$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
358 reviews
Great Experience

We stayed at the RIU Hotel for one week and it was amazing. The food and entertainment were good... See full review

  • reinaarh
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel.

everything within this hotel was great but the food. The food is mediocre. But the hotel is clean,... See full review

  • Mimi82
  • Jun 13, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (358)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
358 out of 358
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Showtyme
Wilmington, NC, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Paradise

Loved everything about the trip except for 2 things...1: we ordered queen/king beds. The other couple and I both had rooms with 2 full sized beds pushed together, with seperate sheets on both. Not the way we wanted to spend our nights. Dinners were not that good and the desserts were horrible. Staff, view, locaction, pool, etc were AWESOME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len from Brooklyn
brooklyn, NY
Feb 7, 2012

Sunshine

We went just 2 couples and had nice relaxing full 8 days on the beach. Good shows at nite with very good balet dancers. The only problem was local hard liquer, but beer and wine saved us. Snorking was good, too by the rocks at the beach end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't bother for reservation, in main restaurant food is good.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Shore
New Jersey
Feb 5, 2012

Nice place, great location with equal amenities

This is a really nice place, most rooms are oceanview, Ours was clean and we notice no sewer odors as mention on a post we read before arriving. Pools an amenites were top notch. Food was good but the meats were over cooked. Can't go wrong with the fish though. Tour options are excellent, Book from the beach rather than the resort to save money. No cell phone service was somewhat of a problem. Bring I pad or laptop otherwise you will find yourself isolated. Paid internet service in sports bar is horrible as it does not let you attach or open files and it drops connection constantly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda114
New York, NY, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great Getaway

RIU - Costa Rica was amazing. The food, drinks and people are awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda114
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Perfect getaway to paradise.

RIU Costa Rica was great!!!! I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob R
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great value, great pool!

The RIU Guanacaste is an awesome property. The building, the grounds, the setting are all just spectacular. The pool scene is dynamite. Getting a pinacolada at the swim-up bar was divine. The food options were plentiful if not superb. They're huge buffets so it's not all going to be fresh gourmet, but you can figure out what's good fairly quickly. Making reservations at the theme restaurants seems to be the way to go, especially the steak house. But I wouldn't choose this hotel because you want an awesome Costa Rican culinary experience, but I would go back because it's a beautiful place with very friendly staff, fruity drinks and plenty to do between the pool, the ocean and the entertainment. Note: I don't mention the room not because it's terrible or great, it was fine, but I didn't go to Costa Rica to spend time in my hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get Issy's Tours to pick you up from the airport. Also a great company for excursions.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBAIL
New Hampshire
Jan 2, 2012

Awesome Christmas Vacation for the Family

We had an amazing time on this vacation which I'd highly recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all. There were numerous activities immediately available which we took advantage of including: scuba diving, snorkeling, sea kayaking, jet skis, massages and excursions (zip lining, horseback riding, mud bath and hot springs) not to mention the swimming (pool and ocean). The ONLY "constructive" feedback I'd offer is that when a guest requests adjacent or adjoining rooms several months in advance of their stay that the hotel confirms this. We called numerous times well in advance and received no confirmation that this request could be accommodated. Upon check-in we were placed in rooms which were NOT adjacent. After 2 nights we "happened" to notice that the room next to ours was vacant so we requested that our kids be moved to this room. How complicated was that??? The hotel could / should have accommodated this and not have made us work so hard for it. All-in-all a VERY good vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant and stake house provided the best food. Make sure to make reservations!

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pubcrawler
Indiana, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great place to stay

The hotel and staff were wonderful if I was going to make a bad comment it would be that the double bed was hard and the pillows were foam and rather uncomfortable. The rest of the establishment and staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Swiss Travel had a very good Mega Combo tour, the guide was very attentive and kept us totally informed on what was going to happen at each activity. Well worth the money.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mscarano33
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 28, 2011

terrible

i will start by saying that we love costa rica and have stayed at other fantastic hotels. this hotel looks good on the surface, but was not at all what my boyfriend and i had in mind. the food was terrible - even the restaurants you were forced to make reservations at for dinner to escape the huge buffet were not satisfactory. the asian restaurant was just another buffet and the steakhouse served us steaks no better than you would get at a diner. also, the staff was not very helpful at all-we always got a different story from everyone we spoke to. we wanted a relaxing getaway, but instead we got a crowded resort with what seemed like hundreds of misbehaved children running around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparky22
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Things that could improve

The dinner reservation system seemed random and unorganized. It was difficult for guest like myself who left the resort early for fishing and excursions. They need an ATM in the hotel. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top