$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

4 stars
Sardinal de Carrillo, Playa Matapalo, Guanacaste,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
302 reviews
Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept. See full review

  • Adamko
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great family vacation!!

The Hotel is one of the best Rui Hotels.. People working there were very good in all the services,... See full review

  • chanina
  • Aug 10, 2014
Costa Rica getaway for gambling, safaris and sports all in one place

Located in a region more reminiscent of the African Savannah, the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive is situated in an area unlike any other part of Costa Rica. The hotel is surrounded by grass and woodland and sits on a long stretch of beach, further increasing its appeal. Guests have the opportunity to visit the nearby volcanic regions of Costa Rica and partake in some of the many on-site activities that are run by hotel staff, including water sports, gambling in the casino and working out in the gym. The hotel has buffet style and themed restaurants and five conference rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • An abundance of sporting activities to choose from, including tennis, volleyball and golf
  • Fantastic waters for viewing aquatic wildlife, making it the perfect place for diving and snorkeling
  • Chance to experience local culture by meeting real life cowboys in their natural environments
RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive rooms

Guests at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have access to 701 different rooms with a wide selection of themes. All of the accommodation options have private balconies, some of which contain outdoor hot tubs. Included in every room is air conditioning, a mini bar, satellite television, an alarm clock and a safe. A wide selection of bedding options can be provided to suit the needs of couples, lone visitors or families. The mini bar and fridge is restocked every two days. All rooms at the RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive hotel have wireless Internet (fees apply). Most of the rooms situated in the hotel have stunning views of the seafront and Mata Palo beach. Complimentary use of the gym is available to hotel guests as well as a steam bath and Jacuzzi (18 and older only).

Things to do nearby
  • Boat trip to Playa Coco (0 mi/0.1km)
  • Ocotal Beach (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Congo Canopy Trail (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
  • Hermosa Bay Beach (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Flamingo Beach (7.5 mi/12 km)
  • Four Seasons Golf Course (29.1 mi/46.6 km)
  • Africa Mia Safari Wildlife Tour (30.9 mi/49.4 km)
  • Diria National Park (44.2 mi/71.2 km)

Hotel Map

10.5289 -85.7477
Area served
Guanacaste.
Nearby airports
Liberia International Airport - 20.56 mi / Km.
Area description
Beachfront property surrounded by 41.86 sq. Yards of lush gardens. 8.1 mi / 13 km from downtown Coco. 20.56 mi / 33 km from the International airport Liberia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive Rooms

SUITE
Suite with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub. Extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
OCEAN VIEW - ROOM
Double Room Ocean View with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with Ocean view.
SUITE JACUZZI
Suite Jacuzzi Ocean view with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, separate living room are with sofa. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15?), iron and ironing board, walk-in closet. Bathroom equipped with hydro massage bathtub, extra shower cabin, bidet, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view and private Jacuzzi.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Double Room Superior with Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15 ), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with courtyard view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Dining

Meals & Snacks
24 hours All inclusive snacks, alcoholic an non-alcoholic beverages.
Main Restaurant
With non-smoking section and terrace, Buffet style with show cooking, serving international and local specialties.
Poolside Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.
Asian Restaurant
Buffet style for dinner. Reservations required.
Italian Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.
Grill Steakhouse Restaurant
la carte for dinner. Reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (302)

Ratings and reviews for RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deannalynn
Fonthill , Ontario
Dec 27, 2013

Fantastic trip for all ages!

We were a group of ten who went to Costa Rica over Christmas . It was young to old and every person had a fantastic time and can't wait to return to the RIU next year. You can't expect a five star hotel in Central America to equal a five star in Paris France, but it was absolutely a dream vacation. The hotel and gardens were beautiful, the food was good and the staff friendly. The beaches, pool, bars, extra-curricular activities were memories made !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A long drive, but well worth experiencing what the country has to offer. Volcanoes, waterfalls, mud baths , horseback riding, zip lining and we booked it with Alex on the Beach (has a website) . We did not have any complaints, the trips were amazing .

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adamko
Chicagoland
Aug 17, 2014

Riu guanacaste

Beautiful hotel.The whole resort is very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good show every night

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singing sara
Hayward, CA
Aug 15, 2014

great hotel

This hotel was very nice in a great location. The staff was extremely nice and were a good time. I've stayed with Riu before and this was my least favorite when it comes to the rooms and comfort. I'm not saying it's not a nice hotel, just saying that the others were even nicer when it comes to their rooms. The view and shows were amazing. Wish they had room service like the palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet and restaurant was good but sports bar food sucks.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not Impress Visitor
Guanacasta, San Jose
Aug 14, 2014

No Deal!

I liked the hotel a lot. The architecture and overall grounds were fantastic. To be honest, I wondered about the financial strength of the hotel simply because it servers unlimited free drinks! I didn't like a couple of things: First, I hated the monopoly that the hotel had on the cost of the excursions and the cost for the transportation. There were no competition so I had to either take it or leave it. I decided to leave it. There were too many wheeling and dealing. I felt that I was being taken advantage of. I also didn't like the fact that the disco started at 11pm which is too late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must take cash. Some credit card transactions are processed as cash advances. Plan to negotiate everything because the prices are outrageous ($120 round trip to go 20 minutes from the hotel by the preferred bus).

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luky
CR
Aug 11, 2014

Nice time at RIU

We went to spend our vacation at RIU Guanacaste, Hotel was very nice, only inconvenient was room was room wasn't as comfortable as we expected, terrible pillows, terrible comforter, food was ok,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chanina
Michigan
Aug 10, 2014

Great family vacation!!

The Hotel is one of the best Rui Hotels.. People working there were very good in all the services, needs etc. The managers also get a plus.. Food was excellente.. I would recomended this hotel to anyone that its looking to have a wondeful vacation. Thank you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Need to have music in the outddor bars.. Also keep the air in the hotel gourment restaurant until 10pm..

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StephieL10
New York
Jul 31, 2014

I like it!

Nice hotel with Free food, free drinks, free entertainment, by the beach..amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Shows, dancing,signing

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cary26
Vernon, NJ
Jul 29, 2014

Excellent vacation

My boyfriend & I stayed at the RIU Guanacaste and had a wonderful experience. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We would recommend this vacation to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for Gustavo on the beach.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike 44
new York , new york
Jul 29, 2014

My Great Riu Experience

Well where to start? Me my wife, her mom and her brother enjoyed the entire experience in Costa rica!! The primary reason of the enjoyment of the trip was the Riu Guanacaste and all that it had to offer. Upon going on the trip we were told like anyone else that it was dangerous and to be careful on the beach and all that stuff that goes with going on a trip to a foreign country. However that wasn't the case, and if it were a worry, the Riu had it covered by having a complete private resort with only one way to get in..A front gate controlled and watched by security assuring the safety and comfort of their guests.. Next the Riu offered so much a casino for adult fun, a discotheque (dance club) for more fun , shows at night for entertainment and much more...the Riu also offered a entertainment team which didn't only keep the party going during the day but would also keep everyone going at night and would even join the guests at the discotheque. They were awesome..The hotel was most importantly other than safety and entertainment was absolutely clean!! They had workers maintaining everything outside from any garbage to fruit falling from the trees to maintaining the plants and so on just making a comfortable and clean place outside and the inside was maintained from morning until night as well making it an enjoyable experience!!! Last but not least the food was great and wasn't always the same thing like most resorts do which gets old after a while.. Overall the staff, entertainment team, security , locals that also shared the hotel as guests and anybody that had anything to do with being there made our experience a 5 star visit and we will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The people on the beach can offer the same excursions with more perks and are very trustworthy and will make your experience doing them that much better

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler 3
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2014

Couple's Getaway

The hotel was in a great location probably only about 30 or 40 minutes from the Liberia airport. We arrived and were greeted by the wonderful staff whom checked us in promptly. Being that it was only one our room was not ready so we then went to eat at the buffet which was delicious and an hour later are room was ready. The room was on the first floor with a jungle view which allowed us to see plenty of monkeys and wildlife. Being that we were on the first floor there was also a lot of bugs, but it was do able. While we were in Guanacaste we went on an excuersion to the rainforest, the volcano and zipling which was absolutely amazing. We also went to Cococ beach which was alot of fun. If we were to go back again we would go on an excursion or to a different beach everyday abecause Costa Rica is filled with fabulous things to do and see. The best part of our Costa Rican vacation was the excursion along with the entertainment. We made friends with the entertainment and they are absolutely amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the water taxi to Coco Beach so that you can see the views and then get souveneirs and some good food at a great price.

Review of RIU Guanacaste - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelve
Ny ny
Jul 25, 2014

Vacation

The hotel is Very nice & clean the wifi is pretty bad and the food is just ok,the front desk is very friendly and helpful,the rooms are clean and the ac works great...gotta do the rain forest,water slide,volcanos that let you have a mud bath with it also check out the monkey bar at around 430 pm every day the monkeys come out above the bar in the trees and put on a show.the bar is about a 10 minute walk on the beach to the left...also you can get a massage for 1 hour for 25 dollars on the beach...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search