$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clarissa from Texas
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 3, 2014

Satisfied

Overall everything was great. Of course going to a different country is always a little different but very relaxing and clean. I do recommend for everyone to stay at the Riu. Every year we go on vacation and tht it where we stay. Family friendly!! Don't trust the locals!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ziplining is a must. Sooo much fun n so beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs.caban
Business
Brooklyn,ny
Jun 24, 2014

Honeymoon

I really can't complain about anything except for the rules of reservations other than that amazing staff and time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chevy2011
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 15, 2014

Pura Vida Costa Rica

Good hotel with beautiful surroundings. The biggest down fall is the buffet which is truly brutal. The actual beach the hotel is on is nothing special. Costa Rica is a beautiful country so be sure to get out of the resort and explore. The staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoopDee
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 14, 2014

Week away from the everyday stress.

I just returned from a week stay at Riu Guanacaste. Loved the resort. Great spot with a decent beach. The staff at the hotel are fabulous. The food and accommodations were pretty great too. I typically don't do all inclusive because i like to visit places where the locals frequent but after this trip i might only do all inclusive in the future! I lucked out. This is typically the "wet season" but the weather was amazing. Maybe an hour of rain one afternoon. I loved CR so much I am already planning my next trip there! One complaint,,,, it is nearly impossible to get a regular taxi to go out on your own. Everything has to be done through the hotel and their prices for transportation are not cheap!! DO NOT waste your time going to Coco beach. Its overpriced and the beach is terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a massage on the beach just outside the resort. I went to Marlen twice and she was AMAZING. Cant beat a $30 massage listening to the waves crash on the beach feet from where you are lying on a table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mimi82
Business
NYC
Jun 13, 2014

Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean, the staff are excellent and atmosphere terrific. Such a fun place to visit and stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For tours, always try to negotiate the price. Haggle 15-20 dollars off the asking price, youll always get i!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickyinChicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2014

Solo Traveler in Costa Rica

Decided to take a quick break from reality and travel to Costa Rica ... via a stay at Riu Guanacaste. The hotel is a really good value for the money. But if you are looking for luxury or something special, I suggest you try another resort. Things to consider before booking: 1) the rooms are VERY average with no amenities, 2) the food is above average but not at the level of a foodie, and 3) the entertainment is comical (and not always in a good way :- ) BTW, the Riu Palace IMO is not as nice as the Riu Guanacaste -- even though it is one level above supposedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATLFather
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 3, 2014

Family Relaxation

Loved the beach. Food was ok. Pretty friendly staffs. We had fun feeding the fishes on the beach. Overall, it was a good experience for the money. Next time I will be sure to make reservation for Steak House a day in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We paid $50 dollars for a taxi (Red Taxi) ride to hotel from airport for a family of 3, and paid $45 dollars back to airport on LAR Transportes--it's a contracting Shuttle bus service that you can pay for at hotel lobby. That's less than $100 dollars for transportation...awesome! Also: you have to pay $29 departure tax per person at airport when leaving the country. So have cash handy, you can use you credit card, but it will be charged as cash advance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Danny D
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Great Relaxing Place

My overall stay at the RIU Guanacaste was good. The rooms were very clean and good customer service when it came to that.The food was okay, nothing spectacular. The Steakhouse was the best spot for dinner. Lunch options weren't great and the 24 hour food location was bad being that there was only popcorn, nachos with cheese and cold sandwiches for options. Nightlife at the hotel was not very good. The daytime activities were okay, could defintely improve that and the quality of music as most of the music was outdated. Very good resort to relax and enjoy with good company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy the kid of GA
Business
Fayetteville, Georgia
Jun 1, 2014

Nice family getaway

The Service is good. We have all inclusive and it's a good deal because we got to choose different types of dinner every day and we practically have virgin pina colada and strawberry daiquri every night. The rooms are generally clean and well stocked with drinks (including volka) just watch out if you have teenagers.... everything is good except we only get 90 minutes per 24 hours wifi service...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you rent a car, most of the rental car companies will not accept your credit card insurance, we bought extra car insurance for extra protection, but Car Rental agency still told us it's not acceptable. We ended up paying extra almost $20-25 extra per day. Next time, they recommend us to get our credit card company (American Express) to put in writing that the Credit Card Company will insure our rental...(who would think of it?) But we did put in 2000 miles on the car in 1 week rental... I would also recommend to find a hotel that includes all meals, it's kind of expensive to go out for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Moe21
Business
New York, New York
May 31, 2014

Great 5 day stay

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Just be nice to them and they will treat you the same. Bugs around pool bar and dining area is a little annoying but it is a tropical place. Food is good, Japanese place better than the rest in my opinion. Buffet was good, a lot of variety. Night entertainment was nice for the family. Beach is okay, but beware of the extremely hot sand. (Think about bringing water shoes) overall I enjoyed my 5 day trip for my 21st bday. Will stay here again. Wifi speed needs to be improved, you only have an hour and a half to use it in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top