$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
320 out of 320
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bella50
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 24, 2012

Terrible-Spend the money elsewhere

There was nothing good we can say about our experience at the RIU. The towels are like sand paper, the food was cold and ONLY buffet (except one steak place where reservations are nearly impossible to get). The hotel is so secluded you have to pay to get out and see the beautiful country. You can not walk to anything. Overall it was a terrible place for a honeymoon and we wish we would have gone with the Hilton. Costa Rica is amazing so it was disappointing that the RIU was one of the worst hotels we’ve ever stayed. If you want Spring Break (including loud, foul music) this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilthel
Business
Arkansas
Jul 23, 2012

Wonderfully romantic vacation!

Our Riu Guanacaste stay was absolutely fabulous! The staff was very helpful and made us feel like royalty. It was so clean and beautiful! Our only complaint was that we were there for a week and were only able to eat in the restaraunts one time. The policy is to make the reservations between 9am and 5pm. We were gone several days during those times on tours and were unable to make a reservation until the very end of our stay. The food was fantastic and never ending. The buffets offered limitless options and the drinks were excellent. The entertainment was very impressive. We plan to visit another Riu on our next vacation. Perhaps the Dominican Republic? Loved everything about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katedlem2409
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2012

Best time ever

This was my first all-clusive stay and it was great! The food was awesome. There was something for everyone at every meal. The drinks were good. The pool bar was always a good time and the walk from the pool area to the beach was breathless. Everything was there at your disposal. I'd go with RIU again anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EPB6
Business
Nashville
Jul 17, 2012

Honey Moon

The Riu was nice. A few things for those who are shopping off pictures... 1st... the beach is BLACK volcanic sand... not as shown in the hotels main picture. The entertainment staff was EXCELLENT!! The regular hotel staff was ok as long as you did not ask them for anything.. A couple we met were both fluent in Spanish and told us that they would often speak negatively about the guests. We had gone on a day trip and came back just after sunset, and the housing staff had our door proped open and were folding those awesome towel animals on our bed.. problem.. after sunset the moths are crazy.. and flooded our room. When we called the front desk they sent up a security guard up with a can of raid... then left. We then called again to get someone to clean up the dead moths they told us it was already taken care of... so we had to clean them up. Other than that.. we had a great time, food was ok.. gets old after a week, POOLS ARE GREAT. So overall an average review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamierenee
Business
new york
Jul 16, 2012

getaway

NIce hotel. Staff was very friendly. Weather perfect even in July!!! They do need more restaurant choices. They only have three besides the buffet so it is hard to get into one of the three. Room was clean but never been in a hotel where they dont supply shampoo/conditioner or put bags in the garbage pails. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al en Vadrouille
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 10, 2012

Great vacation

We stayed for 1 week at the RIU Guanacaste. Great experience, great place, great people. Staff was really friendly and helpful (e.g. got a quieter room right away after asking). Food was good both at the buffet and the 3 restaurants. Having to book 1 day in advance for a table at one of the restaurant was not a problem at all for us. Unlike many people complaining about it... Cocktails were great, on the light side at the beginning, but then, after some tips and being friendly with the staff, they were much stronger!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your tour at the beach. Friendly and professional guys. Great tour, very safe and cheaper than in the hotel. Ask for Esteban, he will help you out finding what you're looking for.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rahai
Business
New York
Jul 10, 2012

A great place for vacation

Very nice , clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. beautiful location with nice beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLHH
Business
NYC
Jul 7, 2012

Pura Vida

The hotel was great, from the staff to the people who were visiting. I went alone for seven days and never felt as if I was alone. Everyone was truly nice and welcoming, made me feel as if I was home. I would go back again. Great for all ages...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vessa
Business
New Jersey
Jul 6, 2012

Summer Vacay

My husband and I stayed at the RIU GUANACASTE in the ocean view suite. The room was absolutely beautiful and very spacious. We especially liked the mini bar in our room. The frig was stocked with soda and water, and there were four choices of alcohol. Overall the hotel is nice as well as the service. The only complaint I have is with the process of making reservations for the three restaurants. Reservations can only be made for 9-2, and you only can make reservation for one restaurant for the next day. The food at the buffet was good. They had a variety of food available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TryingToFindUsableName
Business
Georgia
Jul 2, 2012

Fun for couples or families

Everyone we encountered from the pickup at the airport to the staff at the resort and the tour guides on our excursions were pleasant, knowledgeable and service oriented. No disappointments at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top