$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
320 out of 320
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cary26
Business
Vernon, NJ
Jul 29, 2014

Excellent vacation

My boyfriend & I stayed at the RIU Guanacaste and had a wonderful experience. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We would recommend this vacation to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for Gustavo on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 44
Business
new York , new york
Jul 29, 2014

My Great Riu Experience

Well where to start? Me my wife, her mom and her brother enjoyed the entire experience in Costa rica!! The primary reason of the enjoyment of the trip was the Riu Guanacaste and all that it had to offer. Upon going on the trip we were told like anyone else that it was dangerous and to be careful on the beach and all that stuff that goes with going on a trip to a foreign country. However that wasn't the case, and if it were a worry, the Riu had it covered by having a complete private resort with only one way to get in..A front gate controlled and watched by security assuring the safety and comfort of their guests.. Next the Riu offered so much a casino for adult fun, a discotheque (dance club) for more fun , shows at night for entertainment and much more...the Riu also offered a entertainment team which didn't only keep the party going during the day but would also keep everyone going at night and would even join the guests at the discotheque. They were awesome..The hotel was most importantly other than safety and entertainment was absolutely clean!! They had workers maintaining everything outside from any garbage to fruit falling from the trees to maintaining the plants and so on just making a comfortable and clean place outside and the inside was maintained from morning until night as well making it an enjoyable experience!!! Last but not least the food was great and wasn't always the same thing like most resorts do which gets old after a while.. Overall the staff, entertainment team, security , locals that also shared the hotel as guests and anybody that had anything to do with being there made our experience a 5 star visit and we will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The people on the beach can offer the same excursions with more perks and are very trustworthy and will make your experience doing them that much better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler 3
Business
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

Couple's Getaway

The hotel was in a great location probably only about 30 or 40 minutes from the Liberia airport. We arrived and were greeted by the wonderful staff whom checked us in promptly. Being that it was only one our room was not ready so we then went to eat at the buffet which was delicious and an hour later are room was ready. The room was on the first floor with a jungle view which allowed us to see plenty of monkeys and wildlife. Being that we were on the first floor there was also a lot of bugs, but it was do able. While we were in Guanacaste we went on an excuersion to the rainforest, the volcano and zipling which was absolutely amazing. We also went to Cococ beach which was alot of fun. If we were to go back again we would go on an excursion or to a different beach everyday abecause Costa Rica is filled with fabulous things to do and see. The best part of our Costa Rican vacation was the excursion along with the entertainment. We made friends with the entertainment and they are absolutely amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the water taxi to Coco Beach so that you can see the views and then get souveneirs and some good food at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelve
Business
Ny ny
Jul 25, 2014

Vacation

The hotel is Very nice & clean the wifi is pretty bad and the food is just ok,the front desk is very friendly and helpful,the rooms are clean and the ac works great...gotta do the rain forest,water slide,volcanos that let you have a mud bath with it also check out the monkey bar at around 430 pm every day the monkeys come out above the bar in the trees and put on a show.the bar is about a 10 minute walk on the beach to the left...also you can get a massage for 1 hour for 25 dollars on the beach...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony in Costa Rica
Business
Heredia, Costa Rica
Jul 21, 2014

Great experience

The staff gave us a very warm greeting and maintained that friendliness to the end of the stay. The rooms were like new and clean (but it did have a slightly old smell when we first got in). There were many options for food and drinks. However, I found that the fruits tasted a bit old. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bfunke
Business
Iowa
Jul 17, 2014

Great Honeymoon Destination

My husband and I stayed at RIU Guanacaste for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our our stay. Even though we had to travel to do anything outside the resort, RIU had everything set up so all we had to do was say what we wanted to do or where we wanted to go and that was it!! They also had great activities and things to do at the resort as well. My only complaint would be our room was not the cleanest. However when we went to the front desk, housekeeping came back and made the fixes. Overall, I would recommend this resort given how much we enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCoup
Business
New York
Jul 17, 2014

Good Stay

The hotel was very accommodating from top to bottom. A lovely large layout with tons of space and a great pool setup. We loved the different dimensions of the pool including the bar and the Jacuzzi within the pool, the waterfalls, and the activities allowed for. Overall the outside premise was great. We are mid 20 year old couple and found that too many children were in the bar area. Avoid the weekends if you can as tons of locals come out with their families and crowd the place up. We stayed for 4 nights which was plenty of time. The food got very boring quickly. We had buffet for breakfast and lunch everyday which was practically the same for every day. Went to the Italian restaurant twice since didn't require reservations. It was pretty good and well worth the short wait to be seated. The room was okay. certain things didn't work including the light in the bath tub and certain liquor dispensers which are in the room. The bed was very stiff and hard. every room seems to have a porch which is nice too. Got to see a lot of animals on the premise which was great, it is Costa Rica. Overall I recommend this place for a few days for families couples and singles. try to book some excursions as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

don't expect to be wood by the entertainment they offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strat57
Business
Meridian, Idaho
Jul 11, 2014

Pura Vida!

Great hotel in a fantastic location. Restaurants and bars were very good. Staff was very attentive - extremely friendly and helpful. Pool was awesome - clean with plenty of shady places to lounge. The beach was very nice - warm water and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on zip lining or any other excursions, we highly recommend "Crazy Alex". Don't book with the tour groups in the hotel. Book with Crazy Alex online or look for him on the beach behind the hotel. Crazy Alex is the best tour guide we have ever had. Personalizes the experience and gives you lots of inside information not available on the bigger tours. Also, the guy can spot Tucans a mile away! We saw several on our tour while other groups in the same area on the same day saw none. You gotta know how to spot 'em, and Crazy Alex can!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reinaarh
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Jul 7, 2014

Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good and all you can drink! Staff was very friendly minus one of the entertaiment guys by the pool who thought he should always be the center of attention. I believe his name was David. We went on a tour where we did ziplining, mud baths, bathed in hot springs, water slide, and drove ATVs. All so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tucan Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaycee Super Mom
Business
New York
Jul 6, 2014

Great family vacation

This hotel was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our family vacation was a success and everyone had a great time overall. RIU is also very kid-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top