation, can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You don't need to worry about changing your money to the Costa Rican Colon. Most everywhere in Costa Rica accepts USD, so that will save some not having to do currency exchange rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Msrivas94
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Mar 25, 2014

AWSOME EXPERIENCE

Me and my fiancé went in august of 2013 for 6 nights and 7 days. we went with two other family members and we had an awesome time. The guys by the beach selling tours are much cheaper than the hotel but the hotel is more secure. Had a good time, the food was good, the room was perfect and the beds where huge. The best part of the hotel is waking up to the monkeys playing in the forest next to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The staff are very friendly and would do anything to make you happy and give you what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
25th anniversary delight
Business
Michigamme Michigan
Apr 13, 2014

memorable 25th wedding anniversary

This was the cleanest resort we have ever visited. Staff did a great job keeping the inside and outside clean, without being in anyone's way The food was fantastic and nightly entertainment was a lot of fun. Swim up pool bar was a perfect place to relax enjoy the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the fact that there was not a shopping area close by. For those who want to shop, it was a 30 minute cab drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serge V.
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Apr 13, 2014

AWESOME Family Getaway!

Beautiful place! If you like very good food you should go to tis hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vacationher
Business
Eastern Pennsylvania
May 4, 2014

Couples vacation

Had a fantastic stay at this RIU. Some staff spoke better English that others, but ALL were very kind, pleasant, and accommodating. There were plenty of options for meals with many restaurants to choose from. Drinks were also very enjoyable! Pool facilities were great. Despite being one big pool, there were 3 distinct separate areas to hang out. The area with the swim up bar had a lot of "energy" so if you wanted a more mellow time, you just hung out at a different area or went to the beach. Plenty of activities for both onsite and offsite. Rented ATV's, went zip lining and fishing. Overall I think the best part was the beach. Both RIU's are next to one another. But there are no other hotels in the area. So the beach is very quiet and there isn't the hustle and bustle of a touristy location. Only the people staying at the RIU are there. Of note when considering one RIU over the other.... With the more expensive one being new - the trees haven't grown in yet and there is little to no shade around the pool. But I think either way - you can't go wrong. I would definitely recommend for both families and couples and will plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Specialty restaurants that need reservations, can only be reserved a day ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scuba diver
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 9, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This Riu is one of the newer in their chain and it's a lovely place to stay. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would definitely consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The disco is on the property but not included in the all-inclusive. It provided a nice break from the nightly entertainment at the hotel and offered us something to do late night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
lata loma,CA
Jun 19, 2011

great location,great hotel

the hotel is in a great location with a great private beach. we had stayed at other Riu hotels before and we had high expectations from this one too and were not disappointed at all.My wife and I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is great entertainment for families with children in the evening until 9pm, and after that great shows for adults.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top