$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
357 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (357)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLP RN
MN
Dec 4, 2013

THE Perfect All Inclusive

Wonderful food, great people, beautiful pools, beach and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some restaurants require reservations so reserve early!

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian Ton
Westminster, California
Dec 2, 2013

Nice environment and friendly services

good relaxing and good place to introduce to our friends and my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Beach

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun and sand crazy
Bucks County, PA
Dec 2, 2013

Above average hotel

Dinner options were very good Room was basic but clean Activities and access to beach was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book all your transportation with local vendors at airport or hotel

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dinga donga
Fl
Nov 29, 2013

First visit to costa rica

Location was a bit far from places. Hotel was nice with lot of activities. The quality of hotel was not so good. Very humid in the rooms. We had a few issues when we arrived with our room but the nice staff fixed everything for us. Food was ok. Entertainment was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phamtastic
Edison, NJ, USA
Nov 18, 2013

Traveling with friends

Really not a bad place for the money you pay. Food was okay. Staff is very friendly. Huge pool. Wifi isn't that great - only free in the lobby - or you can pay for it. They let the locals come on the weekends and it gets VERY crowded - very hard to get a drink and all the dining places get very crowded. Went on some excursions from Alex on the Beach - recommended. I would def come back to Costa Rica - maybe not my first choice in hotel but I wouldn't complain if I stayed here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You have to admit, they really do try to entertain you at night - since there isn't much else to do.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SamSam2323
Chicago
Nov 12, 2013

Worst trip ever

I travel on 6-8 trips per year and staying at RIU Costa Rica was by far my worst trip in a long time. The room was a little damp at times and smell like sewer and we had to request a shower curtain. The servers became really nice when they discovered we tipped well, although the entire service staff spoke very limited English. Night shows were good if you could figure out what was going on, because they were in Spanish as well. The nightlife after the shows are nonexistent if English is your predominant language, because ALL the music at the club is also in Spanish and drinks are not included inside the club. The food was just ok, accept one restaurant which was pretty good. There were no late night snacks or room service and guess what, all the channels on the TV was also in Spanish. The only good thing about the entire trip was the Spa even though the prices were raised to accommodate the booking voucher. I usually don't leave reviews, this was my 6 time staying at a RIU resort in 5 countries and definitely my last RIU stay. I wish I knew all of this prior to booking at this resort, this was definitely a waste of money and a waste of a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mwilli20
Wilmington, Delaware
Oct 28, 2013

Girlfriends getaway

Our overall experience in Costa Rica was fabulous!!! However, Riu Guanacaste resort was very crowded, hotel rooms are old and need updating. The bathroom shower was full of rust and the upkeep was untidy. This is defiantly NOT a 4 star hotel and I am not basing it on my American standards. The other hotel we stayed in the Arenal volcano area was rated a 3.5 and it was a 5 in my opinion! Furthermore, most of the places we visited were very clean, even the airport was spotless and I sensed the pride the people have for their country......Also, the spa credit for $35 was not worth any value at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
utrocketman
lagrange, ohio
Oct 28, 2013

great during the week, weekends not so great

we had a great time for the most part. All inclusive food only fair. Rooms, staff, amenities were good. Entertainment was so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel was very secluded. Long travel necessary.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dama2013
costa rica
Oct 27, 2013

good vacation for any age

Good in everything special on the services all people there bery good and all yhe food is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lunohod
Washington D.C.
Sep 9, 2013

Fantastic!!!

It was fantastic and incredible! We love it and recommend everyone. Even spoiled with luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Deep Blue Diving

Back to menu Return to top