$341 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
318 reviews
Pura Vida

Most amazing time and resort. The beach and shopping was amazing. The staff was so friendly and... See full review

  • Veronica M.
  • Feb 22, 2015
Awesome

Great value, great entertainment tip people and you shall rule the hotel. Bartenders look to you... See full review

  • SGSG
  • Feb 9, 2015
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (318)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Great Vacation

We had a great time! The staff was super friendly and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilovevacations
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 20, 2012

Very nice hotel!

It was our first time in Costa Rica and we really enjoyed our trip. The hotel is really beautiful, great pool, wonderful grounds. The beach is not big, but yet very nice and cozy. They have sea-turtle nests right on the beach and we got to see the baby turtles hatch and being released in the ocean twice, which our kids really enjoyed .Our room was good size and very clean. The only draw-back was pillows, they were small and sort of cheap, we had to ask for extra ones. The food at main buffet was good, we could always find something we would like. The best steak we had, suprisingly not at the Steak house, but the Italian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We booked three different tours through the hotel and our favorite one was Mega-Combo, it was a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarahelated
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 19, 2012

RIU First Timer

We just got back from Costa Rica and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the RIU. We were there during dry season, which means everything (just about) is dead and dry. The grounds at RIU were lush, green, and gorgeous! Beautiful flowers everywhere. The beds in the hotel rooms are very, very hard. That was ok for us because we wanted to spend our sleeping time outside as much as possible! The waitstaff, bartenders, cleaning staff, and front desk staff were all very helpful and spoke very clear English. The buffet food was good - I think by the end of the trip we were over-food-stimulated and the buffet lost its appeal. The variety they provide covers a lot of preferences, tastes, and cultures too! The RIU is located pretty far off the beaten path and there isn't a whole lot to do outside of the hotel grounds. You can book an excursion with the people in the hotel or the people on the beach. Make sure you do your bookings several days in advance or you may not get in a tour. We learned the hard way by waiting a few days too long. We will definitely be visiting the RIU Guanacaste again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The floors are covered in tile and the hotel room doors do not touch the floor completely. At night you can hear lots of echoes and doors opening and closing. If you are a light sleeper - bring ear plugs or a fan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESBCRB
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

RIU Guanacaste

Good Value, excellent venue but the food and drink needs help. Being all inclusive you have to take what's offered. The wine and beer was undrinkable. The wine and beer were one brand and no others were available. Some things like orange "juice" was really orange drink and was basically 2 parts juice and 8 parts water. Breakfast and dinner rated a B minus. Lunch might as well have been shoveled from the back of a wagon an absolute F. The room service bar had cocktail liquor (rum, vodka, bourbon and tequila) but they had mixers that did not match the liquor. You had to drink everything with coke. Their convenience store was pure robbery $10 for a small bag of potatoe chips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dont go to Arenel Volcano!! It is eight hours of driving from the RIU with 3 hours of activities. The roads were poor and winding and you were exhausted at the end. Most disturbing was the volcano came alive in 1968 and remained so for the next 44 years. They did not tell us that the Valcano had gone back to sleep and had been so for the last year. There was nothing to see!!! Invest your $$ in activities.... snorkeling, wave runners, surfing etc. Dont get a massage from the hotel spa $100 an hour. Costa Rican natives on the beach will provide them for $35 an hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orient8195
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great Vacation!

Riu Guanacaste was absolutely beautiful. The two things that stand out the most is the awesome pool and the 'buffet' restaurant, Restaurante Liberia. It was 4 star and a HUGE assortmant of cuisine. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind and made the stay there memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
monte2
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 3, 2012

AWESOME RESORT!

I have traveled extensively on all-inclusive (AI) vacations over the past 20 years and this hotel hands-down is one of the nicest and most beautiful. If people give this place bad reviews, then they are expecting too much from a hotel in a foreign country. It is secluded, out in the middle of the mountains, but is expansive with amazing views which is what makes it unique. We booked an ocean-front room which was spectacular. It overlooked the pool & ocean and we could watch the monkeys in the trees from our balcony each morning. The pool area is large and very nice. The food was great-excellent variety & very tasty with many options. The drinks were your typical all-inclusive variety (no top shelf), but the local beer (Imperial) is very good and always cold. The rooms are all tile with a very large safe (big enough for a laptop). The only thing I could say about the rooms that I didn't like was there was no coffee maker-you had to go down to the lobby, but could bring a pot of coffee back to your room (I just like to stay in my PJs and have coffee on the balcony). The beach is beautiful black sand, very private and romantic with a nice walking distance. We saw sea turtles laying eggs and heading back to the ocean-very cool! I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff worked so hard and maintained a smile the entire day. They are the best ever-always working and deserve every tip they get. The entertainment area was open-air, very large and nice. The entertainment was typical AI shows (Broadway, Micheal Jackson, etc). I would highly recommend this place to anyone besides families. It didn't seem family-oriented to me, more couples & friends. Truly an awesome vacation place:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked our Buena Vista Canopy Tour through a guy on the beach (Luis Solutions) which was well worth the money. We asked if we could stop at Coco Beach on the way home & "no problem". This would normally cost more, but instead he showed us around and we invited him to have a beer with us and learn more about their culture. It was great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel Doyle
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Costa Rican King

Well if you think you are going to get a king size bed, you are wrong. They gave us two double beds and pushed them together. Buffet food was par. Fruit and veggies were excellent. Plan to make reservations every night at the restaurants there, because they fill up fast. Beaches were a disappointment. Small roped off swimming area and transparency of water was about 2 inches. Swiss travel offered sub-par attractions to tourist traps that were over priced. Staff was friendly and great. If you want good alcohol you have to order it by name. Sports Bar snack food was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Mega Combo by Swiss Travel was worst trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jj2tuff
Business
Colorado, USA
Feb 26, 2012

RIU

This place is everything describe in the description provided. The is a one stop shop. Do be aware that you are an hour away from anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j kirk
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

great place

great 6 days on business trip. everything was very organized and food was is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great Place!

My husband and I stayed at the Riu Guanacast February 10-17. After reading negative reviews we had reservations about choosing this resort. We have to say NONE of the negavitive comments are valid. This is a very nice resort. They really go out of their way to make your stay special. They put on a lovely valentines day dinner event. The food is good, you shouldn't have an issue finding something to eat, you will never go hungry! The rooms are great, NO bed bugs. The entertainment staff tries really hard to get you involved and puts on fun interactive shows. There is something for everyones, and all ages. This is an isolated location, which was lovely. It was refreshing to be part of the original surrondings. We are planning to go back and possibly stay at the new palace being built.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top