$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blossom122
Business
New Jersey
Sep 16, 2014

Great getaway!

The people, hospitality and staff is great! Good food! Costa Rica is beautiful, should consider doing the tours offered at the hotel they are worth it, you get to know a lot about the country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the tours they are worth it! Costa Rica is amazing!

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
juano867
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 15, 2014

Paradise

I lo ve my stay at Riu Guanacaste. If you like quite time ask for a room facing the jungle. The staff is nice, the food is good.... Don't bother reserving for the steak house.... Is not that good but the toscana fabulous and the Liberia ( buffet) always good. The shows are great!! Money well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George2014
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 7, 2014

Great vacation location

Our experience was very good at this hotel. They have good food, a really nice beach front, and surprisingly good entertainment - they have great shows every day for the guests. There were only some minor inconveniences. The biggest one was the Internet - it really did not work any time we actually tried to use it. I remember the hotel advertises internet is available complimentary, but actually you only get 90 minutes of complimentary internet per day. You probably don't need more, after all you're on vacation! Second was the reservation process for the a la carte restaurants - you have to wake up at 9 to get a spot and we found our by the end of the trip the food is fairly the same quality at any restaurant. Overall, I am please and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rogerhua
Business
Washington State
Sep 3, 2014

Riu Guanacaste

Rooms are fine, better on the back side away from the noise of the pool and clubs. Food was good with a good selection to choose from. Beach was right right out back with a long curve of clean beach and water sports to choose from. The one complaint is the bad internet policy of 90 min straight for free only within a small area in the lobby. Internet wifi should be free within the rooms for an all inclusive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coacmaxx
Business
chicago
Sep 2, 2014

riu guanacaste August 2014

Very good 4 star all inclusive. Family friendly, good food choices even for vegans, good amenities including 3 pools, Jacuzzis, spa & nice work out room. Room updated & clean. Black sand beaches, lots of activities & excursions including atv tour of beaches & rainforest, monkeys, hiking, kayaking, zip line is 1 hr away at bienna vista. Advice: bring swim shoes for ocean some rocks in front. Bring 4 star expectations...if you expect poolside drink service stay at riu palace resort next door or do a 5 star hotel. The north pacidic region best to stay in rainy season april-nov not so much rain as other regions. All good. Pura vida...people very nice in Costa Rica and lots to explore! Will be back to see other areas of Costa rica...still untapped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fubi
Business
New York
Aug 28, 2014

The managers are very alert

The hotel is very nice . It's not worth paying extra for the palace, if you are going away to have some fun. This hotel is a little bit more active and the entertainment group really tries to keep everything going. The only complaint i would say is the WiFi should be more available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fobandof
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Aug 24, 2014

great hotel

the food was great, and also the drinks. Very nice hotel, and the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina2187
Business
New York
Aug 21, 2014

Decent place to stay at

This hotel appears a lot nicer in photos than when you actually visit it . A standard room is very small and the pool is not very clean . There were always a ton of cups thrown around the pool for more than a half hour . Overall the hotel is good if you have not traveled before . But if you are a traveler like myself you will understand what I am referring to . A big plus for us was that management was very attentive to our needs and did everything to accommodate to our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adamko
Business
Chicagoland
Aug 17, 2014

Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good show every night

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singing sara
Business
Hayward, CA
Aug 15, 2014

great hotel

This hotel was very nice in a great location. The staff was extremely nice and were a good time. I've stayed with Riu before and this was my least favorite when it comes to the rooms and comfort. I'm not saying it's not a nice hotel, just saying that the others were even nicer when it comes to their rooms. The view and shows were amazing. Wish they had room service like the palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet and restaurant was good but sports bar food sucks.

Back to menu Return to top