$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
353 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
showrsoflove
Charlottesville, VA
Aug 28, 2013

Good Honeymoon Location

The only thing that wasn't good was the food. It was "wanna-be" U.S. food mostly. The only good things were the fruit, bread, rice, and beans. Next time we go, we will probably go to the newer resort - Riu Palace - right beside Riu Guanacaste to try it out and see if the food is any better. I would say the steakhouse was good but the steak was so tough that my arms and mouth were tired after cutting and chewing it. The appetizers were amazing though. The desert was just okay, nothing special. Out of the buffets, I would go for the Asian buffet. At Toucan, you don't need to make a reservation like the steakhouse but the wait is really long and the host that we came in contact with was pretty rude. The Italian restaurant's hostess was pretty rude, too. Also, she told us that we had to make a reservation a day before even though that was never told to us by the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Just a tip for people - if you are going to go to do tours, it's cheaper to go on your own than to go through the resort. But if you feel more comfortable with the insurance of the resort, do it through the resort, not the people on the beach. Those people you get no insurance with. If you do it with them, you might as well do it on your own because you get no protection with them.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy John
Odessa, Texas
Aug 27, 2013

Great Place

As far as I'm concern you can't go wrong booking this hotel. It is a huge property that is very well groomed and well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpapi and Mama
New York
Aug 9, 2013

Adventures in Guanacaste

Perfect family vacation. Many activities for school-age children. People were very friendly. The tours were excellent; the service superb. We will recommend Riu to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book tours in the hotel that one has not booked on online. The tour staff is very helpful.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYLM Traveler
Long Island, New York
Aug 2, 2013

First couples getaway

The hotel is really beautiful. It shares the property with the RIU Palace so the casino and club can get pretty busy. The food is nothing extraordinary but it's not too bad. You need to make reservations a day early for the steak house and when we tried it was closed for the day we wanted to go so we just stuck with the buffet's. There were a lot of choices for food though. The pool is gorgeous and has chairs and tables that you can hang out in without leaving the water. The staff is perfect. EVERYONE is friendly, accommodating, and easy going. Go to the Congo Trail Zip Line tour; you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Congo Trail Zip Line Tour...absolutely fantastic. Tour guides were extremely friendly and we felt safe. Also has ATV's, you can book at the resort.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cjehdhdhxjjdhudhdhdbgxs
Franklin, tn
Jul 19, 2013

Pretty good for an AI in Costa Rica

This resort was pretty much on par with the nice AI resorts I have stayed at in Mexico. My wife and I actually enjoyed the black sand beach, we thought it was beautiful. I did get food poisoning but such is life when you travel to a foreign country. My only real complaint is I asked several times for a room facing the jungle and the resort refused to help me. We ended up with a room facing the court yard. The noise was seriously loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ally Austinite
Austin, TX
Jul 2, 2013

Relaxing vacation! But dissapointing food

The Riu was beautiful, well run, and the staff was SO friendly! The only thing that I found disappointing was the food. I was hoping for some great seafood (being right by the sea) or a good taste of what the local food is like in CR. Hoever, what I saw the most was italian food, american food, and everything was always only a little bit warmer than the room. Nothing seemed fresh or anything that you couldn't get inside a mall food court. Other than lame food, the place was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rivera Manzo Family
atlanta, ga
Jun 29, 2013

Beautiful Resort

This hotel is one of the best in Costa Rica. If you are planning on relaxing at the hotel, then thesis perfect for you. The staff is wonderful, they really make your stay very comfortable. They have a lot of personnel who is there to entertain everyone! All ages! The food was excellent. There are different restaurants or there is always a buffet open. It takes a awhile to get food on the a la carte restaurants so I would not recommend them if you just want to grab something quick to eat. They have very limited alcoholic drinks available as far as wines and beer. Only the local beer is served and one white and red wine option. The pools were great. if you are planning on visiting around the area, the hotel is very hidden. It is a 15 min drive from one of the main roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Star Dancer
NYC, NY
Jun 15, 2013

Highly Recommended!

Great time! Even though it was rainy season (only had a bit of rain in the rain forest, go figure) there was enough sunshine for beach time! Also plenty of day trips, food and drink! The hotel staff was amazing, everybody was happy and helpful! A "must stay" when experiencing Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CDavidS
Viera, FL
Jun 13, 2013

All-Inclusive, but limited off-site getaway

Pros: The RIU Guanacaste is a good all-inclusive with many options of food and restaurants to select from, clean/large pool, good alcohol and standard drinks available. Staff is courteous and the Manager was extremely responsive to our needs. This was our honeymoon, so they tried to accommodate us as much as possible. CONS: Beds are extremely hard and not good with someone with back problems. Location is off the beaten path and it does take about 40 minutes to get to and from the airport with nothing nearby for off-site site seeing experiences. There are numerous tourism companies established in the lobby, but be prepared to spend as little as $50 for horse riding or even $185 per person for a combo package of an all day event. Three tours could easily cost an additional $600 for a party of two. Overall, the stay was great and the tours were wonderful. Should we return to Costa Rica, I believe it would be on the Atlantic side for the white beaches in lieu of the black beaches (Pacific side).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Shopping is expensive. Bring your own Bug Spray and Sun Tan lotion as the Sun tan lotion at the hotel shop will cost about $38 for a bottle. Bug Spray is about $20.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagodreamer
Chicago
Jun 7, 2013

Beautiful place

The hotel was beautiful with friendly staff and great pool/ beach. The cocktails were all super sweet....and not the best quality. The nightclub really needed a new Dj. It's very tourist so it is not an authentic Costa Rican experience but great if you don't want to think. The tours are great - they cost extra but worth it. Especially buena vista. This place is best for groups, couples and families. As 2 single women we had a lot of early nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top