$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
303 reviews
Great hotel value in Costa Rica!

The Riu is a great hotel in Costa Rica! Excellent pool with lots of seats, very friendly staff... See full review

  • Lance and Linh
  • Oct 8, 2014
Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept. See full review

  • Adamko
  • Aug 17, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (303)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagodreamer
Business
Chicago
Jun 7, 2013

Beautiful place

The hotel was beautiful with friendly staff and great pool/ beach. The cocktails were all super sweet....and not the best quality. The nightclub really needed a new Dj. It's very tourist so it is not an authentic Costa Rican experience but great if you don't want to think. The tours are great - they cost extra but worth it. Especially buena vista. This place is best for groups, couples and families. As 2 single women we had a lot of early nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurous Ashley
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 6, 2013

Costa Rican Adventure

We went to Costa Rica hoping to experience a little bit of everything the country has to offer. We debated on where to stay and chose the Northwest beaches as our home base and took day trips from there. This hotel is remote from civilization, but that seems pretty typical in CR...we didn't find a better location/resort while we were there. Get ready to spend most of your time at the resort or time in the car to get to other locations (restaurants, excursions, etc.#. For this reason, I'd recommend choosing an all-inclusive. The property is beautiful...it looks just like the photos online. The food was also very good for an all-inclusive. The staff did a good job, but didn't go out of their way to provide exceptional service and were very strict on the rules #for example: forced us to go back to the front desk and speak with a manager to get an extra towel at the pool#. Cleanliness is a priority here and the staff works hard to keep it that way. The linens #towels and sheets# are average at best...sometimes stained and not the softest. The pool had a fun atmosphere with lots of activities/games for both families and adults, the beach was more relaxing and offered some included watersports #kayaking, snorkeling, etc.), there were shows each night, and there is a small casino on the property. Bring your bug-spray...the property is surrounded by gorgeous forest, so there are a lot of bugs, especially after it rains. Again, this is typical in CR, so not specific to the hotel. I'm trying to give an honest review here, but know that I would definitely choose the RIU Guanacaste again. While you're there, I'd also recommend speaking with LAR transportation for your excursions. It is only a few dollars more and you get a private driver, so the tours are specialized to your desires. Request RODNEY...he is very knowledgeable about CR, extremely accommodating and speaks great English! This is the best way to truly experience Costa Rica!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Visit the LAR transportation desk and inquire about excursions that may interest you to experience more of Costa Rica outside of the beautiful RIU Guanacaste. Request Rodney as your driver!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
super Travler 1
Business
somewhere ohio
May 29, 2013

very very nice

was pleased with my location of my room an the whole hotel was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

massages were great on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerriNew
Business
Chicago, IL
May 29, 2013

Not as impressed as I thought I'd be

The review for this hotel can really vary depending on what you are looking for in your trip. The atmosphere is definitely more of a spring break feel with a lot of people, sub par rooms and sub par food. We ended up moving from this hotel to the Palace after two nights of really uncomfortable sleep. That being said I am pregnant and not drinking and wanted a more relaxing atmosphere and the Palace was perfect. So if you are just looking for a party and not too concerned about food, relaxation or your sleeping area then this hotel is agreat deal. Just depends what you are looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lisa&chris
Business
az
May 28, 2013

UPGRADE TO THE PALACE NEXT DOOR

We checked in and were at the Riu Guanacaste for about 5 hours before we decided to pay the $50 per person per night to upgrade to the Palace next door. The rooms were crowded and uncomfortable, there were tons of kids in the sports bar, and the pool was over-crowded with "spring breakers." The staff was much friendlier at the Palace and the rooms was much bigger and more comfortable. The restaurant reservation system and hours was a disorganized mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaneNYC
Business
NYC
May 11, 2013

Excellent hotel - better than the Palace

My husband and I had a great week at the Riu Guanacaste. We had been considering the Riu Palace next door before we booked, so we took a stroll through their grounds and lobby while we were there. It's like Vegas over there, so unless you like you're in the mood for a lot of neon and glass, don' bother. The regular Rui next door with the open-air lobby feels much more appropriate to its surroundings. Lots of reviews mention the food and the difficulty with getting reservations for the restaurants. We ate at the main buffet every night but one and we were consistently happy. There was always a great variety of food and everything we had was tasty. The only place that took reservations was the steak place and yes, you have to get in line at some ridiculous hour and they book a day in advance. Just relax and ignore it. Frankly, if you're going to Costa Rica for the great steak restaurant, you're probably missing the point. Don't miss: Walk all the way to the end of the beach and then into the jungle just before sunset for a great view of a troop of Howler monkeys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kluku
Business
new york
May 11, 2013

exotic destination

We finally settled for the third room which was acceptable the rooms at this resort are not big or luxurious. The food was ok not enough variety. Fish was only one type and not tasty. Beef was also not to an American standard. The service was good, the fruits were delicious and so were the drinks. We were forced to leave at 955 AM to leave for the airport which took 35 minutes and the boarding was at 150PM. We would never go with Grey line others felt the same way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BoboRoo
Business
Reno, NV
May 6, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

Do not stay here. It's HORRIBLE. My husband and I took a group if 40 people here for our wedding and it was the worst day/ week of my life. We got here and the rooms were messed up. We had a wedding package that included hair, nails, couples massages and breakfast delivered to the room the day after. We scheduled the above for the day of the wedding however when we went to our appointments they did not have us on the schedule and were booked. I showed them the confirmation email so they quickly squeezed me in and my hair and nails were horrible. I ran back to the room 20 min before my wedding and had my girlfriend fix everything. Then the breakfast next day never happens not did the massages. They also tried to charge me double for the rooms so I was in an argument the entire time with them over price. I signed a contract stating one price and out of nowhere they tell me I owed double. The internet you pay $80 for barely worked and disnt work at all on some days. My husband and I had such a horrible time we left 4 days early just to get out of here. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't book here .. Ever!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
12 Red Roses
Business
Santa Rosa, California
May 2, 2013

superb!

From the moment we arrived we were delighted with the amenities and the staff. We were given a room with a 'garden' view......would have been better to have an ocean view, however, we did not spend that much time in the room so it really did not matter. The many restaurants were all of good quality and excellent selection.....we especially enjoyed the El Toucan which is the gourmet restaurant. We did not encounter one person on staff that was not friendly and accommodating. The beach was lovely as there were many trees for shade if needed. Water was warm and refreshing. The shops are small and have limited inventory......clothing shops tend toward the size 6 & 8 female and smaller man.....so, bring with you the proper size as you most likely won't find it if you are larger than a 6 or 8. Could have had more local artwork available. Tours were available and varied......suggest at least 2 tours during a 7 day stay. Getting a lounge chair around the pool is not a struggle as there are plenty. All in all, I would consider this a '5' star experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

limited sizes for women....tend toward size 6 & 8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulh
Business
Huntington, WV, USA
May 1, 2013

mother -daughter getaway

We loved the riu guanacaste. The food was very good. Loved the asian restaurant. Always a good variety on the buffet. The remote location was great for us. We really enjoyed going walking on the beach each morning and getting to see the monkeys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top