$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
353 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vee M
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 13, 2011

I had a blast!

What a beautiful resort! I could have been happy just sitting on my balcony and enjoying the view with a tropical drink. The weather was perfect and the resort is all you would expect from an all-inclusive destination--good service, activities to keep you busy (or not), and enough food and drink to keep you satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be flexible! Remember-you are on vacation. The tour you sign up for with any company may not be available if there aren't enough people to participate. You may have to switch days or tours, so keep your plans flexible and you'll be fine.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mymmi
nyc
Dec 12, 2011

good enough for this money

we had a good vacation in rio ganacaste. The food was good , staff friendly and ready to accommodate your requests, Rooms were clean and beach was good. no drinks on the beach-we had to go long way to the nearest bar.overall i would definitely recommend this hotel and location-good family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BTC8
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Great Escape in Nov

Amazing location. Went at the end of November at the tail end of wet season/beginning of dry season and it was fantastic. You will not regret getting there within 1 month of the end of the rain so you can see the green, beautiful landscape. About 15 minutes from the hotel is zip lining in a great canopy. Wonderful beach. There is current construction going on so you will not want to be in the wing facing south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

15 minute drive to Cheap Zip lining IF YOU DRIVE YOURSELF. They charge a LOT of money to transport you on excursions of any length.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DonDavid
florida
Nov 30, 2011

Ok but not quite as good as it looks

One good show with great dancers followed by two poor shows; Italian restraurant was mediocre; room smelled a little; room balconey had chep plastic charis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The great 1
New York, NY, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Pretty good just not for so many nights

I fell in love with costa rica ...... The hotel is beautiful... The staff is great ... And very helpful and friendly. The drinks were perfect (24 hour sports bar for after hours). I was not dissapointed with my room at all... Got 4 bottles of Liqour and mini frig all included unlike other hotels that are all inclusive... The view was great and everything was perfect in the room. The pool was really nice a big and close to the rooms... Beach could be bigger. The food is just like every other all inclusive hotel anywhere... Reserving for the restaurant isn't worth it... The food is not amazing at all that is the only thing that really sucked about the hotel...... Families... Singles .... Couples type of hotel doesn't have a specific group type. If your looking for a hotel to relax and sleep in..... This is not the hotel for you... After my long travel I knocked out at 6pm and couldn't sleep because the show that they have from 8-11pm kept me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go do the ATV/ zip line Congo trail so worth the 215$

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fitness
nj
Nov 16, 2011

average getaway

too far from all sight seeing & main roads. food need improvement, beach need to be clean, need english speaking staff to help Americans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly pleased
E. Hampton, CT
Sep 16, 2011

One of our best family vacations!

The hotel was immaculate. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were amazing. We took the all inclusive package and loved not having to think about beverages and meals. Even the mini fridge in the rooms were included. Not a penny more at checkout. The hotel is right on the beach, just past the huge pools. Not another hotel in sight. Just our hotel, the beach, pools and the Pacific Ocean. The shows were a little loud and basic. Other than that, we ( me, my wife and 22 year old daughter) enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The all inclusive is the way to go. It even included the kayaks on the beach. Trip to zip lining offered by people on the beach were a lot of fun, too

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly pleased
E. Hampton, CT
Sep 16, 2011

One of our best family vacations!

The hotel was immaculate. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were amazing. We took the all inclusive package and loved not having to think about beverages and meals. Even the mini fridge in the rooms were included. Not a penny more at checkout. The hotel is right on the beach, just past the huge pools. Not another hotel in sight. Just our hotel, the beach, pools and the Pacific Ocean. The shows were a little loud and basic. Other than that, we ( me, my wife and 22 year old daughter) enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The all inclusive is the way to go. It even included the kayaks on the beach. Trip to zip lining offered by people on the beach were a lot of fun, too

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eugene I
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Labor day weekend gateaway

First I was hesitant to book with this hotel because my wife is very picky traveller but it turns out a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. People are nice, food was abundant and if you like alcohol this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lot's of food. You will never get hungry.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eugene I
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Labor day weekend gateaway

First I was hesitant to book with this hotel because my wife is very picky traveller but it turns out a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. People are nice, food was abundant and if you like alcohol this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Lot's of food. You will never get hungry.

Back to menu Return to top