$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
358 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (358)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
358 out of 358
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Central American Vaca
Riu Guanacaste
Aug 4, 2011

Wedding trip in Costa Rica

I spent a total of seven days at this resort, we had an amazing time. There were some great and not so great times. The location of the resort is great, the hotel is secluded, it is nestled in a forrest of green. The beach is clean, the sand is soft and nice and the water is not too warm not too cold just perfect. The resort has free kayaking and paddle boats that allow you to go 200 meters in the ocean. You can book additional activities for an additional fee through the resort or through the vendors walking around on the beach. Booking through the vendors is safe, we booked all our activities through the guys wearing a shirt advertising[...], the guide's name is [...]and he really went above and beyond to take care of us. We were a group of 15 people and we were all happy with all the activities. The hotel food is alright.=Here's the negatives..There is no internet connection in the room, you can only access free wifi in the lobby but the traffic is so busy around 7pm you will not be able to connect at that time. -Housekeeping sucks, they actually left my friend's room open after they were finished cleaning the room. They left the patio door to my room unlocked. -I paid for a ocean view room and I got a rooftop view room. I was going to go have my room changed but since I was not planning on spending much time in the room I left it at that. -The resort has a club but they charge for the drinks, although all drinks are free within the actual resort. All in all the trip was great, if you stay here, keep in mind that the closest city (Liberia) is 30-40 min away. Get out and do things, we went on a one day trip to Nicaragua, we visited the city of Granada, Masaya and went to the top of an active volcano. The trip through the sales vendors outside the resort was 140 per person. Included transportation, taxes, international exit and entry fees, lunch, snacks and beer. Orbitz charges 150 per person. Make sure that if you do go to Nicaragua you go with someone that you trust, Nicaragua could be a bit overwhelming. Costa Rica is awesome and we are planning to return next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the beach, look for the guys wearing a white shirt, they work for CRamazing tours,,,look for Alex. He will take care of you and will give you a good price. I highly recommend the mega tour. It includes several activities in one day for only $100.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Central American Vaca
Riu Guanacaste
Aug 4, 2011

Wedding trip in Costa Rica

I spent a total of seven days at this resort, we had an amazing time. There were some great and not so great times. The location of the resort is great, the hotel is secluded, it is nestled in a forrest of green. The beach is clean, the sand is soft and nice and the water is not too warm not too cold just perfect. The resort has free kayaking and paddle boats that allow you to go 200 meters in the ocean. You can book additional activities for an additional fee through the resort or through the vendors walking around on the beach. Booking through the vendors is safe, we booked all our activities through the guys wearing a shirt advertising[...], the guide's name is [...]and he really went above and beyond to take care of us. We were a group of 15 people and we were all happy with all the activities. The hotel food is alright.=Here's the negatives..There is no internet connection in the room, you can only access free wifi in the lobby but the traffic is so busy around 7pm you will not be able to connect at that time. -Housekeeping sucks, they actually left my friend's room open after they were finished cleaning the room. They left the patio door to my room unlocked. -I paid for a ocean view room and I got a rooftop view room. I was going to go have my room changed but since I was not planning on spending much time in the room I left it at that. -The resort has a club but they charge for the drinks, although all drinks are free within the actual resort. All in all the trip was great, if you stay here, keep in mind that the closest city (Liberia) is 30-40 min away. Get out and do things, we went on a one day trip to Nicaragua, we visited the city of Granada, Masaya and went to the top of an active volcano. The trip through the sales vendors outside the resort was 140 per person. Included transportation, taxes, international exit and entry fees, lunch, snacks and beer. Orbitz charges 150 per person. Make sure that if you do go to Nicaragua you go with someone that you trust, Nicaragua could be a bit overwhelming. Costa Rica is awesome and we are planning to return next year for the third time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the beach, look for the guys wearing a white shirt, they work for CRamazing tours,,,look for Alex. He will take care of you and will give you a good price. I highly recommend the mega tour. It includes several activities in one day for only $100.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

Great honeymoon spot!

The resort was wonderful. The food was delicious and diverse, and the employees were so nice and friendly. The atmosphere was very clean. At any point in the day you could see someone cleaning something, or maintaining the landscape. It gave you a nice feeling and was a great quality of the hotel. The beach was beautiful and at the foot of the resort. The pool was massive and had lots of activities such as water polo, volleyball, wet bar, or just lounge chairs in the water if you wanted to relax. A few complaints we had were that the beds were hard, the lobby was the only location for wifi, and it could sometimes be very warm (as it was open air), and the presence of kids at the resort was at times annoying and frustrating. The prices of the on-site souvenir shops were steep and limited. Other than that, we were able to book some great tours at the hotel and have an amazing time. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Plan your tours early in the trip, and book with the services at the hotel. Team members are very nice and although the tours are pricier than the local ones, the stability of insurance, and the quality of the tour guides was well worth the money.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Aug 4, 2011

Great honeymoon spot!

The resort was wonderful. The food was delicious and diverse, and the employees were so nice and friendly. The atmosphere was very clean. At any point in the day you could see someone cleaning something, or maintaining the landscape. It gave you a nice feeling and was a great quality of the hotel. The beach was beautiful and at the foot of the resort. The pool was massive and had lots of activities such as water polo, volleyball, wet bar, or just lounge chairs in the water if you wanted to relax. A few complaints we had were that the beds were hard, the lobby was the only location for wifi, and it could sometimes be very warm (as it was open air), and the presence of kids at the resort was at times annoying and frustrating. The prices of the on-site souvenir shops were steep and limited. Other than that, we were able to book some great tours at the hotel and have an amazing time. It was a wonderful place to celebrate our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Plan your tours early in the trip, and book with the services at the hotel. Team members are very nice and although the tours are pricier than the local ones, the stability of insurance, and the quality of the tour guides was well worth the money.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schaumburg, IL
Aug 3, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

I read some discouraging reviews and many good ones before I go. I kept all in mind and trusted my many vacations with Riu, thank god I did. this was although 14 days long, another perfect vacation in Riu. A place that has all day activities, and maybe the food is not all perfect, but it is for sure good, to the point where you would find something that you will love at the buffet area no matter what. Where the specialty restaurants were something good to try once only for us. The location is like paradise and they would do all it takes to make you happy. I went to Nicaragua tour which was a tiring but amazing adventure, and the Arenal volcano area where we did the sky walk, sky tram, hot springs and a boat tour in the Arenal lake with Swiss travel. It was breath taking although it is 4 hours drive each way, that day ended with a soak in a magnificent hot springs bath and a 5 stars dinner. My advice: book private tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Super nice and very talented crew. FUN FUN FUN

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schaumburg, IL
Aug 3, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

I read some discouraging reviews and many good ones before I go. I kept all in mind and trusted my many vacations with Riu, thank god I did. this was although 14 days long, another perfect vacation in Riu. A place that has all day activities, and maybe the food is not all perfect, but it is for sure good, to the point where you would find something that you will love at the buffet area no matter what. Where the specialty restaurants were something good to try once only for us. The location is like paradise and they would do all it takes to make you happy. I went to Nicaragua tour which was a tiring but amazing adventure, and the Arenal volcano area where we did the sky walk, sky tram, hot springs and a boat tour in the Arenal lake with Swiss travel. It was breath taking although it is 4 hours drive each way, that day ended with a soak in a magnificent hot springs bath and a 5 stars dinner. My advice: book private tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Super nice and very talented crew. FUN FUN FUN

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville
Jul 22, 2011

RIU Guanacaste

With out a doubt the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed in. The Costa Rician people were very friendly and accommodating. The beach was gaeat and keep very clean. A great trip, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping at the RIU was very limited. Coco Beach had many shops, bars and a nice beach.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville
Jul 22, 2011

RIU Guanacaste

With out a doubt the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed in. The Costa Rician people were very friendly and accommodating. The beach was gaeat and keep very clean. A great trip, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping at the RIU was very limited. Coco Beach had many shops, bars and a nice beach.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas of course
Jul 20, 2011

Best RIU of 7 visited

Most clean, professional and courteous Hotel we've stayed at. Ever. Staff were wonderful, guest were pleasant and friendly and the food was fine.Great selection but specialty restuarants could improve. Only distraction was the kids allowed in the swim up bar pool, splashing and diving and just being a nuisance, instead of limiting them to other areas , which were plentiful for the kids to swim in.(like Puerto Vallarta)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The general dining restaurant was way best with wonderful variety and selection,and the steakhouse 2nd.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hillsborough, CA
Jul 20, 2011

Relaxing Vacation

This was a very relaxing vacation. RIU Resort is a great hotel to stay for a short or a long vacation. Some of the front desk employees were not as service oriented as others but over all they were not bad. Meantime, some of them would go out of their way to please you. Everything else was great, room, food, services, pool, beach, etc was great. There were plenty of kids around too but it was just fine. Food was plenty and great 24 hrs a day; you did not have to look for it. It saves you lots of time not looking for restaurants and spending in the beach or a nice pool. It offered variety of expeditions which you could buy in the hotel lobby. I recommend RIU Resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need is there in the resort.

Back to menu Return to top