$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len from Brooklyn
Friends
brooklyn, NY
Feb 7, 2012

Sunshine

We went just 2 couples and had nice relaxing full 8 days on the beach. Good shows at nite with very good balet dancers. The only problem was local hard liquer, but beer and wine saved us. Snorking was good, too by the rocks at the beach end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother for reservation, in main restaurant food is good.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Shore
Couples
New Jersey
Feb 5, 2012

Nice place, great location with equal amenities

This is a really nice place, most rooms are oceanview, Ours was clean and we notice no sewer odors as mention on a post we read before arriving. Pools an amenites were top notch. Food was good but the meats were over cooked. Can't go wrong with the fish though. Tour options are excellent, Book from the beach rather than the resort to save money. No cell phone service was somewhat of a problem. Bring I pad or laptop otherwise you will find yourself isolated. Paid internet service in sports bar is horrible as it does not let you attach or open files and it drops connection constantly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda114
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great Getaway

RIU - Costa Rica was amazing. The food, drinks and people are awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda114
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Perfect getaway to paradise.

RIU Costa Rica was great!!!! I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob R
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great value, great pool!

The RIU Guanacaste is an awesome property. The building, the grounds, the setting are all just spectacular. The pool scene is dynamite. Getting a pinacolada at the swim-up bar was divine. The food options were plentiful if not superb. They're huge buffets so it's not all going to be fresh gourmet, but you can figure out what's good fairly quickly. Making reservations at the theme restaurants seems to be the way to go, especially the steak house. But I wouldn't choose this hotel because you want an awesome Costa Rican culinary experience, but I would go back because it's a beautiful place with very friendly staff, fruity drinks and plenty to do between the pool, the ocean and the entertainment. Note: I don't mention the room not because it's terrible or great, it was fine, but I didn't go to Costa Rica to spend time in my hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get Issy's Tours to pick you up from the airport. Also a great company for excursions.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBAIL
Family
New Hampshire
Jan 2, 2012

Awesome Christmas Vacation for the Family

We had an amazing time on this vacation which I'd highly recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all. There were numerous activities immediately available which we took advantage of including: scuba diving, snorkeling, sea kayaking, jet skis, massages and excursions (zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and hot springs) not to mention the swimming (pool and ocean). The ONLY "constructive" feedback I'd offer is that when a guest requests adjacent or adjoining rooms several months in advance of their stay that the hotel confirms this. We called numerous times well in advance and received no confirmation that this request could be accommodated. Upon check-in we were placed in rooms which were NOT adjacent. After 2 nights we "happened" to notice that the room next to ours was vacant so we requested that our kids be moved to this room. How complicated was that??? The hotel could / should have accommodated this and not have made us work so hard for it. All-in-all a VERY good vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant and stake house provided the best food. Make sure to make reservations!

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pubcrawler
Family
Indiana, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great place to stay

The hotel and staff were wonderful if I was going to make a bad comment it would be that the double bed was hard and the pillows were foam and rather uncomfortable. The rest of the establishment and staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Swiss Travel had a very good Mega Combo tour, the guide was very attentive and kept us totally informed on what was going to happen at each activity. Well worth the money.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mscarano33
Couples
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 28, 2011

terrible

i will start by saying that we love costa rica and have stayed at other fantastic hotels. this hotel looks good on the surface, but was not at all what my boyfriend and i had in mind. the food was terrible - even the restaurants you were forced to make reservations at for dinner to escape the huge buffet were not satisfactory. the asian restaurant was just another buffet and the steakhouse served us steaks no better than you would get at a diner. also, the staff was not very helpful at all-we always got a different story from everyone we spoke to. we wanted a relaxing getaway, but instead we got a crowded resort with what seemed like hundreds of misbehaved children running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparky22
Family
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Things that could improve

The dinner reservation system seemed random and unorganized. It was difficult for guest like myself who left the resort early for fishing and excursions. They need an ATM in the hotel. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A. Wilson
Family
Little Rock, AR
Dec 27, 2011

Fantastic Vacation

Beautiful place in the world! We just got home from a family vacation at RIU Guanacaste, there were a total of 7 travelers. We absolutely LOVED the RIU. The people couldn't have been nicer. Many, many food choices and the drinks were delicious. Also, the excursions from the hotel were very well organized and so much fun. The Arenal Volcano tour is a MUST. Choose the RIU with confidence. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Los Olas Lounge in Coco. Fabulous!

Back to menu Return to top